What are you getting your pet for xmas AH's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 P1nkSheep

Probably something similar to last year for my dog - some treats to relax her as she is full of beans when guests visit (last year my Grandad fed her basically the whole packet. They didnt work he said is why he kept feeding them then suddenly shed was zonked out! Or finally knackered from being so bouncy all day :-/
    The cats i tend to give some tuna or turkey (they usually have dry food). Oh, and catnip. They have a catnip party. Which the dog tends to gate crash and cause mayhem there too ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

I'll be getting my dog a postman's leg to chew on for crimbo.

He gets about a fortnights worth of chewtastic pleasure out of one, and they're only about €2.50, but I don't tell him that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

This is the first Christmas I've been away from home and the thoughts of not watching the dogs trying to rip open their present is killer!!

Does anyone else have a dog that knows which present is theirs from all the presents under the tree? Every year one of my labs heads straight for his own present, doesn't matter if it's under a heap of others, he'll find it.

Buying my boys new beds this year as i'm redecorating and also buying a new fabric sofa so they are barred from the sitting room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

He's getting a new collar. Favourite so far is brown, approx 1 inch width with beige stitching along the edges. Getting a reindeer horn (no joke, great things altogether) as a surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Used to get my cat a tin of turkey Whiskas every Christmas but she didnt like it. Hoped each year she would change her mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Azalea wrote: »
    Used to get my cat a tin of turkey Whiskas every Christmas but she didnt like it. Hoped each year she would change her mind.

It didn't kill her, did it? :eek:

Our cat is getting a small bit of smoked salmon, he's like a crack addict for the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

This year I had a proper sit-down talk with my dog and my cat and told them how lucky they are that they have a human eejit like myself who spoils them rotten.
    Then I tried to tell them how unlucky many others of their sort are, hungry, with no home and/or treated badly.

Not that they were impressed. But I told them in no unclear words that all the money for Christmas presents would go to an animal rescue. And no back talk!

Still not impressed the selfish basterds.

But telling them that otherwise there won't be any leftovers from the roast duck for them did the trick.

And they toddled off, feeling smug doing a good thing this year - and looking forward to the leftovers, I guess.

He got a monkey squeaky toy and nothing-added dried chicken treats he goes cracked for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 P1nkSheep

Loving reading about the spoilt fur babies!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Get her a kong and a tub of peanut butter :)

My dog got an early present of a very expensive bed. Dunno what santa will bring the cats. They haven't been very good this year :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Left- overs!

But, not just any left-overs.

Left-overs from a Marks and Spencer's Christmas dinner.

Left-overs lovingly pawed at by humans.

Left-overs that have been left to cool and stagnate for hours.

Left-overs that have been guffawed over and spittle drenched by humans sharing Christmas cracker jokes.

But, not just any Christmas cracker jokes.

Marks and Spencer's Christmas cracker jokes, the most luxurious and expensive crap jokes money can buy.

All served up in an empty tin.

But, not just any empty tin.

It will be the empty tin from a Marks and Spencer's biscuit selection.

A tin that will last until next Christmas, and which will stand up to whatever slop you throw at rover over the coming year.

It's not just any old slops for rover this year, it will be Marks and Spencer's slops.

Because we care!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Lucy8080 wrote: »
    Left- overs!

But, not just any left-overs.

Left-overs from a Marks and Spencer's Christmas dinner.

Left-overs lovingly pawed at by humans.

Left-overs that have been left to cool and stagnate for hours.

Left-overs that have been guffawed over and spittle drenched by humans sharing Christmas cracker jokes.

But, not just any Christmas cracker jokes.

Marks and Spencer's Christmas cracker jokes, the most luxurious and expensive crap jokes money can buy.

All served up in an empty tin.

But, not just any empty tin.

It will be the empty tin from a Marks and Spencer's biscuit selection.

A tin that will last until next Christmas, and which will stand up to whatever slop you throw at rover over the coming year.

It's not just any old slops for rover this year, it will be Marks and Spencer's slops.

Because we care!

You are truly bonkers! :D:D:D

Alfie is getting a brand new leather collar.

Because its so much easier to clean the ****E he rolls in, off a leather collar.

Dirty animal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

Cheap squeaky toy, every year. And every year she goes mad as soon as she sees the tree go up, checks under it for presents. She has been known to unwrap ONE corner of half the presents- presumably every present that smells like it might be for her- to check.

Sure why not get her a present? You spend 30 seconds and 1.50 and she carries it around for the whole day showing it to everyone and gets really happy about it, won't let it out of her sight for the next week. And you know it's absolutely genuine.

You spend much more money, time, thought, effort, on presents for the humans and half the time you get the 'Oh... how lovely' reaction or it turns out someone else got them the same thing. Might as well have one 'good present' to bank on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,431 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I've never had a pet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I've never had a pet.

Are you still buying this pet that never existed a present? Because that wouldn't be half as mad as some of the stuff in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Who in their right mind expects a dog or whatever to understand Christmas? Just another fad driven by commercialism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I get nothing for my dog, cats or cattle for Christmas, I just keep them fed, watered and with good shelter as per usual.

Had to put poison down for rats as the cats had gotten to lazy to try and catch them. To think they should then get a present, they wouldn't even bring me a present of a dead rat to my doorstep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

This year I think I'll let him stay out at the road for as long as he wants, he's absolutely terrifying so I reckon it'll reduce the unwanted visitor count by 50%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Who in their right mind expects a dog or whatever to understand Christmas? Just another fad driven by commercialism.

Walofs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Darwin his getting his knackers off in the sales.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

My pet ate his rules earlier this year so he wont be getting his xmas present unless he apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I picked up 2 new antlers, they last months and are great. I cannot buy anything with a squeaker in it, terry the terrier rips it out with the precision of a surgeon, only barely breaks the material as little as he has to, then his job is done.

Sammy on the other hand, has to chase the squeaker around and around, it ends up under your chair - you have to move! Then terry finally kills the squeaker.

Sammy loves cushions, so I buy cheap ones, and he spends ages pulling out the stuffing.

I went to a market thing yesterday. There was a pet gift stand. The strange lady asked "are we looking for something for our dog today". I politely told her I was just looking. She kept pointing at things. Then picked up a bag of doggy biscuits and said "these are made with gluten free flour and human grade products so you can share them with your dogs". I replied "I think I'll stick with the custard creams". She did not find it in any way funny :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I went to a market thing yesterday. There was a pet gift stand. The strange lady asked "are we looking for something for our dog today". I politely told her I was just looking. She kept pointing at things. Then picked up a bag of doggy biscuits and said "these are made with gluten free flour and human grade products so you can share them with your dogs". I replied "I think I'll stick with the custard creams". She did not find it in any way funny :o

Custard creams! Lucky dogs, ours get rich tea, but if it's a special occasion himself splurges on gold grain for them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Chainsaw.

lazeedaisy wrote: »
    Custard creams! Lucky dogs, ours get rich tea, but if it's a special occasion himself splurges on gold grain for them!

Well I meant for me like but she would get the odd one too :D