Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you be going to mass this Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Zimmey

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    Not even weddings, funerals or baptism.

Well, that's different because that's somebody's event that they are having a religious service for. Going doesn't mean you yourself believe or are hypocritical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The family have all already gone, just me left. I'll be going to the earliest possible one in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

I won't be attending. I haven't been to mass since I was a young child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I was in my local church this evening. Probably one of the few times I've been this year. The atmosphere was lovely - few carols before hand, nice service then a natter afterwards. Back to the gaff for a few scoops them off to bed. Happy Christmas everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Haven't been to Mass at Christmas (or at all apart from the odd wedding or funeral) since I stopped believing in all that stuff when I was a teenager, at least 10 years at this stage. I did fun stuff like visiting relatives and getting tipsy tonight instead. :)

It's funny, when my grandparents were alive the whole family would go to mass. Then when we were teenagers the kids would always go but now it's just my Dad who goes on his own. Funny how things change in different generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 cripesonfriday

Nope, haven't been in twenty five years or so, apart from funerals, weddings and christenings.
    My wife went with the kids, said it was packed and that it was a lovely service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Already been. Wont go again till this time next year unless its for a wedding or a funeral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Haven't gone Won't go again until a wedding or a funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Haven't gone Won't go again until a wedding or a funeral.

Stop trying to be me Aero!

:p

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Nope, ain't for me. I'll enjoy having my brother home for Christmas for the first time in nearly a decade. I'll enjoy spoiling my niece and nephew to pieces for their first christmas. I enjoyed meeting with close friends in the pub tonight and catching up on old times. Friends and family are all I need for Christmas :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,243 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Haven't been in several years, so no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I've agreed to have my mother in law over for xmas dinner. If she gets a bit much and I need an out then the only place I'll be able to go with heating is probably a church although I shan't be attending service. I'll just bring a book, a hip flask, and hug a radiator.

Otherwise I haven't attended a catholic xmas service in over a decade and tomorrow I feel zero compunction to put myself in a position where I might be tempted to stand up and shout down any hypocrisy. Otherwise though I'll suck off the heat of their radiators just as they sucked off the innocence of children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

No chance in hell. Why would I want to waste valuable sleeping time on something I don't believe in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

**** no, that **** is whack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 attagirl

No. My family went this evening, and I very casually said I'd stay home and make the mulled wine instead. To be honest, I expected my parents to have more of a problem with it. (I haven't been to church on Christmas in years, but I also haven't been home under my parents roof.) I think the reason they said nothing was that they knew if they pushed it further I'd have started ranting about abortion and they're tired of hearing me rant about abortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭weadick

Last year was the first time ever that I didn't go to mass, this will be the second. Just don't see the point anymore.

People who make the biggest fuss about Christmas often tend to be people who wouldn't set foot in a church from one end of the year to the next. Sums up the whole crassness of the 'holiday season'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

weadick wrote: »
    Last year was the first time ever that I didn't go to mass, this will be the second. Just don't see the point anymore.

People who make the biggest fuss about Christmas often tend to be people who wouldn't set foot in a church from one end of the year to the next. Sums up the whole crassness of the 'holiday season'.

I'm absolutely ashamed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

catbear wrote: »
    I've agreed to have my mother in law over for xmas dinner. If she gets a bit much and I need an out then the only place I'll be able to go with heating is probably a church although I shan't be attending service. I'll just bring a book, a hip flask, and hug a radiator.

Otherwise I haven't attended a catholic xmas service in over a decade and tomorrow I feel zero compunction to put myself in a position where I might be tempted to stand up and shout down any hypocrisy. Otherwise though I'll suck off the heat of their radiators just as they sucked off the innocence of children.

Heating? What are you, a Protestant? It needs to be colder than a snowmans ballsack so you can feel the sin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,445 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm absolutely ashamed!

I'm not. Bollix to mass. Two thumbs up to stuffing my face in front of the telly. There were winter festivals loooooooong before there was ever a mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Mass doesn't appeal to me any other day of the year so I don't see why it should near the 25th of December.
    I have my own Christmas which has nothing to do with religion. I give gifts to family and friends and sit down for a meal with the people closest to me. I don't need to listen to screaming children or suffer through various other mass related tortues to have that legitimised.
    I like to think I'm just like those early Christians who latched on to pagan harvest festivals when inventing their own religion. Even the Bible says Jesus was born some time around late spring - early summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,195 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah was at the 6pm Mass yesterday, church was full and it was a nice service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I cover all my post-life prospects by worshiping all the gods equally.

Gods bless you all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

No, sadly. My immune system is out and it would be a short cut to hospital and several weeks in bed. I went to a quiet midweek Mass last week and thankfully there is live Mass from Killarney here on the internet. My whole life is for Jesus and always has been and I will never judge anyone but love all. Forgiven the abuse I suffered as my eyes are on Him not on men..So many throw the Baby away with the mucky bathwater...so much bitterness... Will be perforce abed most of today but my heart is singing for Jesus and wall to wall carols here. Not lip service. Life given. When folk ask I tell them to read the gospels from Matthew 5 onwards. That is what I strive to live and so Christmas is of that and a holy time up here alone on the mountain. Mass can be a part of that and good to strengthen others by being with them. Give all, love all, but above all love Jesus. The rest will follow.. Off to find some carols online..Later this week hope to do a Church crawl! All the Churches filled with Christmas.Joy to the world. Happy graces7!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I will attend 12 noon service tomorrow.

I was a nasty piece of **** in my earlier years, but the Lord never turned his back on me. The Lord will forgive any trespasses. It's never too late to redeem your soul.

God is Love. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

No, cos there is no God. And if more people can see the truth . The better the world would be......
    Have a happy socks an jocks day lads

Yep.

Not a mass goer, but have an elderly mum and would like to bring her. And a 1 year old daughter and would like to introduce her to the whole religion thing. If she decides it's not for her in years to come won't be in the least put out, not into it myself but think the exposure to it did me and my friends no harm anyway, and maybe some good. I like the way I turned out!

Plus was married in a Church, my daughter was baptised in a Church, think it would be hypocritical of me to only haul along for my own days out. That's not gonna be daily mass mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

I will attend 12 noon service tomorrow.

I was a nasty piece of **** in my earlier years, but the Lord never turned his back on me. The Lord will forgive any trespasses. It's never too late to redeem your soul.

God is Love. :)

Well seeing as it's never to late il redeem my soul on my death bed up until then feck it be grand :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,297 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Attempted to go last night. But as I walked in the door, it was just over. I didn't realise they changed the time. Met a few neighbours, chatted with the priest and lit a few candles. Said a few prayers for the family too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Two years ago, i went where the priest had a 15 minute rant about how disgraceful it is that everyone shows up for christmas mass yet not to be seen for the rest of the year.

It was an angry bitter sermon that caused an exodus of people walking out of the church before communion was even given.

Since then, i never went to mass on christmas day. As a non-mass goer week to week, i would not feel welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Already been. Wont go again till this time next year unless its for a wedding or a funeral.

So why go now?