Liveline Thread 17/10/2015 to 21/12/2015

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Jaysus, Duffy's Gaeilge is nearly as bad as Geryy Adams'!
    Ah now, Gerrah's gaeilge is perfectly good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

One of Joe's more 'entertaining' shows - a break anyway from people looking for money for this, that and the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

snubbleste wrote: »
    Ah now, Gerrah's gaeilge is perfectly good

On second thoughts, Adams appears to know the words, but has very stilted delivery. Whereas Duffy hasn't a breeze!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Jaysus, Duffy's Gaeilge is nearly as bad as Gerry Adams'!

I hope he kept the receipts so to speak.

On second thoughts, Adams appears to know the words, but has very stilted delivery. Whereas Duffy hasn't a breeze!
    Ah now, Gerry speaks excellent gaeilge. He's been interviewed countless times on RnaG & BBC Ulster as gaeilge. He speaks at the same pace as in english and is equally fluent.
    Duffy only some stock phrases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Joe thanked the public today for putting his book at Nr 1 on the bestseller list.

Which one?

The accepted one is this one here but he's well behind on that. Going back the past few weeks he has sold over 8,000 copies, not including the past fortnight, so he has well over 10,000 sold.

Unless he's been told off the record he is only the best seller on the hardback non-fiction, but not every week either and that's being a bit disingenuous as it's a niche.

Nothing like being economical with the truth to promote the book even more, but such is the way of Mr Duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

How noble of Joe to withdraw his book-ín from his own meaningless poll of the "high and lows of 2015", yet during the show directs everybody to the TalkToJoe1850 Liveline Twitter page where he has posted a link to vote for the same book-ín for the (reasonably) meaningful Book Of The Year 2015 Award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I keep hoping that, instead of pocketing the profits / proceeds, Joe is actually giving them to the Jack and Jill or Tiny Tim or Fat Freddy's Cat Foundation, or something, all the while pretending to keep them, just to wind us up.
    Oh, what a merry jape that would be.
    It would, but I don't think it's going to happen, somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Red Kev wrote: »
    Joe thanked the public today for putting his book at Nr 1 on the bestseller list.

Which one?

It's No.1 on Joe Duffy's Best Selling Bukelist so to speak:
    1. "Da Childers dat Doyed in Da Revolution so to speak" by future President of Ireland Joseph Charles Ultan Nathan Thomas Duffy
    2. "Just Joe, me buke so to speak" also by future President of Ireland Joseph Charles Ultan Nathan Thomas Duffy

Red Kev wrote: »
    Nothing like being economical with the truth to promote the book even more, but such is the way of Mr Duffy.

No surprise Joseph is a Fianna Failer. His abuse of power and privilege is not too far removed from his heroes CJ and Bertie, and West Cork local resident (lol) Ivan Calorie. Our Joseph tries to be a little more subtle about it, but essentially his behaviour is not all that different from the worst of our politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

Good to hear duffy didnt win the book of the year award. Duno who won it but it wasnt duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I couldn't believe what I heard when I was listening yesterday when he was talking about books and his own being top of the charts he then says "Thank You For Remembering The Children", how is he allowed get away with this when no money whatsoever is going towards these children who died or their families or any childrens charity, the book is simply encashing himself.

It's at about the 54 minute mark on this...
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/#2058182

I couldn't believe what I heard when I was listening yesterday when he was talking about books and his own being top of the charts he then says "Thank You For Remembering The Children", how is he allowed get away with this when no money whatsoever is going towards these children who died or their families or any childrens charity, the book is simply encashing himself.

It's at about the 54 minute mark on this...
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/#2058182

"Tank Youz for allowing me to profit from the deaths of de childers, so to speak" would have been a far more appropriate and accurate title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,185 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Sly dig at Mick Wallace in the promo.

mick wallace is what joe wants to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

snubbleste wrote: »
    Ah now, Gerry speaks excellent gaeilge. He's been interviewed countless times on RnaG & BBC Ulster as gaeilge. He speaks at the same pace as in english and is equally fluent.
    Duffy only some stock phrases.

A gaeilgeoir of my acquaintance rather cruelly describes it as Long Kesh Irish! Makes sense, I suppose.

Duffy's on the other hand, is appalling. Remember when he was banging on about the Islanders losing their plane, and having to make do with a helicopter? He attempted to bluff his Irish with a native speaker and was shown up to be the fraud that he is, so to speak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I missed it. What did he say?

Liveline Verified account ‏
    @Liveline_RTE 1m1 minute ago
    Coming up on #Liveline today - Have you registered your drone? From Monday, as a safety measure all must be registered #dronesafety T. 51551

The real issues affecting the 3 twins on xmas day when they open their pressies and daddy duffy tells them they cant fly the drones that santy brought them nation

A gaeilgeoir of my acquaintance rather cruelly describes it as Long Kesh Irish! Makes sense, I suppose.

Duffy's on the other hand, is appalling. Remember when he was banging on about the Islanders losing their plane, and having to make do with a helicopter? He attempted to bluff his Irish with a native speaker and was shown up to be the fraud that he is, so to speak!

That was actually hilarious.

His Irish that day was no more than a few soundbytes from that old Carlsberg ad.....an bhfuil cead agam dul go dti an leitheras...Sharon NiBheolain...is maith liom caca milis...etc.

He's a flippin' amadan.

Apologies for the lack of fadas on the above - I'm not on my own mac or Eye Pad today and using a PC. It's so long since I used one I don't know where the fadas are.......true story!

tut tut
    AltGr + letter does the fada.

Yeah, Duffy spoke a stock phrase to an islander and they responded. Duffy clearly did not understand what they said.
    More importantly, he confirmed yesterday he goes to Inis Meáin every year, which I suspected. Wonder does he own a scioból there so to speak. There are no garda here either to regulated headshops or anything..

Enjoy today's Party Political broadcast on behalf of the Joe Duffy Fruture President of Ireland Political Party. I won't be listening today and as I assume Joe won't be back at his desk until the 11th of January or thereabouts have a good one boardsies and see y'all in 2016. Hopefully.....
    Wha? Joe will be here next week talking about bukes, highs & lows of 2015, text polls and loive with brindin o'cardle in KIP central

oh great were getting a story off a priest on how he gave a thieving cnut a lift into town when he found him hiding in the wardrobe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Just heard something about somebody found in a priests cupboard on liveline next, could be good

Edit: just saw neris's post, meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Be careful out there women, there's men knocking about.

Whos Goose Hidink?

Be careful out there women, there's men knocking about.

Ellen OMalley Dunlop = All men are rapists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

He came out of the closet, so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I heard this story yesterday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Kind of traumatic for the bugler, crouched in a wardrobe full of clerical garb.