The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Ordered a GIpro digital gear indicator for the R1 today from Hourigans in Cork.
    Will be here with me tomorrow.

http://www.hourigansmotorcycles.com/healtech-range-265-c.asp

The oem indicator on the R1 dash is a tad too small for my liking,when Im giving it the beans on a Sunny day or riding in crappy weather.
    So Ive gone for the neon blue GIpro.Best digital gear indicator on the market imo.:)

DSCN4524_zpsi1q20z6t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Stewy are you any relation to goodlad? yiz do more upgrades and mods in one week than most of us do in 5 years:p Keep them coming. Great to see bikes been perfected

Yes,Im his evil twin.:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

Sure modding stuff is half the fun. I love researching mods for my bikes.
    Today I put on a set of mirrors that attach to my handguards.
    Bike looks crazy with 4 mirrors but sure fůckit. .. hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

goodlad wrote: »

I'd prefer to concentrate and look in front tbh!!! Dont need 4 mirrors for behind me lol

The stock ones will be coming off the bike. But I gotta remove the infill panels to get at the bolts and removing those panels needs the the fairings removed first.... Pain in the hoop! I will get to it eventually..... so for now I've 4 mirrors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

4 Mirrors?? Bit of overkill I think. With one set of mirrors and using the ole lifesaver you should be able to know exactly whats around you.

When you check your mirror now you will think there is 2 cars overtaking you.

Go on give us a laugh and stick up a picture:D

I will once the stock mirrors are off :P

Well its better to be looking at them than to be looking for them.;):D

GIpro digital gear indicator arrived at 9am this morning.I only ordered it yesterday afternoon.
    Fair play to Hourigans for that.:)

DSCN4538_zpspcphnh0z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭zubair

GIpro digital gear indicator arrived at 9am this morning.I only ordered it yesterday afternoon.
    Fair play to Hourigans for that.:)

DSCN4538_zpspcphnh0z.jpg

Goodlad, you need to be warned about having multiple accounts!

Well..... Can I have his R1 too?

Swapsies for the day....:pac::D

Give it 2 months chances are you will have one LMAO

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Give it 2 months chances are you will have one LMAO

Bog standard 2011 big bang R1 with 5,200 miles for sale here for 9,200 euro

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/yamaha-r1-2011-big-bang/11036922

Nah lads, my fz1 is a keeper.
    Power and comfort. Tis a savage bike.

Just wanna get the ecu flashed and get it mapped properly to sort out the dead throttle after changing gear

Nah lads, my fz1 is a keeper.
    Power and comfort. Tis a savage bike.

Just wanna get the ecu flashed and get it mapped properly to sort out the dead throttle after changing gear

Kev and Steve up in NDM for the win here.

Flashtuned and mapped my R1 on the dyno,installed the HM quickshifter,did the suspension setup.
    The bike they gave me back was/is unreal.:D

http://www.ndmoto.com/

Based on the experience there of a mate i wouldnt give ndm a cent. Will be going to mototuning to get a flash and map done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Based on the experience there of a mate i wouldnt give ndm a cent. Will be going to mototuning to get a flash and map done.
    Do tell :confused:

Not really my story to tell man. I dont want chinese whispers happening with it. But the jist of it is he bought a bike that had be wrecked from them. Thats all im gonna say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Kev and Steve up in NDM for the win here.

Flashtuned and mapped my R1 on the dyno,installed the HM quickshifter,did the suspension setup.
    The bike they gave me back was/is unreal.:D

http://www.ndmoto.com/

Oh oh The twins are fighting again!:pac::pac:

blade1 wrote: »
    Oh oh The twins are fighting again!:pac::pac:

ROFL.:D:D

X-Lite x802r carbon fibre helmet was supposed to arrive today,but DHL are late shipping it,still in their depot in Germany,according to DHL Ireland.

Got the "Black Friday and how busy DHL are " excuse from your woman on the phone.
    Had hoped to have it for Sunday,but looks like I wont get it till Tuesday now.:(

Visors are here and ready to go.:)

DSCN4547_zpswjwfcnms.jpg

Based on the experience there of a mate i wouldnt give ndm a cent.

Same here.

Spent the late afternoon having to strip down the bike just to fit the 5w sidelight bulbs.

Ive taken pics of all 3 bulbs so you can see the difference in the colour and brightness..
    I left the oem bulb in on the right side of the pics to show the difference between oem and aftermarket bulbs.
    Osram Cool Blue Intense seem to match up the best to the H7 Cool Blue Intense.So thats what Im going with.:)

20151204_172924_zpscg54inei.jpg

20151204_171915_zpsq5stb2cj.jpg

20151204_172506_zpsof79fdbh.jpg

Osram LED 5w,much colder white light,didnt suit at all.

20151204_171715_zpsn3vahbra.jpg

Philips White Vision 5w ,closer again,but still didnt suit.

20151204_172216_zps5zlxa7kg.jpg

Osram Cool Blue Intense 5w,these suit the H7 Cool Blue Intense perfectly.:)

20151204_172700_zpsakp1ds3l.jpg

Hope this helps others decide whats best for them.:)

Also just finished installing the loom for the GIpro digital gear indicator.Could have done with having a smaller pair of hands,but got it routed through the frame,eventually.
    Ran it up along the inside of the frame,and then up into the back of the speedo.

I will finish it off tomorrow,as it Friday evening and time for a nice cold beer.:)

DSCN4552_zpsn2rvytu0.jpg

DSCN4549_zpscmg3jsxz.jpg

DSCN4550_zpsqevythoi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,914 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Same here.

There's not a single place in Dublin I haven't heard horror stories about. I trust nobody.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

There's not a single place in Dublin I haven't heard horror stories about. I trust nobody.

True, but the nature of some stories are FAR FAR worse. We aint talking stupid over pricing stuff here or not happy with a part!

Two genuine lads of here alone had extremely serious situations. One case in particular could have been fatal.....THATS THE DIFFERENCE. Even thinking of it now sends a shiver down my spine SERIOUSLY.

TBH its nothing to do with me and I know one or two shops that I would not return to over minor things, but NDM is a different animal due to what I know. Only reason I said anything in first place and I am saying no more on it mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Finally got my saddle recovered. Got a recommendation from Paddy in JP Motorcycles and I'm delighted with the result. Makes a huge difference to the look of the bike (AKA she looks less rough with the new saddle! :D )

370751.jpg

Finally got my saddle recovered. Got a recommendation from Paddy in JP Motorcycles and I'm delighted with the result. Makes a huge difference to the look of the bike (AKA she looks less rough with the new saddle! :D )

370751.jpg

Lovely bikes them, do exactly what they say on the tin. Would love one or even a CB500 for nipping around on.

Looks well m8