Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Body Shaming

• 30-11-2015 9:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭

http://www.thejournal.ie/overweight-haters-ltd-cards-2-2475425-Nov2015/

So a group in London is handing out these disgusting cards on the tube to people they see as overweight. It's a common trend I've noticed recently, especially where the topic of weight or being over weight is bounced about. It's almost like people are given carte blanche to say whatever they like about people deemed to be beyond what's considered a "normal weight".

What gives these imbeciles any right to treat people like this? What makes them think that just because a person might be overweight, that they have free reign to say whatever they like? FWIW, my wife might be considered overweight by some,but if a person ever handed something like this to her, I'd have their spine ripped out and tied around their neck before the police even have a chance to show up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Some people have too much time on there hands, disgraceful and disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I saw an article about this earlier. Awful! I can't believe there are people out there that would do this. They probably love that Katie Hopkins one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I'm gluttonous, get excited around food, and am grossly overweight but If you doesn't be lovin' me at me fattest you sure as hell don't deserve me at me bestest.

Albert Einstein.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

I just can't understand the mentality of ***** like this. Is your life so perfect that you have nothing else to concern yourself with than the weight or shape of people you don't even know? It's disgusting in every sense of the word and anyone with this mindset fully deserves to have the absolute **** kicked out of them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

That is disgusting. I'd rather be obese than one of the sick disgusting people handing out these cards.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Sounds like those charming people from a particular subreddit which was shut down.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

"we also object that the beautiful pig is used as an insult".

Lol, if you love pigs so much why don't you marry one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Disgusting hateful people hurting others for their own sick pleasure. A swift boot to the bollix needed. Nothing else connects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Ireland female average size is 16. That's not a healthy size that's obese. Ireland is set to be the USA of Europe in a few short years. Type 2 diabetes will cripple the health service and other fat related illness. At least smokers and drinkers die pretty fast. Normalising fat is effecting children perception of what is a normal size. People are not wanting everyone to turn into gym bunnies.

The Western world seems to be becoming more polarised with far more people likely to be either severely overweight or frequent gym goers.

Ireland female average size is 16. That's not a healthy size that's obese. Ireland is set to be the USA of Europe in a few short years. Type 2 diabetes will cripple the health service and other fat related illness. At least smokers and drinkers die pretty fast. Normalising fat is effecting children perception of what is a normal size. People are not wanting everyone to turn into gym bunnies.

Unless you are paying for the health service single handedly, why should it even concern you what weight other people are or are not? Why should they care what you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

heard about this tonight. i can say these vermin don't care about those starving in the world or the costs to the nhs of anything. its simply that fat people exist full stop. if it wasn't fat people it would be something else.
    i think we all know and agree that being over or under weight is an issue. however little vermin pretending to care when they don't, handing out cards, expressing fo outrage and bullying people isn't the way to deal with it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I heard that there has been a concerted effort to actively shun this group prompting another group to be formed and come to their aid as part of an anti-shame-shaming campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

It makes me very, very sad that somebody would do this to another human being. Okay it's hardly murder, but it's truly abhorrent and anybody here who condones it needs a good, long look in the mirror - far more so than the people who they target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

We need to get the PC Brigade.

Body Shaming is wrong.

Deep Six wrote: »
    Unless you are paying for the health service single handedly, why should it even concern you what weight other people are or are not? Why should they care what you think?

I have looked into Fast food joints during the day, Watching extremely obese people feeding extremely obese children and toddlers. You have no Issue with that ?

mikeym wrote: »

Body Shaming is wrong.

There's nothing PC about it, people should just mind their own ****ing business.

I have looked into Fast food joints during the day, Watching extremely obese people feeding extremely obese children and toddlers. You have no Issue with that ?

No I don't because I don't know them and I have no interest in interfering in their lives. That filter seems to be missing from some people who consider themselves to be self appointed moral guardians.

There's nothing PC about it, people should just mind their own ****ing business.

Ha, I bet if it was a crowd handing out hurtful comments to a Racist party meeting we would not have a problem. :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Not a nice thing to do of course.
    Still though, people nowadays are in general in bad shape and need to cop on if they want to live long healthy lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Big is beautiful people.

No I don't because I don't know them and I have no interest in interfering in their lives. That filter seems to be missing from some people who consider themselves to be self appointed moral guardians.

You mean like SJW's ? You know who tell everyone else how to think and if one is not on board with the current topic get called Racist or bigot or some other term to shut down debate. :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

As a taxpayer you are paying for it. Not single handedly obviously. That's a silly thing to say.
    So as a taxpayer you have every right to be concerned. Also people making their kids fat is abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

mikeym wrote: »
    What does that even mean? :confused:
    Ha, I bet if it was a crowd handing out hurtful comments to a Racist party meeting we would not have a problem. :pac::pac:
    Hardly comparing like with like.

I would prefer if people were healthier (and happier) too, but can still see this stunt for what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

To be fat, is to be unhealthy. It should not be encouraged.

Why is it always women who are used as the example of the overweight population?

Also, while I fully agree with you that something's got to change, you surely don't agree that this is OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

What type of prick do you have to be to hand someone a card that says your fat and then run away?

Think I answered my own question but I will add a complete an utter bollocks who wishes to get off at running other people down.

Live and let live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Strange that. Laws for not smoking in cars with kids, no hitting kids and so on. But it seems no one wants to touch the obesity epidemic in kids with a barge pole, well except to get Jamie Oliver into schools....

Azalea wrote: »
    What does that even mean? :confused:

Hardly comparing like with like.

I would prefer if people were healthier (and happier) too, but can still see this stunt for what it is.

So can I. Fat is not a race or a religion. Fat people making fat kids should be abuse. I hardly think people would stand by and allow people to let their small children smoke and drink would they. Children don't get a choice about being fat.

Saipanne wrote: »
    To be fat, is to be unhealthy. It should not be encouraged.
    I just can't understand this mentality at all. "It should not be encouraged" - who asked to to encourage anything? Who asked you to intervene in someone's life and criticise their weight or life choices because they don't match your ideals? Who gave you any right to pass judgement on those people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

In the UK it is their business. Massive resources being wasted on the overweight. Since this is publicly financed they have a right to be annoyed. The way they go about it is extreme and I don't condone it but I also believe the responsibility for being overweight is the simple fact that people are eating too much and living sedentary lifestyles. Shame is recognised for many lifestyle choices and people have no issue with it. Why not here? Granted, not personally like this group but nationally.

I say this as someone who used to be a drain on society but changed their ways largely due to shame.

Why is it always women who are used as the example of the overweight population?

Also, while I fully agree with you that something's got to change, you surely don't agree that this is OK?

No idea, Blame the study s I have seen. Anyone able to find some about men in Ireland I will Quote in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Not a nice thing to do of course.
    Still though, people nowadays are in general in bad shape and need to cop on if they want to live long healthy lives.

Luckily there's a lynch mob who are going to solve a global epidemic one business card at a time.

No idea, Blame the study s I have seen. Anyone able to find some about men in Ireland I will Quote in the future.

Sorry I wasn't really aiming that at you, it was more a general question as its always quoted as women.

As a taxpayer you are paying for it. Not single handedly obviously. That's a silly thing to say.
    So as a taxpayer you have every right to be concerned. Also people making their kids fat is abuse.

There are a lot bigger wastes of tax money to be concerned about (tangible wastes) than what your taxes apportioned to health care are being used for.

In relation to children it is abuse one does not have a problem with it ? Would one sit by and let a couple tattoo their toddler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

It's an absolutely pathetic and cowardly attempt at shaming overweight people - if they genuinely wanted to change eating habits/child nutrition maybe set up some local workshops on healthier eating or some such thing?

Anything other than this horrendous farce.

FWIW, my wife might be considered overweight by some,but if a person ever handed something like this to her, I'd have their spine ripped out and tied around their neck before the police even have a chance to show up.

I bet you wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jaysus. Tubbies can be fierce touchy!

* Runs away >>>>>>>>>

In relation to children it is abuse one does not have a problem with it ? Would one sit by and let a couple tattoo their toddler?

Nonsense argument. If a couple are promoting a vegan diet for their child, are you concerned because humans are natural carnivores and denying meat is tantamount to abuse? There's a hundred ways you could spin you scenario and none of them are you concern unless you are the parent and have a personal issue with it.

Wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

This is the UK where a reported 47 Billion pounds are spent annually on obesity and associated illneses such as type 2 diabetes.
    I would be very concerned that simple lifestyle changes could free that money for more deserving medical care.

I bet you wouldn't.

You don't think I'd inflict serious physical harm on someone who felt so carefree about insulting about my wife?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

So can I. Fat is not a race or a religion. Fat people making fat kids should be abuse. I hardly think people would stand by and allow people to let their small children smoke and drink would they. Children don't get a choice about being fat.
    Did you genuinely not understand what I said or are you just pretending? I said handing out the cards was an objectionable stunt which people can see for what it is (humiliation) even if they also object to the rise in obesity. I never said anything about fat being a race or religion or that it's ok to be complacent about children being overweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I think a lot of it has to do with the "Healthy At Every Size" bull****, where grossly obese women post pictures of themselves to Tumblr / Twitter to promote body acceptance. I think the main one being Tess Munster..?

Also if I remember there was a few reality TV shows about extremely obese women trying to pretend they were capable of living normal lives, while being hindered by their size. There was a TV show about some really fat woman who thought she was a dancer. I remember a deluge of Reddit posts about her.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Arguing whether we should be concerned about the weight of other people is beside the point in this case. Going up to people, insulting them and then legging it isn't going to help any obesity problem.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

You don't think I'd inflict serious physical harm on someone who felt so insulting about upsetting my wife?

Assault for words classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

You mean like SJW's ? You know who tell everyone else how to think and if one is not on board with the current topic get called Racist or bigot or some other term to shut down debate. :pac::pac::pac:

Oh, for heaven's sake. Even in a thread about complete tossers going around trying to psychologically abuse total strangers, someone manages to work in a complaint about SJWs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Nollog

That tweet was funny about it being cowardly to hand people cards telling them they are overweight.

When I weighed less than six stone, no one ever handed me a card or told me my weight was unhealthy. I even got compliments on my jutting collarbone.

I wonder why nobody apparently cared about me being seriously underweight. I wonder.