Creepy taxi journeys you've taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Not as creepy as others here, but last year I got a taxi home with a driver who said absolutely nothing to me and just blared a song called "When Jesus says Yes, nobody can say No" :eek:

It was about 10min long and had the actual lyrics
    "When Jesus says you're married, nobody can say you're single,
    When Jesus says you're pregnant, nobody can say you're barren"

I was quite relieved to get home unmarried tbh :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

one time I did too much drugs and I ended up leaving a house in phibsboro to walk a bit before i got a taxi home , I was not right in the head so I reckoned the walk would sober me up.

Took a wrong turn and ended up in the wrong direction . eventually ended up down on benburb street . Unsure of benburbs reputation these days but in 2000 it was known as a place to engage in seedy behaviour.

anyway car stopped and taxi driver was italian fella ,mid/late 30s. Very well dressed in a suit but in my state these finer points didn't register with me.

After a few seconds driving he starts telling me about how he was out for dinner earlier with some friends and he wanted to ride their 15 year old daughter.
    ok says me ...you really a taxi?
    taxi? says him....no I just picked you up
    ok..so...this is awkward , why did you stop?

and so forth with much confusion and me offering to leave and him saying no stay... eventually I figured out cos i was on benburb street he thought I was a rent boy.
    Dunno who was more upset , me or him when the truth was known.

I declined his offer of a blowjob but he kindly drove me home - it wasn't my home I just asked to him pull over at a random house.

mad stuff.

I guess he wasn't a taxi but it's taxi related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

About 20 years ago I got a taxi from Dublin city centre to Lucan. The driver had some sort of moulded barrier between the seats. It was huge and fully over on top of the back seat. It was just so huge and claustrophobic that I felt kind of pinned into the seat. Never seen one of these before it or since then thankfully, although I appreciate that the poor driver must have had a bad experience to feel that there was a need for one.
    I'll never forget it.

I had a disturbing experience with a taxi drive who when on a mental rant about Nigerians it was actuality frightening.

I got a taxi with an eastern European driver one evening and we got chatting and I asked him if he ever gets racist abuse and he said to me of course I do, so being me I asked him what that like and he said what do you think its like being spat at or abused by a drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

In Russia, stuck my hand out and summoned a Lada.

Thick heavy carpet in the back, with something wet and sticky coming through.

Guy looked like this: http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_kth41twGO11qa6llk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

CruelCoin wrote: »
    In Russia, stuck my hand out and summoned a Lada.

Thick heavy carpet in the back, with something wet and sticky coming through.

Guy looked like this: http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_kth41twGO11qa6llk.jpg

Ha! That reminds me of my husband's taxi trip in Russia. No seatbelts in a car whose driver didn't yield for anyone or thing, and who actually mounted the footpath on a city street to get around something that was annoying him.OMG!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Call me Al wrote: »
    Ha! That reminds me of my husband's taxi trip in Russia. No seatbelts in a car whose driver didn't yield for anyone or thing, and who actually mounted the footpath on a city street to get around something that was annoying him.OMG!

The footpaths are frequently abused over there, but these guys are claiming them back;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭westcoast66

Got into a taxi a few years back in Dublin. Driver was polish and seemed a nice chap. There was a girl in the passenger seat and the driver said its only his girlfriend and not to worry.

Anyway, was nearing the end of the journey and the girl opens her coat to reveal that she is in the nip and the driver asked me if I wanted any action for €50? Would probably have agreed if I was single....!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I have 2.

1st one was in the bad winter 2010, snow everywhere. I'd been out in the town next to the town I was from and got a taxi back to my town with lots of other people. I still had 3 odd miles to go to get home. I was wearing ridiculously high stilettos (mistake #1) but had flip flops in my bag. At least my feet were somewhat wArm in the shoes although they weren't very practical for walking in.

I went along the taxi rank and gave the direction I needed to go. It was quite a rural area so they were all saying the roads were too bad and they were only doing town runs. That was grand. Kept asking and this one taxi driver accepted the fare. He drove really slow and all was good. Usually it costs about 10-12 euro for me to get home. He had the meter well passed that (which I honestly didn't mind as long as I got home) although he'd only brought me a little over a mile into the journey. Next thing he stops the car and he's like "the roads are too bad. Get out here". And basically kicks me out of the taxi with about 1.5/2 miles left to go. So, I paid him whatever was on the meter, and I walked the rest of the way, in the snow, in a pair of flipflops, with no street lights, at 3 or 4am in the morning on my own. I was absolutely raging he accepted the fare if he wasn't going to do it, but worse than that, I was raging that after accepting the fare, he basically abandoned me on my own, in the dark, in the dead of night, on my own, without even proper shoes (not his fault)in treacherous conditions.

2nd trip was paddys weekend 14.
    Was living in a new town, was out with my best friend the Sunday night of paddys weekend. Town was jammed and no taxis to be got anywhere. I had been out with her a few months previously and this taxi brought us home and I had his number (only taxi I did have number for), so I rang him and he said he'd meet me on one of the back streets in a few mins. Didn't think much of him picking us up on the back street because I figured he'd have been mobbed on Main Street. So, myself and her headed off, and got into his taxi. Both of us in the back. He was a bit surprised there was 2 of us but that was grand. He dropped her off 1st and as he's driving out of her estate he stops and asks me to get into front.
    I'm milling into a bag of chips like a wild animal in the back so I'm like no thanks I'm fine here, so he drives further, stops again and was like no come on, get into the front. Against my better judgement I did. He's got his hands all over me, his hand on my leg, trying to get further up my dress, I'm smacking his hand telling him no, stop it. I think at one stage I even lifted his hand off me and pushed him away. So he drives on further. In this town, to get to my house, he needed to take 1st exit off roundabout, then 3rd exit off the next roundabout. Taking the 2nd exit off 1st roundabout brought you straight out of town, onto the motorway.

So, he flies straight on through the roundabout and we're heading towards the motorway and now I'm having a heart attack because although I'm very drunk I know that's not how you get to my house. I'm trying to tell him this is the wrong way but he's laughing and he doesn't seem to be listening. Just before the motorway exit, there's a tiny little lane to the left, which he takes and drives down a bit and pulls the car over.

There's no cars, no houses, lots of trees. He's stopped, telling me his life story. Left Nigeria to live in germAny, had a son in Germany and his sons mother was a nasty woman and he never got to see his son, how he wanted a large family some day, lots of kids, showed me a photo of his son. All the while, his hands are roaming all over me. Now, I lived in a house share with a rake of lads, was the only girl, so they did look out for me. I was closest to 1 in particular, and the only thing I could think of was that if I was going to be hurt, at least they'd know where I was. So I text my housemate "where are you I need you to come get me" or something along that line anyway. Your mans a bit put out I'm texting asks me who I'm texting, I tell him my housemate who's coming to get me. He doesn't say anything else, but starts the car again and drives on along this lane. Turns out, it did lead out onto my road but I didn't know that at the time. He drives on to my house, drives past my house, and stopped up from my house on the opposite side of the road and asks me for a kiss goodbye. How about no? I threw the money at him and just jumped out of the car.

I'd heard about a taxi driver in Dublin with a Perspex shield/wraparound the drivers seat and stuffed toys jammed in between it and the seat, my mates said he had an extendable baton that he goes on about breaking heads for people that run on him.

I thought they were winding me up.

About this time last year I got in this very taxi, guy is nuts and gets more and more agitated as the journey goes on, pulls out the baton and is waving it around. I couldn't get out quick enough, any wonder people do a runner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Once I got a taxi in Dublin with a mate, and this guy is really chatty - but he can provide ammo to someone with "issues" .

So he asks hows business ...

Taximan : Ah could be better but cos of ALL THE SCUMBAG PARTTIMERS OUT THERE TONIGHT!!!! , f&cking SCUMBAGS with their cheap licence !!! ....

So instead of leaving it he asks him further on the details of his licence and how much he paid etc .... jesus my ear still hurts ..

Then he went on a rant about foreign strippers and how he wouldn't pay for some Nigerian to give him a lap dance ... or Chinese ... he could score loads (and he HAD SCORED & LOADS & LOADS & LOADS) of proper burds like !! .

Another time in Valencia we got into a taxi and some old Andalucian lad was driving, and we could barely understand him, he had just thrown out a group of Gitano women from his cab, and was shouting about how in 30 years driving a cab he had never thrown anyone out untill tonight ... but he was funny at least.

Pretty boring in 20 years of taking taxis ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Got in a taxi in O'Connell St. one night over the Xmas, driver was a quiet type, just to make conversation, I made some remarks about chungwans staggering around in miniskirts, and immigrants taking all our jobs etc. "Get out of my vehicle" he replied, "those young women are being victimised by the patriarchy,and exposed to the male gaze, and now you are trying to slut-shame them, while most immigrants are enriching our social and cultural life while contributing by their skills and work ethic to our rapidly growing economy"
    I'm going in today to report him, he had a beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Got into a taxi a few years back in Dublin. Driver was polish and seemed a nice chap. There was a girl in the passenger seat and the driver said its only his girlfriend and not to worry.

Anyway, was nearing the end of the journey and the girl opens her coat to reveal that she is in the nip and the driver asked me if I wanted any action for €50? Would probably have agreed if I was single....!

Reminds me of when a foreign lad (actually Polish I think) was renting across the street from the mothers with his missus, maybe 8-9 years back. A little after the economy went splat and I had to move back home for a while. He was a normal guy, seemed pretty sound and had a big, friendly dog that he let out around the front garden who would occasionally go wandering out to a patch of grass to the side. If I saw the dog there on the way home, I'd usher him back to the garden and give the door a knock for the (Polish?) couple to let him in if it was raining. All grand so.

I should mention his other half was outrageously hot. Looked a lot like this. Ridonculous stuff altogether. He was a taxi driver.

So one rainy night I'm leaving the house and heading into town. I'm meeting a girl in there, the weather is fairly crap, and I'm also running a small bit late (and if anyone's got the #16 bus on a Friday night in bad weather, you know it could be 25 minutes until you get to town, or if could be well over an hour). It's dark out, and I can see the light of his car on in the distance. Happy days!

I had a smoke lit, so I slowly walked up toward the car, but it looked empty. Maybe he had left the light on by accident, I thought. If that was the case I'd quickly knock in and tell him, but didn't want to be smoking in his door way out of courtesy. So I go over to the car (just outside the driveway), stand to the side of it, and take my last few drags. I then bend down to check my reflection in the rear view mirror, and look in the window just to be sure, because I thought I saw something move.

After about 10-20 seconds of staring in, I notice what the movement is. Yep, himself and the missus were riding away. They stopped because they noticed me... staring in at them!

I just walked quickly away, mortified. From that point on, the dog just got left quietly in the front garden... rain or not. :o

And I didn't even see nothing! Good Christ though, she was hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

This thread is becoming on of my favourite boards threads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Got in a taxi at the Big tree one night and the huge black driver spent the whole time shouting into the phone ringing various people but the way he introduced himself was " Hello its the General " , sounds worse in a Nigerian accent. Sounded like he was running a small war in africa !!

About 10 or 12 years ago i knew a Romanian fella who picked up a Polish girl in D4 pretending to be a taxi broke her phone and headed for the wicklow hills . she convinced him to pull over to use the bathroom and she ran off ,

cops caught him heading back to dublin and he ended up getting 3 years , not half enough considering it turned out he had previous for the same thing in his own country.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/romanian-man-given-three-years-for-kidnapping-384247.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

RainyDay wrote: »
    Can't believe he said Donnybrook when he meant Donnycarney. Really, just don't believe it.

Easy mistake to make when you're not from Dublin and after getting the last train up unexpectedly because a family member got taken into hospital! Head wasn't really with it, but at least I didn't say Dalkey ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Me and 2 of my buddies went to Krakow for a piss up weekend.

We leave the apartment we rented for the night, walk around a bit and we find a bar on a quiet street, but we wanted a wilder night than a few quiet pints.

We had more than a few beers there but we didn't know where to go next. So my buddy asks the waitress "Where is a good place to go out tonight in Krakow?", she replies "Bar Awesome is the place to be" (can't remember the real name of the bar).

So we head out of the bar and there is a taxi right outside the door of bar, perfect! So we jump in and there is an old Polish taxi driver with very little English and the conversation goes something like this:

Taxi Driver in broken English: asks where do ye want to go?
    Us: Bar Awesome
    TD: Bar Awesome?
    Us: Yeah Bar Awesome
    TD: Emm OK

Taxi driver takes off and drives for about 5 minutes, then stops the car outside a car park, with nothing resembling a bar or nightlife...

TD: asks where we want to go?
    Us: Bar Awesome!!

Were looking at each other like what the fcuk is wrong with this guy and we were thinking he's just a dodgy Eastern Eurpean trying to screw us foreigners over now for a little extra fare, so we are now getting a little angry and so is he.

TD: asks where we want to go?
    Us: Bar Awesome!! What the fcuk?
    TD: Do you like girls?
    Us: Of course we like girls, bring us to Bar Awesome!! (wtf this guy is a fcuking weirdo)

He then speeds off onto a highway and we are like "Oh fcuk" and we tell him to bring us back to the city, he's ignoring us now and we are starting to panic. We turn off the highway into this dark car park and 2 giant bald men come out of a door next to the car park and start walking towards the taxi...we are like oh fcuk we pissed this taxi driver off now and his buddies are going to beat the sh1t out of us and take all our money.

Then this 60 year old Polish man turns to us and like a Polish Father Jack just keeps saying "Girls, Girls, Girls" and pointing to the door the bald giants came out of and starts simulating a girl in his lap giving him a blowjob, so fcuking awkward.

The two very intimating bald giants knock on the cab windows to see if we are coming out, while the cab driver is simulating oral sex on himself and we tell the taxi driver to get us the hell out of here! After a few protests, he eventually heads back to the city. We all sit in the cab in complete silence on the ride back, thinking we just dodged certain death in a Polish brothel.

Taxi driver drops us off at the same location we got into his cab in. We just paid the fare in case he drives off again. In the back of our minds, we're thinking "FFS after all that and the large fare we gave you, at least drop us off in a decent nightlife spot" but we were all too glad to be alive to say anything.

After all that ordeal where we thought we were going to be murdered, we are left standing outside the bar we had just left 30 minutes earlier.

Me: Where the fcuk do we go now?
    Buddies: Fcuk it, let's just go back to the bar we just left as we at least know we can get a pint there

We walk towards the bar and my buddy taps me on the shoulder, look at the sign above the bar..."Bar Awesome"

FFS we basically got into a cab and just kept shouting the name of the bar we just came out of, at an old Polish guy who had know clue what these drunken Irish lads were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Got in a taxi at the Big tree one night and the huge black driver spent the whole time shouting into the phone ringing various people but the way he introduced himself was " Hello its the General " , sounds worse in a Nigerian accent. Sounded like he was running a small war in africa !!

bull$hit, sounds like something a white racist Irish taxi driver would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

I lived in London for 10 years. One night on the way home from a long stint in the pub I was shuffling along the high street lurching from lamp post to lamp post when a taxi pulled up. I fell into it and told him to take me home but wouldn't tell him my address. It made sense to me at the time! Anyways, long story short, eventually divulged the info and was dropped to the door of my building. When I went to pay he said, "oh no need to pay me, I'm not a taxi. Night, night."

He drove off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Hazys wrote: »
    FFS we basically got into a cab and just kept shouting the name of the bar we just came out of, at an old Polish guy who had know clue what these drunken Irish lads were talking about.
    :pac: :pac:

I'd love to know how many of these 'dodgy' stories are just that - breakdowns in communication, and tourists being very highly guarded. Classic! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Not as creepy as others here, but last year I got a taxi home with a driver who said absolutely nothing to me and just blared a song called "When Jesus says Yes, nobody can say No" :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

You're legally obligated to pay the metered fare, so if the drive has to take you to an ATM the obligation is on the customer to pay the metered fare. But you're free to dispute this later, once you have a receipt.

I did pay the metered fare. He pulled the extra €10 out of nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I did pay the metered fare. He pulled the extra €10 out of nowhere.

Well now in fairness if he drove you to an ATM and back home again its completely feasible to believe that it came pretty close to ten Euro, esp if there was waiting time at the ATM.

I doubt the meter was €20 at your destination and never moved between there, to the ATM and back again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

My most worrying Taxi driver song was this :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭glenq

circadian wrote: »
    I'd heard about a taxi driver in Dublin with a Perspex shield/wraparound the drivers seat and stuffed toys jammed in between it and the seat, my mates said he had an extendable baton that he goes on about breaking heads for people that run on him.

I thought they were winding me up.

About this time last year I got in this very taxi, guy is nuts and gets more and more agitated as the journey goes on, pulls out the baton and is waving it around. I couldn't get out quick enough, any wonder people do a runner!

Years ago, we were just young 'uns, got a taxi home and were drunk and giddy as. One of the lads tells a stupid joke. "Man walks into a bar.... it was an iron bar". Hilarious, and we all burst out laughing. The taxi driver leans down and pulls out a baton, tapping it on the steering wheel and say "was it an iron bar like this?".
    Sombre drive after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Well now in fairness if he drove you to an ATM and back home again its completely feasible to believe that it came pretty close to ten Euro, esp if there was waiting time at the ATM.

I doubt the meter was €20 at your destination and never moved between there, to the ATM and back again.

We went to a late night garage up the road that I can see from the upstairs window of my house to break the €50. It was late so there was no queue at the garage. There's no way it would have come to €10.

If the driver had been any way polite and explained he didn't have change and asked would I mind going to the garage and breaking the note instead of fing and blinding me I would have been more understanding and wouldn't have minded giving him a bit extra. There was no way I was giving him anything more than the meter said after the way he treated me and the way he plucked €10 out of the sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Oh God. It wasn't that version, it was a longer, folk one but yep. Do "no means no" and "just say no" not apply if Jesus is around? :eek:
    My most worrying Taxi driver song was this :o

What even...what IS that? Taxi driver or not, that is one of the creepiest things I've heard. *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Got a taxi from Blackrock last Christmas. It was actually a week before Christmas Eve and I was having a few drinks with former work colleagues. I pointed out to the taxi driver how Blackrock was very quiet, seeing as it was so close to Christmas. His response was an abrupt "Blackrock's finished....and as for Dun Laoghaire, that's finished too....and have you been to Bray lately? That's finished as well...". It was funny that he didn't elaborate on what he was saying, but I kinda understood that he meant that their trade was really bad now. Just thought his abruptness was very funny, and the turn of phrase he used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

CruelCoin wrote: »

Ha ha ha. The wonderful Peter Stormare. Always great at playing creeps and disturbing individuals

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

pgj2015 wrote: »
    mynamejeff wrote: »

bull$hit, sounds like something a white racist Irish taxi driver would say.

think i should get a job as a taxi man ?

And still its true . there was three other lads in the cab and we were in the middle of town but it was still weird