Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Done something a bit stupid and only realised today,
    I have been using parcel motel for all my deliveries on ebay as I am always buying fro the uk so set it as my primary address, it just occurred to me I purchased an item fro outside the EU(the strut bar from Japan) and I might have to pay duty on it. I heard if there is any charge at all parcel motel will refuse the item:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Done something a bit stupid and only realised today,
    I have been using parcel motel for all my deliveries on ebay as I am always buying fro the uk so set it as my primary address, it just occurred to me I purchased an item fro outside the EU(the strut bar from Japan) and I might have to pay duty on it. I heard if there is any charge at all parcel motel will refuse the item:(

You stupid stupid stupid man!

Ah no, sure hopefully you'll get away with it! That customs craic is so annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

When using parcel motel, always check the price for direct, even from the uk.

Sometimes it's cheaper, sometimes it's £1 more so not worth the extra €4!

Try giving them a bell and see what they say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

https://www.donedeal.ie/alloyswheels-for-sale/5-stud-ford-alloys/11194907

I wonder how straight these wheels are. Maybe they're worth repainting but I'm still not sure if it's worth the trip :pac:

For your focus?

Yeah. I still have my 5 spoke fake-alloy-look hub caps :pac:

OSI wrote: »
    I nearly pay for it just for the convenience. Nearest motel is only down the road, get to pick it up whenever's handy rather than trying to figure out when I need to be around for a courier, find it dumped over my fence or just "lost".

Same. I prefer to not have to wait around for the delivery driver and be in fear that I'll nip out of the house and he will arrive when I'm not home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

The Parcel Motel webpage says they will refuse to take a package if money is owed on it, But I might be lucky as the tracking status on the postal companies website is 'delivered' and the site says they need someone on the other end to sign for delivery in order this status. Lesson learned either way.

OSI wrote: »
    I nearly pay for it just for the convenience. Nearest motel is only down the road, get to pick it up whenever's handy rather than trying to figure out when I need to be around for a courier, find it dumped over my fence or just "lost".

True, but in those cases where irish post is as cheap I send it to my work.
    Very handy :)

shietpilot wrote: »

Oh I dunno, would them black alloys not skanger it out?

It's the pre facelift isn't it?
    Would you not go for the upgraded 17's?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-1-6-tdci-zetec-connection-90ps/10897177

YbFocus wrote: »
    True, but in those cases where irish post is as cheap I send it to my work.
    Very handy :)

Funny story but I'm currently working for an IT company down the road from me.

They also allow employees to get their postage sent to work. I was told at one point a guy ordered 8 alloys and had them delivered to work. All 8 were sitting out in reception taking up most of the space.

Tenner bets it was the guy driving the E36 cabrio with 18 inch Borbets!

Recently enough I also saw a 3 tonne trolley jack sitting in reception :D
    Oh I dunno, would them black alloys not skanger it out?

It's the pre facelift isn't it?
    Would you not go for the upgraded 17's?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-1-6-tdci-zetec-connection-90ps/10897177

They're the same alloys. I would be stripping the black paint off and painting them silver. I'm just not sure if it's worth driving the distance for some bent yokes :pac:

Yeah it's a pre-facelift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

They look very good for a hub cap though.

GvidoR wrote: »
    They look very good for a hub cap though.

The problem is the spokes are waaay too thick. They look like obese alloys. The car is too small for them :D

Funny story but I'm currently working for an IT company down the road from me.

They also allow employees to get their postage sent to work. I was told at one point a guy ordered 8 alloys and had them delivered to work. All 8 were sitting out in reception taking up most of the space.

Tenner bets it was the guy driving the E36 cabrio with 18 inch Borbets!

Yeah it's a pre-facelift.

Every lad in the place was in to see the Borbet A's when I got them delivered. I was honestly getting worried about them :)

The nightmare wheels:
    BPSMGFW.jpg?1

The dream:
    j0J04SL.jpg?1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

The nightmare wheels Punto

Why don't you get them so? They're not that rare.

Most people I can find are selling replicas though and not for a decent price either :(

I know a fella who had them on his pre facelift silver 06. He got them redone in a light grey colour. Look really well. Sold that on and bought a 2010 silver facelift. Kept the wheels and put them wheels on it, tinted the rear windows and it looks the business now. Didn't lower it or anything, and tbh it doesn't really need it, they work well at the standard height.

Well I'll be looking for something in the coming months anyway! I think the 17 inch Zetec wheels look the job as well :cool:

Still waiting on bits and bobs to do my cruise control retrofit :pac: It will be handy crawling through roads that have speed vans almost every day and just doing the motorway commute at a steady pace :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I want for an E39 is strong in me atm, would love a sport 530i or 540i (rare as rocking horse leavings)

The bimmer is a horrific disease, wouldn't wish it on anyone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I want for an E39 is strong in me atm, would love a sport 530i or 540i (rare as rocking horse leavings)

The bimmer is a horrific disease, wouldn't wish it on anyone :(

Sell S4 in UK and bring in 540i?

Alternative is buy an MSport shell (assuming you want MSport) for about €1k and source a 4.4 V8 engine and transmission etc. A proper BMW mechanic could potential do the conversion and get the engineers report etc.

540 is only 286bhp mind....

166man wrote: »
    Sell S4 in UK and bring in 540i?

Alternative is buy an MSport shell (assuming you want MSport) for about €1k and source a 4.4 V8 engine and transmission etc. A proper BMW mechanic could potential do the conversion and get the engineers report etc.

540 is only 286bhp mind....

You are a taller gent like me and im sure you can like me appreciate how amazing the driving position and sense of comfort is in an auto sport. Power is all relative. The B6 is a great platform but it's still a much smaller car in terms of cabinspace.

Will just buy a 525i or something and wait for one of the ones i mentioned above must likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Or just buy a 6 series

Cool car

Troublesome enough platform and less companies made parts for them from day one so more expensive to maintain.

You are a taller gent like me and im sure you can like me appreciate how amazing the driving position and sense of comfort is in an auto sport. Power is all relative. The B6 is a great platform but it's still a much smaller car in terms of cabinspace.

Will just buy a 525i or something and wait for one of the ones i mentioned above must likely

Yeah I do completely get what you're saying. Fantastic cabin space in the E39 to be fair and a very comfortable drive in general. I'd say the V8's are lovely. Have you looked at a 535i or even an E38?

A 740i really is a stunning car in E38 guise. It's a pity I never got to show you my 750!

Agree re A4, in a similar vein to the Lexus of that age the cabinspace certainly is tighter.

166man wrote: »
    Yeah I do completely get what you're saying. Fantastic cabin space in the E39 to be fair and a very comfortable drive in general. I'd say the V8's are lovely. Have you looked at a 535i or even an E38?

A 740i really is a stunning car in E38 guise. It's a pity I never got to show you my 750!

Agree re A4, in a similar vein to the Lexus of that age the cabinspace certainly is tighter.

I wouldn't rule out a 7 series if the right one came along, 535i would be fine also

I've been scouring uk and irish sites for E39's and 530i 545i e60's constandly the last few days :(

Twas a sign :pac:

I wouldn't rule out a 7 series if the right one came along, 535i would be fine also

I've been scouring uk and irish sites for E39's and 530i 545i e60's constandly the last few days :(

Twas a sign :pac:

Being honest, and many may disagree with me, you only live once, and even if it costs you €8k to have an E39 540i in the right spec that you want then you should just go and buy that!

There will always be a market for a car like that in Ireland, you may not get €8k for it, but just keep it for 5-10 years and you won't regret it, assuming of course, that it's definitely the car you want!

If it's what you want, go buy it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Mr GvidoR

F*ck that WD40 and get plusgas at yon screws. Then bully the screws off with a vice grips

When I see screws like that I take no chances or prisoners

Mr GvidoR

F*ck that WD40 and get plusgas at yon screws. Then bully the screws off with a vice grips

When I see screws like that I take no chances or prisoners

Yuss, now we're talking my sort of talk!