Right Hook and Doctor Ciara Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Maryanne40 wrote: »
    This thread confirms for me that there is one law for men on the radio and another for women....if Ciara Kelly has a strong opinion about something, she is a strident, harridan, feminist.....if a man has strong opinions (Yates for example) he is a strong man, great craic, humerous, winding everyone up etc.

That's simply not true, you should read through the Newstalk Breakfast thread and read what people say when Chris throws his toys out of the pram. Or Ray D'Arcy, who is probably the best comparison. Personally, I dont care what sex you are, but I'm not gonna accept any presenter ramming their opinions down my throat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

More Music wrote: »
    Do middle class people not listen to the radio?

They may do, but isn't Newstalk aimed at the nouveau riche and those that aspire to join the set?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Maryanne40 wrote: »
    I heard the conversation/disagreement between herself and Yates on Friday...and while I agree with Yates about gender quotas (and I think he is hilarious) it is a complete misrepresentation to say Ciara Kelly lost it with him. They BOTH got a bit wound up and it was good radio.

Listened back to that piece, yeah it's true Yates lost it a bit as well, but the main difference between the two of them was Yates was able to make his points without roaring at the top of his voice or resorting to personal insults.

Every time I hear someone disagree with her, she seems to get louder and louder till the other person gives up, that's the main reason why I dislike her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,318 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Heard her giving a few opinions now and then,meh . Don't think the slot really works anyway.
    If only George would stop giving his opinions and talking about himself .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭Deedsie

kneemos wrote: »
    Heard her giving a few opinions now and then,meh . Don't think the slot really works anyway.
    If only George would stop giving his opinions and talking about himself .

It would just be the same as any other drive-time current affairs show then. George is the fun/interesting part from my POV. Each to their own obviously but I like his oul rambling stories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I like when she's on, both when in medical guise and for the more general items. There's plenty of people I disagree with on the radio, no matter how forceful they are I don't feel they're ramming their opinion down my throat, just that they have a different opinion than mine. I could never listen to any current affairs show if I felt that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,189 ✭✭✭Dickie10

why is she not working aay as adoctor instead of always on the radio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What's that got to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

Dickie10 wrote: »

Why are you not working instead of posting sh1te on the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,318 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Dickie10 wrote: »

Because we don't live in Stalinist Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

D9Male wrote: »
    Why are you not working instead of posting sh1te on the internet?

Because not everyone works at 11:39 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

Jesus, it was a rhetorical question. Guess I will spell it out.

Of course she/he can post at 11.39 in the morning. Without the need to explain why she/he is not working.

Just like Dr. Kelly can be on the radio instead of running her practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Because not everyone works at 11:39 in the morning.

Well not every GP practices between 16:30 and 19:00 either. Stupid question and no ones business.

Deedsie wrote: »
    Well not every GP practices between 16:30 and 19:00 either. Stupid question and no ones business.

So Wonder Woman saunters into the studio at 4.30pm and flicks a switch. No preparation needed for the programme? I suppose since it's Newstalk that's par for the course. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Deedsie wrote: »
    It would just be the same as any other drive-time current affairs show then. George is the fun/interesting part from my POV. Each to their own obviously but I like his oul rambling stories

I absolutely HATE the PC brigade and you certainly cant call George one of those which is refreshing for me.Though he does drive me mad when he and his other male sidekick start praising the blueshirts, among other subjects, while ignoring all the bad things they did.

I like the health slot with Ciara, its great gas between the two of them but he needs to shut up and leave her answer the questions.She needs to be more assertive with him and tell him to shut the F up, though Id say she is just humouring him TBH.She knows him well.

jimmyw wrote: »
    I absolutely HATE the PC brigade and you certainly cant call George one of those which is refreshing for me.Though he does drive me mad when he and his other male sidekick start praising the blueshirts, among other subjects, while ignoring all the bad things they did.

I like the health slot with Ciara, its great gas between the two of them but he needs to shut up and leave her answer the questions.She needs to be more assertive with him and tell him to shut the F up, though Id say she is just humouring him TBH.She knows him well.

And yet you like Ciara Kelly - the personification of PC? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Del.Monte wrote: »
    And yet you like Ciara Kelly - the personification of PC? :confused:

Fair point, but the Health spot is slightly different.I dont like her filling in for George, if even for no other reason they should give it to someone else, and some of her feminism views are fair enough but I don't always agree with her views , but neither do I with George as I already said.Now of course she might annoy me more if she was on more often:P

Isnt she already you say?;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

On Radio1 shortly, discussing head lice.