Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    I'm probably reading you wrong but are you saying the maximum permitted manual lift is 15kgs? Sure that's ridiculous.
    I don't know but I get 70 25kg bags on a pallet delivered here. had to manhandle the last pallet into the shed due to other people's stupidity. Took the lazy man's load (2 at a time) .

And that's how you give yourself a bad back :pac:
    Don't think I'd happily carry more than 25kg. Often carry them from the house to the shed which is about 250m but I wouldn't manage it with a 40kg bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Base price wrote: »
    Stand corrected but I think the latest legislation states that 20kg bags handled per individual.
    Maybe Brian could clarify.
    I think it's 15kgs lift per individual. Stand corrected.

I done the manual handling course lately, I seem to remember that historically there was a max limit for both men and wimmen but that it's been done away with. I think, and I usually attend these courses half awake with varying degrees of interest!, but I think it's whatever you're comfortable with, be that 5 kg or 55 kg.
    I will say again I may have being asleep for that ten seconds :-)

Kovu wrote: »
    Don't think I'd happily carry more than 25kg. Often carry them from the house to the shed which is about 250m but I wouldn't manage it with a 40kg bag.

I'm a pure Baste. I'd carry you and the 25 kgs. :-o

At least I would..... If only I didn't fook up me back :-)

I'm a pure Baste. I'd carry you and the 25 kgs. :-o

If I carry the cat as well we'd be a nice round 100kg :D

Nice an round indeed :-)

Who ate all the pies at Xmas.....ME :D

I see the vegans are playing on peoples emotions again- http://vbetweenthelines.com/index.php/2016/01/04/cadburys-calves-shot-to-feed-huntshhounds/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Not really. It's all this twisting and turning with a load on, wrong position when lifting, lifting a load away from the body and point of balance that ****s you up. The human body is allot stronger than we think when used correctly

main-qimg-2488dee685b5fbafc9d468831e0b69d2.jpg

Hur hur hur.

On that note, I'm going to bed! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

. The human body is allot stronger than we think when used correctly

The father never failed to remind me that his generation carried 2cwt bags of grain on their backs from the treasher up flights of stone steps to granary lofts.

Usually when I was complaining about my back after loading 1cwt bags. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

back in tan land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    The father never failed to remind me that his generation carried 2cwt bags of grain on their backs from the treasher up flights of stone steps to granary lofts.

Usually when I was complaining about my back after loading 1cwt bags. !

My father reminds me about it often enough too. And tells me never to be so stupid. My dad and uncle both did this work and both have had knee and hip replacement operations. But the worst operation both have had is multiple back operations....... their brother, who's a retired teacher never had to visit a hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

'Flicking' through radio stations in car earlier and caught end of talk with yon Ken Ring.
    According to him the summer will not be wonderful and won't be particularly warm or dry. :( Best spell of weather will be last week of May and first week of June. At least that's silage time around here.
    Don't shoot the messenger :)

Here doing cows feet and Joe is on in the shed.
    Women sent in a long anonymous email complaining that she couldn't find a partner and her in her mid thirties with old fashioned values etc. Well she just went on and on and on.

Hoofcare man just turned to me and said ''well maybe is she shut up and just looked for the ride she'd find somebody''

Am in a heap laughing :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,495 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Base price wrote: »
    Stand corrected but I think the latest legislation states that 20kg bags handled per individual.
    Maybe Brian could clarify.
    I think it's 15kgs lift per individual. Stand corrected.

I dont understand how 50kg fertilizer bags are still legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

its a shame all right, all the talk about health and safety and the manufacturers of one of the major farm inputs fails to take this into consideration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I'd be inclined to agree with this. I'd fairly regularly throw two bags of nuts up on my shoulder and carry another in my free hand at the same time without a bother because it's your legs that's taking all the weight, never feel any pressure on my back doing it. Have knocked a hop out of my back a few times though building walls and the like where your feet would be fixed and your body twisted and your doing most of the lifting with your back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

I remember during a physics lecture we were shown that the least efficient use of body energy was digging(with a shovel) and the most efficient was cycling. So reggie get that shovel out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Think it's a pragmatic move to ensure the maths doesn't get beyond us.

A bag to the acre is a bag to the acre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

kowtow wrote: »
    Think it's a pragmatic move to ensure the maths doesn't get beyond us.

A bag to the acre is a bag to the acre.

Explains why still using acres not hectares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Dawggone wrote: »
    Explains why still using acres not hectares.

Cos 10 acres sounds better than 4 hectares.
    Also around this area there's 1 acre fields, while the biggest could be 15/16 acres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I'd be inclined to agree with this. I'd fairly regularly throw two bags of nuts up on my shoulder and carry another in my free hand at the same time without a bother ....,,
    Don't want to be preaching but typical of how guys damage their back. You're slowly wearing the cartridge in your back. I did all that crack when I was young too. I used to carry 12ft gates across a field. I've a bad back now. It's grand once I don't carry anything heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Grueller

Don't want to be preaching but typical of how guys damage their back. You're slowly wearing the cartridge in your back. I did all that crack when I was young too. I used to carry 12ft gates across a field. I've a bad back now. It's grand once I don't carry anything heavy.

Myself and a mate were talking to a local character who had been in hospital with a heart complaint at the mart recently.

I asked him how he was. He replied I get short of breath when I lift anything heavy. Mate asks did you try not lifting anything heavy?
    Yer man answers, I have to p1ss twice a day at least.

Like Kovu earlier I nearly choked laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,054 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

On the subject of bad backs and hauling heavy stuff I definably think shorter stocky folks are at a big advantage. Most of the men I know with bad backs are 6ft or taller. I'm 6ft 3" myself and have had some minor back trouble in the past. My Uncle is now near crippled from it after several operations. Its made me deadly carefully now when hauling bags of feed or cement around the place and always make sure to lift with the knees bent and make sure the strain is taken more by the lower body then the upper. Indeed if you ever watch the weight lifting at the Olympics etc. its clear what body shape is favoured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    On the subject of bad backs and hauling heavy stuff I definably think shorter stocky folks are at a big advantage. Most of the men I know with bad backs are 6ft or taller. I'm 6ft 3" myself and have had some minor back trouble in the past. My Uncle is now near crippled from it after several operations. Its made me deadly carefully now when hauling bags of feed or cement around the place and always make sure to lift with the knees bent and make sure the strain is taken more by the lower body then the upper. Indeed if you ever watch the weight lifting at the Olympics etc. its clear what body shape is favoured

That's grand till your knees start giving ya bother.....like mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,054 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's grand till your knees start giving ya bother.....like mine

I did damage my knee a few years back overdoing it on the gym rowing machine. I guess its all about knowing your own bodies strength's and weaknesses. Knee injuries do take a fair long time to heal alright and it took nearly 2 years of physio to get it 100% again. Also I find cold damp weather can play havoc with a lot of these type of injuries and you can really feel stiffness in joints and that first thing in the morning at this time of year. I reckon the Irish climate is not one to grow old in gracefully and when I do retire from the day job and have a chance to sell up, I think I'd definatly try and retire to a warmer/dryer climate, or at least spend the winter months in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

First bit of decent frost here all winter. It's most heartly welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,433 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Kids are gone back to school. Peace.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,985 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'd be inclined to agree with this. I'd fairly regularly throw two bags of nuts up on my shoulder and carry another in my free hand at the same time without a bother because it's your legs that's taking all the weight, never feel any pressure on my back doing it. Have knocked a hop out of my back a few times though building walls and the like where your feet would be fixed and your body twisted and your doing most of the lifting with your back.

It's an occupational hazard, publicans have alcohol problems, farmers have back problems.

LC I'm guessing you are still in your 20's, no offence Patsy, but I reckon you are closer to my age:( I used to be like you too LC, lifting 4'' blocks, one in each hand etc. Once your back is fooked, it's fooked for life. It's one of the reasons I hate downer cows, physio is expensive......

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I watched my own father get crippled with arthritis. He had 3 separate hip operations and ended up walking with 2 sticks. Even after his first hip operation he went back driving a truck and he still worked away on the farm using a shovel etc. He was as strong as an ox, but I think he just wore out his joints. I remember him carrying two bales of hay together on his back for over 200m across fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I watched my own father get crippled with arthritis. He had 3 separate hip operations and ended up walking with 2 sticks. Even after his first hip operation he went back driving a truck and he still worked away on the farm using a shovel etc. He was as strong as an ox, but I think he just wore out his joints. I remember him carrying two bales of hay together on his back for over 200m across fields.
    Unfortunately it catches up with ya lads