Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Go now before its too late

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Very hard to get going this week.
    Driving with work and cross country at 1200 k a week has me worn out last month..
    Mom 30 min
    Tue 40 min
    Wed no time at all , work from 7am-10pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

youngrun wrote: »
    Fri 30 mins
    Sat 40 mins felt fresh
    Both easy

Sunday .....
    Interclubs...

Drove up carrying a full team.. Good warm up for a change. Nerves shot looking at the competition. Watched U18s and the women, we had just the one brave lady going and she ran well ..
    Into the start, which was a mudbath, couple of hellos, and bang off we were . Bit of a ninny like start for me scared of the muck but soon levelled out after the first turn .

From the off knew roughly where I was going to end up , bottom 30/40 or so , 40-50 miles is just not enough to be competitive for me at this which was my average since mid summer. Down from 70-80 a week in 2009-12 due to athletics organising /coaching work and a bit of bone idleness as well.. . and ran this in 2013 and was v close to top 100 then, but not this time ..

Got moving nicely on the stadium side but the tight turn caught me - and was to each time, losing ground each lap by the lakeside.
    think i saw MS ahead on lap one but he just drifted away in front never to be seen again...
    End lap one saw one clubmate ahead who had beaten me well in Connacht so motivation to get moving. Ran hard mid race to catch him which I did. He pulled away and an Inishowen lad passed me saying hello . Knew i was in a bit of bother. Kept ploughing on and good support out there from maybe ten from the West.. Clubmate came back into view lap four and by lap five had passed him. the Claw flew past me down by the lake lapping me. The top 7 lads all lapped me. Tried to pick it up on the last lap but not much there.
    Finished in the 130s of 160. There might have been maybe 3/4 places more in me had I gone for broke last lap but just not enough work done . Roughly 90 seconds slower than 2013 here on same course, 30+ places
    Happy enough though 4th scorer . At the wrong end of the age range for this tbh but a good bit of hard work and am well able to crack the top 100 in this race in a similar sized field next time out.
    Great buzz throughout . Some of the supporters were crazy, Raheny notably. Great fun watching Sergio/Freddy battle home straight . Remotivated after this race..!
    Looks like the masters next though the novice would be a good workout. Need to up my game and up the miles

Fair play.

It is an improvement from earlier in the season. You were able to push and you didn't have loads left in the tank come the end.

I wouldn't worry about being further down the field this year. I think the depth right through the field this year was streaks ahead of where it has been a for a while. Just having a look at the two results pages and some of the decent mid pack guys despite improving were a good bit lower than previous.

Glad to hear it has spurred you on though very best of luck in the masters.

Fair play.

It is an improvement from earlier in the season. You were able to push and you didn't have loads left in the tank come the end.

I wouldn't worry about being further down the field this year. I think the depth right through the field this year was streaks ahead of where it has been a for a while. Just having a look at the two results pages and some of the decent mid pack guys despite improving were a good bit lower than previous.

Glad to hear it has spurred you on though very best of luck in the masters.

Yeah it was stacked. Still think in decent shape I could have got v close to top 100, but its all about mileage and hard work and had enough of neither done..
    Best race in the country in my view. Cant understand the lack of sometimes, in my county for eg i reckon there are 20 better guys who just dont get out for these, the real elite usually do but the 32-35 10k guys vanish or have an excuse handy.
    :(

I think I need to try and change minds !

Thurs 7 miles v easy on grass and trails

Fri 2km before I got caught in a terrible hailstorm and had to stop was so cold.
    Sat . Session am , 4 by 1min 15 min tempo 4*1min on the cross country . Tough conditions but stuck it out. Few young lads a good bit ahed on tempo. Reckon i covered 4km, i would say they were 3-400 m ahead in tempo. 7 miles all in. Pm 40 mins easy
    Sun. Dreadful out again. Just as I started it lashed down. Anyway met up with a group. Not that bad once going. Some scary gusts of wind on seafront. 13+ miles in . Pm 20 mins easy just between the showers.
    Good end to the week after a few poor days. have to be hitting 60 a week from now on I feel,

Mon squeezed in a 4 mile between work and meetings later on, + some strides

Tues 5.5 miles easy
    Wed 9 miles with a pick up to sub 7 at end last couple
    Get the miles up is the plan

Thurs 6*3 mins off 1 min fairly hard, 5.45 pace on sandy track , 5.30 pace last one. 7 .5 miles all in
    Fri . Storm hit. Ran 30 mins in an underground car park. boring but at least i could run
    Sat Am. 2 miles in same car park before I was told to get out by caretaker grumpy old git
    Sat pm , 2 miles outside and blown away.
    Road trip to Dungarvan for novice with three of the club. Driving , so about 3.5 hours with the last bit on really crap roads so a bit nervy. Wrecked . Got some food and did not feel well all night into the can a lot.
    Sun am 20 mins easy. No wind no rain ! . Breakfast with the crew and off to the course.
    Knew I was not fit or fast enough for this. 2 mile warm up and strides . Watched our ladies team do very well.
    And then in and off . Left for dust at start. Picked off places bit by bit and running hard but not even 6 min miling so it was very heavy going. Probably took 30 places in the race but from v far back. Very poor run as I was at least 40-50 places behind a number of guys I was ahead of in senior in santry. Oh well. Just not enough done and one paced. Good to see a good friend on podium he was just delighted.
    It was a great day of cross country hosted expertly by WWAC and the college. Despite the poor run I enjoyed the race !
    A very long haul back but the company and a bit of food was good!
    Shattered today though !

Mon . Tired after the trip and usual post race torpor.
    4 miles easy , felt ok in sections
    Been saying this a while but I have to get miles up to 60 a week , v reliant on stamina and strength . Have done 5 XC in last 8 weeks so some good sessions but long runs missed as a result and average only 45 I reckon since Sept . Not Enough!
    May try the 10k in Athenry Stephens day as a road effort. Short course is just too short for me. MAsters the plan and Intercounties I hope.
    One more National and itll be 20 National XCs ...and still waiting on a medal ! Hopefully the competition will wither away with age!

Tues . out mid afternoon , the benefits of flexible hours are great in winter months . Did an hour + , 8 and a bit miles easy ,
    Still dont feel 100% after weekend and a touch of flu but will just log miles + maybe 2 a week sessions for next month and get the fitness up

Wed. Downpours all day . Got out late pm, just for 35 mins or so easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Whenever I'm feeling crap I drop into your log, and it cheers me up. You're like the Victor Mildrew of the training logs, too old, too tired, terminal decline yadayada :)

I frequently see you whizzing around Dangan usually in company and normally with a big smile on your face, not the image your log conjures up!

Are you following any sort of structure or are you just tipping along?

TbL

Whenever I'm feeling crap I drop into your log, and it cheers me up. You're like the Victor Mildrew of the training logs, too old, too tired, terminal decline yadayada :)

I frequently see you whizzing around Dangan usually in company and normally with a big smile on your face, not the image your log conjures up!

Are you following any sort of structure or are you just tipping along?

TbL

Spend a lot of time there alright! ....

Yes I guess I am coming from a reasonable standard a few years ago 34.20 10k /57 high ten mile etc and fell backwards rather than dropping the times down lower. Part through a bit ? a good bit?! of burnout, training partners falling away , and also via getting very involved in the admin/race organising and coaching side of things which I felt needed doing but eats in to training time.
    So thats part of the reason for being a grump and not being anywhere near the standard I was .:D
    I reckon if I gave things a good two year crack I could run 33.30 and 2.35-2.37 marathon . Motivation is a bit part of it , got a plan last year and didnt follow it. Still have it , marathon geared plan.
    No strict plan followed right now. Do two sessions a week with club or with a good mate who i train with 3/4 days + long run. Raced a lot of XC this autumn/wntr to get fit but the mileage is well hit with races and travel to them. Maybe 45 a week since 1 Sept ? Versus 70-80 miles 2007/8/9 and 60-70 10/11/12>?
    Running is simple enough , for me I need fairly big miles and will go well off that
    Maybe I think too much and just need to go and do this . !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

You definitely have the ability, seems to me you just lack a bit of focus/commitment.

Would you not map out an overall plan breaking it down into mini targets and get stuck in.

You might surprise yourself

TbL

You are probably right tbl, plenty there in the ability section, just should focus more and work harder .
    Guess I will run Athenry and reckon am in 36.20-30 shape at present , given 38.10 at national cross country 10k so target that or a bit better. Havent ran a road race since May .

Thurs. Freezing and wet. Warm up 20 mins but wasnt warmed up , for 5 by 1k with a friend. Couldnt move on the first two, mechanics not working, and so cold. over 4.10 min pace per km and just pulled up short on them to get same recovery as other lad who was on 3.45-3.38 pace . 3.50 on third one. 3.25 last two . Not a great one. Likely just the damn cold tho the other lad was flying and working since 4 am so i have no excuses!

Fri , 4km or so between work meetings and travel to UK ..
    Sat . Trip Uk to France to watch Euro Cross , got 4 miles in late evening when arrived
    Sun. Am 50 mins easy with a bit of pick up before heading to the races . Probably ran 2 miles of fartlek watching the events ! Legs knackered after 6 hours out there !

Mon
    7.5 miles easy
    Tues
    Warm up 2km,session 6*3mins +2*1 mins on cinder/sand track solo, off 1 min, w/down. Hard work on your own doing these, had to fit in between work and athletics meetings. not feeling quite right you know when a cold is coming along.. Anyway got it done, maybe 850 average done, more on last rep. One min reps done just for form and real pace+ get the 20 mins in. If fit I would do 8 of these but on mileage of 40 and under last month avg not got the wheels and feel like I am a ton weight at the minute. Hoping to get 50-55 in this week and get 60 the next two weeks .

Wed About 7 miles with c 3km steady or better sub 6.30 .
    Thurs off with work in UK, just ran 2km very late on to stretch the legs and get a run in before the day was closed! Does walking count, reckon i walked 5 miles with airports tubes etc all in !

Fri 5 miles easy

Sat am 8*3mins reps on trails, very tough at end but getting further each rep ..! About 8+ miles all in and very fatigued at end of warm down. Pm 20 mins
    Sun am just over 20km easy enough although the legs were wrecked and it was longest run in over a month which probably tells the tale. Could hardly move after it. 25 mins pm .
    body is very tired this morning .

Trying to plan out a course of improvement and goals as was suggested by a few here, so
    Need a month of good mileage and conditioning aerobically 60+ miles so from this week on. I need to add in some strentgh/core work which i havent done but the body needs a bit of power.
    Will aim to run Masters xc end Jan and National 10k as two main races in early part of year with prob 8k early jan locally also as a sighter on form.
    Theres a couple of big races locally the fields etc but after 5 XC Races in less than 2 months the body is fairly bushed and I know i will not run where i should be time wise so will just get a block of training in next 4 weeks.

Mon 45 mins easy in twilight, v slow, 5.5 miles?

Tues longish run , very tired again , almost 70 mins, a couple of strides at end. Training on college grounds which are just a bog at present so not ideal on tired legs i guess?

Wed . More miles in the bank, prob 8 in an hour, pick up at end partly due to wind !
    Starting to come around again
    All my decent times were off c 70 miles a week and after talking to coach in club the aim is to build to that and start with 60 or so next 4 weeks , itself a good 20% over what I have been doing. Just mileage this week and back to sessions next .

Thurs just 35 mins in awful weather
    Fri Xmas day an hour in morning decent ish pace twenty min pm
    Sat two miles early and ten k pm with eight of that at a steady pace Prob 620 or better nice to work up a bit of heart rate . Also watched the f of Athenry some good runs
    Sun very tired so ran mid morning met one of the top runners of yesteryear locally who stil would run a 36 ten k . Ran with him four miles ended up doing about 12 on trails legs v heavy at end !
    Pm twenty mins v v easy ten min miles to ease out the pain
    I feel like a walking wreck
    Need new runners the ones I have are in bits
    58 mile week or so all just miles bar one hard run back to sessions tomorrow and aim for 60 plus next week

Mon ten km in light rain . A lot worse earlier. Legs heavy to start picked it up last ten min 8 min starting 640 finishing . all on very muddy trails
    Will see how weather is tomorrow and a session if it's doable Wednesday if not

Tues
    5 miles in dusk, wet and windy
    Not great with a flu coming on , in bed for hours very unlike me, struggling. maybe rest

Wed
    Managed 12k steady on trails Prob 620 to 30 average pace no watch working for it but not flat out
    Terrible cough this morning and throat sore

Thurs

5 miles easy

Fri same,

In bad shape with a flu and cough

Sat 5 miles again felt a bit better,

Sun am not good coughing like a man who smoked 60 Major . 10 min jog and head spinning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

youngrun wrote: »
    Sat 5 miles again felt a bit better,

Sun am not good coughing like a man who smoked 60 Major . 10 min jog and head spinning.

Would it be a mad idea to take a break from the running for a few days ;)

Might be an idea alright though I am an addict !

Nothing doing yesterday 10 mins and 30 min runs just to get out .

Will have to see a doc as chest is fceked now with coughing fits