Smoking with kids in the car - Illegal now

• 17-12-2015 02:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭

Smoking with kids in the car - Illegal now, garda can fine ye 100 euro's,150 euro's if ye don't pay within the month and 1,000 euro's if ye go to court.
    I was wandering does smoking on the way or outside court count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

dslamjack wrote: »
    Smoking with kids in the car - Illegal now, garda can fine ye 100 euro's,150 euro's if ye don't pay within the month and 1,000 euro's if ye go to court.
    I was wandering does smoking on the way or outside count?

Probably not if you're not in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

What if my kids are the ones smoking?

whiskeyman wrote: »

As long as there's no other kids in the car, that's fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭golfball37

whiskeyman wrote: »

Then the driver gets the fine and offence- Not joking. Same if its a passenger smoking. The driver gets the fine and offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

What? You can't even share carcinogens with your own children, in your own car? This is political correctness gone mad. Grrr... nanny state, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Just do the sensible thing and buy them some gas masks. :pac:

golfball37 wrote: »
    Then the driver gets the fine and offence- Not joking. Same if its a passenger smoking. The driver gets the fine and offence.

Why would that be a joke? It makes sense. Not the passenger bit though. Though if you're such a wimp you can't stop someone smoking in your car you're probably not going to kick up a fuss about the fine!

Just feck them outta the car in the cold and rain, then have your smoke. Let them back in once your finished and it safe for them to do :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

If I want to breath smoke I'm my children's face I should be allowed. They belong to me and nobody can tell me what to do with them. My parents smoked in the car and it never did me any harm!

/s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,768 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

When we were small my mother used to smoke with us in the car. It was horrendous but as it was the 80s twas grand like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

dslamjack wrote: »
    I was wandering does smoking on the way or outside court count?

I hope it gets enforced as much as possible.

Few things piss me off as much as adults smoking in a car with the kids in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

This really is something that should be common sense and good parenting practice. We should not need a law for this.

IMO it is a bit of over-reaching by the state to be micromanaging like this but clearly it's needed.

Don't make me go on a rant about parenting licences!

osarusan wrote: »
    I hope it gets enforced as much as possible.

Few things piss me off as much as adults smoking in a car with the kids in the back.

Agreed. It's the only thing that honestly gives me road rage. The sheer selfishness of it. Likely to be done by someone with a ''Princess on Board'' sticker as well. I'd love to actually walk up to them and ask them their thought process and why they think it's at all acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Great! Spent a lot of my childhood sitting in the back of the car spluttering on smoke, weighing up whether or not to complain seeing as the standard response was to go 'Oh sorry pet' and open the window so I got smoke blown into my face at 60 mph with added rain instead

I mean, it's essentially child endangerment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I remember fondly the days I used to get free second hand smoke at the cinema.

Ah my little heart would light up with joy at the thought of my lungs filling up with smoke while I watched Snow White or Pinocchio.

Those were the days guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

It's basically a form of child abuse. They wouldn't do that in camp Xray to the prisoners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Rubbish!

What next? I'm not allowed let my kids play with knives in the car?

How else am I supposed to keep them entertained on long car journeys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Get some of these quickly before they go up in price due to demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

What about if the kids are in the boot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

c_man wrote: »
    What about if the kids are in the boot?

If it's sealed so that smoke or air cannot get in then it should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

About time it was made illegal. Selfish ****ing smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

We protect workers with a workplace smoking ban, but not children. Until now.

Good job!

Smoking in the presence of children should be illegal at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

OP - are you actually complaining about this? Come on... it makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

What about smoking spliffs in the car, that's only half the tobacco. :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Reminds me of a proud young mother I met once. She boasted how she had given up smoking all the time she was pregnant, then lit up and told me she was breastfeeding...knew it was wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

Time for this. Warning - NSFW...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

But are you allowed to slap your child with an unlit cigarette?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I would really have to question what kind of scum would smoke around kids, particularly in the car! Probably the same ones who have no problem doing it when they are pregnant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Totally back the Gov on this, but of course we will have the usual moaning about nanny state and freedom of choice.

If parents are dumb enough to smoke around their kids in a confined space then the kids need legal protection and any fines dished out will be fully deserved.