Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you do the bare minimum at work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I do what is required. Admittedly some days do be quite and I try to look busy but I'd have days where I'd be run off my feet too. lazy people annoy me though. I used to work with a guy in a warehouse who would sit in the forklift all day and wouldn't budge from the fecking thing. He'd sooner drive up to get canteen door and ask someone to get him a sandwich rather than get out and walk.

theres one of them in every warehouse,i used to work with a fella like that and one day he didnt stop the forks in time and the blade of it hit the trucks tyre,i dont if any of yous have ever heard a truck tyre exploding but it was the quickest i ever seen him move...he was shaken after it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

smash wrote: »
    Any contract I've ever signed with an employer has always stated that on special occasions where required you may be asked to perform duties above your role, or work hours past your contract. It's a standard clause, and I always sign. I've yet to be asked to work late, but if I need to stay on 30 mins or so I will and I get my job done to get a product live or ready to go live. It's how the company gets paid, and it's how you get your bonus.

I've been asked to come in early and/or stay late too ......... my reply has always been "sure, no problem ........ how would you like to pay me for my extra work/hours?? Money or time in lieu?? Either is fine with me."
    It's called over-time for a reason.

You've only got your time and labour to sell in this world .......... only a fool gives either away for free ....... especially to a Company who is making money off your time and/or labour.

smash wrote: »
    Unions and labour laws are not the same thing. If there were no unions there'd still be employment laws!

What??? :confused:

Have you ever even read a history book!??!!

We have Labour Laws because of the Unions!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Windorah

FTA69 wrote: »
    Absolutely disgraceful but not at all uncommon in many front line jobs. What do you do if you don't mind me asking?

I teach children with intellectual disabilities and complex needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If unions really cared about workers there would be no dues to pay would there? ;)

Absolutely despise them, you can be in gainful employment making a positive contribution to society, or you can be in a union.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

We have a lazy ****er working for us, I swear that man puts more time and effort in pretending to be busy than he would need to actually do his job.

Of course we have a new manager who doesn't know the job so he can't spot the pure bluffing going on, its incredibly frustrating to see it happening. I want to shake the manager and sack the bluffer but I have to hold my tongue. For now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

MadDog76 wrote: »
    I've been asked to come in early and/or stay late too ......... my reply has always been "sure, no problem ........ how would you like to pay me for my extra work/hours?? Money or time in lieu?? Either is fine with me."
    It's called over-time for a reason.

You've only got your time and labour to sell in this world .......... only a fool gives either away for free ....... especially to a Company who is making money off your time and/or labour.

When your in full time employment and get paid a salary and have targets that result in a bonus, you don't ask for the extra hour's wage... In fact when you have a salary you don't have an hourly wage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I know that and it's got nothing to do with what I said? I said they are not the same thing and that if unions were abolished now, there's still be employment laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Unions belong in the history books. The majority of the private sector is deunionized. The public sector is always slower to react butcl they'll get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It would depend on the job. If it was a self employed situation, then obviously doing the bare minimum would be mildly idiotic. If it was a case of working for a small firm where your performance had a very real and tangible effect on a day to day business and you'd accountable to the big boss personally, then I'd be busting me balls. But if I was a faceless drone in a multinational (which I have been) then I would just do what I was paid to do. Be on time, dont take the piss and go at the agreed time. Ive worked with plenty of people who put blood sweat and tears into their roles in this scenario, and they were just as easily disposed of as I was when the company decided they could enlarge their profit margins even further by moving abroad.

No I like my job and achieving things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

And then what? Go back to pre-unionised abusive employers ........ worry less about your posts sounding "cool" and more about inserting some logic into them.

now we have unionised abusive employees , your post is proof of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Windorah wrote: »
    I teach children with intellectual disabilities and complex needs.

Fair play, ye don't get half the support or praise ye deserve.

now we have unionised abusive employees , your post is proof of that

Not at all ......... I do what I have been contracted to do, if I'm asked to do more then I expect more in return ......... imagine if I approached my Company and said "I think I'd like to do less work and/or hours than I'm contracted to do but for the same money ........ please?" ........ what, would you imagine, would be the response??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

Not at all ......... I do what I have been contracted to do, if I'm asked to do more then I expect more in return ......... imagine if I approached my Company and said "I think I'd like to do less work and/or hours than I'm contracted to do but for the same money ........ please?" ........ what, would you imagine, would be the response??

read your own post no30 again

I get the job done ......... and I'm so good at it that I get it done well enough and fast enough that I'm never questioned on it ........ giving myself a little (well-deserved) breathing space. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

Some interesting posts there from both sides of the camp. This post below largely sums up my feelings on it:
    Agricola wrote: »
    It would depend on the job. If it was a self employed situation, then obviously doing the bare minimum would be mildly idiotic. If it was a case of working for a small firm where your performance had a very real and tangible effect on a day to day business and you'd accountable to the big boss personally, then I'd be busting me balls. But if I was a faceless drone in a multinational (which I have been) then I would just do what I was paid to do. Be on time, dont take the piss and go at the agreed time. Ive worked with plenty of people who put blood sweat and tears into their roles in this scenario, and they were just as easily disposed of as I was when the company decided they could enlarge their profit margins even further by moving abroad.

So much depends on your work environment I think. In my case, it is a small company where everything does actually make a difference to the company's performance. We sell to quite a niche but well established market so it's difficult to break in. Losing a single customer to a rival could be devastating. It's more the lack of awareness shown by the employee in my OP that I hate. He doesn't care that others are doing his work. He may take 4 hours to do a job that would take anybody else 2 hours, and then leaves stuff half finished from the day before without getting straight back into it the next morning. Also makes sure to take all of his sick days. I just don't get this guy, as there are opportunities to take your job further and to get additional qualifications. It's as if he views it all as a 'them vs me' scenario, and every time he gets away with something it's a victory for the little guy. He will never realise that he's just screwing himself and the rest of us in the long run.

I can understand the antipathy workers may feel if they are a cog in a machine, doing the same thing every day. That's bad for the mind & soul IMO, but it's not as if there are no opportunities out there to move careers/jobs. If you dislike something so much why spend 40 hours a week doing it?!

Every case will be unique, but you know well when it is just someone's attitude that stinks rather than the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

worked damn hard for years since i was a kid but have since given that up when i seen my reward was "jesus youre a great fella altogether....heres more for you to do"

Thats what happens, i once covered two desks during a maternity. At the end of the day i got no thanks for it. I learned early if you are willing to be the donkey or the work horse they will load you up.

Now i do my job and clock in at 9 and out at 5. I take all my holidays, if im feeling unwell i'll take my sick days. But i do my job well when i'm there. No shortcuts or messing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Letree wrote: »
    Thats what happens, i once covered two desks during a maternity. At the end of the day i got no thanks for it. I learned early if you are willing to be the donkey or the work horse they will load you up.

Now i do my job and clock in at 9 and out at 5. I take all my holidays, if im feeling unwell i'll take my sick days. But i do my job well when i'm there. No shortcuts or messing about.

i got the aches pains,slipped discs,broken bones along the way and with not a lot to show for it at the end of it all.

i was rat number 3 for a long time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I mostly work for myself, do some 3rd level lecturing but a large proportion outside of this would be self-employed work. In both jobs I work "smart", try my best (especially with teaching) and am always punctual etc. However I work the minimum amount of hours that I need to do. I have a job in an area I love but it's still work, it's still traveling, stress, payment forms. I prefer to spend time with friends, family, hobbies, walking the dog. I could never work in an office for a big corporation, long hours, unpaid overtime. Life if too short to spend all of it working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Do what you do do well. That's my motto.

Not sure my employer is prepared to pay me to scratch my arse for 40 odd hours a week. I'll check tomorrow though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Unions belong in the history books. The majority of the private sector is deunionized. The public sector is always slower to react butcl they'll get there.

Yeah if you want to work longer days, have shortened holidays and get paid less then no unions is the way forward.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Yes I do the bare minimum.....

..... and more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Letree wrote: »
    Yeah if you want to work longer days, have shorted holidays and get paid less then no unions is the way forward.

I have never been in a union, none of my peers have. I haven't suffered as a result. Unions defend their current members only to the detriment of all others including future potential members. Just look at the teaching unions and treatment of newly qualified teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,285 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I work at management level and some days I can be swamped from before I get to the office, till after I get home.. but I don't mind that as it's part of the job and fixed hours aren't something that come with it most days.

Other days though I could struggle to fill the day, but it does help that I have a very good team working for me which makes my job a lot easier too - but I repay that by giving them trust and responsibility and expanding the role of the team, and fighting with the higher-ups for more resources like training and individual recognition when possible/appropriate.

As long as the job gets done and done well that's what matters to me and it's worked so far. I've progressed steadily in the last few years and expanded the duties of the team significantly to great feedback from the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I have never been in a union, none of my peers have. I haven't suffered as a result. Unions defend their current members only to the detriment of all others including future potential members. Just look at the teaching unions and treatment of newly qualified teachers.

There are still some industries in bad need of unionisation. There was an example of a situation in England in the past. Well that's happening in an industry in Ireland right now and nobody is batting an eyelid at it. I've tried very hard to get it to change but I can't on my own.

In my current job, I work to do what needs to be done. I've skipped breaks when busy and I've stood when quiet. I stay late unpaid as necessary nearly every day, depending on which hours I'm working. It's a job where doing extra and doing less gets ignored but I'm not the type of person to lay about either. I'm not as productive as the young long term staff which have been there for years, but I'm more productive than some of the older staff and the newer staff. The job is just a job though. It's not my life and it's not even my career. It's just a job to save for a masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

eet fuk wrote: »
    Also makes sure to take all of his sick days. .

Now there is the calling card of the true bluffer. This idea of having sick days to take is abhorrent to me. Rest assured if I miss a day sick I'm actually bloody sick, not like these entitled scrotes who class them as extra holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,620 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I do more than the bare minimum and have been consistently rewarded for it, which is nice. But at the same time I don't really ever go above and byond or do as much as I could if I was always giving 100%. It seems to work out nicely balanced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

I remember a guy in my company getting praised as he was the most profitable when comparing his billable rate and hours against his pay and overheads. He quickly came to the realisation that it meant he was the most underpaid in the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

If I work from 9-5, then I'm out the door at 5. But from 9-5, my work gets my full attention. I won't be late, and I won't be skiving off mid day, my work will get done. But it stays at work. It won't come home with me and I won't stay behind to get it done unless compensated.

Work to live, don't live to work.