If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

No bicycling today. My lungs are still inflamed from servicing our "new" Dyson yesterday. :(

This what happens when your lungs get repeatedly ravaged by bronchitis & mild to severe (that's a real range ) pneumonia.

Worth noting by anyone planning on awesoming through the tail end of their Bronchitis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Advice appreciated, as after 3 weeks and a course of anibiotics I'm still coughing up some alien lifeforms... :-/ Kippure can wait another week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Got a flat in Howth, swapped out for the spare tube... or so I thought. Gobshi*e here put the burst tube back in and almost put the new one in the bin. Sigh

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Alek wrote: »
    Advice appreciated, as after 3 weeks and a course of anibiotics I'm still coughing up some alien lifeforms... :-/ Kippure can wait another week or so.

Probably for the best; attempted it today but chickened out 1/3 way up to due to ice patches. That descent is dodgy enough already :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Got a flat in Howth, swapped out for the spare tube... or so I thought. Gobshi*e here put the burst tube back in and almost put the new one in the bin. Sigh

When I read this first, I thought you'd moved to Howth to a new flat.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Yup been there done that…salvaged by having a 'to patch' pile rather than fcuking it into the bin! :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Mental not, stop fiddling with bikes the day before an event.
    Riding the cross nationals tomorrow with a cable tie holding my brakes together....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

RobFowl wrote: »
    Riding the cross nationals tomorrow with a cable tie holding my brakes together....

Well they are lighter than screws

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,485 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

RobFowl wrote: »
    It's CX - after a couple of laps your brakes will be pretty ineffective anyway. Still have every confidence in you Rob - that national jersey is pretty much in the bag - we'll Seymour of that tomorrow evening anyway ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,133 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Good tip here lads for adding a start-up message to your Garmin (e.g. name/contact number) in case it gets lost/mislaid. Just did it and it works perfectly.

(I'm surprised Garmin don't make users more aware of this facility).

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2013/08/display-number-garmin.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

still inflamed from servicing our "new" Dyson yesterday. :(

Mmmmmm

Carry on style cackle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

12540595_1009673259055631_3974498814848723374_n.jpg?oh=515d247c8db5b09d693ea2211a9d57c4&oe=57138402&__gda__=1460410683_2f159da9ec78afcff88be2608c40a9ea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

11201918_541283762702688_108622619273618098_n.jpg?oh=2b7b3c234dbc83e962a4e409c08fc080&oe=570E77F3&__gda__=1459932602_003e8193136898ebaf7ee6d36239bdac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

He'd have made a decent cyclist, would fitted in very well. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Jaysus it was cold this morning. Kudos to whoever posted the bargain alert for the Vermac Lotto gear. It was my first time wearing it and it was cosy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭dunworth1

are these the best deal on wheels for around €200 ish?

Campagnolo's vento with gator skins for €219

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sp/road-track-bike/campagnolo-vento-asy-g3-gatorskin-winter-wheel-package/campwhfr917

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭koutoubia

dunworth1 wrote: »
    are these the best deal on wheels for around €200 ish?

Campagnolo's vento with gator skins for €219

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sp/road-track-bike/campagnolo-vento-asy-g3-gatorskin-winter-wheel-package/campwhfr917

Yes BUT because the rear wheel is G3 spoke pattern if it goes out of true its not a simple retrue that any bike shop can do.
    I am not even sure if anyone in Ireland has been trained to fix them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thud

Really? There must be a lot of Zondas floating around at this stage, they have same pattern, no?

koutoubia wrote: »
    Yes BUT because the rear wheel is G3 spoke pattern if it goes out of true its not a simple retrue that any bike shop can do.
    I am not even sure if anyone in Ireland has been trained to fix them!

It's a good job,nobody ever told me that.
    If I'd known, it was such a big deal, I mightn't have attempted to true my Zondas and Racing 3s, which I have done, with very satisfactory results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Did you manage to true the 3g pattern?
    Fair play to ya.
    I was under the illusion from another forum that it was a nasty job!
    May have a wheel for ya to try ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

koutoubia wrote: »
    Did you manage to true the 3g pattern?
    Fair play to ya.
    I was under the illusion from another forum that it was a nasty job!
    May have a wheel for ya to try ;)

I don't come cheap

Eamonnator wrote: »
    I don't come cheap

Thats not what it says on the toilet wall.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

12512539_10153639768776977_7978229160592208400_n.jpg?oh=831d75575066ead3cfc0c6e2c646ba19&oe=570CB6D4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭flying11

hi all,
    I'm just wondering if cycling Ireland have started sending out race numbers and licenses yet?

I paid for my a4 license in the middle of December but haven't heard anything since?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

If you log in you will be able to print off a pdf of your licence. They haven't sent then out yet AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭coach22

Quick question - Are you allowed to race on a road bike with disc brakes in Ireland?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

coach22 wrote: »
    Quick question - Are you allowed to race on a road bike with disc brakes in Ireland?

No, unless you race CX but my impression is that a road bike would be a bad choice there

lennymc wrote: »
    If you log in you will be able to print off a pdf of your licence. They haven't sent then out yet AFAIK.

Yes

When I renewed, C.I. sent me a confirmation email. There was a PDF included in the email.