Flooding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

....and in through the drains etc.
    Temporary measures such as Sandbags etc will only stop waves getting in caused by traffic on flooded roads.

If the level of water is higher than your front door it will seep in through the walls etc and your only hope is if the water level drops quickly after the rain stops, which did not happen with desmond as the rain lasted 24 hrs or more.

Water will get in anywhere it can and no amount of silicone will keep it out unless you coat the foundations walls and the entire boundary of the house in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Sometimes when I read a thread I just think to myself, God give me strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

If your house gets flooded , I could give you a tent.
    Will that do ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Nope, my only issues are the electricity :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

If God don't give you strength, a tube of silicone will do the trick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

kneemos wrote: »
    For the level of water most people have lapping at their doors it's more than adequate.

Its that easy is it?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Given the amount of places given planning permission on flood plains through planning corruption and short-sighted hardscaped development in flood prone areas it is hardly fair to point the finger at the poor homeowner.

Try to point this out of course and people trot out the old arguments about "serial objectors".

Case in point...
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/an-taisce-criticises-ambitious-expansion-plans-for-galway-harbour-30908378.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I live next to a river or the sea my house floods what sorcery is this. In other news my house in Tornado alley was blown down.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Highly absorbent kitchen-roll - be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

He does have a point though. If you live in a flood zone there are plenty of things the owner can do to mitigate the risk to property:

It is possible:
    To put in flood boards at door and low window openings.
    To put flood covers on low level vents.
    To put non return valves on drains so floodwater cannot enter.
    To put flood resistant finishes on the ground floors of buildings: eg tiles, and not have timber fittings such as drawers and cupboards at a low level.

The above are relatively expensive and obtrusive, and the problem is most property owners do not want to face up to the cost of preventative measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Its that easy is it?:rolleyes:

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

People on the news complaining about having their homes and businesses flooded on a regular basis.
    Once I can understand but surely they can take simple measures to protect their properties?Not like it wasn't predicted.
    Flood barriers are available and are simple to install,even a three quid tub of Silicone generously applied will more than likely do the trick.
    Don't get the need for allowing properties to be destroyed unnecessarily.
    Azalea wrote: »

It has to be the good Juan Sheet stuff, not the Aldi 10'for a euro gear, having said that, you could just get a kayak inLidl and learn to live with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Azalea wrote: »

Tampons and tea bags are a life savior too.

Ho humm. Air tight is tighter than water tight.

What about the vents, that will be in rooms with wooden floors?

And when "water" starts entering the house from sewer and drains?

The sewer is a closed system,it's not affected by flooding.
    The odd really old building might have vents,but otherwise wooden floors are laid on concrete,there's no need or room for vents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

The odd really old building might have vents,but otherwise wooden floors are laid on concrete,there's no need or room for vents.

You really don't understand the sear power and force of water do you. Most villages/towns are old buildings anyway.

jamesbere wrote: »
    You really don't understand the sear power and force of water do you. Most villages/towns are old buildings anyway.

The power of three or four inches of water lapping at your door.

Must be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Ho humm. Air tight is tighter than water tight
    That all depends on how much pressure there is.

In reality there are some easy things you can do to prevent/reduce minor flooding...but past a certain point you're completely fecked.

Another thing,why are these people waiting for the council to deliver sandbags?
    It's sand in a bag,have your own supply if you live in one of these areas.

The power of three or four inches of water lapping at your door.

Must be awesome.

You don't seem to realise what 4 inches of water resting against an old stone wall building (which most villages are) for an extended period of time can do. These aren't perfectly sealed buildings, external plaster will not hold out against flood water for long, water can easily find gaps in stone walls and penetrate the building. You seem to think the only way water can get into a house is through the front door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

To think the millions hurricane katrina cost and all that was a few tubes of silicone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Cienciano wrote: »
    To think the millions hurricane katrina cost and all that was a few tubes of silicone
    Don't be so naive! They would have needed at least half a pallet for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

You have either been researching this all these hours or you went away and asked your Dad. Your post is ill-informed. No offence to your Dad or big brother.

I don't have the sort of time that you do to invest in Internety type things.

To suggest that people haven't had sewage and flood water forced up wc s (the usual answer is to throw a bag of cement down the toilet), haven't had flood water forced up drains or vents is ignorant. To suggest it can all be cured with a tube of silicon is stupid.

/I'm out

Don't be so naive! They would have needed at least half a pallet for that.

I don't know a full pallet might be better to be on the safe side, if there's a bit left over it can used around the doors :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Sure didn't Moses himself part the seas with a bit of silicone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Now you are either being deliberately obtuse or just showing sheer ignorance of both sewage systems and building practices.

I'm not evening my wit to this nonsense any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Now you are either being deliberately obtuse or just showing sheer ignorance of both sewage systems and building practices.

I'm not evening my wit to this nonsense any more.

I think maybe you're being a wee bit hard on him. He is making a couple of good points, even if they are badly made. Every premises in a flood prone area should have non return valves to prevent backflow through drains and sewers. Granted that won't stop the effluent coming in with the floodwater, but that's what the silicon is for. ;)

He's always hard on me.
    Or maybe he's hard on everyone.

I'd be very disappointed if it wasn't just me.