Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 17 Matchday Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

PARlance wrote: »
    All that is needed is for Andros Townsend to start performing :)

Ah now, we're trying to keep within the realms of possibility here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

It baffles me that people keep pining for last season to break out. Form players are easy to pick at the moment. Trying to preempt the return of form of certain players and clubs is what has cost people the most this season. The lesson learned should be stick to data from this season when doing your analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Dempsey wrote: »
    It baffles me that people keep pining for last season to break out. Form players are easy to pick at the moment. Trying to preempt the return of form of certain players and clubs is what has cost people the most this season. The lesson learned should be stick to data from this season when doing your analysis.

Yes, I am one of the culprits.

I was preempting big players hitting form before they do far too much and it has cost me big time.

In the last 3 GW's alone

I transferred Hazard (Chelsea easy fixtures will hit a team for a few) In for Mahrez (tough fixtures and Leicester won't maintain their form).

That transfer alone has cost me 45+ points.

Predominantly I am an Ozil fan, however with the funds burning a hole in my bank i had Sanchez - cost me again as Ozil kept out performing Sanchez.

There has been numerous other **** up along the way too. This season has completely become a write off for me as in the last 3 to 4 GW's I have fallen behind in and above 100 points on all rivals in paid leagues.

Ive had my fingers burnt this season with a few transfers this season and some decisions i was pining to do would have seen me crash and burn, e.g. Costa in for Ighalo was large in my mind one week.

When i thought about why i bought them and considered certain options, what they did last season was a bigger factor than it should have been. The less last season factored into decisions, the more success ive had. Or at least, the regrets are reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

sitting on 63 currently with Ozil and KDB to play.. finally out of the millionaire's club too (circa 900k:pac:)!

Alli as first sub with 12 points is a kick in the nuts though. Would happily settle for either of Ozil/KDB missing out tonight:rolleyes:

Dempsey wrote: »
    Ive had my fingers burnt this season with a few transfers this season and some decisions i was pining to do would have seen me crash and burn, e.g. Costa in for Ighalo was large in my mind one week.

When i thought about why i bought them and considered certain options, what they did last season was a bigger factor than it should have been. The less last season factored into decisions, the more success ive had. Or at least, the regrets are reduced.

100%. I had a great season last year was in Top 1k for majority of season and just finished outside.

Alot of my thought, squad structure and personnel (big hitters) was based off this when in reality it couldn't be further from similar.

Blank canvas starting in the New Year and see where that gets me.

Will still have all my chips and a shiny wildcard. This will be vital to getting me back in contention.

Plan was to use a wildcard a week of a DGW and overload with a BB.

sitting on 63 currently with Ozil and KDB to play.. finally out of the millionaire's club too (circa 900k:pac:)!

Alli as first sub with 12 points is a kick in the nuts though. Would happily settle for either of Ozil/KDB missing out tonight:rolleyes:

How many points have you in total?

Chesty08 wrote: »
    How many points have you in total?

852 :o

I've not put my head into it this season as much as i did last year when i hd my best ever finish. Of course this is me making excuses but even so...

Hopefully i can push on for the second half of the season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Dempsey wrote:

The thing is though, is that this is not normally the case.
    In previous seasons, players who excelled the season before eventually became the big point scorers.
    That hasn't happened yet this season (and maybe it isn't going to) but it makes it hard to completely ignore last season when making decisions.

852 :o

I've not put my head into it this season as much as i did last year when i hd my best ever finish. Of course this is me making excuses but even so...

Hopefully i can push on for the second half of the season

On 799 myself and in the 1.4mil OR rank... wnated to see how far off the 6 digit rank I was... it's pretty far to be honest :(

Have 4 players, 1 being a captain tonight so hoping that can close the gap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

spock. wrote: »
    In previous seasons, players who excelled the season before eventually became the big point scorers.
    That hasn't happened yet this season (and maybe it isn't going to) but it makes it hard to completely ignore last season when making decisions.

While I agree that completely ignoring history is wrong, the simple fact is that Vardy, Ighalo and Lukaku are 40 points ahead of the next best forward. Mahrez Is the highest scorer by a street. I do think some people (me included at times - Aguero) have been too slow to react.

The FFS site can be a disaster at times but one thing they are good on is form over fixtures, especially for attacking returns. I've noticed a trend on here recently of fixtures over form - I did it myself with Kane over Lukaku for the 'easy' Newcastle game.

I can understand people Keeping Kane as he has gotten returns, just not as many good returns as others. Some other decisions that are being made by good posters based purely on last seasons form have surprised me to be honest. Although we can't ignore history, we can't ignore current form either...good, bad or downright poor form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I feel this is half true. Plenty of players have only had one stand out season e.g. Mido. Others experience just enough of a dip that their price is no longer justified.

This season has been exceptional in that there haven't been just one or two drop offs, there's nothing but them. Anticipating that return to form may put you in pole position or may see you fall further behind. At the moment the latter is the case but we'll have to see how the second half of the season plays out.

On 799 myself and in the 1.4mil OR rank... wnated to see how far off the 6 digit rank I was... it's pretty far to be honest :(

Have 4 players, 1 being a captain tonight so hoping that can close the gap

Its usually all swings and roundabouts in this game, usually a good week can push you miles up and vice versa but this season ive found regardless of score i am only making small jumps each week! Green arrows for 5 weeks in a row now (hopefully stays the same after tonights game) and i've barely moved. You can guarantee though that the next time my score fails to hit the average i'll be back down the 1.5mil mark :pac::rolleyes:

From what i can see even in just my private leagues though its a basically game of who has the better scoring defence and captain as everyones front 8 is pretty much the exact same. I mean there's always been a template team that forms but with all the cheaper options outscoring the usual big money heavy hitters its so easy to fit them all in without barely any sacrifice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Earthhorse wrote: »
    You're not fulfilling your potential.

Oh I am, I'm sinking like a rock the last few weeks, I'm going to underachieve in grand fashion at this rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Spot on.

In this game predicting/guessing what players will do is the key to true success. And past performance in the PL is an effective guide to that. Of course current form is also key but some posters are aftertiming quite a lot (whether they mean to or not) and its somewhat irritating.

Ighalo has been absolutely epic and fair play to those who have him, but please stop trying to portray that call, or any other call as "obvious" or "no brainer".

For example.....after GW8 this season, Ighalo had 45 points, with 4 blanks from 8, while a certain Mr Graziano Pelle had 54 points and had only blanked 3 times. Ighalo was facing Arsenal, Stoke, West Ham and Man U in his next 5, Pelle had Leicester, Bournemouth and Sunderland in his next 4.

Based on this seasons form who was the "obvious" player to bring in? The result...Pelle gets 12 points in his next 6 games, Ighalo gets 38.

And the same goes for comparing Kane and Ighalo as being a "no brainer". Kane had a dreadful start to the season, second season syndrome or whatever. I didn't have him, most who did got rid quickly. But he (and Spurs) fired into life around GW10 (in fact Kanes underlying stats were actually very good before that) and he was a very viable pick if you were stuck with the aforementioned BUIB for example. Since GW10 Kane had 56 points and Ighalo 69, so only a 13 point difference across 8 weeks (the variance was only 7 points before this past GW) so to make out that it was idiotic to pick Kane over Ighalo is untrue, nor has it been that big of a loss given their returns. After the next 3 games it would not surprise me if Kane was ahead of Ighalo again.

Its usually all swings and roundabouts in this game, usually a good week can push you miles up and vice versa but this season ive found regardless of score i am only making small jumps each week! Green arrows for 5 weeks in a row now (hopefully stays the same after tonights game) and i've barely moved. You can guarantee though that the next time my score fails to hit the average i'll be back down the 1.5mil mark :pac::rolleyes:

From what i can see even in just my private leagues though its a basically game of who has the better scoring defence and captain as everyones front 8 is pretty much the exact same. I mean there's always been a template team that forms but with all the cheaper options outscoring the usual big money heavy hitters its so easy to fit them all in without barely any sacrifice

So true - I have had one scoring (goal/assist/bonus) captain all season - Aguero. That is no lie. It is absolutely killing me.

On my defence - Vertonghen - Alder, Rose & Dier have been killing me here too

Myhill - went off the boil & everyone in my PL seems to have had Butland or DDG

So true - I have had one scoring (goal/assist/bonus) captain all season - Aguero. That is no lie. It is absolutely killing me.

On my defence - Vertonghen - Alder, Rose & Dier have been killing me here too

Myhill - went off the boil & everyone in my PL seems to have had Butland or DDG

Surely WBA's fixture list for the last few weeks screamed no clean sheets?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

FHFC wrote: »
    Spot on.

In this game predicting/guessing what players will do is the key to true success. And past performance in the PL is an effective guide to that. Of course current form is also key but some posters are aftertiming quite a lot (whether they mean to or not) and its somewhat irritating.

Ighalo has been absolutely epic and fair play to those who have him, but please stop trying to portray that call, or any other call as "obvious" or "no brainer".

For example.....after GW8 this season, Ighalo had 45 points, with 4 blanks from 8, while a certain Mr Graziano Pelle had 54 points and had only blanked 3 times. Ighalo was facing Arsenal, Stoke, West Ham and Man U in his next 5, Pelle had Leicester, Bournemouth and Sunderland in his next 4.

Based on this seasons form who was the "obvious" player to bring in? The result...Pelle gets 12 points in his next 6 games, Ighalo gets 38.

And the same goes for comparing Kane and Ighalo as being a "no brainer". Kane had a dreadful start to the season, second season syndrome or whatever. I didn't have him, most who did got rid quickly. But he (and Spurs) fired into life around GW10 (in fact Kanes underlying stats were actually very good before that) and he was a very viable pick if you were stuck with the aforementioned BUIB for example. Since GW10 Kane had 56 points and Ighalo 69, so only a 13 point difference across 8 weeks (the variance was only 7 points before this past GW) so to make out that it was idiotic to pick Kane over Ighalo is untrue, nor has it been that big of a loss given their returns. After the next 3 games it would not surprise me if Kane was ahead of Ighalo again.

I agree that describing it as a'no-brainier' is taking it too far, but it also depends on what people did with Ighalo. If you had him and sold him, I think that's bad play - if you didn't and had Kane and kept Kane, that's much more logical and it's just a decision that didn't work out.

However, some of the other calls are the one where I feel people are putting too much weight on last season, specifically on Chelsea players. Playing Costa ahead of any of the top 4 or Giroud isn't a sensible move and I'm on record since before the Bournemouth game that buying Hazard was a bad move in my view as he had done nothing to justify it.

It's a fine line, there is no right or wrong way to go about it, but looking at last year is as faulty a strategy as just looking at last weeks. Sometimes last years form players never come good again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Kolarov better do feck all now that I've benched him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,276 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Hart; Sagna, Otamendi, Mangala, Kolarov; Toure, Fernandinho; Delph, Silva, De Bruyne; Aguero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

Subs: Caballero, Demichelis, Clichy, Navas, Sterling, Iheanacho, Bony #arsenalvcity #mcfc

Arsenal XI vs. Manchester City: Cech; Bellerin, Mertesacker, Ksocielny, Monreal; Ramsey, Flamini; Walcott, Özil, Campbell; Giroud.

No surprises except Kompany's exile continues in the face of an inept backline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭IsMiseMyself

I think I'm one of the few who decided Giroud might be a fun punt for this week. I need a hat-trick. Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

feeling better about KDb with aguero starting !
    only problem is if aguero looks good and I want him I have to sell KDB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

km79 wrote: »

From what I've seen, the two will go hand in hand. I've persisted with Aguero these past few weeks. Payback time hopefully.

km79 wrote: »

You're like a child that likes to play with matches, arent you? :P:pac::D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Have Bellerin, Ozil, Kolarov and KdB playing.

Unassisted Aguero and Giroud goals for sure.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭MarkSRFC21

Need goals in this game with kol and bellerin on my bench

Nervous now I've put all my eggs in the Gunner basket with Ramsey and Ozil...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

1-1 Ozil and a Bellerin OG

I can hope.