Whistling in public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Canterelle wrote: »
    I don't whistle professionally! Just a habit. Mostly on my own, but could happen in public spaces. Seriously, do folks not do this now and again?

Yes. Many folk. It's not that big of a deal, as shown in many of the thread responses.

I wasn't trying to say you whistle professionally, I was just taking the piss a bit out of the opening post :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Me thinks we're whistling in the dark here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭1eg0a3xv7b82of

Whistling in public for no good reason is a sign of madness.

You keep a list of what constitutes a 'good reason' though, in order to determine whether someone is mad or not though, right?

Me thinks we're whistling in the dark here.

Seriously though, do you have a favourite song which features whistling?

Mine would probably be Moves Like Jagger, good bit of the auld whistling in that and a good tune too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Says who?

In my Dads case, we call it dementia.

it can happen to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Whistling doesn't bother me so much as people 'effing and blinding' in front of my children, even smartly dressed business men who insert the F word into every second sentence (like a form of low level punctuation)!

Finger snappers also really irritate me, you know the ones who walk around the office snapping & clicking their fingers and think they're really great. Like yes we can all see you & hear you, how cool - Not

LordSutch wrote: »
    Whistling doesn't bother me so much as people 'effing and blinding' in front of my children, even smartly dressed business men who insert the F word into every second sentence (like a form of low level punctuation)!

Finger snappers also really irritate me, you know the ones who walk around the office snapping & clicking their fingers and think they're really cool (not) . . . Girr :mad:

I hear you.

You sound like you'd fit in well over at http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057521679

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GFT

Seriously though, do you have a favourite song which features whistling?

Mine would probably be Moves Like Jagger, good bit of the auld whistling in that and a good tune too

Probably the dumbest, shittest tune ever created and I say that despite the mounds of scutter that exist to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭scouttio

There's hundreds of lives being played out around you every day. They're not all going to fit nicely into your personal little world. If you're getting annoyed by something like whistling, don't leave the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

scouttio wrote: »
    There's hundreds of lives being played out around you every day. They're not all going to fit nicely into your personal little world. If you're getting annoyed by something like whistling, don't leave the house.

Would you be so Zen if someone was kicking the back of your chair in the plane/cinema?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭scouttio

Would you be so Zen if someone was kicking the back of your chair in the plane/cinema?

I don't know, whistling annoys me so I don't leave the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,867 ✭✭✭SteM

Completely different to what happened to the OP. The OP could have gotten up and walked away in the lounge and then ignored the whistling while waiting to board. Once they were on board the whistling would have stopped more than likely. If you're getting your seat kicked for a couple of hours when you can't move away then you'd have every right to say something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Whistling is extremely irritating. I hate it. But I like plenty of peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

anewme wrote: »
    My Dad has taken to doing this. He's brought shopping on a Wednesday. He goes to Dunnes stores and sings various ballads ...the Green Fields of France is a favourite .and various Joe Dolan numbers as well as whistling and doing that other annoying noise like tss tss tss (which we call the symbols) ..how was Da today ...ah he was grand apart from a lot of symbols....

My sister says a few people stare and others say he makes their day (aren't you always in good form!!) but I've no doubt it's annoying to some people but you got to realise everyone is on their own journey...he does it at family dinners as well ...I actually sit back and smile when he does it with new or strange people as their reactions are priceless (my Mam says the staff in Dunnes say..ah, Jaysus - here comes whistlers mother!!!!)

Sometimes when life gives you lemons, there's nothing else for it only to make lemonade.

My Dad is 74, has onset of Dementia and all I can say is keep whistling Da.

Keep whistling.

And fcuk the begrudgers.
    cutest story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭idnkph

OP what happened when you changed your feminine hygiene product? How wad your mood then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

idnkph wrote: »
    OP what happened when you changed your feminine hygiene product? How wad your mood then?

Lovely sentiment there with a nice big heap of sexism.

Ultimately if you whistle in public you have a good chance of annoying somebody rather than not given the poll results. So any whistlers who think there is no harm now know it is irritating for the majority and do so knowingly are irritating people and thus being rude.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Lovely sentiment there with a nice big heap of sexism.

Ultimately if you whistle in public you have a good chance of annoying somebody rather than not given the poll results. So any whistlers who think there is no harm now know it is irritating for the majority and do so knowingly are irritating people and thus being rude.

Wow, that's some skewing of the data to meet your own needs.

You could also take it that whistling in public doesn't bother 68% of people most of the time, if you so wished.

Wow, that's some skewing of the data to meet your own needs.

You could also take it that whistling in public doesn't bother 68% of people most of the time, if you so wished.

So you are happy to annoy a third?

Oh, a change of tack.

Probably, yes. But not deliberately.

So any whistlers who think there is no harm now know it is irritating for the majority and do so knowingly are irritating people and thus being rude.

No, only whistlers that read this thread or come across nice people staring them down in airport lounges or shouting at them in queues.

The rest of the whistling population will just carry on living their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

idnkph wrote: »

D*ckhead

SteM wrote: »
    No, only whistlers that read this thread or come across nice people staring them down in airport lounges or shouting at them in queues.
    I didn't shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

When I hear someone whistle, it makes me smile because I assume that that person is happy and that's nice.

I didn't shout.

So you knew that they were annoying you by whistling in the lounge but you still made the choice to stand close enough to them in the queue for them to continue to annoy you and for you to be able to talk to them in a normal voice?

I took for granted that you would have kept well enough away from them that you would have had to shout to them. You were looking for an argument as much as they were basically.

The rest of the whistling population will just carry on living their lives.

In this case it's whistling, but there are people like the OP who are irritated by everything that other people do and think they have a right to admonish or talk down to others.

Personally, i think the op is way out of order thinking he has the right to give out at some stranger in an airport queue and stare them out of it over something, which maybe annoying and get under your skin but in the overall scheme of things is trivial. You'd want to be careful Op, not everyone is a pushover and who knows what happen if you challenge or correct the wrong person someday?

I make it my business to try to be kind to strangers, a kind word or a smile goes a long way, who knows what is going on in someone's life . However, I have come across narky sods and rude people with zero tolerance for people and I treat them as they treat me. If anyone shouted at me in a queue or anywhere like that I would have no hesitation in letting them know what I think of them in no uncertain words.

If all you have to worry about is bad whistlers, I hope it all keeps fine for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

OP how old was the whistler?

Help!!!! wrote: »
    OP how old was the whistler?

Handbags at dawn over whistling!! Seriously.

I can just hear The theme tune to The Good, The Bad and the Ugly being whistled.....lol!!!

So you knew that they were annoying you by whistling in the lounge but you still made the choice to stand close enough to them in the queue for them to continue to annoy you and for you to be able to talk to them in a normal voice?

I took for granted that you would have kept well enough away from them that you would have had to shout to them. You were looking for an argument as much as they were basically.

Not aware of how queuing works on an airplane? Two ques formed to get on the plane and then merge. As they move at different rates you don't have much choice where you are positioned. It wouldn't have made much difference as it was echoing in the tunnel.

I spoke in my voice without shouting and he could hear me as I was facing him. My sofa is bigger the distance than he was from me so no need to shout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Zimmey

Whistling if the person can't really whistle is always annoying. Whistling if they can whistle? Depends on my mood at the time.