Creepy taxi journeys you've taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I got a taxi in Israel and asked to be taken to Rosh Hanikra on the Israeli/Lebanese border.

But apparently my heavy Dublin accent comes across as 'Russian Negro' [Rosh Hanikra] and I was taken to a whorehouse very close to the border lol

That'll do says you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I got a taxi in Israel and asked to be taken to Rosh Hanikra on the Israeli/Lebanese border.

But apparently my heavy Dublin accent comes across as 'Russian Negro' [Rosh Hanikra] and I was taken to a whorehouse very close to the border lol

I used to get the Palestinian "taxis" in Jerusalem which were always a laugh. In the West Bank it gets even more comical, any lad will pull over and give you a spin to wherever you want for twenty shekels. Unfortunately the car is usually the greatest sh*theap of all time and they are literally the most mental drivers in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

anto9 wrote: »
    ^>>I really hope these cases are being reported to the regulator <<The stazzi are alive and well in dear old Ireland .God save us .

I guess you'd prefer to have your daughter/sister put up with rape threats//comments from their taxi driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

RainyDay wrote: »
    I really hope these cases are being reported to the regulator and/or Gardai. Turn on your phone camera and record the comments etc of the driver.

Ha ha ha. The gardai are in the station eating doughnuts and playing darts. They don't have time for all this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I got into a taxi on St.Stephen's Green, and in typical Dub fashion, the driver without me even prompting him started going on about how much he loves his job, how he's his own boss and no one tells him what to do.

"Take a right here lad", says I in reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

RainyDay wrote: »
    I really hope these cases are being reported to the regulator and/or Gardai. Turn on your phone camera and record the comments etc of the driver.

"Well, the courts might not work anymore, but as long as everyone is secretly videotaping everyone else, justice will be done."
    - Marge Simpson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Pseudorandom

Got a taxi to the airport in Toronto - taxi driver was nuts, nearly killed us all several times with crazy overtaking manoeuvres and blowing the horn at any poor misfortunate that blocked his path in any way. Then he turned around while he was on the freeway(?) in about four lanes of traffic, driving about 100mph and stared at us in the backseat and said "So, are any of your parents professionals?".

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Ha ha ha. The gardai are in the station eating doughnuts and playing darts. They don't have time for all this

That's where the Garda Ombudsman Commission comes in. Or Joe Duffy or whoever. If you had a video/audio recording of any of the incidents described here and the Garda refused to act, it would be all over the press and media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Ally Dick wrote: »

yes because its the Guards fault that some taxi drivers are seriously unsuitable to be a taxi driver. The Guards in do thankless job but do it very well in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Not creepy in the normal sense, but I remember in mid 2007 getting a taxi back from town late at night. I was 21, still pretty sober, and we were still very much in the boom times. Got on to talking about money, when he mentions to me he's been asking because of something a mate of his told him. Of course taxi drivers are often known to waffle on so I let him have at it. And so on and on he went about people being given loans they couldn't afford, that the world economy was going to evaporate, and that Ireland was going to get it worse than anywhere else because of foreign influence.

He told me to save up as much money as I could and to get the f*** out of the country before it was too late, to China or Australia or somewhere outside the US/EU area, because it was all about to collapse on itself and society as we know it might well collapse. I was polite to him, but thought he was f***ing insane.

12 months later... :(

Got a taxi in Ho Chi Ming city, knew the scams, knew my way around. Wasn't long before I copped the dodgy Meyer flying up! And the driver going way out of the way to bring me home. He started giving me some guff about one way systems. I pointed out the correct way back.
    Got close to where I was staying & he stopped in an alley, locked the doors & started looking for 10 times the amount the fare should be!
    Luckily, I had feck all in my purse, just the right amount it should have been. He started getting aggressive, looking for huge amounts of money. Wouldn't let me out of taxi.
    So, I agreed to go to a ATM, to get him the money.
    As soon as he stopped, I got out, walked to the ATM, turned, looked at him sat in taxi still, then took off running like a loola!

He followed me back, best he could, but I got away from him!!!!
    Scumbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Nothing creepy but a few months ago in Las Vegas our taxi man casually broke out into a rap song all about his life how he is a fat cabbie and all that. Best taxi journey of my life haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I was on a working holiday visa in Australia about 30 years ago. I went to Adelaide where, to my amazement, I got a job as a licensed taxi driver even though I didn't know a single street in the city.

My first day on the job I decided to drive to the airport and wait in line for a fare. When it was my turn, a guy comes out the terminal, throws his bags in the trunk and gives me the address of his uncle to drive to. I tell him that I've only just arrived in Australia from UK and don't know where anything is. He tells me he is from UK as well and it turns out he lived a few streets from me in London.Then I give him the street atlas of Adelaide and asked him to sort out the best route, which he did and we eventually got to his uncle's house.

I suppose he had a strange taxi ride...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

About 10 years ago, I was travelling in Morocco with a few mates. We hailed a taxi to take us from this little village to another little village where we'd booked a hostel, kind of across the desert. Once we were in the taxi, your man locked the doors and told us he was taking us to his mate's hostel. We told him we didn't want to go there, that we'd booked another place, but he just kept going. We asked him to let us out and told him we'd call the police, then he reached under the front passenger seat and got out a massive knife. :eek::eek: We waved at passing cars to try to get help, but the drivers just waved back, thinking we were messing and having fun. We arrived in this village and he took us to his mate's hostel, got out of the taxi and locked us in it while he went to talk to his mate and obviously explain that he'd just kidnapped some tourists and were forcing them to stay at his crappy hostel so that he could get his cut. We decided to change tack and pretend we were happy to stay there because there was no way this nutter was going to take us anywhere else. So we pretended to be happy about it, said what a nice place it was (it was awful). The owner went to make some tea for us and we legged it back to the main road (which was a single lane highway in the middle of the desert), flagged down a car and went to where we wanted to go. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

Got in a taxi ouside Heuston station a few years back. I was about 21 at the time and the driver was around early 30's and from Dublin. I hadn't even my seatbelt strapped when he starts on with "I've waited my whole life for you to get in my car". I obviously thought he was just making a joke but it continued from Heuston to Rathmines with him telling me I was his dream girl and what would he have to do to get me on his arm etc. And then he made a comment about how I was bringing him back to my house before we even had a date. Obviously not the worst of stories but he really creeped me out. I even told him the wrong house number so he wouldn't know where I lived. Absolute weirdo!

Another time I was in a taxi with a Nigerian driver who was probably in his forties and he spent the whole entire time talking about how he was drinking red bull because it keeps him up all night for all the sex he gets while working. Then he asked me if I had a boyfriend and when I said yes he asked me if my boyfriend drinks red bull and if it makes him a better lover. Creepy!!! I was actually about 10 weeks pregnant at the time and just couldn't wait to get away from this sleaze ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

http://www.transportforireland.ie/taxi/taxi-compliments-complaints/

A lot of the stuff in Ireland mentioned here should be reported

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

One night I only had a €50 to pay for a taxi. I knew the fare would be about €20 and that's what it came to. I took out the €50 to pay for the taxi and the driver started going mental because he didn't have change. He drove me to a late night garage to break the €50 and drove me back home. He started looking for €30 for the fare (the round trip to the garage was about 5 minutes). I told him I was only going to give him the €20 I owed him. I said to him he's offering a service so it was up to him to make sure he had change and I wasn't letting him gouge an extra tenner out of me (it was a Saturday night as well, not a slow Tuesday afternoon). He went bananas and was calling me everything under the sun. I just left the €20 on the back seat and fecked off.

On the flip side a taxi driver gave me a free fare about 10 years ago. I had the money to pay but he wouldn't accept it from me for some reason.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Omackeral wrote: »
    When I was a teenager of about 16 I worked in Eddie Rockets in Blanch. This one particular day we were over staffed and Tallaght was understaffed so I was sent over there for the day. So they got me a taxi and down the M50 I go with this typical Dub fella who was in his 30's I'd say.

Me: Eh yeah stop the car, I'll walk from here.

On the M50? Fair play to ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Only ever had one creepy experience in a taxi, but it was enough to do me a lifetime. I was 17, maybe 16, at the time and I was just after getting the last train up to Dublin so the only option at the time was to get a taxi to where I needed to go. Just my luck, there's one outside the station waiting. I jump into the back, tell him to drop me at Donnybrook, and we set off on the trip. About 5 minutes in he asks me do I smoke, I say yes and he tells me I can smoke if I jump into the front. Being that I've been on a train for hours I'm only too happy to take him up on the offer and jump into the front beside him. Few minutes go by, quietly enjoying my smoke and he asks me if I'm gay or straight. I better describe him at this point, built like a bodybuilder, late 30's and bald. Look's like the kind of guy who could rip me in half without breaking a sweat.

I tell him I'm straight and the mood has changed considerable since he asked the question, "That's a shame". I'm weirded out at this point and wishing I stayed put in the back seat. He goes to ask me a bunch more questions, have I ever experimented with a man, what do I prefer boobs or ass, I say boobs, knowing I'd be going down the wrong path if I said ass and he goes on to tell me how most men love asses more, that I'm a strange one, and a bunch more sexually themed questions. While he's asking me all these I can see out the corner of my eye that he has one hand down in between his legs and he's rubbing himself slowly, it was at that point that I was full sure I was getting raped!! The journey goes on like that for a while, him asking me more bizarre questions and offering me smokes, which I took because I was too worried to decline and tell him I had my own.

Then he pulls over, I'm looking around, no idea where the hell we are. "Here we are, Donnybrook" My eyes roll back into my head when I realize the mistake I made. I was so tired I said Donnybrook instead of Donnycarney, which in itself would have been a pain in the balls, but being driven around by this guy just made the whole thing worse. In fairness to him once I said it to him he cancelled the fare and turned the meter back to zero which was nice of him, but it gave him another 20 minutes or so to get his questions out and try to convince me to come out with him for a few drinks that weekend while he rubs himself raw at the thought of it. When we finally get to the right Donny, I pay him, say thanks again for scratching off the meter and go to open the door, it's locked. He keeps me in the car for another few minutes while he tells me to take his number, makes me give him mine(a fake one), and tells me to message him in the morning! Put me off taking Taxis for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭gothic_doll

Lights On wrote: »
    I pay him, say thanks again for scratching off the meter and go to open the door, it's locked. He keeps me in the car for another few minutes while he tells me to take his number, makes me give him mine(a fake one), and tells me to message him in the morning! Put me off taking Taxis for a while.

You dealt with that all very well...could have been so much worse. Can't believe you stayed in the car for another 20 mins but I suppose you had no choice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

Ibiza a few years ago. Got off the plane. First time there. Queue for the rank mustve been about 3 plane loads long. A guy in arrivals says to me and my mate 'taxi?' We said yeah nice one. His "taxi" is in the car park. Immediately i smell a rat but proceed. Mate sat in front. I sat In the back and did the whole "stuff the money in the socks" trick. He was on his phone texting and calling the whole journey, anytime he wasnt he was asking us questions about our hollier. 'so just the 2 of you yeah?' He said. "Nope" was our answer, "we're meeting a crew of 15 in the hotel. They flew out on a flight last week. We're awful embarressd tho cause these boys are gym instructers and one is a world champion kick boxer and some are big footballers but we're not. So with all the training they do and their tans now we're gonna look like right spas" and we had a laugh. Then out of no where turns off the motorway. Now we're on a Dark back road. Me and my mate warm him about the waiting party of 15 athletic lads, one of whom is a kick boxer in the hotel who are expecting us shortly and who had to bring our money with them last week incase we spent it in dublin and couldnt enjoy our holiday. so we have €50 between us which is the fare of this taxi. He told us its ok, admitted he's a fake taxi and he just doesnt want to get stopped on the main road. Again we warm him. He takes a left at the cross roads. Shortly after a moped drives by and does a u-turn. I notice this and warn the driver ive noticed what is going on and we unbuckled our seat belts ready for action. He told us to relax he doesnt know the moped and that they come out here to race. (Dont know who he was racing tho, there was only 1) At this stage hes sending a text. The moped is still following until it pulls up beside us temporarily before speeding up and driving off. Never been so terrified in my life. We arrived safe im the hotel complete with the offer of some ketamine or ecstasy. He gave us his card and went on his way.

The story we told him about the lads waiting was half true. Their describtions gym instructers, kick boxer, footballers (under 21 inter county) was true. Them being there was not. They were coming out 3 days later. Thankfully he bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

I tend to avoid taxis for the most part. Taking your life into your hands when you hop into a car with a stranger with the freedom to lock the doors at will.

I know they're not all bad, but this thread shows the creeps are out there, in the minority I hope . I've heard the odd horror story of local girls being targeted in taxis on social media and it makes you think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭LeeLooLee

Robsweezie wrote: »
    I tend to avoid taxis for the most part. Taking your life into your hands when you hop into a car with a stranger with the freedom to lock the doors at will.

I know they're not all bad, but this thread shows the creeps are out there, in the minority I hope . I've heard the odd horror story of local girls being targeted in taxis on social media and it makes you think.

Part of being a woman.

"Why did ya walk? Anything could have happened! You should have taken a taxi!"

"Why did ya take a taxi? Sure the driver could have been anyone. You should have walked!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Got a taxi to the airport in Toronto - taxi driver was nuts, nearly killed us all several times with crazy overtaking manoeuvres and blowing the horn at any poor misfortunate that blocked his path in any way.

I was warned to be careful of taxis there before I went. I passed this warning on to friends I met there who were also new to the city. Apparently when they hear the accent they'll sometimes go in a big loop around to get a better fare, as they know you won't have a clue.

Fast forward to one night out shortly after I arrived- myself and one of my mates were getting a taxi home after a night out. Me being less than sober, fell asleep on his shoulder. About 10 mins into the journey I'm awoken by my mate yelling at the driver that he's going entirely the wrong direction and then telling him to pull over. He shook me awake and dragged me out of the car while telling the driver he was a crook. Driver didn't defend himself in any way, which makes me believe my mate was 100% right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I was warned to be careful of taxis there before I went. I passed this warning on to friends I met there who were also new to the city. Apparently when they hear the accent they'll sometimes go in a big loop around to get a better fare, as they know you won't have a clue.

Fast forward to one night out shortly after I arrived- myself and one of my mates were getting a taxi home after a night out. Me being less than sober, fell asleep on his shoulder. About 10 mins into the journey I'm awoken by my mate yelling at the driver that he's going entirely the wrong direction and then telling him to pull over. He shook me awake and dragged me out of the car while telling the driver he was a crook. Driver didn't defend himself in any way, which makes me believe my mate was 100% right.

If only they could invent a device with GPS and map capabilities that would let us see the route we intend to take. Added functionality such as making / receiving calls would be a plus.

The days of wondering if you're being lead on a merry dance should be long gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Jb1989

mailforkev wrote: »
    Over ten years ago in London I was out with a group of mates and we needed transport after a night on the sauce.

One of the lads managed to get a minivan driver in an old people carrier of some sort to stop illegally for us. Great, we thought, enough seats for us all.

Only problem was that the 6th and 7th seats were just fold out garden chairs in the boot. Those lads had a slidey journey home.

Scariest journey was in a Hi-ace from Glaslough to Monaghan town at a stag years ago. It was a minibus with proper seats but the suspension was shagged. The local fella driving us was a maniac, Colin McRae at his best wouldn't have kept on him. Proper lawless border county moonshine run stuff.

The Monaghan boy had A blue mini bus. I remember him too. Front seat was some craic

Lights On wrote: »
    "Here we are, Donnybrook" My eyes roll back into my head when I realize the mistake I made. I was so tired I said Donnybrook instead of Donnycarney, which in itself would have been a pain in the balls, but being driven around by this guy just made the whole thing worse.
    Can't believe you stayed in the car for another 20 mins but I suppose you had no choice!

Can't believe he said Donnybrook when he meant Donnycarney. Really, just don't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

PARlance wrote: »
    If only they could invent a device with GPS and map capabilities that would let us see the route we intend to take. Added functionality such as making / receiving calls would be a plus.

The days of wondering if you're being lead on a merry dance should be long gone.

We were both a bit worse for wear. Also data in Canada costs a bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

Not creepy, but a year ago I had an accident in Abbey St. Dublin and had to rush to the A&E, I was thinking James's Hospital since I lived near it and it would have been easier going home after that.

So I hop in a cab and tell him to go to the hospital. Now, next to the A&E entrance there is the Luas station. What does he do? Instead of turning left to the A&E, he takes a left too early into the Luas station, we were with the cab on the tracks at the station level with people and a luas driver looking at us. https://goo.gl/maps/WiHWrpz4FxK2

With a Luas train in front of us ready to go, he simply backed out of it while saying "ahh s1ht happens, s1ht happens".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

One night I only had a €50 to pay for a taxi. I knew the fare would be about €20 and that's what it came to. I took out the €50 to pay for the taxi and the driver started going mental because he didn't have change. He drove me to a late night garage to break the €50 and drove me back home. He started looking for €30 for the fare (the round trip to the garage was about 5 minutes). I told him I was only going to give him the €20 I owed him. I said to him he's offering a service so it was up to him to make sure he had change and I wasn't letting him gouge an extra tenner out of me (it was a Saturday night as well, not a slow Tuesday afternoon). He went bananas and was calling me everything under the sun. I just left the €20 on the back seat and fecked off.

On the flip side a taxi driver gave me a free fare about 10 years ago. I had the money to pay but he wouldn't accept it from me for some reason.

Just on that note.. I drove a taxi for five years (worse job ever, never try it people).

I hate €50 notes, why?.. Well there's only so much float you can take out with you, most lads I knew brought out €100-€150 in €10 and €20's.

Now Saturday night is your busiest night as most people are going out, and most people hit the ATM before taking a cab into town.

So you've only to break a few €50's and you're fooked for change.

You're not a shop so you can't bring a bigger float, and you've also got security issues to consider too (bigger floats, more robberies).

The taxi driver is not obligated to have change all night, although its the proper thing to do ~ however legally there's no obligation.

Here's the bit you won't like.

You're legally obligated to pay the metered fare, so if the drive has to take you to an ATM the obligation is on the customer to pay the metered fare. But you're free to dispute this later, once you have a receipt.

Like it or lump it, you were actually in the wrong.

Regards receipts, always ask for one.

Most drivers don't offer them because most people don't want them for starters, and if you give the receipt along with the change mostly people throw the receipt onto the floor of the cab (along with snots, finger nails, contents of a purse/bag & anything else customers fill they should dispose of in the cab).

I'm only covering the receipt here because people are largely ignorant of them, and their importance in making a complaint or disputing a fare ~ for instance the receipt will carry the license holders badge number, the cars registration number, roof sign number, the time and date the journey started, time and date it finished plus the distance travelled ~ so you can see its very valuable in the course of a dispute.

All meteres have receipt printers, they won't work without it. If you don't see a printer its because its normally out of view, under the dash etc because with the meter, GPS, radio head etc there's only so much room in and around a drivers seat to install equipt.

Sorry for the long post, just wanted to cover that.

Tl;dr

Legally you're obliged to pay the metered fare, take a receipt and dispute the fare at a later date.

Legally the driver is not obliged to carry enough float to break fifties all night.

Finally on the €50's ~ often times you'll see the person has the proper change in their purse/wallet and they're just using you to break a fifty, its selfish and puts drivers and other customers at an inconvience.