Panasonic 48 inch 4K ultra HD Smart and 3D. 499euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Good catch if the price stays put

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭tinofapples

How does this "scanning at the till" work ? In the market for a tv of this size but was gonna hold off till after Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Thanks for the heads up but I don't get it? Scanning in at till? is it an error price that you might get or a hidden offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Great to see these 4K TVs collapsing in price. I'll probably give it another year or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭gar

Poor reviews of the tv.
    Going to pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭BrendanD

Same how does the scanning at the till work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭eqwjewoiujqorj

This is a Vestel rebadge job, made in Turkey.

Gets bad reviews online as well, eg blur motion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭spongbob

Scanning at till, when you go to the casher desk, she puts it through using the catalog number.. 499 comes up

Or If you pay at the prepay point in store, with your bank card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭magentis

This is a Vestel rebadge job, made in Turkey.

Gets bad reviews online as well, eg blur motion.

I understand a lot of panasonic tvs are vestel in disguise,awful panels,terrible for sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,889 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The only tv manufacturers who don't outsource (at least) some of their production to generic third party manufacturers are LG and Samsung

Its definitely a case of buyer beware.

Brand names don't mean much anymore in the TV market. The cheap Beko is probably made on the same production line and uses exactly the same components as a panasonic that costs 200 quid more

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭burkey2k0

For what it's worth, I've been looking to buy a TV similar to this for the past couple of weeks, and the picture on this model looks amazing.

However, What I've come to realise is that picture quality is very subjective.

It was between this and the Sony Bravia 43w756C (43" - €649) in terms of picture quality, but have been tempted to spend more on the bigger size and 4k resolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,073 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Sometimes you need to be careful with TVs like this.
    Its fine if you are feeding them with good quality 4K content, of which there is little about. It will probably look stunning then.

But the majority of people who buy it in Ireland will be feeding it with SD satellite signal or upscaled RTE stuff on Saorview. It might look a bit ropey with this sort of stuff so beware.

There are some people who are clueless when it comes to buying TVs, they will buy a 4K TV and expect TV3 broadcasts to look amazing. Then moan when they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭keano25

I've an LG smart 3d TV. Unbelievable picture. Panasonic can be very hit and miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Invincible

Code available for Golden Island, valid until 9 tonight. PM if required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I was looking at this one;

http://www.currys.ie/Product/samsung-ue43ju6000-smart-ultra-hd-4k-43-led-tv/334623/397.0.3?OpenMenu=true

Anybody got any opinion on it. Would be pumping UPC into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Michelle_b

Just went into Waterford to get its scanning at till as 729.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Leslie91 wrote: »
    I was looking at this one;

http://www.currys.ie/Product/samsung-ue43ju6000-smart-ultra-hd-4k-43-led-tv/334623/397.0.3?OpenMenu=true

Anybody got any opinion on it. Would be pumping UPC into it.

The part numbers do not seem to be exactly the same but the Pro description looks the same. Big difference in the price.

http://euronics.ie/product/new-samsung-43-smart-tv-with-built-in-wi-fi-ue43j5500/

The part numbers do not seem to be exactly the same but the Pro description looks the same. Big difference in the price.

http://euronics.ie/product/new-samsung-43-smart-tv-with-built-in-wi-fi-ue43j5500/

Tx but mine one appears to be a 4K telly, the euronics does not appear to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

The one in the Currys link is UltraHD, whereas the one in Euronics is only FullHD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Completely different TV. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Tx but mine one appears to be a 4K telly, the euronics does not appear to be?

43inch 4k is pointless. It's to small. You need to go 55inch to have any benefit and even at that you have to sit nearly on the TV - not more than 3.6ft away or again it's pointless...and that distance is if you have half decent eyesight.

Really? or are you taking the you know what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,787 ✭✭✭cletus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭styron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Also, a crap 4K TV is pointless in any case - which this one is, really, Vestel are cheap TV's and not good quality. At €499 it would be good value for what it is alright, no denying it, but it was supposedly originally over 1k?

Most people are better off buying a decent 1080P screen anyway - what do most people intend watching on their 4K tv's? I'd say the demo's in-store in places like Curry's convinces a lot of people that that's what they'd be seeing in their living rooms watching Sky/UPC.

Jaysus thanks lads... so I'll forget 4K for now as we would always be about 10 feet from the telly.

And 43" is plenty big enough it is a small enough TV room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭spongbob

Michelle_b wrote: »
    Just went into Waterford to get its scanning at till as 729.... :(

I have a photo shot on my phone I took yesterday showing the 499 price. Just trying to figure out how to upload it here , it's on my phone

Also, a crap 4K TV is pointless in any case - which this one is, really, Vestel are cheap TV's and not good quality. At €499 it would be good value for what it is alright, no denying it, but it was supposedly originally over 1k?
    Is that Sammy a Vestrel? They are making so many now they are near unavoidable, look for a native 100Hz refresh rate that's backlit (not edgelit) anyway, I think you have to double up for 4k so native 200Hz for them. Low response time...like 12 or under be grand.

Look at that 800 PQI bull on that samsung, I had to google that, it's replacing their CMR Rating (clear motion rate), it goes all the way up to 2400 PQI...I'd avoid them just for pulling that crap. Seriously.
    Most people are better off buying a decent 1080P screen anyway - what do most people intend watching on their 4K tv's? I'd say the demo's in-store in places like Curry's convinces a lot of people that that's what they'd be seeing in their living rooms watching Sky/UPC.
    Even the Tablets in Currys are running on a special Demo Mode, sneaky feckers.

Jaysus thanks lads... so I'll forget 4K for now as we would always be about 10 feet from the telly.

And 43" is plenty big enough it is a small enough TV room.

never thanked my post feck sake:P

http://www.rtings.com/tv/learn

Good Site, fairly new they're still working at it.

Though you can know to much and read to many reviews and end up never be able to buy anything cuz their will always be something wrong and then you'll get pure few up looking/reading and pull the trigger on some POS just to get it over with.:o

spongbob wrote: »
    I have a photo shot on my phone I took yesterday showing the 499 price. Just trying to figure out how to upload it here , it's on my phone

Aw we believe ya, don't be wasting your time. It happened with something else on here last wk or that.