Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done today Anna!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

yes well done!! it was a little windy :D:D can't believe you actually enjoyed that, nuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    yes well done!! it was a little windy :D:D can't believe you actually enjoyed that, nuts!

Shows ye Dubs are soft, conditions like that are nothing to Donegal folk!! We'll done today Anna.

tang1 wrote: »
    Shows ye Dubs are soft, conditions like that are nothing to Donegal folk!! We'll done today Anna.

feck off :D:D 'us' dubs (Dubgal & I) stood in that weather cheering everyone on *

*however, very glad not be running up a 5K hill in it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Yes, the hardest conditions were the cheerleading ones. As evidenced by the smiling faces of the loonies participants. We also had to do impromptu marshalling. So there :p

Well done again, Anna. Far too much smiling going on though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Well done today Anna. All that training in the Donegal hills definitely standing to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Fat Turkey 10k.... 187m/600 ft climb.... Blowing gales and p1ssing rain... That was SO MUCH FUN!!! :D

First 5k steady climbing, sheltering behind a guy in a Santa hat... then a final steep hill into the summit car park, where we were being blown backwards, a ridiculous loop of the car park, dodging cars on the road, then flying back down the hill... Except for the downhill where the gale was in our faces again... The final 200m we were being lapped by waves (literally)... And the course was long (10.2k approx)... What's not to love!? :):)

Thanks to the hardy and intrepid cheerleaders who obviously had the toughest job today and were embarrassingly loud in their cheering at the end.

Great fun. And fair play to BG, aquinn, HelenAnne who all did great times on that mad course. And of course FBOT...or was it KennyG? ;)

Neady83 wrote: »
    Good luck tomorrow Anna and BG :)

It must be so exciting to see the little ones out running, yer a great influence :)

Thanks Neady, it was just so exuberant and funny... Junior parkrun is a fantastic invention.... Between parkrun on Saturday, junior parkrun yesterday and Fat Turkey today, it's been a great few days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

annapr wrote: »
    Fat Turkey 10k.... 187m/600 ft climb.... Blowing gales and p1ssing rain... That was SO MUCH FUN!!! :D

First 5k steady climbing, sheltering behind a guy in a Santa hat... then a final steep hill into the summit car park, where we were being blown backwards, a ridiculous loop of the car park, dodging cars on the road, then flying back down the hill... Except for the downhill where the gale was in our faces again... The final 200m we were being lapped by waves (literally)... And the course was long (10.2k approx)... What's not to love!? :):)

Thanks to the hardy and intrepid cheerleaders who obviously had the toughest job today and were embarrassingly loud in their cheering at the end.

Great fun. And fair play to BG, aquinn, HelenAnne who all did great times on that mad course. And of course FBOT...or was it KennyG? ;)

Love love love this report. It's screams happiness :) So glad you enjoyed it and delighted that you're really enjoying the holidays :) Well done

Weds, Dec 30: 6 x 400m @ Mile pace
    9K total @ 6:11/K; 5.5 mi @ 9:57/mi

Downloaded the Hal Higdon 10k advanced plan a few weeks ago, and finally looked at it again today. Mile pace... What's that? Took a look at McMillan and figured it should be 7-7:07/mi or 4:17-4:25/Km... Range was based on my 10k PB and 10 k aspirations :)

I haven't done any 'speed' (hey it's fast for ME!) work since before marathon training, so early summer. Decided to cut myself some slack (no over training going on here :p) so programmed the intervals on the watch for 4:18-4:40/km, with 3 mins recovery, which seemed a bit long.

Of course, I timed this to be at the peak of Storm whoever, went down to Fairview Park, thinking I might do laps of a football field for the intervals. The noise of the wind in the trees in the park was scary and at one point, I thought, this is probably not very safe, but then I figured that sounded like an excuse. The most sheltered part of the park was the main path, so I decided to do the intervals there (keeping an eye out for any trees or branches about to blow over :eek:). I also let my inner wimp dictate that I would do the intervals with the wind at my back, I have no shame.

Lap 1: too fast (for me)... 1:46, pace 7:08/4:26
    Lap 2: felt comfortable enough... 1:56, 7:49/4:51
    Lap 3: halfway there, maybe I can stop at 5... 1:50, 7:22/4:35
    Lap 4: felt quite controlled, focused on shoulders, breathing.. 1.50, 7:22/4:34
    Lap 5: only one more to do after this, how did 400m get so long...1.50, 7:24/4:36
    Lap 6: surely 5k pace would be OK instead of mile pace ... 1:56, 7:49/4:51

I'm so bad at pacing, these were all over the shop. I was glad of the 3 min recoveries too. This was the first time in a long time that a run felt like a proper workout. And I didn't hit mile pace, even with the wind at my back... So, plenty of work to be done!

Got home and D said, you did factor in that you raced on Monday right? Eh... No, never occurred to me, but I didn't really race so that's grand.

Of course the wind died down right after I got home. Back in the hills for the next few days :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Good session, Not easy to keep going on these when on your own, especially with 10 race in the legs. Good omen for 2016.
    Happy New Year

Great session Anna, you're right back on track :)

Happy New Year, I hope that 2016 is every bit as successful as 2015 was for you. You're an inspiration with the year you've had. You put the head down, done the hard work and got the results. In 2016 I've no doubt but that you will knock massive whelps off all those PBs. Looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds :)

what? I loose coverage for a day and come back to find you've done a session?? whohoo! wind/paces/race fatigue aside good on you for getting back on track :p happy new year, PB no. 1 is only few weeks away now.

January 1: Easy run in the hills*
    7 km @ 5:59; 4.3 mi @ 9:38

Joined D for his recovery run in fading light, or to be more accurate, a day that never got to full daylight. Cold wind, but not much to report, easy run.

Important to get out on January 1st, start the year off well.

Also my first day of detox January and after one alcohol-free day, I feel hungover this morning. :p. I discovered since DCM that eating like you're training for a marathon needs to stop when you've done the marathon! 5lbs heavier, I need to adjust! :eek:

*A bit disturbed that garmin now calls this Bundoran running. But Bundoran is just across the bay and slightly closer than Belleek, where Garmin used to place us.

Neady83 wrote: »
    Great session Anna, you're right back on track :)

Happy New Year, I hope that 2016 is every bit as successful as 2015 was for you. You're an inspiration with the year you've had. You put the head down, done the hard work and got the results. In 2016 I've no doubt but that you will knock massive whelps off all those PBs. Looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds :)

Thanks for all the encouragement, Neady... I'm still exhausted from reading your summary of your exploits in 2015!! :)

Firedance wrote: »
    what? I loose coverage for a day and come back to find you've done a session?? whohoo! wind/paces/race fatigue aside good on you for getting back on track :p happy new year, PB no. 1 is only few weeks away now.

What can I say, I'm just a wild thing :D Think I have a lot more work to do before any PB's come my way.

And oh yeah, in a fit of irrational exuberance after Fat turkey (possibly prosecco induced :p), I signed up for the Wicklow Mountains Half Marathon... :eek: then I looked at the thread and the course... :eek: :eek:

So, I'm already rationalising that it was really a donation to charity... Not an actual race registration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

It looks like a lovely route, Anna, and you can run that no bother off the DCM training. Now get yourself up some Donegal mountains for practice!

What can I say, I'm just a wild thing :D Think I have a lot more work to do before any PB's come my way.

And oh yeah, in a fit of irrational exuberance after Fat turkey (possibly prosecco induced :p), I signed up for the Wicklow Mountains Half Marathon... :eek: then I looked at the thread and the course... :eek: :eek:

So, I'm already rationalising that it was really a donation to charity... Not an actual race registration.

Ha ha deadly! Well it'll be a challenge and their always good for body & soul

Saturday, January 2: Rest
    Drove home from Donegal. Looks like Cavan is becoming one big lake instead of lots of little ones. A flooded lake in Fermanagh had hundreds of swans sheltering, lovely.

Sunday, January 3: 12k @ 6:03 (w/2k @ pace-ish); 7.4mi @ 9:44

The sun came out, much to everyone's shock. Dropped D out to Sutton for another assault on Howth summit, twice in one week, showing off or what?

Headed to St Anne's and did a lap of the perimeter, even hit some soggy trails in solidarity with our XC friends, but quickly regretted that decision. The park was jammed with people, darn sun! It was very pleasant, kids with new bikes, scooters, etc... Not always easy to run around, but I'm not complaining.

I was aiming for 12k, with 3k at 'pace' (supposed to be close to 10k pace). I felt sluggish and lacking energy... Normally this wears off after a few K but not today... Sunshine, my favourite park and still no zip... Decided after the first lap that I would be doing well to get to 12k, never mind any pace. Did the two laps of the parkrun course, mainly because I didn't have to think about the distance. Managed to do 2 slightly faster Km, getting close to HMP, if nowhere near 10k.

Finished feeling knackered. What is up with that? I'm finding it hard to imagine how I ever ran any faster... ! 4 weeks to Raheny :eek:

Weekly total: 24.3 mi, 39.2 Km .... Missed one run on the plan but still trending up.

Finished feeling knackered. What is up with that? I'm finding it hard to imagine how I ever ran any faster... !

I hear ya! I reckon it's just the silly season catching up on us. With all the detoxing going on we'll be elite athletes just in time for Raheny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Today's run very difficult here too, annapr, for some reason. And at a waaaay slower pace than yours.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I hear ya! I reckon it's just the silly season catching up on us. With all the detoxing going on we'll be elite athletes just in time for Raheny :D
    Today's run very difficult here too, annapr, for some reason. And at a waaaay slower pace than yours.

Good to know it's not just me... It's like being hungover without the benefit* of being drunk! :p

*then again, maybe not quite the right word

Time for an update. I'd like to say that I've been neglecting the log, while dedicating myself to running. But might as well be honest.

Week of Jan 4

Saturday, 9: St Anne's parkrun, followed by strides
    5k @ 5:51; 3.1 mi @ 9:25 followed by 1.65 K @ 5:38; 1mi @ 9:04

Accompanied Laura for her comeback parkrun. It was very busy and as our only goal was to get Laura to 30 mins running, we relaxed and chatted our way around. BG did speed us up a little at halfway, I don't think she could cope with the idea of coming in over 30 mins. And I abandoned my pacing duties at the end to 'sprint' home, just so I could say I beat BG! :)

Any smugness quickly dissipated when I joined BG for another mile, including 6 strides. We started the strides at the same time, mine were longer than hers because it took me a while to catch up with her! Great to watch her run though, she has such impressive running form.

Sunday, 10: 50 minutes with 'stuff'
    8.54 k @ 5:52

Not sure how to describe this run, kind of a fartlek I suppose. Did this on a very waterlogged sea front. Kept the pace steady on the way out, did a couple of strides. on the way back attempted 5k pace a couple of times. Maintained it for 3 minutes in one interval, and did a couple of shorter faster strides. So, not much discipline in it, but at least got some faster running in. I ended up splashing through pools of water on the path to the wooden bridge... At one point, a fast runner overtook me and casually leapt up onto the sea wall, without interrupting his stride, to bypass a big pool of water. Show off!

Which brought my total for the week to 15.24 Km. Think I'll leave that in Km. :o

Week of Jan 11

Monday 11, Easy 7.2 Km @ 6:30; 4.4 mi @ 10:27
    Nice chatty run with aquinn. Felt like we were running faster than we actually were. Clonliffe rd, up Mobhi rd and back down Griffith Ave.

Tuesday, Wednesday: travel to Cork for work (how exotic). Hoped to get out for a run on Weds morning until my colleague suggested meeting for breakfast at 7:40! :eek: Considered going out the night before but didn't. So had 6 hours in the car eating sweets over the 2 days instead. :p

Thursday 14: Easy 12.38km @ 6:18; 7.6 mi @ 10:08
    Late getting out of work so missed my chance to join the speedy d3 contingent for this one. Got home and had that moment where I could have stayed home even though I was telling myself don't miss 3 days in a row... But then Laura texted and that was all I needed to get going. Ran up to Artane to meet her (did 200m with Aquinn who I bumped into on the way), did a loop of Artane/Killester for her prescribed 30 minutes. Then down through Beaumont to home. Great to see Laura getting back to form after her PF. Felt fantastic on the way home, the joy of getting out to run, really needed that.

I got in and my mother, who usually says 'you must be exhausted' after a run, said 'you must feel great'. I did and it made me feel bad for her, because she can't even walk very far these days. This is why I run.

Friday: Rest

Saturday: skipped parkrun and took the youngest to GAA instead, had notions of going out in the afternoon, but didn't. Felt very meh for the day as a result.

Sunday 17: 100 minutes :) mix of easy/steady
    16.72 K @ 6:00; 10.4 mi @ 9:37

Met aquinn and headed out the Howth Rd to St Anne's, where we picked up Laura and had a lovely 35 minutes through the interior of St Anne's. I do love that park, even in winter when the trees are bare and it smells of damp earth. Home via the seafront. Really enjoyed this run, felt really strong on the way back and most of it was at a fairly steady pace for me.

That was my longest run since DCM... I even have some chafing, it almost feels good.

I love those moments where you just get into the rhythm, almost forget you're running and think... I feel GREAT! So instead of beating myself up about not running enough, I have decided to be happy that I had three good runs this week.

22.7mi/ 36.5 Km for the week (which I just noticed was my monthly total for January last year)

MTD: 44mi/ 71Km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Good week A, you know your in the zone when chafing feels almost good :)

I love those moments where you just get into the rhythm, almost forget you're running and think... I feel GREAT! So instead of beating myself up about not running enough, I have decided to be happy that I had three good runs this week. MTD: 44mi/ 71Km

How very Pollyanna of you! 3 good runs better than 5 or 6 meh ones any day.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    How very Pollyanna of you! 3 good runs better than 5 or 6 meh ones any day.

Well the alternative is to be depressed at the lack of mileage, but since I'm only answerable to myself I decided to be easy on myself... Turning into my own personal RSP! :D

When in doubt, play the Glad Game ! Way too easy to get caught up in the numbers and forget the main reason we run in the first place. A good week :D

That was my longest run since DCM... I even have some chafing, it almost feels good.

I love those moments where you just get into the rhythm, almost forget you're running and think... I feel GREAT! So instead of beating myself up about not running enough, I have decided to be happy that I had three good runs this week.

+1 Anna :) It's taken until the last week or two since DCM for me to feel that click with running again. Glad you're feeling it too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Well done Anna it can certainly be challenging when life gets in the way sounds like you enjoyed all those runs which is the main thing :)

Monday, 18: 6k recovery
    6.2k @ 6:15; 3.8 mi @ 10:03

Took advantage of having a little more time this morning and got out before work. Sluggish and creaky enough after yesterday's longish run.

Out the seafront into a cool wind, included approx 6 strides (I always lose count) to wake myself up and because BG says she does them as part of every easy run.

Good way to start the week. :). Need a nap now. :p