Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Zenit lost to Gent the other night, so I don't fear them very much.

Only downside about drawing them, if it happens, is the team having to travel to Russia midweek.

The flight is 3.5 hours max so not too bad. Yesterdays trip would have been further by air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

COYG!! hope everyone's happy about yesterday's result! was ecstatic! WOOHOOO! just got my red membership card too so excited to watch them at the Emirates! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Well that was just fantastic. At 0-0 Olympiacos gave the lads a few scares, but after that it was a very assured performance. I'd say Wenger can't take that grin off his face :D

L'prof wrote: »
    Well that was just fantastic. At 0-0 Olympiacos gave the lads a few scares, but after that it was a very assured performance. I'd say Wenger can't take that grin off his face :D

Yep L'prof really must have enjoyed that ;)

So whats the team for Villa??

Ox will surely start but for who?? Will Ozil be ok to play??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Zenit lost to Gent the other night, so I don't fear them very much.

Only downside about drawing them, if it happens, is the team having to travel to Russia midweek.

Yeah I know but it was a meaningless for Zenit as they had already won the first 5 games and were already qualified. Anyway my point is that last year we got the supposed handy draw in Monaco and look how that turned out. No matter who we get (as long as its not Barcelona) then I dont mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

As professional a performance I've seen this team produce. Well played, Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Big props to Wenger too for getting everything spot on

The change of wings between Campbell and Walcott was a great tactic! Bellerin needed help and Campbell provided it ;) Paid off really well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

If we can hang in there until we get our players back you would really fancy our chances of a title charge

Focus should now be on EPL. Champions League won't be back until February so we SHOULD have reinforcements by then assuming we do business on the Transfer Window/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

ronjo wrote: »
    Yep L'prof really must have enjoyed that ;)

So whats the team for Villa??

Ox will surely start but for who?? Will Ozil be ok to play??

I'd be tempted to stick with the same 11. If anyone is in the red zone etc then don't play them. We have 8 days until the City game to get rested.

MaxPower89 wrote: »
    I'd be tempted to stick with the same 11. If anyone is in the red zone etc then don't play them. We have 8 days until the City game to get rested.

I would be surprised if he played both Walcott and Giroud again. It was only last night as we needed a minimum of 2 goals and could possibly afford to concede

I would expect Ox to come in for Walcott but that might change depending on Ozils fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

Apparently Szczesny essentially got Roma through to the next round with two fantastic saves in 0-0 draw. Good to see him getting back on track

DeclanRe wrote: »
    Apparently Szczesny essentially got Roma through to the next round with two fantastic saves in 0-0 draw. Good to see him getting back on track

Did you see the pic of his girlfriend with her arse hanging out the back of her dress??
    Nice arse mind you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Theo was just rusty.

It will come with a few games just in time for city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Isn't Campbell such a likable player. Bursts his bolllocks and has a bit of class going forward. Fair play to the lad, never once did he seem to moan the last 18 months when he wasn't getting a look in, especially after having a superb world cup. He looks to have lost a lot of weight and it shows in his performances the last few weeks. Delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Looks like Alexis will be back in training next week. And with Jack back soon our options are starting to look up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Looks like Alexis will be back in training next week. And with Jack back soon our options are starting to look up

They're like new signings :):):)

Fancy getting Real, Zenit or Wolfsburg (return of Lord Bendtner)

But since we are Arsenal we will get Barcelona! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭wawaman

After last year the "easy" draw for us isnt so easy. Apart from Barca, i think we would have a chance against the rest (with a fullish squad). Did i dream that RTE were actually positive about us last night!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

wawaman wrote: »
    After last year the "easy" draw for us isnt so easy. Apart from Barca, i think we would have a chance against the rest (with a fullish squad). Did i dream that RTE were actually positive about us last night!!?

Ah come on, ye were soundly beaten by Bayern this year. I do reckon ye could overcome Real Madrid if ye turn up though.

emmetlego wrote: »
    They're like new signings :):):)

LANS, LANS everywhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Ah come on, ye were soundly beaten by Bayern this year. I do reckon ye could overcome Real Madrid if ye turn up though.
    Monaco knocked us out last year in a draw we were all delighted with and thought was "easy". Plus we can't get Bayern, City or Chelsea in the next round. We can't get United either, but thats for a different reason :D

Quazzie wrote: »
    Monaco knocked us out last year in a draw we were all delighted with and thought was "easy". Plus we can't get Bayern, City or Chelsea in the next round. We can't get United either, but thats for a different reason :D

With all these boyos playing on Thursday in the new year I hope we will have plenty of Saturday games.

Changing topic slightly I see we are away to Pool the midweek after the 3rd round of the Cup.

If they are trying to stop teams playing weakened sides in the cup it doesnt really make sense to have league games a few days later.

ronjo wrote: »
    Changing topic slightly I see we are away to Pool the midweek after the 3rd round of the Cup.

If they are trying to stop teams playing weakened sides in the cup it doesnt really make sense to have league games a few days later.

looked up and saw that too! January is a crucial month for us Champions League aside. Those 3 fixtures will test us!

Liverpool - Stoke - Chelsea

After that our sched should ease quite a bit

5star02707 wrote: »
    looked up and saw that too! January is a crucial month for us Champions League aside. Those 3 fixtures will test us!

Liverpool - Stoke - Chelsea

After that our sched should ease quite a bit

I am genuinely surprised they have done that.
    Liverpool have a handy 3rd round draw so I am sure they will rest loads of players but I can see Allardyce doing the same against us in the cup as he will be judged only on whether he keeps them up.

don't worry Liverpool also has a tough fixture after us which is United on the 17th of January.

5star02707 wrote: »
    don't worry Liverpool also has a tough fixture after us which is United on the 17th of January.

I put a comment on the FA cup thread as would be interested to hear what other fans think also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Don't give too much of a rats who we get in the CL, obviously would prefer to avoid Barcelona, but it's a bonus just to be there after what happened in the Group. Those home game knock outs tend to be magic at the Emirates too.

Hopefully if we beat Sunderland in the FA Cup we draw a handy team next as it'd help the schedule. The 6 weeks from the City game decides our season imo.

City (H)
    Soton (A)
    Bournemouth (H)
    Newcastle (H)
    Liverpool (A)
    Stoke (A)
    Chelsea (H)

16/21 there and we'll be hard to stop in the League. Not an outrageous ask either.