Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst tipster in the history of the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

2/1 fav beaten 34 lengths today. That horse the other day won. A miracle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Another one today.
    He's just gotten lazy if you ask me.

In fairness, Tom Seagal (Pricewise) tipped Smad Place antepost (14/1 or so) for The Hennessy Gold Cup, although he did tip Saphir Du Rheu (the fav) on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

Best by a mile is Frank on twitter @bettingforum316. I have been with him for 4 months, up over 300 points.

Thats a paid tipping service any old mug can tip a short priced jolly, most of these guys only tip in small fields and give different horses to different subs that way some people are guaranteed to be happy. Criminal to be paying for tips in this day an age with so many very well educated horse brains out there eg. Gary O'Brien, Kevin Blake, Tom Lee giving their opinions for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

STADEdeLUC wrote: »
    Thats a paid tipping service any old mug can tip a short priced jolly, most of these guys only tip in small fields and give different horses to different subs that way some people are guaranteed to be happy. Criminal to be paying for tips in this day an age with so many very well educated horse brains out there eg. Gary O'Brien, Kevin Blake, Tom Lee giving their opinions for nothing

Tom Lee hasnt a clue. He shouldnt be on RTE anyways.

Gary O'Brien is very good, however if you have to resort to listening to these fellas to back a few horses then your in trouble.

Worst of the whole lot is that fool O'Heir from the Mirror. Tips the shortest 2 favs everyday. Joker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

Kauto wrote: »
    Tom Lee hasnt a clue. He shouldnt be on RTE anyways.

Gary O'Brien is very good, however if you have to resort to listening to these fellas to back a few horses then your in trouble.

Worst of the whole lot is that fool O'Heir from the Mirror. Tips the shortest 2 favs everyday. Joker.

Find Tom Lee quite good on C4 and RTE obviously using their knowledge and using your own is the key to finding 1 or 2, it's what makes following racing fun. Not paying some clown £60 p/m to tip favourites I went looking through that particular guys feed and for Sunday alone he tipped No More Heroes, Long Dog and Arctic Fire anyone with the slightest bit of interest in racing could have done that without having to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Best way to judge a tipster is if their prices move when they tip them. They're obviously moving for a reason, and not just because mugs are lumping in. Hugh Taylor and pricewise are great examples in this regard. Excellent long term records. It's harder for Segal as the races he has to tip in are chosen for him. Must be incredibly tough to be told to have a selection for x race in at x time and make a profit. In fairness, we should allow him one losing year out of about 15. Hes incredible. Hugh Taylor's job seems easier, choses his races and can pick on low grade races where the pricing is all over the shop. Although im sure he gets paid less. Hes excellent too. <snip> Gary O'B and Donn being exceptions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

STADEdeLUC wrote: »
    Find Tom Lee quite good on C4 and RTE obviously using their knowledge and using your own is the key to finding 1 or 2, it's what makes following racing fun. Not paying some clown £60 p/m to tip favourites I went looking through that particular guys feed and for Sunday alone he tipped No More Heroes, Long Dog and Arctic Fire anyone with the slightest bit of interest in racing could have done that without having to pay for it.

A 6/1 treble, you're a hard man to please, plenty of shorties get overturned as long as the reasoning is sound and there is perceived value the fact they are favourites is irrelevant*

*I know nothing of said tipster or his record but your example makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

danganabu wrote: »
    A 6/1 treble, you're a hard man to please, plenty of shorties get overturned as long as the reasoning is sound and there is perceived value the fact they are favourites is irrelevant*

*I know nothing of said tipster or his record but your example makes no sense.

So you would be happy to pay for "tips" like that? Could have just read the betting shop racing post and been pointed in the same direction.

Gregk961 wrote: »
    So you would be happy to pay for "tips" like that? Could have just read the betting shop racing post and been pointed in the same direction.

In excess of 700% ROI, ah let me think....yes! That is if I was willing to pay for tips which I don't the very idea of a tipping service goes against everything I practice as a punter and I prefer to do my own research.

I assume then that you can read and are backing 6/1 trebles consistently?? Have you any idea of the amount of favourites that actually win in Irish NH racing?? There were 3 winning favs that day and he tipped the three of them only, there was an odds on shot beaten in the first and he didn't include it, I'm sure the average Racing Post reader would have included it if he was backing all the short priced favs.

If it was as easy as you are suggesting then surely anyone with access to the Racing Post must be making a killing, not to mention crushing the placepot every day.

danganabu wrote: »
    In excess of 700% ROI, ah let me think....yes! That is if I was willing to pay for tips which I don't the very idea of a tipping service goes against everything I practice as a punter and I prefer to do my own research.

I assume then that you can read and are backing 6/1 trebles consistently?? Have you any idea of the amount of favourites that actually win in Irish NH racing?? There were 3 winning favs that day and he tipped the three of them only, there was an odds on shot beaten in the first and he didn't include it, I'm sure the average Racing Post reader would have included it if he was backing all the short priced favs.

If it was as easy as you are suggesting then surely anyone with access to the Racing Post must be making a killing, not to mention crushing the placepot every day.

In fairness I was only going off the other posters word so had a look for myself. From what I can see he tipped up Arctic Fire and long dog and No More Heroes as a max bet(at 5/4 mind you). No 6-1 treble mentioned there? Also tipped up a couple of losing favourites on Saturday and another at 1-2 on Sunday.

You are correct betting on a favourite is not instantly a recipe for losing but betting on them at the wrong price certainly is.

Gregk961 wrote: »
    In fairness I was only going off the other posters word so had a look for myself. From what I can see he tipped up Arctic Fire and long dog and No More Heroes as a max bet(at 5/4 mind you). No 6-1 treble mentioned there? Also tipped up a couple of losing favourites on Saturday and another at 1-2 on Sunday.

You are correct betting on a favourite is not instantly a recipe for losing but betting on them at the wrong price certainly is.

Fair enough, like I said in my initail reply I was only going off the original quote as well and know nothing of the tipster in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 manageit

Pat Keane in The Examiner. Tips the favourite. The Examiner has a tip and next best, like the Mirror, who is going to say, you know what I wont back the first choice I will back the second choice. Rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

manageit wrote: »
    Pat Keane in The Examiner. Tips the favourite. The Examiner has a tip and next best, like the Mirror, who is going to say, you know what I wont back the first choice I will back the second choice. Rubbish.

Thought Pat Keane was retired? Just from memory I thought he was ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭NeverWaining

There are an awful lot of rubbish tipping services. An awful lot. But there are a few who have provided a consistent profit over a long period of time. Yes the best cost money. And yes the best make money.

To make money at anything you have to go against the grain a bit. Provide one hundred people with an absolutely genuine money making opportunity and only a few will prick their ears. All the rest will knock it. Call those knockers sheep or whatever you like. That doesn't go for just betting either. Any opportunity.
    Not everybody invests their cash. Some are happy to save it. Others are happy to piss it up against the wall.

There's a lot of stuff in here that you'll hear in any bookies. I think if everyone providing 'advice' had to list their R.O.I. beside each post (me included) it would make for more interesting reading.
    There are losers everywhere offering advice on how to win.

Punters saying they wouldn't want to invest and make money from a consistently profitable service because they enjoy picking their own nags from the paper on a Saturday. Well that's a bit silly in my opinion. But we're all different.

Birch keeps them coming. One winner since I posted this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Sirtoyou

Lads has anyone been following Richard Birch's banker of the day that's on the RP app. It beggars belief that this fella is being paid for his tips I honestly have seen one winner in all the times I remember to check the results. Have never seen him tip anything bar a fav. People must make a killing laying him but I can't find a track record of the selections anywhere. Always thought he looked like a pure geek

You seem pretty idolized around here for your own tips. I've been around this forum for about a year now and I can't remember a single tip of yours that's won. Maybe I'm wronging you but I don't think so. Some have gone on and won subsequently alright Danz Gift being an example but not when you've tipped them to win. So calling anyone else a poor tipster is poor form imo given your own record. Choo Chooo

Sirtoyou wrote: »
    You seem pretty idolized around here for your own tips. I've been around this forum for about a year now and I can't remember a single tip of yours that's won. Maybe I'm wronging you but I don't think so. Some have gone on and won subsequently alright Danz Gift being an example but not when you've tipped them to win. So calling anyone else a poor tipster is poor form imo given your own record. Choo Chooo

Do I get paid as a tipster and tip short priced favs. No I've never backed a winner in my life. Find a load of bad bets of mine (note I said bad bet and not a loser). I can prob count on one hand how many I haven't beaten sp on in the last year. Not that I need to justify myself to you or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

I really do think you should look deeper into his posts, PC has a very good record on here, has given plenty of winners and all at decent prices as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Given 1pt per selection. he made 35pts on Plate day in Galway alone this year on 2 selections. I doubt he's even had 35 selections this year. And that's forgetting the early flat season stuff (May/June) where he was firing winners all sides. When you tip big prices consistently, you're obviously gonna have far far more losers. He's still well ahead. Maybe you missed the big priced profit makers? Delighted for ya if ya did

I've never backed one of P.C's selections but hes pretty far ahead of probably any regular poster here in my eyes. As he said himself all of them return at a lower SP, im not sure you understand gambling enough to appreciate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

sonnky wrote: »
    I really do think you should look deeper into his posts, PC has a very good record on here, has given plenty of winners and all at decent prices as well.

Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭jkmanc1974

Going back to Richard Birch - he is very shrewd at greyhounds(Wimbledon) but some of the bets that he claims to have had in his column on horse racing are madness! (500 e/w 2/1 chances etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

Aidankkk is a former poster here, still lurks about a bit. He doesn't free tip here anymore, he's gone to a tenner a month on his website www.longshotvalue.com . His stats are incredible. Had So Fine today at 33/1. Incredible stuff.

I've no link to him, except I have a wallet full of cash this evening and not for the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Aidankkk is a former poster here, still lurks about a bit. He doesn't free tip here anymore, he's gone to a tenner a month on his website www.longshotvalue.com . His stats are incredible. Had So Fine today at 33/1. Incredible stuff.

I've no link to him, except I have a wallet full of cash this evening and not for the first time

That link / site shows untrusted on my Firefox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Thanks , running good the last few weeks . Actually had abet on it myself this week ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

abarkie wrote: »
    That link / site shows untrusted on my Firefox?

A false positive - the site is grand on Opera (which is pretty good at false positives itself!)

Birch's tip beaten at 8/13. Who decides to pay someone to tip an 8/13 shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Birch's tip beaten at 8/13. Who decides to pay someone to tip an 8/13 shot

Was that Baywing? Saw him talking that up last week and noticed it was beaten at odds-on yesterday.

No a horse of Venetia's cant think of it's name Aro or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

No a horse of Venetia's cant think of it's name Aro or something

It was Aso - 12.25 Haydock Saturday 19/12