Do you find Mrs Brown's Boys funny..yes or no ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    What's the alternative Willy wonka and the wizard of fcukin oz!!!

Only one option....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baFmgjwptic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,226 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Comedy is always going to be divisive. I for one cannot stand Frankie Boyle and yet he has some very stout defenders.
    End of the day, if it makes you laugh, if it isn't to the detriment of another person then where is the harm.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I watched a bit of it and all I saw was paddywhackery on steroids and stage Irish men/women. No wonder the English love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Menas wrote: »
    If only Caroline Ahern would rescue us from this muck and give us 4 episodes of The Royale Family...
    Menas wrote: »
    A dire Royale Famile episode is 100 times better than the best Mrs Brown Boys episode!!

What was the The Royale Family? Did they order burgers in Pulp Fiction?

If you mean The Royle Family, it used to be amazing but when the last few Christmas specials were dreadful and no better than Mrs Brown's Boys.

Last good Royle Family was the "Queen of Sheeba" Christmas special and should have stopped there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

murpho999 wrote: »

If you mean The Royle Family, it used to be amazing but when the last few Christmas specials were dreadful and no better than Mrs Brown's Boys.

Last good Royle Family was the "Queen of Sheeba" Christmas special and should have stopped there.

Now now, spelling mistakes are allowed in here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Amazingfun wrote: »
    My mother and my aunt's reactions to this show is what I love, never seen such fits of laughter in my life, neither one of them can even breathe right when watchin it, they find it so hilarious. It's a mystery to me, but I love how happy it makes them :)

It really does seem to appeal to the "older generation". My MIL absolutely pi$$e$ herself.

Personally I can't watch it. Bring back Morcombe and Wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Awful ****e.

Am I in the minority in thinking this is absolutely awful tv?
    I'd sooner have electrodes attached to my testicle and be flogged with a knotted rope than watch it.
    Can't understand its popularity
    gazzer wrote: »
    Mrs Brown D Movie is on too. Ughhhhhh.

Ye should organise a protest, lads.

You'll have my support. Passive and tacit support, obviously. I won't get 'involved', as such, beyond my usual not really being aware of the show until an 'isn't it awful' thread appears on here, and continuing to not watch it in a live and let live kinda way.

TV's not compulsory. Even if it was, sure there's loads of choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

murpho999 wrote: »

totally agree, the Christmas episodes with Dave's parents, the Egg Cup thing were all a lesson in ending a show when it is still good

Personally I feel starved of good tv shows in the last 10 years. I will still watch reruns of The Thin Blue Line, The Royle Family, Father Ted, BlackAdder, Only Fools & The Vicar of Dibley.....other than that The Inbetweeners and Mrs Browns are the only thing I've gotten a chuckle out of in years

I simply don't find IT Crowd, Black Books, anything with Mitchell & Webb funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭lazza14

As someone over on the film forum said

"I'd rather stick my face in a bowl of acid then subject myself to that shyte"

or similar ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Fair play and well done to Brendan. He's working in a job he loves has employed his whole family and made loads of money. He makes people laugh and be happy. Delighted to see him do so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

What's the alternative Willy wonka and the wizard of fcukin oz!!!

Well yeah, actually those would be better options. They are classics for a reason.

Fair play and well done to Brendan. He's working in a job he loves has employed his whole family and made loads of money. He makes people laugh and be happy. Delighted to see him do so well.

I agree with every word of this.

Mrs. Brown's Boys is still crap though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

totally agree, the Christmas episodes with Dave's parents, the Egg Cup thing were all a lesson in ending a show when it is still good

Personally I feel starved of good tv shows in the last 10 years. I will still watch reruns of The Thin Blue Line, The Royle Family, Father Ted, BlackAdder, Only Fools & The Vicar of Dibley.....other than that The Inbetweeners and Mrs Browns are the only thing I've gotten a chuckle out of in years

I simply don't find IT Crowd, Black Books, anything with Mitchell & Webb funny

Jesus thats bleak. Can brighten it up with always sunny. Some bobs burgers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I never have, and I never will. Plenty of other stuff to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I don't like the humour , But I commend Brendan for donating 2000 Christmas dinners to the homeless here in Ireland. It makes me smile that he makes other's smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    I never have, and I never will. Plenty of other stuff to watch.

How do you know you won't like it?

I don't like the humour , But I commend Brendan for donating 2000 Christmas dinners to the homeless here in Ireland. It makes me smile that he makes other's smile.

He does seem to be a genuinely decent person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Custardpi wrote: »
    Appallingly judgemental nonsense. It's perfectly possible to be intelligent, hardworking etc & also enjoy silly "low-brow" humour. Nothing wrong with switching your brain off for a while to relax. I suppose your entertainment consists mainly of reading Tolstoy & watching obscure arthouse films.
    I've no problem with low brow humour but it can be well executed and engaging at the same time. Mrs B's Bs is neither. Total rubbish, a cringefest.

Really can't understand why they don't have 6 hours of Stewart Lee on Christmas Day instead of Mrs Brown's Boys. He's so meta.

I would watch a Stewart Lee Christmas special in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,873 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Ultimately, Mrs.Browns Boys is lowest common denominator humour, recycled old jokes, see-the-punchline-a-mile-away, and 'wacky' for the sake of it.

But a lot of people like it, a lot of people watch it together, and even though I normally don't watch it or that type of comedy, I'll watch these with my family on Xmas for the fun of the occasion and seeing my parents laugh rather than because I find the show funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd say Brendan is crying profusely into his cornflakes that a few edgy folk on the interweb don't like his show :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'd say Brendan is crying profusely into his cornflakes that a few edgy folk on the interweb don't like his show :)
    If it's edgy not to like his show then hand me a telecaster and a cowboy hat.

I used to think it was shyte. Then I watched a couple of episodes and I was doubled up in fits of laughter, I would definitely watch it if it was on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Never seen it. Remember it being popular on the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

What's the alternative Willy Wonka and the Wizard of Oz...
    That sounds like an epic movie.

Custardpi wrote: »
    Not my cup of tea but nothing wrong with it either. Fair play to BOC for making such a success of it. It's knockabout comedy in the music hall tradition. There's a huge amount of snobbery around the show - people lining up to prove their intellectual superiority by how much they hate it.

I don't think it's about intellectual snobbery. I just don't find it remotely funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I used to think it was shyte. Then I watched a couple of episodes and I was doubled up in fits of laughter, I would definitely watch it if it was on.

Me too. I watch it, cracks me up laughing and puts in me in good humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,704 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Theres another thread about public transport in this country, and in it one poster has been bemoaning the fact that things are as they are because by and large people in this country are basically stupid. Because the average person is uninformed and don't want to be informed, ignorant and happy in their ignorance.

When you see the popularity of shows like this, well, its hard to argue the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

valoren wrote: »
    It's an ode/interpretation of the slapstick double-entendre innuendo tradition of the classic Carry On formula.

If so, it's a terribly pale imitation of it.

There's nowhere near the comedic talent of a Kenneth Williams, Sid James or Hattie Jacques on display anywhere in that show & the production values, direction & scripting fall a long short of what Carry On, Dick Emery or Frankie Howard produced more than 50 years ago.

If anything, the show has more in common with Gervais ѕḣіtсοⅿ parody 'When the Whistle Blows'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

In my opinion, from what I've seen of it, the show is the biggest pile of ****e ever made. But on the flip side BOC seems like the soundest man ever so it balances out.