Full At The International Airport

• 01-12-2015 03:56AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

Where the big jet engines roar!

Anyone ever been drunk on a plane? Did they ever stop you getting on? What happens if I get stranded here?

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

how are u at the airport , you only left yesterday?

don't breathe on the security people, hold your breath, and if they ask were you drinkin say ya, yesterday

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

Where the big jet engines roar!

Anyone ever been drunk on a plane? Did they ever stop you getting on? What happens if I get stranded here?

Only way I fly my friend, also,if stranded hope there's a bar open and have money. Push on through. if I pick it up will ye sell us a level load of turf?!? 8'x4` trailer... Come on the fcuk... 😅

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Don't shout that you are carrying a bomb!

Overheal or Madsl will put you up I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Through security and all, but my washbag is in my suitcase in the boot of the plane and the only bloody deoderant they have for sale is Lynx/Axe. Half tempted to buy a bottle of Scotch in Duty Free and cover meself in it. Nice wee black girl working in there, I was telling her all about Donegal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ruu wrote: »
    Don't shout that you are carrying a bomb!

Overheal or Madsl will put you up I'm sure.

Come on over, the homebrew is ready...

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

. Half tempted to buy a bottle of Scotch in Duty Free and cover meself in it. Nice wee black girl working in there, I was telling her all about Donegal :)[/quote]

You sir may have a drinking problem...

Stop telling her about donegal, mention the turf man! Steady supply of Ireland finest peat based fuel, (who doesn't like a man with enough turf to fire a power station?!? I'm shliding of the sthool as I type!!) , ye missed a trick there imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Do the Americans love to queue up at the gate as soon as possible for their allocated seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

Take a line to straighten yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I've been drunk boarding many a plane. As long as you're not stumbling around drunk or being an ass (loud and obnoxious) then you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Nope, but I've been diazepamed up to my eyeballs. Used to be terrified of flying (happily am no longer) and took a load of it before getting a flight from Prague to Dublin. Talked shíte to the poor unfortunate next to me on the plane for most of the flight then got into the seat beside my sister and spend ages trying to hug her with her batting me away. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I've been drunk many a time getting on planes as I fly a lot due to my job.
    It's usually fine, but sometimes it really hits hard.
    A few strong coffees help balance me out.

It's scary sometimes when I fall asleep with all that movement and turbulance, only to be woken up by the guy beside me shouting:

'Wake up captain!!!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Love a drink but never been drunk on a plane and the idea of being so does not appeal to me at all. Being strapped in a chair whilst jarred and wanting to move around seems like an ordeal to me.

Travelled recently in a group with one person who said he drank as he was a nervous flyer, I'm convinced he's just an alcho who uses the flying as an excuse as he didn't stop drinking when he got off the plane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Don't be playing with your self now on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I've never boarded a plane sober,normally fire a few Valium/xanax down the neck too,just for the buzz like, I'm not a nervous flyer but the drink and benzos help with the in-flight boredom.

are they any good at poker out there?

XR3i wrote: »
    are they any good at poker out there?

They used to think they were alright. ;)

ok, so how much did you win? :P

It's not the winning, it's the going home with more than you left with that counts. :p

So, eh, ten or fifteen dollars. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭dresden8

murpho999 wrote: »
    Love a drink but never been drunk on a plane and the idea of being so does not appeal to me at all. Being strapped in a chair whilst jarred and wanting to move around seems like an ordeal to me.

Travelled recently in a group with one person who said he drank as he was a nervous flyer, I'm convinced he's just an alcho who uses the flying as an excuse as he didn't stop drinking when he got off the plane.

Was this a stag weekend?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

You back from Bundoran tbm?

It's not the winning, it's the going home with more than you left with that counts. :p

So, eh, ten or fifteen dollars. :D

not too bad i was expecting you to lose the house

Don't think Phil Ruffin or Steve Wynn would have much interest in my humble abode tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Never been sober. The last few I was sloshed after spending a few hours in the lounge, but was flying business so they didn't question it so long as I wasn't acting the tosser or being loud. Once I got on the plane, it was fun. They asked what I wanted and I said "One of everything on the cocktail menu" ... my wish was their command.

The food was grand :)

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Never been sober. The last few I was sloshed after spending a few hours in the lounge, but was flying business so they didn't question it so long as I wasn't acting the tosser or being loud. Once I got on the plane, it was fun. They asked what I wanted and I said "One of everything on the cocktail menu" ... my wish was their command.

Yeah I was right behind business class, they had foie gras and smoked salmon and I got the choice of something called potato patata (sp?) with or without the sausage. Thank fook I was pished.

On one of my last flights, we were in between a bulkhead, where economy had to pass us. I felt horrible when kids boarded and were like "oh mommy this plane is really cool", only to be shuffled back to cattle class. Poor little buggers were a bit disappointed, I bet.

Thankfully, I asked to move up further to the front and they moved me right away. Dubai - BKK business was quiet so plenty of space... infact only about 8 of us in business so had great craic with the cabin crew. I spilled wine all over the place and the cabin crew apologised to ME about it. Talk about poker face.

JohnCleary wrote: »
    On one of my last flights, we were in between a bulkhead, where economy had to pass us. I felt horrible when kids boarded and were like "oh mommy this plane is really cool", only to be shuffled back to cattle class. Poor little buggers were a bit disappointed, I bet.

Thankfully, I asked to move up further to the front and they moved me right away. Dubai - BKK business was quiet so plenty of space... infact only about 8 of us in business so had great craic with the cabin crew. I spilled wine all over the place and the cabin crew apologised to ME about it. Talk about poker face.

Yeah, but you don't get there any quicker like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Yep, coming back from Germany about 18 yrs ago. Got rid of 7 months of deutsch mark coinage in a 3 hour Jager spree in Frankfurt Airport. Needed it after walking in on a collective male gathering of hand-shandieing in the toilets deep in the depths of the bahnhof station under the airport on the way there.

Apparently I was trying to get Ronan Keatings cousin to sing on board but he wouldn't, so I did instead.

Took them over an hour to wake me in Dublin to disembark. Round of applause from the flight crew and stewardess' and off I went.

Died a death on the late night Nestor bus back to Galway from the Jager plus some girl telling me my antics on the flight which also included shoeing the donkey dance.

Yeah, but you don't get there any quicker like.

I actually wish it got us there slower. I had no desire to get off the plane. Wonderful experience. The only down-side is going back to economy (Flying around Europe the past year it's all been economy seats)