Do you find Mrs Brown's Boys funny..yes or no ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Absolute rubbish. I can see how auld wans like it, but it's not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

I enjoy watching it.

Yes, it's panto type humour on tv, and it's pure silly ****e, but that's part of the fun of it. Sometimes I just find it good fun to watch pure silliness, and not take stuff seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

I enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I really don't like it at all, but I've ended up watching it a couple times over the last few days with my family and they love it. I just don't get it. Even if some of the jokes could have been funny, you can see all the gags coming a mile off, which ruins their impact entirely. Plus it's real lowest-common denominator stuff that plays on Irish stereotypes. The only thing I found vaguely funny is the odd occasion when they mess up their lines or a camera is visible in shot and they just leave it in anyway.

But they seem to have fun making it and loads of people here and abroad really love it. It baffles me :)

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

I used to detest it, for no good reason as I'd never really watched it.

I sat down to watch it one night, and yes I now find it very funny.

I suspect those who mock it & detest it like I did just haven't bothered to watch it.

I have been forced to watch it. It's awful.

Let's put feck into it and it'll be funny. Or have someone fart, or fall down the stairs. Pure tripe. Not many of his jokes are original either.

RTE is absolutely f*cked. They are losing all their sport and their comedy is awful. I see Panti is on tv this week and they've brought in ANOTHER amateur impressionist from facebook to be used on tv as well.

Only thing they do well is current affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

at first I hated mrs brown . until the latest set up I found it childish and stupid . but this time he stoped swearing for comedy and did some actual jokes.

I like this set up but hated the movie. total crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Is it not just killinaskully for dubs??

Some bits funny maybe....but very very forced at times....the parents seem to like it though.

mdwexford wrote: »
    I don't think it's remotely funny.

Anyone comparing it to Faulty Towers or Only Fools are mad. They were brilliantly written, well acted sitcoms. MBB is neither.

This is it really. It's not clever and it's not laugh out loud stuff by any means. It's just Brendan O Carroll robbing old jokes as usual (but in a dress this time, zany!) and somehow making a living out of it. Aul ones love it for some reason, that's fine. Anyone my age that I know who likes it is a bit dim.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Awful ****e.

Am I in the minority in thinking this is absolutely awful tv?

I always suspected Boards was made up by a majority of weirdos and the amount of people that liked that comment have confirmed this for me!

Mrs Browns boys is funny as **** lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Comedy snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

It's Finglas rabble laughing all the way to the bank. Jokes are typical of a Moore Street traders night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Valetta wrote: »
    Comedy snobbery.
    You see, anyone who is critical of MBB is branded as a snob or as someone who takes themselves too seriously. I am neither of these things but maybe I just don't "get" it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Mind boggles to how this show even got commissioned. I mean it's BOC dressed badly as a woman, who swears and says 'jokes' that are so predictable I couldn't find it funny no matter what, the acting is terrible and the script well what script! I'd rather poke my eyes out than watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I really don't get it, at all. Don't find it funny at all.

Then again, I don't find the Big Bang Theory that funny either, and it's one of the most popular shows ever made.

So maybe it's just me. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

For me it has its moments.

Not my type of comedy generally, but then lots of people hate Peep Show & League of Gentlemen.

I think Brendan O'Carroll is a decent guy and appreciated the success. As he says himself when asked about those that hate the show, fcuk 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Mind boggles to how this show even got commissioned. I mean it's BOC dressed badly as a woman, who swears and says 'jokes' that are so predictable I couldn't find it funny no matter what, the acting is terrible and the script well what script! I'd rather poke my eyes out than watch it.

Considering how popular it is I wouldn't find it mind boggling at all why it's commissioned. This is not showed on HBO with relatively high brow audience. It has mass appeal among older audience that still watches terrestrial tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Fish market humour, terrible stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

About as funny as a kick in the balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

You're mixing things up now. None of the highlighted bit above, has anything to do with the quality of the show. It's an irrelevance. If you are as intelligent and educated as you say; you'd know that.

No, you're mixing things up. You've completely missed the point I'm making, so you might want to read it again. My post was directed at the posters who are insulting BOC and fans of MBB.

I never mentioned the quality (or not) of the writing, acting or anything else relating to the show itself. Comedy is very subjective thing. "Quality" of comedy is therefore a largely subjective concept. In my opinion, having a debate about the "quality" of comedy would be a waste of time. I totally understand why lots of people don't like MBB. The humour is often crude and predictable. Doesn't stop me from chuckling away from time to time. It's horses for courses.

I thought Boys from the Blackstuff was OK. Funny in parts, but not funny enough that I'd want to assume the name of a main character as a Boards user name.

But who am I to judge? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Not really, I don't find dirty humour amusing which is a good portion of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Personally I don't find it funny. But others do and that's good. We all have different tastes.

It's a comedy show and is very successful. So it's making people laugh. So I honestly wish the show, Brendon o'carroll and co the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Personally I don't find it funny. But others do and that's good. We all have different tastes.

It's a comedy show and is very successful. So it's making people laugh. So I honestly wish the show, Brendon o'carroll and co the best.

I pity the fool that finds Mrs browns boys funny. ;-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Ruu wrote: »
    Not really, I don't find dirty humour amusing which is a good portion of it.

you must watch some awful boring tv...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

As someone who actually really enjoys the show, I thought the movie was abysmal.

Oh dear, this whole MBB thing now looks like going the same way as the Sunni's and Shi'ites, we'll have the ones who like the series, the ones who hate the series but like the movie, vicey-versey, and people who just hate MBB, while other's will admit to disliking MBB, but tolerating it on the basis that"my granny likes it", or "fair play to BOC, he's cleaning up with this crap" .
    Personally, I think it's time to re-evaluate "Leave it to Mrs. O'Brien"

Joe prim wrote: »
    Oh dear, this whole MBB thing now looks like going the same way as the Sunni's and Shi'ites, we'll have the ones who like the series, the ones who hate the series but like the movie, vicey-versey, and people who just hate MBB, while other's will admit to disliking MBB, but tolerating it on the basis that"my granny likes it", or "fair play to BOC, he's cleaning up with this crap" .
    Personally, I think it's time to re-evaluate "Leave it to Mrs. O'Brien"

I didn't think it could happen, but there you have it, indeed it has.

Muslims even dragged into a thread about Mrs. Brown's Boys.

Think it's about the right time for me to pack this whole thing in, because I really have seen it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I do find myself laughing at it but wouldn't be bothered if I never saw it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,581 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Not a big fan of it but can laugh at it. Good to have something a bit different on the telly, there's a lot of stuff that's a lot more mind numbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

It's woeful throwback TV....but so are Miranda Hart, Peter Kaye, John Bishop, Ricky Gervais. All look at me, here is an earily signposted joke, laugh now, next I will perform another joke.
    They're filling their pockets, fair play to 'em all.
    Benny Hill and Bernard Manning did the same for previous generations (with tits and racism in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I don't find it funny after trying to watch it a few times. My GF's parents love it so its always on around Christmas in theirs and I sit through it every year and just don't find it funny at all.

However I appreciate that comedy is entirely subjective to the person viewing, so I don't belittle the show, or those that do enjoy it. That annoys me greatly when I see people do the "How can anyone like that" or "How does anyone think that's funny". In terms of the setup and subject you'd be hard pushed to separate the comedy style from Father Ted, yet that is universally loved and praised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

It's woeful throwback TV....but so are Miranda Hart, Peter Kaye, John Bishop, Ricky Gervais. All look at me, here is an earily signposted joke, laugh now, next I will perform another joke.
    They're filling their pockets, fair play to 'em all.
    Benny Hill and Bernard Manning did the same for previous generations (with tits and racism in).

This kinda sums up the point I made above, it's all subjective.

Like for example, I really like Ricky Gervais, and thought his first few entries into standup completely rejuvenated a scene that was getting a bit glum and repetitive. I think his shows are well constructed and I just break my hole at every one.

No one else on that list I find remotely amusing, Bernard Manning especially, easily one of the biggest arseholes I think I've ever seen, and his misguided arrogance of how important and good he is on the comedy circuit is actually worrying