Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I think we are putting too much faith in an unknown 23 year old from Basel.

Will take a lot more to plug the gap of Santi and coq missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

AdamD wrote: »
    Why are you asking that question when its pretty clear we've signed that guy? Bizarre

We've been pretty clearly signing many players in the past and haven't it's hardly bizarre to ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

AdamD wrote: »
    Why are you asking that question when its pretty clear we've signed that guy? Bizarre

How is it pretty clear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

How is it pretty clear?

Pretty much everyone is reporting it. Most of whom are pretty reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Pretty much everyone is reporting it. Most of whom are pretty reliable.

Hope you're right but the Wenger interview would not make it pretty clear --

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/...l-bounce-back/

The Gunners boss downplayed speculation linking Arsenal to Basle's Mohamed Elneny and was keen to underline the quality waiting that will be at his disposal after injury.
    "That's always the question you get," Wenger said. "We have many players who are injured and will come back soon.
    "Buy, buy, buy, buy is always the solution that people see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Reports saying he's flown in for medical. His numbers look reasonable and he's got an engine on him by all accounts. 5m is peanuts and ideal for a squad player. No complaints on this one.

If somehow no signings are made though it will be so disheartening. Not just for the fans but I think the squad could do with a boost too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

The two sides to supporting Arsenal.

'We have actually signed someone'

Vrs

'Wenger hinted the solution may not be to sign. TYPICAL!'

I think you're both wrong. We haven't signed anyone but will.

Maybe Wenger is afraid of another club poaching him from us before he signs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

David Ornstein now reporting that we are in discussions with Basel, and that they're working on a permit. That's it so! Once Ornstein reports it, it's a done thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

emmetlego wrote: »
    David Ornstein now reporting that we are in discussions with Basel, and that they're working on a permit. That's it so! Once Ornstein reports it, it's a done thing!

He is some man to give the news after everyone knows about it :)

Did that guy not say that we had signed Higuain a few years ago?

Hope he's right this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Stick this lad in beside Ramsey and we see what comes of it

By all reports his engine is unreal

I don't think Ornstein said that.
    But to be fair we were very close to signing Hig. We had a fee agreed but at the last moment Madrid wanted an extra €10M and we said no.

He is some man to give the news after everyone knows about it :)

I know what you mean, but he reports from official club sources only, not gossip merchants... Yes, I'm aware of the irony!!!

I can't remember if he did or not, I don't think so though. Ornstein reports from official club sources only. He stated last summer 2 days before window closed that we had no one lined up. He's generally spot on!

I know nothing about this fella, but I like what I am hearing!

*Sorry, only seeing Blobby's post now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

The only one I saw him get wrong was Nuri Sahin but i think we pulled out of that one very late. When Ornstein is saying it, its 99% done.

Well we need something to cheer us up after last night so hope it's true.
    Eating feckin chocolates all day trying to cheer myself up. I'll be like a big beached whale. Out for a good 6 mile walk in the morning.

You got your chocolate, I have my Gaelic coffee. 3 down now! Still no better after it. That was truly a horror show last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

I went to Thomond- naggin of Jameson cheered me up!

The only time I really remember 'Ornstein' getting something wrong was this:

http://theshortfuse.sbnation.com/2014/8/29/6082831/arsenal-transfer-news-falcao-ornstein-bbc-fake-account

Fake Ornstein tweets something. BBC put it on their news feed, then realise it wasn't actually David Ornstein. Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Couple of cans, trying to chill, doing an aul jigsaw watching The Beatles. All lovely and Chrismassy.

All destroyed by the rage I keep feeling over that shambles.

Not for me...I can handle wasting my own time following them and their nonsense.

I just really, really want to see this group of players (and more to the point, this manager) win this poxy league. And it's there for the taking. Stop f*ckin it up! You've done all the hard work!!

There will be a lot more twists and turns to come. I really do believe we can do it this year. We have some big players back in the next few weeks which will be a great boost.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Couple of cans, trying to chill, doing an aul jigsaw watching The Beatles. All lovely and Chrismassy.

All destroyed by the rage I keep feeling over that shambles.

Not for me...I can handle wasting my own time following them and their nonsense.

I just really, really want to see this group of players (and more to the point, this manager) win this poxy league. And it's there for the taking. Stop f*ckin it up! You've done all the hard work!!

It'll bring closure for me tbh.

Wenger either wins or he has to go.

He has to go??? 🙄🙄🙄🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

The inevitable Wilshere "set back". Wasting a squad place on himself, Arteta and Rosicky.

Gaygooner wrote: »
    He has to go??? ��������

I ... Until your emergence in the last couple of years ... Have been about the most pro-Wenger positive person in this thread.

For me his ability to build a team, bring in stars like Ozil and Sanchez and make them happy. He's not full of ****, he does bring out what is best in man. It's fantastic and it's full of honest decent principals. There's an ethos to it that's pure football, that's pure Bellerin and Ozil. It's about the love of football, and the love of good football that comes from a natural joyous instinct.

But if he can't get this team over the line this year, then he never will. There's been a growing concern for years that he just can't get his team to cross the line when it matters. You could say that his qualities supersede that and that winning doesn't matter but it's hard to constistantly stay behind a team if you don't believe in them.

More importantly though, I'm just a guy on the Internet in Ireland. Most expensive season tickets still? You can't say to the fans 'we don't prioritise winning'

If Wenger can't win this premier league, then he can't win the premier league.

Even though he has three times already??? That's great logic.

Glad you put me in my place regarding hierarchy...

Even though he has three times already??? That's great logic.

Using past season as a example doesn't really mean much.
    Especially when his last title was over 10yrs ago.

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Using past season as a example doesn't really mean much.
    Especially when his last title was over 10yrs ago.

To say he can't win something he's already won is a bit bizarre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

To say he can't win something he's already won is a bit bizarre

Tbf the league has changed drastically from what it was back then. It's a valid concern.