The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

Karmella wrote: »
    Oh this is good to know, I booked a birthday meal there for next month and I seem to remember a couple of people mentioning here that they weren't happy with service/food. Fingers crossed it'll go well!

About 10 mins after we were finished our desserts and teas the waiter came over and said the table was booked again and asked us to move down to the bar. We booked the table late and apparently they told us this when we made the booking so fair enough. For a birthday it might be worth asking if he'd be rushed off and maybe it'd be possible to sort a table or corner downstairs for ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Karmella

.red. wrote: »
    About 10 mins after we were finished our desserts and teas the waiter came over and said the table was booked again and asked us to move down to the bar. We booked the table late and apparently they told us this when we made the booking so fair enough. For a birthday it might be worth asking if he'd be rushed off and maybe it'd be possible to sort a table or corner downstairs for ye?

True, I've been given a time already that they need the table back, we have 2hrs & 15 mins. But that is a good idea re getting a space downstairs especially as it's a large party (12). I'll ask them.
    Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

.red. wrote: »
    We ate in Electric last night and it was probably the nicest meal I've had in a long time.
    4 of us ate and everyone was happy. The chicken and beef salad starters were really good and the only "fault" was that the chicken salad was a little big as a starter.
    We had 3 burgers and fish/chips for the mains and everyone was happy, especially with the burgers.
    The desserts were also very nice. I had baked alaska and it was 10/10. We had 2 orange cheesecakes that were maybe a little tangy/bitter for the people eating them but that was how they were meant to be, the last was a toffee pudding which again was a 10/10.
    Add in a few teas, and a glass of wine and it came to €130 which for food that everyone was delighted with seemed very good value. The service was also really good in there.
    I'll be back again.

good to hear that you had a good time - the time i was there is was deplorable - i wrote a mail to complain (constructively) and in the reply, they "justified" all my issues - were extremely defensive, giving reasons for everything - but with NO APOLOGY!! I could not believe it. Whether is has improved or not I still could never return - as i said in a previous post, I brought guests there.. and was mortified..
    I heard after our visit that the standard had plummeted bigtime; the owner has been giving his attention to other ventures.. mgmt must have slipped in this time..
    Maybe they have pulled up their socks now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭whatever76

anyone try here yet ?
    http://www.aliskitchencork.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,497 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

whatever76 wrote: »
    anyone try here yet ?
    http://www.aliskitchencork.com/

Yup, was there just before Christmas - had a bit of lunch. I had the corned beef sandwich which was very tasty, on lovely fresh bread! They have some savage looking sweet stuff though - cinnamon buns and the like, but didn't get to try any that day :(

It's small enough in there but nice atmosphere; must go back just for a cake and tea :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

Any place doing a nice lamb shank these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

Any place doing a nice lamb shank these days ?

I had a really nice Lamb shank in a place I normally wouldn't eat in over xmas The Bodega. It was absolute perfection and they had a few taps on from across the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

limnam wrote: »
    I had a really nice Lamb shank in a place I normally wouldn't eat in over xmas The Bodega. It was absolute perfection and they had a few taps on from across the road.

I suppose that was their special Christmas menu . Hopefully they put the shank on the main menu .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

So Bad Boy BBq or White Rabbit for a few people to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Not been to Bad Boy, but I think White Rabbit is decent for the price. Even though I think the portions have gotten smaller for sure. When it opened the feed for €10 was decent, and nice beers there too.

Went to Perrotts Garden Bistro in Hayfield Manor for dinner tonight. Wouldn't be somewhere I'd think of going but my Mother and Grandmother were up for the night staying there. Heard from a few people the restaurant there isn't amazing considering the price, so I didn't expect much...

But it was great! Had the seabass which was fab. My Mother had the veggie option which was a bean burger type thing and my Grandmother had the duck. Everyone really enjoyed it. Shame there is only one vegetarian main course, not much choice for my Mother. I would usually have the vegetarian option but I also eat fish and there was plenty of fish choices. Service was also great. Was quite expensive but what you expect in an expensive hotel. Nothing too over the top.

Was also in Orso over the weekend for my birthday dinner. Fab as usual! Had this beetroot, potato, goats cheese and squash dish which was fantastic. Also shared that lovely chocolate board. Very reasonable too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

Milly33 wrote: »
    So Bad Boy BBq or White Rabbit for a few people to go

Only been to each place once, I'd say White Rabbit has the better food. Bad Boy was very... well, the place was a bit of a mess, the plates were a mess and the waitress didn't seem to know much about anything. I had ribs and the portion was huge, but they weren't fall off the bone nor did they really taste of anything besides the metric ton of bbq sauce they were swimming in.

Thank you Nonoperational and Nerwen, yeah to be honest that's where my thoughts are coming from. All the Bad boy stuff looks a bit mingy and covered in sauce which I hate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Also shared that lovely chocolate board.

That sounds like a daycent idea. I've had plenty cheeseboards, but never a chocolate board!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,128 ✭✭✭opus

whatever76 wrote: »
    I believe the Sultan in Penrose quay is good
    https://www.facebook.com/Sultan.Cork

Was there with a few friends last nights & it got a thumbs up all round. Think you can bring your own wine if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Was in Cronins Crosshaven saturday night. Excellent as always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Went into son of a bun.

The burgers were really v good, nice crust on the outside, pink in the middle, awesome. Chips were meh, frozen yokes, not particularly crispy. Got nachos as well. They were ok, nothing special.

It's oddly jammers for a burger and chips joint. Kinda like a darker, louder Eddie Rockets, with beer.

great to see that the sultan now allows BYOB - ha ha - they had to succumb to the irish way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭wonka

yes happy to see the BYOB policy in the Sultan Cafe (although it is 5 EURO!). Going there on friday, and all reports so far are positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

wonka wrote: »
    yes happy to see the BYOB policy in the Sultan Cafe (although it is 5 EURO!). Going there on friday, and all reports so far are positive.

5 euro seems quite reasonable to me. They provide glasses, etc and having drinks usually prolongs the meal which means they would have slightly less availability throughout the night.

i wonder can you bring beer to the Sultan or just wine?

On another note, had coffee and cake in Gogo's on The Well Rd today - myohmy.. what a find.. I am glad I do not live too near though.. ekk..

On a bad note though they are very pushed for space... tables way too close together - and there are just a few.. we sat by the window so we were ok.. not sure if i would have a long lunch by a counter window though..

but the food looked amazing and the cakes ARE!! As is the coffee - and its all local too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I saw people going into sultan with beer anyway.

Eventually got to Salt last night and well no i wouldnt be rushing back there. Dissapointing i must say, I think they are trying to be hip or something but getting it wrong. €67.80 me thinks the bill was for 4 glasses of wine, two mains, coffee and one desert...Felt a bit robbed for what we got.

The food is very bland, like we were saying we could nip to aldi/lidl and pick up the meat selection they had and salad and it would have tasted fresher and better.

Fish Plate €15 was nice enough,but again salad tasted like it had been there a few days, nicest thing was fish cakes.
    Meat and Cheese plate €10 something and twas only alright the meats were bland and there was maybe two nice cheeses there.

Service wasnt great it was fine basic but i wouldnt be leaving a tip. We had to ask for breads which after seeing the rest of the tables being seated we were suppose to get at the begining, we had to ask for another glass of wine... Plus the wines are way over priced, and they seem to have differant ones listed on the wine list as to what they have front of house..

When we got our plates the waitress droppped a few of the ramicans on the floor with stuff in them which is grand totally get it (the serving plates are'nt made from ramicans) she was bringing us more of what she dropped, but we were waiting until half way through our food to get it, which really should have been brought out to us striaght away..

The tables are too small also for how they are serving the food, The food comes out on pices of wood, fancy wood. And you get your plate. There were two of us and with the two boards in the middle of the table, the big candle thingy they have on the table, glass of wine. You are left with like a tiny corner to use for your plate to eat.. Just isnt comfortable...ahhh i feel better now

Eventually got to Salt last night and well no i wouldnt be rushing back there. Dissapointing i must say, I think they are trying to be hip or something but getting it wrong. €67.80 me thinks the bill was for 4 glasses of wine, two mains, coffee and one desert...Felt a bit robbed for what we got.

The food is very bland, like we were saying we could nip to aldi/lidl and pick up the meat selection they had and salad and it would have tasted fresher and better.

Fish Plate €15 was nice enough,but again salad tasted like it had been there a few days, nicest thing was fish cakes.
    Meat and Cheese plate €10 something and twas only alright the meats were bland and there was maybe two nice cheeses there.

Service wasnt great it was fine basic but i wouldnt be leaving a tip. We had to ask for breads which after seeing the rest of the tables being seated we were suppose to get at the begining, we had to ask for another glass of wine... Plus the wines are way over priced, and they seem to have differant ones listed on the wine list as to what they have front of house..

When we got our plates the waitress droppped a few of the ramicans on the floor with stuff in them which is grand totally get it (the serving plates are'nt made from ramicans) she was bringing us more of what she dropped, but we were waiting until half way through our food to get it, which really should have been brought out to us striaght away..

The tables are too small also for how they are serving the food, The food comes out on pices of wood, fancy wood. And you get your plate. There were two of us and with the two boards in the middle of the table, the big candle thingy they have on the table, glass of wine. You are left with like a tiny corner to use for your plate to eat.. Just isnt comfortable...ahhh i feel better now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Totally agree with this! They had 3 of us seated at a table that size, and it was ridiculously small. Even for two it would have been uncomfortable with the assortment of stuff they have on the table and especially when it's a tapas bar - people will be ordering several plates and they have nowhere to put anything!

sorry about the double posts it keeps doing it, tis boards not me.. Yeah very annoying to try and eat. Even we rearranged everything and both of us just managed to squeese the plate in the corner of the table but it wasnt comfortable or the way it should be. We were considering ordering something else but sure wed have to put it in our laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

sorry about the double posts it keeps doing it, tis boards not me.. Yeah very annoying to try and eat. Even we rearranged everything and both of us just managed to squeese the plate in the corner of the table but it wasnt comfortable or the way it should be. We were considering ordering something else but sure wed have to put it in our laps

Yeah, they need a simpler arrangement. Go around regularly refilling water glasses for people who want water instead of leaving a load of unused glasses and a huge jug on the table, for example.

If you click "post reply" instead of "quick reply" it doesn't seem to do the double post, by the way.

thank you for the tip off was getting annoying the double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Andso

I was a big fan of Electic but it certainly went way down and we stopped going. Went during the holidays and was thrilled again by both food and service. Myself and husband with our 3 kids cleaned our plates. We did ask for fish of the day for kids but they apologised that they couldn't supply due to flooding and no deliveries of fresh fish . Loads of mash on kids plate, only veg was broccoli , thank god our kids love it but overall it was gorgeous. Will definitely go back gain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Went to Up Down recently when back home. Very pleasantly surprised with the prices (all mains between €10 - €16). All the main courses are grilled meats - our table got sirloin, lamb skewers, pork and duck breast. Great desserts too

The next day, we grabbed a quick lunch on Iyers before heading back to Dublin. Had the peanut tikki chaat followed by an onion dosa. Absolutely delicious.