Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    But but we are told its the killers doing 10 km/hr over the speed limit on a empty motorway at night that are the real danger /s

Indeed, what's the point in doing 10 over the limit; silly activity. Drive for the conditions, empty motorway at night, target 95. (Mph that is.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Personally I think the Mazda 6 and new Passat (in the right spec) are better looking. I suppose they are probably technically a class below the 5 series and in more competition with the 3 series.

The current E class is a much sharper looking car and still holds some prestige.

I would agree with the Merc looking sharp. But I wonder if I drove past 200 of them a day would I still think that? Fine looking car all the same.

$_86.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Dord wrote: »
    Where are you based? I've got one of those ELM bluetooth readers that you could borrow. A few other guys have them here too. I gave a spare one away a few years ago.

I think I've the problem solved. The crankshaft position sensor is dead; I can't get any readback with the multimeter with either a Hz or Volts DC reading.

Which would cause ignition problems.

Going to hope it's this and not a 200 euro direct ignition cassette.

I saw you the other day, I dare say you've put on a few pound. How was that plum pudding?

How do I know you? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Can anyone throw any pointers as to why the back of focus would be swaying side to side excessively. Been at it a good while now and it's annoying me. Go over a little bump and it'll sway 4/5 times before it'll steady itself. You can sometimes hear the keyrings banging off the steering column and the things hanging from the mirror swaying. Passed the NCT without throwing up anything. The rear shocks imbalance was 3% and 5% (They allow a tolerance of up to 30%). What else under there could be out of tune?!

Anti roll bar?

Mycroft H wrote:
    Anti roll bar?

Thought that too, will look closer to it, but I'm nearly sure them bushings were replaced not long since. The front ones were done about a month ago. Maybe not though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

leaky shock on one side?

colm_mcm wrote:
    leaky shock on one side?

Would that not have been picked up on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Rear trailing arm bushings would let it fall around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Mycroft H wrote: »
    How do I know you? :D

I saw you on the Sherlock Xmas special! ;)

1451687551-b9edabc62be0742a5f61fb584bf6f6fe-600x507.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Was rooting through some of my old eflow paperwork when I came across this...

Me in my old BZR back in the day, obviously thinking my m50-spec tilt plate was unreeeeeal :pac: :pac:

DSC_0312.jpg

What a gobshiite...cdb32029365baeab6d9cceb264a3cf97.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Kids back to school tomorrow, the roads are going to be full again. Felt like no time off at all.

beertons wrote: »
    Kids back to school tomorrow, the roads are going to be full again. Felt like no time off at all.

What schools are back tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

So even with the crap weather I still managed to clean the car inside and out, the cleanest its been in months and the cleanest it will be for months as I won't get a chance to clean it again for a good while. Great satisfaction having a nice shiny clean car in this bad weather. I forgot to take an outside pictures only got an inside one.

eae52db5-2bbb-499a-868a-e491f0c1506a_zpscqviq7ak.jpg

Do I see a hole in that drivers mat???!!! SACRILEGE!!! Shame on you. Ya best get a new one :pac:

What schools are back tomorrow?

A few around Kildare are. I know some aren't back till Wednesday, but still, the crappy traffic starts back tomorrow.

beertons wrote: »
    A few around Kildare are. I know some aren't back till Wednesday, but still, the crappy traffic starts back tomorrow.

I thought Wednesday was early as it was!

Dug out most of the relevant documents to do with both cars. It is quiet a lot, but still only includes servicing and a few parts from the main dealer. Any other receipts from bits done to the focus aren't there.

2q322v8.png

Mondeo service documents

jsox1i.png

And all the bits and bobs I got OEM, mainly for the focus, splitter, fog light fixings etc..

23msahl.png

Do I see a hole in that drivers mat???!!! SACRILEGE!!! Shame on you. Ya best get a new one :pac:

Ye its a pain as the other 3 are perfect but you have to buy a replacement set. Ah you don't really notice that one driving I'll let it get really big before replacing it.

I thought Wednesday was early as it was!

A few parents I've been talking to can't wait to get rid of them again. The poor weather has had them indoors, wrecking the gaff.

Dug out most of the relevant documents to do with both cars. It is quiet a lot, but still only includes servicing and a few parts from the main dealer. Any other receipts from bits done to the focus aren't there.

I looked up the excel I have and Ive spent all in €70.26 on maintenance for it and most of that cost was bulbs unfortunately that figure is going to jump dramatically after its service especially if it needs break pads and bushings which I suspect it does ah sure I had a good run :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Hit a pheasant there yesterday.

Was par-cooked on one-side after getting stuck in the oil cooler, but tasty once plucked, properly gutted, then properly roasted in the oven.

Left a dent in the fins mind. But he tasted good and fat. One of the legs was a bit ****ed and the head ended up somewhere near the arsehole but it was still tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Dartz wrote: »
    the head ended up somewhere near the arsehole but it was still tasty.

Ah the Audi pheasant.. Rare enough oul burd all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Dartz wrote: »
    Hit a pheasant there yesterday.

Was par-cooked on one-side after getting stuck in the oil cooler, but tasty once plucked, properly gutted, then properly roasted in the oven.

Left a dent in the fins mind. But he tasted good and fat. One of the legs was a bit ****ed and the head ended up somewhere near the arsehole but it was still tasty.

Watch that oil cooler in the coming days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Tempting...

46363915.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Hmmm, I think the other ones are nicer man.

What happened to them?

Is that Tony Meegan dismantlers in Dundalk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Is that Tony Meegan dismantlers in Dundalk?

Seems like.

They have so many high-spec Fords in stock though! I was looking at a nice set of alloys there for my Focus and they were saying a full set would be around €250!

I was debating whether I should drive down and get myself a set but Christmas put me off :rolleyes:

Stay away from them, lying feckers.