Giving up binge drinking for good!

Tombi! wrote: »
    A red something.
    Looked like a cape and you kept wanting to be called wonder woman

Not me then.

I look frightful in red.

But hot in a Wonder Woman costume ;)

(Just kidding, red's my best colour :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Tombi! wrote: »
    A red something.
    Looked like a cape and you kept wanting to be called wonder woman

I think that was me actually. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Can't be arsed stirring in that weather, keep my powder dry for December!

I know we all say "I'm never drinking again" when in the middle of a bad hangover, but have you ever made a decision not to get drunk again? Do you think the hangovers are worth it for the nights out you've had?

Oh the hang overs are always worth the good fun. I never lament them so much.

But I did make the decision not to get drunk again after being out in Dublin City one night sober. I had been there many times drunk before - and looking around I was horrified by a thing here or a thing there - but in general I was as drunk as most so I was not looking around clearly.

But I remember one time we went to an all ages gig. So rather than going in at 8pm and coming out at 1 - we went in around 6 and came out around 12. And there was no beer. So I was completely sober walking around Dublin. And all of a sudden I saw just what a "night of the living dead" scene places like Dublin show you with alcohol. In a way that I never saw when drunk myself.

And it was horrific enough as an experience that I decided I would never get drunk again.

I still love and have alcohol. You will find me with a wine or whisky in my hand most nights as it happens. But I will nurse one or two for the whole night. And I will spend around the same amount of money on them. So they are higher quality. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Oh the hang overs are always worth the good fun. I never lament them so much.

But I did make the decision not to get drunk again after being out in Dublin City one night sober. I had been there many times drunk before - and looking around I was horrified by a thing here or a thing there - but in general I was as drunk as most so I was not looking around clearly.

But I remember one time we went to an all ages gig. So rather than going in at 8pm and coming out at 1 - we went in around 6 and came out around 12. And there was no beer. So I was completely sober walking around Dublin. And all of a sudden I saw just what a "night of the living dead" scene places like Dublin show you with alcohol. In a way that I never saw when drunk myself.

And it was horrific enough as an experience that I decided I would never get drunk again.

I still love and have alcohol. You will find me with a wine or whisky in my hand most nights as it happens. But I will nurse one or two for the whole night. And I will spend around the same amount of money on them. So they are higher quality. :)

Really? One night sober in dublin changed your life, surely there were other reasons too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I'm finally done with going out on the piss.

"Drinking in moderation is one of the most ridiculous statements ever made,
    You must drink a little more than moderation......."

Someday soon, I will drink my last one... That will be it, no more hangovers,
    no fear fueled anxiety, I hope I wont be miserable or socially dead.

I love and hate the booze but it loves me too much :)

"Drinking in moderation is one of the most ridiculous statements ever made,
    You must drink a little more than moderation......."

Someday soon, I will drink my last one... That will be it, no more hangovers,
    no fear fueled anxiety, I hope I wont be miserable or socially dead.

I love and hate the booze but it loves me too much :)

I hear ya. Once it touches the lips there's no stopping till you're dropping

I was so good. I had 2 glasses of wine and two vodkas over about a 4 hour period.

Then I got a text from a friend who was at his Christmas party and feck all people had shown (showed?) up and there was a massive tab behind the bar that needed to be spent. And that bar was about 150metres from where I was.

God my will power was being tested. So I drank two more vodkas. That means that technically I binge drinked. However, it was over 7 hours. So I'm a teeny bit tipsy and on my way home. I expect to be absolutely fine in the morning. I will be mightily upset if I'm dying in the morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Go whoopsdixxxctajdoodles yea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Just woke up with no sickly hangover and this side of Sunday morning the logic to not getting pissed is really clicking with me now.

I think the problem is because life is lived in the present and with drinking the fun comes first so it always has an advantage. I must say though, I'm really happy I'm not sick as a dog right now.

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Just woke up with no sickly hangover and this side of Sunday morning the logic to not getting pissed is really clicking with me now.

I think the problem is because life is lived in the present and with drinking the fun comes first so it always has an advantage. I must say though, I'm really happy I'm not sick as a dog right now.

It was hard at some points for me no to just get pissed last night. The friend I met later, and his group, were so drunk but I know them so was able to have good craic with them. Once I moved pubs though, I was being drunkenly chatted up by every second bloke, and it's hard to keep smiling and being polite when you're pretty sober but smile and be polite I did.

In the end I had to choose between staying out and getting drunk or leaving, and I would have preferred to stay and get drunk but I remembered my vow and I remembered last week's hangover and so I left!

Glad of it this morning. Still had a great laugh last night but have been out for breakfast, been to the shops, and am now going out with the pup for a walk and will go for a run after that.

Much better state of affairs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

Four weekends without a hangover...Hate not getting pissed on Saturday night but love not being hungover on a Sunday more....have to keep it up now....seems like an extra day off to get stuff done now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Went out last night and had three beers and a whiskey. I don't think I'm hungover, I don't have a dodgy belly, but I've had a headache for the last week so it's a bit hard to tell. Either my hangovers are now perpetual or I have a brain tumour.

I wake up every weekend without a hangover.

... but it might have something to do with me having no social life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I'm coming around....after eating about three red bull tasting pears :O

Finished drinking for the year...unless I go to the work Xmas party....few weeks off nonetheless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I love an oul binge. Whether it's take away, sweets or booze.

Not having it everyday means you appreciate it more when you do.

I don't drink that much anyway, usually have about 2 drinks if I ever do go out. My only "big" nights out these days tend to be staff parties/weddings. The mornings after are not worth it!

I have a few friends who can go out and get hammered till 3am and go to work no bother the next morning. Not a hope can I do it (anymore!).

Also went for a swim.

:smug:

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Really? One night sober in dublin changed your life, surely there were other reasons too?

Not particularly no. It just set me thinking about drinking culture and my part in it. And I just decided I do not want to be that way any more.

I do throw a monthly house party - all my mates come over - and I will have a few drinks in my hand over the night. But that is about as close to getting drunk as I do any more - though not drunk at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭cookiexx

being sober and surrounded by locked people just ONCE was enough for me to ever want to binge drink again. Most I'll have these days is 2 or 3, and even that would be once in a blue moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I don't venture much out into the social world these days, usually lock myself in my house with some beers and enjoy hanging out with herself watching stuff on the TV or listening to tunes. Drink at a nice slow pace, usually no more than 2 beers, so no hangover.

Went out Friday night and got sloshed until 5am. Wasn't too bad Sat, head was a bit groggy but went out again that night and was fed a load of drink someone kept buying us (only spent €4, cheapest night I've had in years :P ). Was in even better form the next morning.

A rarity that was, I'm normally septic the next day to the point I'm oozing pus out of every orifice :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 CameraBag

cookiexx wrote: »
    being sober and surrounded by locked people just ONCE was enough for me to ever want to binge drink again. Most I'll have these days is 2 or 3, and even that would be once in a blue moon.

That's a big thing for me also. You need a lot of patience when you're in a room full of people who are sloshed.

And yer ma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

You were doing so well!! :D

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    You were doing so well!! :D

Shut yer face, I'm awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Haven't touched it in over a year...this time,going back on it is not an option.....I always think of Alice Cooper who after 4 years sober made the mistake of taking a sip of his wife's wine at dinner and within hours he was hiding bottles around the house and on a year long bender that nearly killed him and ended him up in a sanitarium.

A sanitarium? If Alice Cooper relapsed in the 1920s, what age does that make him now??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

A sanitarium? If Alice Cooper relapsed in the 1920s, what age does that make him now??

"From the Inside is the eleventh studio album by Alice Cooper, released in 1978. It is a concept album about Cooper’s stay in a New York sanitarium due to his alcoholism"

http://alicecooperechive.com/articles/index.php?magazineList=ariz&articleList=771101

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I love drinking beer & smoking weed, I'm a veteran, been doing it a long time...

I don't get hangovers, I brew my own beer au naturale & I don't over indulge, most of the time :o

I'm true to my word when I say...if it ever starts affecting my everyday functioning, I'd knock it on the head (that or my first cardiac :pac:)

A little taste often...you only got one life, indulge I say & ride the whirlwind...we all gonna die, how healthy you wanna be when you pass this mortal coil? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    I love drinking beer & smoking weed, I'm a veteran, been doing it a long time...

I don't get hangovers, I brew my own beer au naturale & I don't over indulge, most of the time :o

I'm true to my word when I say...if it ever starts affecting my everyday functioning, I'd knock it on the head (that or my first cardiac :pac:)

A little taste often...you only got one life, indulge I say & ride the whirlwind...we all gonna die, how healthy you wanna be when you pass this mortal coil? ;)

I couldn't have said it better meself man,roll with the punches.