Running shorts - quick\stupid question

• 08-01-2016 03:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭

OK, I got my first pair of 'proper' running shorts - Adidas Formotion. So, should I be wearing underwear with them? Let's just say that it's all a bit *bunched* down there...

Is this the same for all running shorts with lining? No underwear??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

No underwear under running shorts.
    There should be an inner mesh to keep everything where it belongs

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Go commando to prevent any chafing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Barack Obama

Grand - thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

I always wear underwear but I'm just a modest young fella from Tipp so don't listen to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

I always wear underwear but I'm just a modest young fella from Tipp so don't listen to me.

Must be a a country thing because I do too (then again I mostly wear gay ass spandex shorts or running tights!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

and do yis wear vests under your singlets too? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

I don't think this is a Dublin/country thing. I'm from Dublin and I don't see how you'd escape arrest wearing 7" split shorts without underwear.

However, I don't wear socks for xc or track. Is that divisive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

But they have built in underwear? You wouldn't wear shorts over leggings would ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

7b0793a0-fd71-0132-f422-0e18518aac2f.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Trial and error. If not wearing underwear works for you then go ahead. IME not wearing underwear leads to some pretty painful chafing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭kookiebrew

Always wear tight underwear, never needed Vaseline or anti chaffing creams down below with them. Look sexy as fxxk in them too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

Clearlier wrote: »
    IME not wearing underwear leads to some pretty painful chafing.

That's my experience too. I made the tragic mistake of not wearing underwear underneath a pair of running shorts (that bad built-in mesh) for my first ever 5K race some years ago, and I got the worst chaffing injury, in the worst possible place imaginable. I'm not exaggerating when I say I couldn't p**s properly for about a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Clearlier wrote: »
    Trial and error. If not wearing underwear works for you then go ahead. IME not wearing underwear leads to some pretty painful chafing.

And I find the exact opposite. Wearing extra underwear gives me bad chafing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Regardless of whether it is shorts or tights if I don't wear a pair of these:

comp_mens_shorts_black_lrg.jpg

it's chaff city.

Worst chaffing I ever got was wearing shorts with the built in mesh. There was a seam that rubbed the middle 1/3 raw and I didn't discover it until I was in the shower.

Not. Pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

And I find the exact opposite. Wearing extra underwear gives me bad chafing.

The main thing for me is that it needs to be tight enough to prevent any movement. If I had a pair of shorts that could do that I'd be happy to wear them commando.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Itziger

Ok, report to follow!

Reading this thread, I didn't even know you COULD wear underwear with 5 inch shorts. Chafing can indeed be a problem with the lining so if it's a long Run or if it's raining I will apply a nice bit of Vaseline.

Anyway, in the interests of science I decided today to try a snug pair of jocks under the running shorts. Findings: Yes, eliminates potential chafing. 2) Bit too tight for my liking. For serious running I'll be back to 'without'.

Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭kal7

just shows there are no stupid questions. I always go without underwear in run tights and/or shorts. No chafing issues, some shorts better for long distance than other though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,125 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

It depends on circumstances for me.

My preference is to race / run without in shorts with a built in brief, seamless and not mesh.
    However, I'm often found on the side of the road doing a quick change on the way home from work to go for a run, so whipping off the jocks isn't an option. I have several pairs of shorts with no inner brief and I also have several pairs of athletic briefs, so these work well together.

When racing a marathon I like to wear Skins shorts and team these up with a pair of briefless Kalenji Equarea shorts because I like pockets in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,551 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    However, I'm often found on the side of the road doing a quick change on the way home from work to go for a run, so whipping off the jocks isn't an option.
    Simple answer: Commando 24x7. Let the boys run free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭glacial_pace71

I'd usually give the running shorts a chance for a while, but if the inner briefs start to give any trouble at all then I don a pair of LineBreak or UnderArmour compression wear underneath.

Admittedly the layers look ridiculous but the family jewels need protection, and I don't want to appear on MaratonFoto with my hands in the wrong place trying to put something away.

Simple answer: Commando 24x7. Let the boys run free.

I'd usually give the running shorts a chance for a while, but if the inner briefs start to give any trouble at all then I don a pair of LineBreak or UnderArmour compression wear underneath.

Admittedly the layers look ridiculous but the family jewels need protection, and I don't want to appear on MaratonFoto with my hands in the wrong place trying to put something away.

Is this you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭glacial_pace71

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Is this you?

No, but don't they say "run like the clappers", not run like you've got the clap?

Those race photos show that there are no quick/stupid questions when it comes to running, particularly with the gender that can't do the thigh gap.