If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kodi Android TV Streaming Box [Livingsocial + wetek group]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭getoffthepot

Thought there was Free shipping on the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 anotherjd

I would be interested also in a multibuy if it goes ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭joei

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Just had a reply from them, not a hope of them matching the Black Friday deal again it seems, and they haven't even indicated what shipping charges would be.
    That's strange, it would easily be another of 25+ units ordered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Sneachta

anotherjd wrote: »
    I would be interested also in a multibuy if it goes ahead.

Me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Broken Back Light

I would also be interested in a multibuy if it goes ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BluesWeeper

Wetek sounds a nice box, add me in if it goes ahead Please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BluesWeeper

Wetek sounds a nice box, add me in if multibuy goes ahead Please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

There must be near 40 now? Wetek would be daft not to..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,148 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Allyall wrote: »
    There must be near 40 now? Wetek would be daft not to..

I got a reply today from one of the marketing team saying he would forward on my request to the sales team. Although after the replies that others got here I'm not holding my breath. Don't think I've ever seen so much interest in an offer that doesn't exist yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ecomac

Am I missing something? Where is the bargain?

Official price €89.99 (shipping included)

Multibuy €68 + shipping (a few € per unit) + re-shipping (reg. post another €10-ish) = easily €80 + lots of hassle and time. For €9? Really? I know we have recession, but for God's sake, lads...

If you don't need this box badly wait a few months. Most likely next year they will offer Weitek Ultra HD box for similar price. UHD TV's are now cheap and UHD content is already offered by some streaming services from UK. That's why Amazon offers new UHD TV Fire for GPB 80 (65 during Black Friday week). Others do/will do also.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,203 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

ecomac wrote: »
    Am I missing something? Where is the bargain?

Official price €89.99 (shipping included)

Multibuy €68 + shipping (a few € per unit) + re-shipping (reg. post another €10-ish) = easily €80 + lots of hassle and time. For €9? Really? I know we have recession, but for God's sake, lads...

If you don't need this box badly wait a few months. Most likely next year they will offer Weitek Ultra HD box for similar price. UHD TV's are now cheap and UHD content is already offered by some streaming services from UK. That's why Amazon offers new UHD TV Fire for GPB 80 (65 during Black Friday week). Others do/will do also.

There is no bulk order going ahead at this stage, we were trying to see if they would do the €53.99 deal again, if the did, it would have cost €58 including PM shipping instead of €90, that would have been a decent saving.

I do agree with what you are saying if they don't budge from the €68 price alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭T-Bird

False supply and demand probably? They see that sales of their product have risen dramatically risen over past Month (mostly from this thread..). All of a sudden they think they can sell the box at a premium price...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭crabbypaddy

T-Bird wrote: »
    False supply and demand probably? They see that sales of their product have risen dramatically risen over past Month (mostly from this thread..). All of a sudden they think they can sell the box at a premium price...

€68 is about the used price on ebay, they are selling at about £90 on ebay all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭cronos

I say Expire the thread if they refuse to go down to the 53 euro price with free shipping.

cronos wrote: »
    I say Expire the thread if they refuse to go down to the 53 euro price with free shipping.

Just had another reply, I am making progress, I've just replied asking them to waive the shipping costs now.
    Thank you for contacting us and your previous order. We can offer you OE boxes for 55 EUR per device with VAT. Transport costs are not included - around 20-25 EUR for Economy service.

For additional information I am at your disposal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭meathman0

Just had another reply, I am making progress, I've just replied asking them to waive the shipping costs now.

Good news, shipping would only add 1 or 2 euro per unit on bulk buy, are OE units the same as last time or is there any difference?Thanks.

I assume OE stands for "Openelec"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭GY A1

ya id say so,
    openelec in nand on the weteks we recieved from openelec web,
    whereas weteks own website ship them with android on nand
    (nand = internal memory)
    fair play aquos for haggling :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭meathman0

I'd say your right, I must be thinking OEM, thanks, looking good, fair play to you going through this again.

I am trying to nail down a definite price, obviously I haven't spoken to ParcelMotel yet but I'm hopeful that they'd give me the same deal as previously which was €3.95 per delivery. The problem with them charging me for delivery is I'd need to know in advance what I'm been charged as if I'm going to do this I want to make sure it ain't costing me anything as I won't be ordering any for myself. I've no problem putting in the time and effort into this as long as it won't be impacting on me financially.

€60 sent via PayPal (say €56 per device, includes €1 shipping and €4 PM charge) works out at around €62.40 that would be decent a price to pay.

I can't see this order been done now in time for Christmas either btw, so we could have a scenario where this could drag on till the new year, I'm only pointing this out from the onset.

Might the shipping cost have been for DHL express? To ensure quicker arrival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

I am trying to nail down a definite price, obviously I haven't spoken to ParcelMotel yet but I'm hopeful that they'd give me the same deal as previously which was €3.95 per delivery. The problem with them charging me for delivery is I'd need to know in advance what I'm been charged as if I'm going to do this I want to make sure it ain't costing me anything as I won't be ordering any for myself. I've no problem putting in the time and effort into this as long as it won't be impacting on me financially.

€60 sent via PayPal (say €56 per device, includes €1 shipping and €4 PM charge) works out at around €62.40 that would be decent a price to pay.

I've been in the wings here. Received a pro-forma invoice yesterday evening. as previously mentioned, I enquired into reselling a few weeks ago. €57 each delivered. Definitely worth that IMO. That was base on a batch of 16 units. I'm just too busy with work at the moment. Aquos, I see you've got the same deal on the table from them. I was adamant they would respond with a decent price plus the shipping only adds €25 for the 16 units, so pretty much the equivalent of the BF deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭robbie67

If that deal is going ahead I will take one thanks

Allyall wrote: »
    Might the shipping cost have been for DHL express? To ensure quicker arrival?

They don't use DHL as far as I know, they used TNT on my original order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Invincible

Anyone using a Fire TV or Fire Stick might want to be aware of software updates imminent from Amazon
    :Notice to ALL FIRE TV BOX/ STICK users Amazon are launching updates to BLOCK the options we currently have to add software and applications as you are aware in the past we told you to take shields/ firewalls DOWN now we are telling you to REACTIVATE them ASAP and add the following to your blocked url/sites in your routers There are three domains to block:
    amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net
    softwareupdates.amazon.com
    updates.amazon.com
    We are currently looking to see if there are any new surprise urls but ATM this seems to be the MAIN 3 that these updates are going to be launched from PLEASE do this as a matter of urgency as once these updates get in THEY ARE NOT REMOVABLE and WILL block those options in the devices rendering them useless if they crash see here for details http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-block-amazon-fire-tv-update-to-ensure-rooting/
    DO THIS AS A MATTER OF URGENCY AS THIS IS HAPPENING WITHIN THE NEXT TWO WEEKS!!!!

Ok, here's the last email I sent them, once they respond favourable I will start taking orders and payments. This order needs to be submitted in next 24hr if people want any hope of getting them in time, which I think is highly unlikely anyway, but sure you never know.
    Ok, I'm looking to get going on this now so I can organise getting money in from the people who wants them, this is going to be a non profit group purchase where 20+ people pay me exactly what I pay ye for these, so can we agree an all in price of €56 including VAT and shipping, I guarantee you in excess of 20 units also.

I'm keen to get these ordered ASAP so some will have them by next week.

Please respond ASAP

Once I open orders, I will leave it open for maximum 24hrs for me to have received the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Block (8

I am interested and will be monitoring thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

Also very much interested Aquos so will keeping and eye on this thread. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭ronano

I've said it before but just incase, i want in, i'll check the thread through out the day

Invincible wrote: »
    :Notice to ALL FIRE TV BOX/ STICK users

Is that recent?