Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking with kids in the car - Illegal now

• 17-12-2015 1:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭

Smoking with kids in the car - Illegal now, garda can fine ye 100 euro's,150 euro's if ye don't pay within the month and 1,000 euro's if ye go to court.
    I was wandering does smoking on the way or outside court count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

dslamjack wrote: »
    Smoking with kids in the car - Illegal now, garda can fine ye 100 euro's,150 euro's if ye don't pay within the month and 1,000 euro's if ye go to court.
    I was wandering does smoking on the way or outside count?

Probably not if you're not in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

What if my kids are the ones smoking?

whiskeyman wrote: »

As long as there's no other kids in the car, that's fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭golfball37

whiskeyman wrote: »

Then the driver gets the fine and offence- Not joking. Same if its a passenger smoking. The driver gets the fine and offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

What? You can't even share carcinogens with your own children, in your own car? This is political correctness gone mad. Grrr... nanny state, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Just do the sensible thing and buy them some gas masks. :pac:

golfball37 wrote: »
    Then the driver gets the fine and offence- Not joking. Same if its a passenger smoking. The driver gets the fine and offence.

Why would that be a joke? It makes sense. Not the passenger bit though. Though if you're such a wimp you can't stop someone smoking in your car you're probably not going to kick up a fuss about the fine!

Just feck them outta the car in the cold and rain, then have your smoke. Let them back in once your finished and it safe for them to do :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

If I want to breath smoke I'm my children's face I should be allowed. They belong to me and nobody can tell me what to do with them. My parents smoked in the car and it never did me any harm!

/s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

When we were small my mother used to smoke with us in the car. It was horrendous but as it was the 80s twas grand like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

dslamjack wrote: »
    I was wandering does smoking on the way or outside court count?

I hope it gets enforced as much as possible.

Few things piss me off as much as adults smoking in a car with the kids in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

This really is something that should be common sense and good parenting practice. We should not need a law for this.

IMO it is a bit of over-reaching by the state to be micromanaging like this but clearly it's needed.

Don't make me go on a rant about parenting licences!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

osarusan wrote: »

Few things piss me off as much as adults smoking in a car with the kids in the back.

Agreed. It's the only thing that honestly gives me road rage. The sheer selfishness of it. Likely to be done by someone with a ''Princess on Board'' sticker as well. I'd love to actually walk up to them and ask them their thought process and why they think it's at all acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Great! Spent a lot of my childhood sitting in the back of the car spluttering on smoke, weighing up whether or not to complain seeing as the standard response was to go 'Oh sorry pet' and open the window so I got smoke blown into my face at 60 mph with added rain instead

I mean, it's essentially child endangerment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I remember fondly the days I used to get free second hand smoke at the cinema.

Ah my little heart would light up with joy at the thought of my lungs filling up with smoke while I watched Snow White or Pinocchio.

Those were the days guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

It's basically a form of child abuse. They wouldn't do that in camp Xray to the prisoners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Rubbish!

What next? I'm not allowed let my kids play with knives in the car?

How else am I supposed to keep them entertained on long car journeys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Get some of these quickly before they go up in price due to demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

What about if the kids are in the boot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

c_man wrote: »
    What about if the kids are in the boot?

If it's sealed so that smoke or air cannot get in then it should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

About time it was made illegal. Selfish ****ing smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

We protect workers with a workplace smoking ban, but not children. Until now.

Good job!

Smoking in the presence of children should be illegal at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

OP - are you actually complaining about this? Come on... it makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,738 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

What about smoking spliffs in the car, that's only half the tobacco. :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Reminds me of a proud young mother I met once. She boasted how she had given up smoking all the time she was pregnant, then lit up and told me she was breastfeeding...knew it was wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Time for this. Warning - NSFW...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

But are you allowed to slap your child with an unlit cigarette?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I would really have to question what kind of scum would smoke around kids, particularly in the car! Probably the same ones who have no problem doing it when they are pregnant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,684 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Totally back the Gov on this, but of course we will have the usual moaning about nanny state and freedom of choice.

If parents are dumb enough to smoke around their kids in a confined space then the kids need legal protection and any fines dished out will be fully deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Hopefully they ban smoking in public, nothing worse than having to through smoke while trying to enter a shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Pherekydes wrote: »
    We protect workers with a workplace smoking ban, but not children. Until now.

Good job!

Smoking in the presence of children should be illegal at all times.

Those who smoke with kids in their car are likely to smoke in their home. To say that kids are now protected from 2nd hand smoke is a bit ott.

PARlance wrote: »
    Those who smoke with kids in their car are likely to smoke in their home. To say that kids are now protected from 2nd hand smoke is a bit ott.

It's the best that can be done without banning smoking in the home, which would be a serious overreach, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

It's the best that can be done without banning smoking in the home, which would be a serious overreach, obviously.
    I'm not sure I would call it an overreach, but it wont happen. The car is a practical place to try and stop it, around children...

Kev W wrote: »

Why would it be a serious overreach?
    While it may not be practical to actively police it, it would certainly send out a strong message to both parents and more importantly kids.

It obviously couldn't be policed actively, but an avenue of reporting could be established.

Why would it be a serious overreach?
    While it may not be practical to actively police it, it would certainly send out a strong message to both parents and more importantly kids.

It obviously couldn't be policed actively, but an avenue of reporting could be established.
    Telling people what they can do with their bodies is an overreach.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

osarusan wrote: »

I think you are being optimistic.
    This will be put on top of a huge pile of stuff the Gardai are meant to enforce but don't bother their hole.
    Yellow boxes, outside lane hogging, muppets driving everywhere at 60 km/h, red lights (no more than 5-6 cars after red!), roundabout morons, buslane queue skippers to name but a few.
    Gards used to stand there with a hairdryer every now and then and other than that do the odd checkpoint (tax, insurance, graaand) and since the advent of the flash4cash van have almost completely packed in the hairdryer bit.
    The legislation has already been described as "mostly educational", meaning that even the people who got this made into law know full well the Gardai won't bother their hole with it and there may be 2-3 people done for it a year to show they are doing "something".
    I am not against this law, except for the fact that it should be common sense and if you are going to have a law, a bit of enforcement would be nice.

Kev W wrote: »
    Telling people what they can do with their bodies is an overreach.

There are many things that we can't do with our bodies.

Apart from the means of policing of it, what's the difference between telling someone that they can't smoke in their car vs their house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Hopefully they ban smoking in public, nothing worse than having to through smoke while trying to enter a shop

It's statements like that that make me want to take up smoking again. Thank God I did not turn into one of those miserable, sanctimonious, militant anti smokers after I quit. Knowing that the very fact I smoke annoys people like that is almost worth the cancer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

an avenue of reporting could be established.
    Jesus I shuddered a little reading that. This is where totalitarian states get their willing helpers.
    Thank God I did not turn into one of those miserable, sanctimonious, militant anti smokers after I quit. Knowing that the very fact I smoke annoys people like that is almost worth the cancer.
    The world is filling up with beige sanctimonious delicate flower killjoys. We need to put down traps. I dunno how these buggers are reproducing. It would likely be asexual mind you. Budding or somesuch.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Jesus I shuddered a little reading that. This is where totalitarian states get their willing helpers.

I'm trying to tease out why people think it's ok to ban smoking in a car but think banning it in the home is a step too far. Both are private areas and the only difference is in policing. If they really wanted to tackle the issue then they would and could have included the home.

Personally, I think people should be left to their devices but that's beside the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭dslamjack

My auld gran smoked bob marleys n played smoke on water and all along the watch tower droppin us to schoool,no wonder the brothers beat us silly, coul't hear them and were in a smoke inducered coma, dem were the days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I'm trying to tease out why people think it's ok to ban smoking in a car but think banning it in the home is a step too far. Both are private areas and the only difference is in policing. If they really wanted to tackle the issue then they would and could have included the home.

Nope. The home has certain constitutional protections while there is no expectation of privacy driving your car in a public place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Nope. The home has certain constitutional protections while there is no expectation of privacy driving your car in a public place.

If they were going to ban people from smoking in their homes at that point they may as well just ban them outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭dslamjack

errr - does this ban cover electronic highs,I mean e smokes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

My pathologically selfish sister in law smoked all over my spineless brother and my poor little nephew for 18 years both in the home and in the car. In fact she continues to do so
    And she's a former nurse and she knew bloody well the cow
    I'm so sorry now I didn't say something but it wouldn't have made any difference
    I didn't want to start a family row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

no room for curtain twitching state informers for this one

guards have to catch someone in the act of slowly poisoning their children

Are they not saying that this is a child welfare issue? Should that no override any constitutional right to privacy in the home? As is the case with other child welfare issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

smoking is absolutely disgusting anyway. imho

bad enough that smokers damage their own health. even worse when they inflict it and their disgusting litter on everyone so no harm if they are fined.
    just up to the gardai now. *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Are they not saying that this is a child welfare issue? Should that no override any constitutional right to privacy in the home? As is the case with other child welfare issues.

They are saying that this is a child welfare issue and I'd agree with that.

However, just because someone can shout "Won't somebody think of the children", it doesn't mean that you can just violate constitutional protections. Legislation is struck down all the time if it is challenged and found to be unconstitutional.

Which "other child welfare issues" are you aware of that supersede constitutional protections?

The legal system is more complex than simply "Do whatever because children".