Body Shaming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Deep Six wrote: »
    There's nothing PC about it, people should just mind their own ****ing business.

In the UK it is their business. Massive resources being wasted on the overweight. Since this is publicly financed they have a right to be annoyed. The way they go about it is extreme and I don't condone it but I also believe the responsibility for being overweight is the simple fact that people are eating too much and living sedentary lifestyles. Shame is recognised for many lifestyle choices and people have no issue with it. Why not here? Granted, not personally like this group but nationally.

I say this as someone who used to be a drain on society but changed their ways largely due to shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Why is it always women who are used as the example of the overweight population?

Also, while I fully agree with you that something's got to change, you surely don't agree that this is OK?

No idea, Blame the study s I have seen. Anyone able to find some about men in Ireland I will Quote in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Not a nice thing to do of course.
    Still though, people nowadays are in general in bad shape and need to cop on if they want to live long healthy lives.

Luckily there's a lynch mob who are going to solve a global epidemic one business card at a time.

No idea, Blame the study s I have seen. Anyone able to find some about men in Ireland I will Quote in the future.

Sorry I wasn't really aiming that at you, it was more a general question as its always quoted as women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

As a taxpayer you are paying for it. Not single handedly obviously. That's a silly thing to say.
    So as a taxpayer you have every right to be concerned. Also people making their kids fat is abuse.

There are a lot bigger wastes of tax money to be concerned about (tangible wastes) than what your taxes apportioned to health care are being used for.

In relation to children it is abuse one does not have a problem with it ? Would one sit by and let a couple tattoo their toddler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

It's an absolutely pathetic and cowardly attempt at shaming overweight people - if they genuinely wanted to change eating habits/child nutrition maybe set up some local workshops on healthier eating or some such thing?

Anything other than this horrendous farce.

FWIW, my wife might be considered overweight by some,but if a person ever handed something like this to her, I'd have their spine ripped out and tied around their neck before the police even have a chance to show up.

I bet you wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jaysus. Tubbies can be fierce touchy!

* Runs away >>>>>>>>>

In relation to children it is abuse one does not have a problem with it ? Would one sit by and let a couple tattoo their toddler?

Nonsense argument. If a couple are promoting a vegan diet for their child, are you concerned because humans are natural carnivores and denying meat is tantamount to abuse? There's a hundred ways you could spin you scenario and none of them are you concern unless you are the parent and have a personal issue with it.

Wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

This is the UK where a reported 47 Billion pounds are spent annually on obesity and associated illneses such as type 2 diabetes.
    I would be very concerned that simple lifestyle changes could free that money for more deserving medical care.

I bet you wouldn't.

You don't think I'd inflict serious physical harm on someone who felt so carefree about insulting about my wife?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

So can I. Fat is not a race or a religion. Fat people making fat kids should be abuse. I hardly think people would stand by and allow people to let their small children smoke and drink would they. Children don't get a choice about being fat.
    Did you genuinely not understand what I said or are you just pretending? I said handing out the cards was an objectionable stunt which people can see for what it is (humiliation) even if they also object to the rise in obesity. I never said anything about fat being a race or religion or that it's ok to be complacent about children being overweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Why is it always women who are used as the example of the overweight population?

Also, while I fully agree with you that something's got to change, you surely don't agree that this is OK?

I think a lot of it has to do with the "Healthy At Every Size" bull****, where grossly obese women post pictures of themselves to Tumblr / Twitter to promote body acceptance. I think the main one being Tess Munster..?

Also if I remember there was a few reality TV shows about extremely obese women trying to pretend they were capable of living normal lives, while being hindered by their size. There was a TV show about some really fat woman who thought she was a dancer. I remember a deluge of Reddit posts about her.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Arguing whether we should be concerned about the weight of other people is beside the point in this case. Going up to people, insulting them and then legging it isn't going to help any obesity problem.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

You don't think I'd inflict serious physical harm on someone who felt so insulting about upsetting my wife?

Assault for words classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

You mean like SJW's ? You know who tell everyone else how to think and if one is not on board with the current topic get called Racist or bigot or some other term to shut down debate. :pac::pac::pac:

Oh, for heaven's sake. Even in a thread about complete tossers going around trying to psychologically abuse total strangers, someone manages to work in a complaint about SJWs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭Nollog

That tweet was funny about it being cowardly to hand people cards telling them they are overweight.

When I weighed less than six stone, no one ever handed me a card or told me my weight was unhealthy. I even got compliments on my jutting collarbone.

I wonder why nobody apparently cared about me being seriously underweight. I wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I just can't understand this mentality at all. "It should not be encouraged" - who asked to to encourage anything? Who asked you to intervene in someone's life and criticise their weight or life choices because they don't match your ideals? Who gave you any right to pass judgement on those people?

Because it's unhealthy. Eating like that is unhealthy, like smoking. It should not be encouraged.

You don't think I'd inflict serious physical harm on someone who felt so insulting about upsetting my wife?
    Coupla things:
    1/ That's not what you said,
    2/ Maybe work on your/your wife's skin thickness. I hope you don't take that up the wrong way, wouldn't want you hunting me down and inflicting serious physical harm on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If someone gave me one of those cards, I'd track them down, and give them a piece of my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Also if I remember there was a few reality TV shows about extremely obese women trying to pretend they were capable of living normal lives, while being hindered by their size. There was a TV show about some really fat woman who thought she was a dancer. I remember a deluge of Reddit posts about her.

Here's the TV show: http://www.tlc.com/tv-shows/my-big-fat-fabulous-life/

Candie wrote: »
    When I weighed less than six stone, no one ever handed me a card or told me my weight was unhealthy. I even got compliments on my jutting collarbone.

I wonder why nobody apparently cared about me being seriously underweight. I wonder.

If I had a friend who was dangerously underweight, I would say something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Candie wrote: »

You don't wonder :P it's because underweight with jutting bones is socially acceptable and dare I say it, something that some people think is an acceptable level to strive for.

Nobody gives a Damn about overweight peoples' health. They don't like how overweight people look, that's it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Saipanne wrote: »
    Because it's unhealthy. Eating like that is unhealthy, like smoking. It should not be encouraged.

Would you hand a stranger who was smoking a card which informed them of what a horrible person they are and how much you hate them?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

They're a shower of arseholes and that's about the height of it. Fcuk them.

It's got nothing to do with health. It's everything to do with bullying.

French vegans face trial after death of baby fed only on breast milk

http://gu.com/p/2z4bd