Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you do the bare minimum at work?

• 14-12-2015 6:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

I ask the question as there are a few people that I work with who probably work about 3 hours of an 8 hour day. They spend the rest of the time looking busy or drinking tea. Nobody else is blind to this carry on, but it seems as though the employees in question are untouchable as they have permanent contract and have been there so long. It drives me mad as I love my work and I really want the company to do well, but it's amazing how much a knock on effect these lazy f*ckers can have when it comes to getting things done - There are delays in getting things out to our customers and important tools/parts getting misplaced due to pure ICouldn'tGiveAFuckery. The fact that the majority of us are left picking up the slack is such a pain in the arse.

I know that a portion of the blame lies with management, who seem to have been letting this go on since long before I started - but I just don't understand the attitude. It's not as if this is a sh*tty job or anything - It's a relatively well paying engineering company, and they really do treat their employees well. It seems to me that it's impossible to actually fire someone unless they defecate on the bosses desk and take a swing at him.

Anyway, do you just do enough to not get fired or do you take pride in your job?
    Do you think that it should be easier to sack people? Or perhaps you think it should be more difficult?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Do what you do do well. That's my motto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I'm paid to do a job, I'll do that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

I'm paid to do a job, I'll do that job.

Ah yes, but will you do it as well as you can and as timely as you can?
    Or will you do it just well enough and just fast enough so that no one can complain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I hate my job but still get the work done, but I work a military schedule. I start on time and I finish on time.

The company wouldn't find it acceptable I start 20/30 mins late and I don't find it acceptable I finish 20/30 mins late.

I do what is asked in my work no little no more just what is asked.

I don't believe in staying till mad hours to impress people, so you can move up in roles. Yes it happens and people move up but its more than likely happening regardless if you work hard, stay long hours just as much as if you didn't !

Also never in my roles have I ever seen a director or senior manager look under pressure, so why should I.

Plus as above, my attitude stinks but given another company I could enjoy it and stay there all day long so it depends in that sense also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

Why work when you can paid for not working? Management are responsible for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

eet fuk wrote: »
    Ah yes, but will you do it as well as you can and as timely as you can?
    Or will you do it just well enough and just fast enough so that no one can complain?

Nobody's 100% all the time. I never slack though. Also, I enjoy what I do and it pays well. And for the few bits where I do have a 'boss', I'm my own boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭kimokanto

Do your do-do in the well? What about E-coli?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭mattP

I work very well, and multiple customers have said my standard is over and beyond some of my coworkers. Their attitude really annoys me - its like that they're still at school; they work when the boss is looking and when not they go on their phone or go to the toilet for a cigarette, which means the rest of us have to pick up the slack. Although being honest sometimes I do cut corners if (the lack of) time warrants it, but only victimless crimes like mopping the floor without brushing it, or leaving a black bag by the door instead of opening the four locks to get out to the skip!
    The problem is some people feel no allegiance to anyone, they feel they have the power to do what they please. Personally I have no allegiance to the boss, but to the customers and my coworkers instead.

Why work when you can paid for not working? Management are responsible for this.

That is essentially the problem, yes. I just think that there's a lot to be said for taking a bit of pride in what you do. That's just me though.

Do you reckon that management should be able to sack someone for not working? I know that sounds like a silly question, but it seems as though there has to be a whole rigmarole of warnings and attempts to motivate the employee before letting them go could even be considered.

If anyone has any experience of this in other countries, are things the same there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Lots of people have the Ah fuk eet attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Yep. Hence me having enough time to mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

OP are you describing a job in the public service ?

endacl wrote: »
    Nobody's 100% all the time. I never slack though. Also, I enjoy what I do and it pays well. And for the few bits where I do have a 'boss', I'm my own boss.

I agree with you there. I just mean that you will work as part of a team and not be letting others down with shoddy work on your part.

Ally Dick wrote: »

That didn't take long.

Ally Dick wrote: »

It does sound that way doesn't it!?

But no, I'm in private industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I just do the bare minimum to get by, why the hell would I do any more? Life is way too short to be a little company man or woman slogging for twelve hours a day just for the chance to climb a stupid corporate ladder where your only reward is more stress and longer hours. You work to live not the other way around. And where I work there is zero incentive to do any more work and you get no thanks for it so I don't

eet fuk wrote: »
    That is essentially the problem, yes. I just think that there's a lot to be said for taking a bit of pride in what you do. That's just me though.

Do you reckon that management should be able to sack someone for not working? I know that sounds like a silly question, but it seems as though there has to be a whole rigmarole of warnings and attempts to motivate the employee before letting them go could even be considered.

If anyone has any experience of this in other countries, are things the same there?

Management can sack someone for not working. They need to be able to provide evidence though if the dismissal is challenged by the dismissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Kenny Powers

Clearly he doesn't know the effort that goes into making 14 cups of tea a day. My canteen is two floors down for christs sakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I get paid the bare minimum and I work accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I enjoy my work so I just keep at it. I rarely work more than 8 hours a day although I will start early or stay late if I think it's needed. I'm never asked to though so that's probably why I don't mind doing it the odd time.

Schwiiing wrote: »

I predict bare minimum pay well into the future...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I work as hard as I can at work. Often working longer hours than asked and doing parts of olther people's jobs because I care how the company performs and about promotion.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    I work as hard as I can at work. Often working longer hours than asked and doing parts of olther people's jobs because I care how the company performs and about promotion.

you're fired

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

worked damn hard for years since i was a kid but have since given that up when i seen my reward was "jesus youre a great fella altogether....heres more for you to do"

I work as hard and as long as I have to to get the job done, but I enjoy it and get satisfaction from it. I can't deliberately do a job slowly or poorly, it's not in me.

ETA: I do drink a lot of tea while I'm doing it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Full Marx

I just do the bare minimum to get by, why the hell would I do any more? Life is way too short to be a little company man or woman slogging for twelve hours a day just for the chance to climb a stupid corporate ladder where your only reward is more stress and longer hours. You work to live not the other way around. And where I work there is zero incentive to do any more work and you get no thanks for it so I don't
    This.

I do the bare minimum but with a good attitude. Why would I do more and go above and beyond? Its not my business, I don't get more for doing more so why bother? I do what I'm paid to do to a satisfactory level and leave it at that. You get no thanks for giving yourself a heart attack at 50.

It's very hard to "get ahead", in modern corporate environments. I particularly loath "brainstorming" sessions because all it is is managements stealing the grunts ideas and portraying them as their own. Years ago I came up with a good idea which has saved a company I used to work for probably hundreds of thousands of euros by now, basically it was a way to reduce printing and paper costs... I sent it on up to management and guess who ended up with the credit for it...

My advice to young people would be to get on well with everyone in the office, do just the right amount of work so you're neither really lazy or run off your feet and to only do exactly what you are paid for, and no more because you'll get no thanks. If you go over and above you will just get given all the crap work to do.

And join a union.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Being self employed doing the bare minimum is an alien concept to me

Haha that's a sure way to NOT get promoted because if you make yourself too important/good at a particular task they will never promote or move you. You will learn this in time.... you're letting yourself be taken advantage of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I give the Company I work for as much loyalty and dedication as they have given me over the years ......... sweet f*ck all .......... I show up on time (a little late if I can get away with it), do as much as I have to do (a little less if I can get away with it) while there and leave on time .......... or a little earlier, if I can get away with it! :)

I've still gotten all my promotions and salary increases over the years (along with the "company men") despite my lack of interest ......... thank you Mr. Union and Mr. Labour Law!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Come 5pm I'm out the door, whether that heart is transplanted or not.

MadDog76 wrote: »
    I give the Company I work for as much loyalty and dedication as they have given me over the years ......... sweet f*ck all .......... I show up on time (a little late if I can get away with it), do as much as I have to do (a little less if I can get away with it) while there and leave on time .......... or a little earlier, if I can get away with it! :)

I've still gotten all my promotions and salary increases over the years (along with the "company men") despite my lack of interest ......... thank you Mr. Union and Mr. Labour Law!!! ;)

I dunno... Reads like they've been pretty loyal to you all that time...

Not at all ......... they've given me only what they've had to give to avoid being accused of being biased etc. .......... and I've given them the same back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I work...all the time...dislike being idle and I'm not great at small talk so I just tip on when others are doing nothing...but I finish at bang on closing time or if I work even five mins over I put in for it..

..I see others who could give two hours a day bolixing around and then when the boss back in the evening pulling and tearing looking busy (don't put in for it though :confused: )
    while I just fcuk off home...I might work long hours :(....but I try to keep up a life/hobbies away from work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Full Marx wrote: »
    Haha that's a sure way to NOT get promoted because if you make yourself too important/good at a particular task they will never promote or move you. You will learn this in time.... you're letting yourself be taken advantage of.

Nope. I've seen people do the exact same thing in my office and be promoted for it so don't assume your experiences are the same as mine thanks.

Not at all ......... they've given me only what they've had to give to avoid being accused of being biased etc.
    I think I understand why. ;)

Nope. I've seen people do the exact same thing in my office and be promoted for it so don't assume your experiences are the same as mine thanks.
    Hopefully but we'll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭ricardo1

Schwiiing wrote: »

Which is where this post will remain in value.

OP as your lazy colleagues are working less you and others who are working possibly now have to work more so you're actually being treated unfairly and being discriminated against in this type of working environment.

Management if they have any cop on would normally give the lazy ones a time frame to improve at doing x,y and z. If it's not adhered to then disciplinary steps are taken which may include dismissal.This should be in there T&C where a structure of disciplinary steps of warning verbal, written and then dismissal are explained.

Complain now or let the others take advantage of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Self employed so no bluffing here.

Worked for construction companies before where you were a "great fella" because you would work on in the evening and weekends.

Used to work for 1 company where I did 12 hour days and Saturdays as well as paperwork at home. 4 and a half years of that. Guess who was the first man out the door of that place? The lads who had company vans and missed every Monday? The lads who wrecked company vans while driving drunk and then doing a runner? The lads who went to temple bar every Thursday night and then never worked Friday? The lads who used to take 2 hour lunch breaks to get in a few pints?

Nah...this eejit here who never turned up late in all my time there or never went drinking and who probably smoothed the waters on a few jobs by "covering" the golden boys. Bigger fool me.

This whole "if you come in extra early (for free), work extra hard (for no more money) and stay extra late (for free) ........ who knows where you'll end up in the Company!" *wink wink* b0llocks is just that ........ b0llocks.

If you want to work long hours and give "110%" in order to reap the rewards ......... then work for yourself!

EDIT: May not apply to every Company/workplace/job ......... just most of them.

I think I understand why. ;)

I bet I'm still on more money than you ......... with no stress, an early retirement plan and a hefty pension to look forward to! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I do my job to the letter of what I'm employed for. I get no extra thanks or money for putting in any extra effort, so I dont know why I'd bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

I respect people more that can exploit what they can get away with.

My uncle told me about this chap in a large Company who started coming in 15 mins late , nobody said anything so 15 minutes soon became an hour, then 3, then he stopped going in at all. when he came back 3 weeks later nobody had even noticed he was gone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Best line I ever heard from a lad was "a favour today is a duty tomorrow"

On the other hand...I do a bit of work for a few subbies in dublin. One is an absolute gentleman and I will always do a bit extra if needs be because he treats me very well and is appreciative of the work I do.

The other is a lad I know well and I won't give him an extra 5 mins. He is ignorant and wants blood from everyone.

Depends on how you are treated I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Green Peter

I didn't think it was possible to do this in the private sector! Send to be wide spread, no wonder so many companies went to the wall when the recession hit!

I remember a place I used to work the manager of the office (a complete gimp "company man" who still works there in the same role for the same money years later) said to me "you know, if you put in the extra hours and knuckle down, you could get a pay rise ........ maybe even a promotion"! to which I replied "imagine how hard I'd work if you gave me the pay rise now!" ......... he looked like a confused puppy, he just couldn't work out the logic! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

"A doo-doo here, a doo-doo there, I do a doo-doo everywhere." - Zuppy, 1989, The Fridge in a Denim Jacket, The O'Brien Press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

This whole "if you come in extra early (for free), work extra hard (for no more money) and stay extra late (for free) ........ who knows where you'll end up in the Company!" *wink wink* b0llocks is just that ........ b0llocks.

If you want to work long hours and give "110%" in order to reap the rewards ......... then work for yourself!

EDIT: May not apply to every Company/workplace/job ......... just most of them.

The whole department that I am in works like that,we don't take lunches when busy, we come in early and stay late without ever being asked about it. Yet every year we bitch and moan that we will stop doing it because we get no appreciation for it and we get dogs abuse for any mistakes or issues but we keep doing it.

It's a nice place to work though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

And this, my friends, is why unions need to be abolished.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

a woman's work is never done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

XR3i wrote: »
    a woman's work is never done

"Then women need to work harder!" - Jimmy Carr