Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GK training log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

aquinn wrote: »
    Absolutely, we'll all be wearing the compression socks now. Some PB.

Hmm, not sure I'd go that far for a PB. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Brilliant running, G! You were a man on a mission today. Congratulations.

And of course no one will pay any heed to your sandbagging ever again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Absolutely, we'll all be wearing the compression socks now. Some PB.

I was wearing compression socks today too wonder is it the socks !!!!

Super running today G a great finish to a fantastic running year for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Wooosh! Go KennyG! Great result. Merry christmas.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    I was wearing compression socks today too wonder is it the socks !!!!

Must get me a pair :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Well done on your well earned pb today G. You looked really steady....as judged from running well behind you. Will be very interested to see the onward progression. Gives us all something to aim for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

well done indeed, you were so fast I missed you the first time passing us!! massive congrats & nice to finally meet you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Nice running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Jeez at this stage with these improvements your son is going to have to look in the rear view mirror for fear of being caught up! Congrats on a super result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Dec 19th

5k sub 21 Smackdown

Had stated my targets for 2016 earlier in Log of sub 21 5k, still not
    100% how we got to yesterday but Smackdown was on. I have done
    Couple of 2 mile and 3 mile PB's over last fed weeks and calculator was
    Suggesting 22 mins at best for 5 k, so was feeling really nervous about
    this run and all hype we had jokingly built up.

Got to park nice and early for warm up and met up with Murph and BG
    Went for couple K run down avenue, and chatted about timed run, my PB
    Despite what I put up earlier in log was 22.31, put in 21.30 as typo and
    Only noticed other day, but had convinced myself by Saturday I was stone
    Heavier and less fit at time. So BG said you gain 2 seconds per mil per 1lb
    In weight and gave me little more confidence maybe 21.30 ish on and still
    Minute off PB.

So JK called out 21 gig for FBOT, so myself, BG, MurphD, DenisB,Aquinn
    Made our way over, Annapr also in line up and was wondering if she was
    Having a crack at it, after kicking out 4.50 km's on easy running earlier
    In week, chatted with Anna on way to line and armed with BG new information
    And FBOT advise of go hard or go home in my head was becoming more
    Focused.

Got to line and time to put plan into action, find FBOT and stick to him like
    glue. Off we went and every one surged forward and I felt like doing the same,
    Natural herd instinct, but FBOT held back and pace felt comfortable and again
    with words of wisdom from BG and Murph off let FBOT worry about pace
    Settled in for the ride.

1-2 k feeling really comfortable and settled into pace well, sitting on FBOT
    Shoulder, with yoboya ahead, boys chatting away like stroll in park, but I
    Only had energy for the run.
    Splits 4.07 & 4.12

3-4 k did system check at start of this and all good so really pleased, but did
    not notice any of others around which had me worried had I gone to fast,
    Where they in little group behind waiting for late surge when I had spent all
    My energy clinging on, really started to feel pace by 4th K, and head was
    thinking about taking foot off excelerator, but FBOT said as if he was in my
    head, just hang on for this one then it's a push for home, so talked myself
    Back into it again, could see lads looking back and shouting to others to pick
    It up as we would be hitting last Km soon tbh couldn't come soon enough.

5km had got this far and Yaboya said empty the tanks, but I was on reserves
    At this stage, lads where joking to Murph to put out cigar and HUTFU, gave me
    Bit of chuckle and took my mind off hurt for minute, last few hundred meters
    Put in bit of spirt with what I had left, sure I heard Murph hot on my heals
    And expecting group to pushing for line past me. TBH had brain fog for last
    Couple hundred meters and rolled over line burnt out, think was more mind
    Over matter for this one, as body was ready to call it a day in 4th km.

Took few mins to recover after this one, never so exhausted and foggy after
    Race, but don't think I have really dug this deep before and I am sure if I
    Had not been hanging on to coat tails of lads would not have either.

Great job by JK and all the crew at St Anne's Parkrun,and lovely to meet
    With all boardies and put names to faces.

Well done G. Super running.

Cheers Anne, well done yourself on PB.

Cheers guys for messages, don't know how to multi link these so
    Thanks, Aquinn,Annapr,Pjd, MrsMc, singer, MurphD,Firedance,
    Bungygirl, killerz and DenisB. For congrats will fill up log answering
    Separately. Socks definitely way to go, haven't looked back since started
    Warring them, not exactly fashion statement but what can u do, eldest
    Fella cringes when he sees me in them & Mrs not to fond of them either.
    Ps happy Christmas all.

Dec 20th

5.25k recovery run 6.30 avg

Myself Mrs & the dog out for this one, nice run around St Anne's
    Lovely morning, little cooler than yesterday, plenty of runners out
    This morning enjoying good weather.

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Cheers guys for messages, don't know how to multi link these so
    Thanks, Aquinn,Annapr,Pjd, MrsMc, singer, MurphD,Firedance,
    Bungygirl, killerz and DenisB. For congrats will fill up log answering
    Separately. Socks definitely way to go, haven't looked back since started
    Warring them, not exactly fashion statement but what can u do, eldest
    Fella cringes when he sees me in them & Mrs not to fond of them either.
    Ps happy Christmas all.

you only wear them running..... right?

Great report G, love that you thought they were all plotting behind you. :D

annapr wrote: »
    you only wear them running..... right?

Great report G, love that you thought they were all plotting behind you. :D

Only running, and was convinced all in a huddle behind me relaxed and waiting
    to pounce.😀

Only running, and was convinced all in a huddle behind me relaxed and waiting
    to pounce.😀

Lol... Hope you're not still hearing FBOT inside your head :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Kennyg71 wrote:
    Cheers Anne, well done yourself on PB.

Hmmn, this is similar to Anna being told her hair was lovely and it was me as I'm not Anne. I'm the one in the same top as you in the photo Mrs K G took! Ok so Anne is a version of my middle name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

It certainly was my plan to be sitting in behind whoever was in front, ready to pounce. Never happened though. It's a pity none of us mounted much of a challenge, but excellent front running all the same.

Murph_D wrote: »
    It certainly was my plan to be sitting in behind whoever was in front, ready to pounce. Never happened though. It's a pity none of us mounted much of a challenge, but excellent front running all the same.

Ha ha, I had a similar plan in my head. That worked out well for me :o. Will file it under What Was I Thinking and move swiftly on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Good job KennyG - that's some time over 5k. I see from the parkrun results you had lots of Novice (Grad) company! Well done again.

Hmmn, this is similar to Anna being told her hair was lovely and it was me as I'm not Anne. I'm the one in the same top as you in the photo Mrs K G took! Ok so Anne is a version of my middle name.

Sorry Aoife, names and faces, bit of spaz. And your hair was gorgeous too.

Murph_D wrote: »

With all cross country races being out supporting lately seen yesterday going
    Little differently, though when I got on FBOT shoulder rest of u would be behind
    And pressing TBH never had look back
    But in my mind you where all in group working off FBOT and fully expected to
    Be passed at some stage, lads never gave any other indication but there was still a group in toe.

nop98 wrote: »
    Good job KennyG - that's some time over 5k. I see from the parkrun results you had lots of Novice (Grad) company! Well done again.

Cheers nop, would not have even given a bash but for FBOT and BG 😀

Sorry Aoife, names and faces, bit of spaz. And your hair was gorgeous too.

Nice attempt at recovery there G :pac:

Dec 22nd

5.52 miles. 8.39avg. 47.42 mins easy pace

Out just after 6am, looked out window this morning,wind blowing and
    Raining, so wasn't looking forward to this one. Once out really mild, wind
    Only In few sections and not to bad. Ended been really nice run, could
    Have run on for much longer, but work gets in the way😕

Splits
    Mile 1 8.51
    Mile 2 8.33
    Mile 3 8.43
    Mile 4 8.33
    Mile 5 8.34
    Mile 6 0.52, 4.29

Dec 22nd

5.52 miles. 8.39avg. 47.42 mins easy pace

Out just after 6am, looked out window this morning,wind blowing and
    Raining, so wasn't looking forward to this one. Once out really mild, wind
    Only In few sections and not to bad. Ended been really nice run, could
    Have run on for much longer, but work gets in the way😕

Splits
    Mile 1 8.51
    Mile 2 8.33
    Mile 3 8.43
    Mile 4 8.33
    Mile 5 8.34
    Mile 6 0.52, 4.29

Good man G not even Christmas getting in the way of your training :) fair play I haven't been out since Sat !!

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Good man G not even Christmas getting in the way of your training :) fair play I haven't been out since Sat !!

out at Raheny do last night so could not rise this morning, alarm went off,
    but couldn't budge. out for run tonight instead, on driving duty so just tiredness after 1am. you need to Start a Log, what gets measured gets done:D

glad to see it's not just me that you're nagging encouraging :) yeah, Mrs Mc, where's that log?

Very profound oh wise one !