Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭wally79

The way all the runners on boards name their logs something completely unrelated to running and I accidentally click into them every so often. Isn't there a rule about misleading thread titles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Being sick again but having to get up and go to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭22catch

mansize wrote: »
    Try their way so

I'm the wrong colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,180 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Airport blues again tomorrow- off to Cologne

I haven't flown in about 6 weeks!, feels like a year!!

TA'd that I'll be back in the air in about 2 weeks though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

When people comment that they haven't heard from you in a while, in a way that implies you don't bother with them and makes you feel guilty. It works both ways. One of my cousins (who lives in another country) had a health issue recently and when I met her at a family gathering, she made a sarcastic comment regarding the fact I hadn't commented on her Facebook status about it or contacted her. One of those 'I'm much better now, thanks for asking' comments. This girl has never made the slightest effort with me, ever. Never once messaged me to ask what I'm up to, never once commented on one of my posts. I do in fact have the very same health issue she does and have been dealing with it for years, but she wouldn't know that because she never asks how I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

LeeLooLee wrote: »
    When people comment that they haven't heard from you in a while, in a way that implies you don't bother with them and makes you feel guilty.

This! I had a friend who went away for 6months and came back not talking to me. I was so confused and eventually said it to her while we were both a bit "happy" on a night out with mutual friends. She told me it was because I only emailed her 6 times and that commenting on her Facebook photos didn't count as keeping in touch.

I pointed out that each of the 6 times I emailed first and sent her an essay with photos of my dog and our friends and the nights out she wasn't there for and each time got a two line mail back. But apparently I didn't make the effort while she was away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,179 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Had a friend. We met up for a pint a few times a year. I was always the one sending out the invitation. Last time we met up, as we were parting he said. "Don't leave so long next time before giving me a call". I replied in a friendly manner. "Or YOU give ME a call".
    That was ten years ago. I haven't seen him since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,057 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Had a friend. We met up for a pint a few times a year. I was always the one sending out the invitation. Last time we met up, as we were parting he said. "Don't leave so long next time before giving me a call". I replied in a friendly manner. "Or YOU give ME a call".

Sounds like you're not missing out on much...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I'd one of those "friends" who used to only come along to maybe 1 in every 4 events/meet ups she was invited to. Not only that, she was too cheap to pay for a taxi and too stuck up to get a bus and too cheap to buy a soft drink so she would order a lime cordial for 50c or something and nurse that for the time she was there. First thing she'd say when she arrived was, "I cant stay long, I've only paid parking until 10". Great way to set the mood like. She'd spend half the night checking her phone to make sure her kid hadn't topped himself with a bottle of calpol while under the supervision of her presumably well capable partner. She'd feck off them at five to ten and we'd get a text later saying, "thank you for the amaaaazing night!" :confused:

What I only realised after we ended our friendship, was this. Any time I texted and asked if she wanted to meet up, she would suggest a night that she was in college. (Think she did two nights a week). I'd get a text back saying, "well I have class on Monday and Wednesday so either of those nights are good for me" - she was basically slotting me in at the end of a night that was already gone anyway. She wouldn't "waste" a free night on her supposed best friend. She always seemed to have an out because she has a kid but she was living in a build on next door to her parents, had her partner living there, had her parents minding the kid any time she wanted and they couldn't get enough of him, plus she wasn't working. I've done the study and work full time thing and never treated my friends like that. If I was in college Monday and Wednesday, I'd say, "does Tuesday or Thursday suit?" :rolleyes:. Bítch. Well shot of her now.

Oh and her car is apparently laden down with presents for me too. On two birthdays and one Christmas event she turned up and said, "sorry I left your present in the car" - and that was the last I heard of them!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I'd one of those "friends" who used to only come along to maybe 1 in every 4 events/meet ups she was invited to. Not only that, she was too cheap to pay for a taxi and too stuck up to get a bus and too cheap to buy a soft drink so she would order a lime cordial for 50c or something and nurse that for the time she was there. First thing she'd say when she arrived was, "I cant stay long, I've only paid parking until 10". Great way to set the mood like. She'd spend half the night checking her phone to make sure her kid hadn't topped himself with a bottle of calpol while under the supervision of her presumably well capable partner. She'd feck off them at five to ten and we'd get a text later saying, "thank you for the amaaaazing night!" :confused:

What I only realised after we ended our friendship, was this. Any time I texted and asked if she wanted to meet up, she would suggest a night that she was in college. (Think she did two nights a week). I'd get a text back saying, "well I have class on Monday and Wednesday so either of those nights are good for me" - she was basically slotting me in at the end of a night that was already gone anyway. She wouldn't "waste" a free night on her supposed best friend. She always seemed to have an out because she has a kid but she was living in a build on next door to her parents, had her partner living there, had her parents minding the kid any time she wanted and they couldn't get enough of him, plus she wasn't working. I've done the study and work full time thing and never treated my friends like that. If I was in college Monday and Wednesday, I'd say, "does Tuesday or Thursday suit?" :rolleyes:. Bítch. Well shot of her now.

Oh and her car is apparently laden down with presents for me too. On two birthdays and one Christmas event she turned up and said, "sorry I left your present in the car" - and that was the last I heard of them!

That to me sounds like someone who was in deep financial difficulties but was perhaps ashamed to say it. Then again, I don't know that person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Getting shooting pains in and around my hip this morning ffs!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

kfallon wrote: »

Hip replacement for you old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,959 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I probably have a deficiency in summat or other, but the skin at the top of my fingers and thumbs is peeling away. The thumbs are the worst. It's slightly painful, but the barely visible loose skin keeps catching on stuff, which is annoying.

New Home wrote: »
    That to me sounds like someone who was in deep financial difficulties but was perhaps ashamed to say it. Then again, I don't know that person.

hah the exact opposite! (though I can appreciate how it reads that way). This girl was the tightest person I ever knew. Even when we were kids, say if her dad gave her a tenner going to the shop and asked her to get milk, she'd be delighted if he forgot to ask for his change and would pocket it herself. When we were 16 and both worked full time for the summer, she never even opened her pay cheques (ah the days when you'd get a physical cheque!). I remember at the end of the summer she had a neat pile of them unopened because she'd been bumming off her parents even while she worked. She basically took her parents car by a sort of adverse possession. Started driving it then "loaning" it back to them when they needed it. They paid her tax and insurance and she even used their fuel card for putting petrol into it. They spent their life savings building an apartment for her when she got pregnant and she didn't give them anything off it or pay any rent. She had thousands in the bank even before she finished college and got a decent job, God only knows what she has now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,140 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Airport blues again tomorrow- off to Cologne
    Well, at least the place smells nice, right?

A courier company gave me a one-hour delivery window today ... and didn't show up within that hour. You'd kind-of assume that, if they can provide such a narrow window, that means that they are confident of actually delivering within that window ... other companies just say "all day". :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    hah the exact opposite! (though I can appreciate how it reads that way). This girl was the tightest person I ever knew. Even when we were kids, say if her dad gave her a tenner going to the shop and asked her to get milk, she'd be delighted if he forgot to ask for his change and would pocket it herself. When we were 16 and both worked full time for the summer, she never even opened her pay cheques (ah the days when you'd get a physical cheque!). I remember at the end of the summer she had a neat pile of them unopened because she'd been bumming off her parents even while she worked. She basically took her parents car by a sort of adverse possession. Started driving it then "loaning" it back to them when they needed it. They paid her tax and insurance and she even used their fuel card for putting petrol into it. They spent their life savings building an apartment for her when she got pregnant and she didn't give them anything off it or pay any rent. She had thousands in the bank even before she finished college and got a decent job, God only knows what she has now.

O_o I have no words... well, almost - if that's the case, she sounds like a right princess, a manipulative, spoiled brat, and you're well rid of her.

I don't really miss her, I am just annoyed with myself for putting up with her for so long! Eventually told her to take a hike two years ago when her dad gave her 30k for a big white wedding and she only invited her immediate family because she wanted to pocket the change. I figured if 25 years friendship wasn't worth a table setting for 49euro then off with her :(

Bloody hell, she was just 'given' 30 grand?? Are her parents willing to adopt me, by chance? Could you please ask them?

Feckin tell me about it. Only child. They just throw money at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Menas wrote: »
    Hip replacement for you old man.

I'm not finished yet, not by a long way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

I tried shopping around for a new gym membership, but hardly any gyms list their prices on the website. Well I'm not going to call or visit them to find out, I'll just assume they're over my budget.

Someone just posted a question on facebook and it went like this:

Anybody kno any gym dat dos dis

I fúcking hate the way people do that. It's actually harder to read this way.

..I have a headache now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

A friend of mine on facebook whom I would normally consider a fairly level headed sort of type is convinced David Bowie faked his own death and is getting very aggressive when people tell him that he's talking nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Salads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

miezekatze wrote: »
    I tried shopping around for a new gym membership, but hardly any gyms list their prices on the website. Well I'm not going to call or visit them to find out, I'll just assume they're over my budget.

That's because they want to customise the price to extract as much as possible from you.

I think the way it works is that if you seem new to gyms they'll raise their price, but if you know about gyms and know exactly what you need they'll offer a lower price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

That specific burn behind your two front teeth that you get from pizza.

Guess what I had for lunch!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

TG1 wrote: »

Ah yes, always on the first bite, then you have to suffer the pain while you finish off the pizza.
    Then someone will come and try grab a slice, you are in pain, unable to eat it but you'll still begrdginly give them a slice and always remember it forever and ever for the rest of your life.

I may be a little too passionate about pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,057 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Ah yes, always on the first bite, then you have to suffer the pain while you finish off the pizza.
    Then someone will come and try grab a slice, you are in pain, unable to eat it but you'll still begrdginly give them a slice and always remember it forever and ever for the rest of your life.

I may be a little too passionate about pizza.

No such thing! :confused:

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

TG1 wrote: »

Chips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

kfallon wrote: »

Another botched gangland hit:D