Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Woah! He talks rubbish a bit, but our John is far from loathsome!

Have a certain level of respect for JG but he has lost a lot of credibility with that scutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Giles slagging off Ozil on off the ball now, saying he was taking off last night because he was poor.

Says would be joke if Ozil was named player of season.

Moron

I was listening to it in the car. Almost went off the road with anger. I stopped and text them but they didn't read it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

I didn't view or post on boards last night as I was angry and annoyed about throwing away two points in the last minute. I don't feel as bad now as we are still top of the league etc.

Hopefully Elneny can slot in to midfield almost immediately and displace Flamini. I think it's fairly obvious that since Cazorla and Coquelin have got injured that we haven't been playing as well IMO. Amazingly though we have still got wins despite this.

I love Ramsey and think he's a great player, but he's more of a free role/roaming midfielder so I think his lack of discipline in a positional sense hurts the team without Coquelin and Cazorla in there.

This seems to be the case away from home recently. Since the end of November when we were beaten 2-1 by West Brom, we have played 5 away games, won 1 lost 2 and drawn 2. We have conceded 10 goals in that time and kept a clean sheet in our only win in that time against lowly Villa. So it's a bit of a poor run away from home in the league. IMO the midfield has a lot to do with this.

No better time now than to get a win away from home against Stoke, ironically I'm a bit more confident beating them now with their style of play to their past teams under Pulis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Woah. We really did sign an actual player. Wow.

I don't mind telling yis, I can't wait to see this Elneny chap in action for us. I've a good feeling about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

keano_afc wrote: »
    I was listening to it in the car. Almost went off the road with anger. I stopped and text them but they didn't read it out.

Ya they actually asked later for Arsenal fans to stop texting in about Ozil and in fairness said they disagreed with what Giles said about Ozil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Giles really lets himself down with his knowledge of football.
    It just goes to show that being a good footballer does not make you a good pundit.
    He's a loathsome little man.

Think that's going a bit too far. He comes across as silly when he talks about specific players or teams because he clearly just doesn't watch much football anymore. That said I think he's well capable of analysing a game pretty well, he does understand football pretty well. Loathsome seems very harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,101 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Giles slagging off Ozil on off the ball now, saying he was taking off last night because he was poor.

Moron

I've noticed Giles getting worse and worse over the past few years...i'm not even sure how much football he actually watches anymore...over christmas he spent close to half an hour on a tirade against Ranieri for daring to say that he'd talk to his players about where their ambitions lay in the second half of the season. Pretty inoffensive comment, that obviously just meant "our goals are now different than they were at the start of the season", but Giles totally lost his head over it - all without a single comment on their football.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I don't rate him as you probably know.
    I find him timid in the extreme and gave reasons before.
    He has not improves in over 8 years with Arsenal.
    He is like a rabbit in the headlights.
    He also gives possession away quite a lot.

Just my opinion. I have no faith in him at all.

Reminds me of another 2 home grown players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Moron

Off to the old folks home with him. Whats worse is our tv license money pays his wage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,619 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I would have called Giles my favourite pundit for years. I really liked his old school approach to analysis, not too sophisticated, for sure, but I thought he always called it like he saw it and some of the fundamentals he preached about will always be relevant when it came to understanding the game. Giles was always coming from a perspective of knowledge. At least up until recently; Dunphy, by contrast, is an articulate spoofer.

But that stuff about Ozil shows that he's badly out of touch. Even the most hardened Ozil haters that I know haven't had much to crow about this year. Ozil is a genius and he's produced the goods time and time again this season. Johnny just doesn't rate him and all that reality out there won't convince him otherwise. For him to be so clearly wrong about something so self-evident shoots his credibility to bits, and that makes me sad.

I wouldn't say he's loathsome, far from it. He's still totally gas - talking about whether players have it in them to kill their granny, for example. I wouldn't even class him as anti-Arsenal: during the Cesc years I heard him say on Newstalk, on a few ocassions, that if magically rejuvenated back into his prime, it'd be the Arsenal midfield he'd dream of playing in. He just hates Mesut Ozil. So I'm still going to look to him for entertainment value, but forget it when it comes to objective analysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Obviously very late with this and thread has moved on but I have to say I was very impressed with the game at Anfield. I dare say that most teams would have rolled over to that opening barrage of an excellent 1st half Liverpool, 3:0 at the break, game over. Arsenal were clearly second best during that 1st half but kept it in play and could have come out with 3 points in the end. A draw was a very decent result under the circumstances and thats the stuff champions are made of - there I said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭wawaman

Elneny available for Sunday. Alexis to have a fitness test to see if he plays. Welbeck back in 2/3 weeks. Also rumours Coq & Jack are back in training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

wawaman wrote: »
    Elneny available for Sunday. Alexis to have a fitness test to see if he plays. Welbeck back in 2/3 weeks. Also rumours Coq & Jack are back in training

Starting Elneny away to Stoke would be a risk. They still have thugs like Adam who would take pleasure in welcoming him to English football. I'd almost start Arteta and maybe bring Elneny on in the second half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

wawaman wrote: »

Coq back in training makes me happy of a Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Cool reminder of the Middlesbrough game we won 10 years ago 7-0 on the Arsenal FB page today :)

https://www.facebook.com/Arsenal/videos/10153620739062713/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭pudzey101

cant wait till the coq blocker is back in action !!! great news :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

Had a look at physioroom yesterday and we were 5th with 5 or so injuries, now it's saying the only injury is Wilshere?? I thought Coq was meant to be out until March, seems very quick to be back training.

I think Elneny will go straight into the team, with Chelsea after Stoke now looks the best time to start him. Burnley in the cup would be the next time you could start him, that's not till the 30th at which point the Coq could be fit.

Whatever is going on, its a great time to get bodies back fit. Walcott and the Ox will be back on the bench shortly, I thought one of them would stake a claim, but they both have been disappointing recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Any word on whether Sanchez will be in the squad for Sunday?

If yes, do people think he will start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭wawaman

gandalf wrote: »
    Cool reminder of the Middlesbrough game we won 10 years ago 7-0 on the Arsenal FB page today :)

https://www.facebook.com/Arsenal/videos/10153620739062713/

Thats the last game i was ever at Highbury for :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

ronjo wrote: »
    Any word on whether Sanchez will be in the squad for Sunday?

If yes, do people think he will start?

Mixed messages from the gaffer, "he's fit" but "its a gamble", I think Alexis will be on the bench. Walcott to start, and he will know the pressure is on to deliver, because once Alexis is back, it will be for good.

Here's a good selection of video highlights of Mohamed Elneny.

http://news.arseblog.com/2016/01/video-mohamed-elneny-welcome-to-arsenal/

He looks like a very tidy player with a decent long range shot on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Here's a good selection of video highlights of Mohamed Elneny.

http://news.arseblog.com/2016/01/video-mohamed-elneny-welcome-to-arsenal/

He looks like a very tidy player with a decent long range shot on him!

tidy , good vision of a pass aswell :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

MaxPower89 wrote: »
    Mixed messages from the gaffer, "he's fit" but "its a gamble", I think Alexis will be on the bench. Walcott to start, and he will know the pressure is on to deliver, because once Alexis is back, it will be for good.

Actually if Sanchez is fit then i would put him straight back in.
    if i remember correctly he came straight in at start of season after his extended break when people expected him to be on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Even though it's Youtube, he does look tidy and can ping a pass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

keano_afc wrote: »
    Starting Elneny away to Stoke would be a risk. They still have thugs like Adam who would take pleasure in welcoming him to English football. I'd almost start Arteta and maybe bring Elneny on in the second half.

I really hope Wenger does not start Arteta against Stoke.
    Flamini would be more physical against them with Elneny coming on when he tires.
    I think Arteta is nearing his end at Arsenal, great player though he was and one of my favourites.

I really hope Wenger does not start Arteta against Stoke.
    Flamini would be more physical against them with Elneny coming on when he tires.
    I think Arteta is nearing his end at Arsenal, great player though he was and one of my favourites.

My biggest concern is I feel like Wenger has the opinion that he has to play Arteta when he's fit. I don't know whether this pressure comes from Arteta himself, or if it's just because he's club captain. I'd be surprised if a fit Arteta sits on the bench, though.

I'd be happy if he doesn't play again, and is just there for team morale. Only a matter of time before his calf goes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Just a bit of craic but what about this team for an away match at Stoke? Two DM's.

Cech

Bellerin Mert Kos Monrael

Elneny Flamini

Ramsey Ozil Walcott/ Campbell

Giroud

TBH it's obvious to me that Arteta's role is going to move into the coaching side of things.

http://news.arseblog.com/2015/12/wenger-opens-door-to-arteta-coaching-role/

I only see him being used as a substitute at most at this stage. He definitely shouldn't be played from the start at the weekend. As tayto lover said the Flamster should start on Sunday with Elneny getting a few minutes as a sub.

TBH it's obvious to me that Arteta's role is going to move into the coaching side of things.

http://news.arseblog.com/2015/12/wenger-opens-door-to-arteta-coaching-role/

I only see him being used as a substitute at most at this stage. He definitely shouldn't be played from the start at the weekend. As tayto lover said the Flamster should start on Sunday with Elneny getting a few minutes as a sub.

That would be a nice reward for Arteta and our youth would benefit too.