Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Nah you're dreamin'!! Sharp is the only calculator :D

Texas Instruments FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

oBI4q4I.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Texas Instruments FTW.

Hewlett-Packard 29C RPN. Accept no substitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Nah you're dreamin'!! Sharp is the only calculator :D

Engineers United here :pac:

Dartz wrote: »
    It really is sad when the mind starts to go.

It wasn't too long ago that he was borrowing my car and promising himself a porsche.

But who the **** wants an automatic Kadjar?

Money burning a hole in the pocket. He actually managed to start a trend. 14 houses on the road and the majority of them had a Focus in the drive by the end of 00 (I'm sure Fords advertising had a small part to play but we were the first! :pac:).

He always wanted an S Class but was happy with his Liana. What he actually wanted was one of his two sons to have an S Class or something similar so he could claim it which he would have been more than entitled. My brother bought an XJ6 via bangernomics and me an S60 via bangernomics. Thats the best we could do for him in terms of big, comfy and reasonably powerful cars. He appreciated the use of an aul banger of a van myself and the brother went halves on for two years more so than the fast cars that we brought home. We lost him last year to cancer. I'd like to see myself with his attitude topped off with a few petrol head sons in the future.

"I want you to buy this car/van/digger/fire engine so I can use it". :pac:
    GvidoR wrote: »
    MK1 Focus is a nice car. Not a fan of the interior though.

Nobody will ever understand my hatred towards that particular Focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

CIP4 wrote: »
    Engineers United here :pac:

"Mr. Simpson, Gary spilled his ear-medicine!!" :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    Hewlett-Packard 29C RPN. Accept no substitutes.

Or "The American Casio" as they're known in the trade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

Texas Instruments TI-84 lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Are you seriously talking about calculators here? :pac:

Let me change it up a bit.

12274702_912425918838465_6944840066207755694_n.jpg?oh=f6e91b111065dc3ca962e4102241ed40&oe=56EA3F0E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

polan wrote: »
    Texas Instruments TI-84 lads...
    Texts Instruments are ftw

12274702_912425918838465_6944840066207755694_n.jpg?oh=f6e91b111065dc3ca962e4102241ed40&oe=56EA3F0E

Wtf rear lights are on that Audi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Wtf rear lights are on that Audi?

Photos hop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

I'm afraid it doesn't work with modern emission legislations and ****.

Just flicking through donedeal to see this sentence in an ad "had full service history up until I bought it and since then I have done all the work myself so you will have to take my work for it" :pac:

No such thing as receipts for the parts. I wouldn't have an issue with doing the work yourself I have never brought anything to the garage for a service always done it myself but always kept parts receipts with mileage and dates on them it's a fairly straight forward thing to do. Heck you could throw together a basic excel spreadsheet if you really wanted to go mad. I find them useful more for my own reference for when you think what mileage did I put them tyres on at or whatever or how much did I spend on parts in the last year etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

colm_mcm wrote:
    No climate control either

Oh ya, very few that I've come across with that in it.
    CIP4 wrote:
    Are you going changing the focus ? If you could get an early titanium mk3 it would be some car although that was is very nice I've never seen a mk2.5 with a full trip like that.

Ya, next summer probably though. I'd love a mk3 titanium, but to get one that I'd be happy with, It'd cost a lot more then a mk2.5. I'm still open to other makes yet though.

Friend was in Al Hayes' in Portumna today buying a car. Took them 20 minutes to move other cars to get the car out! The son reckons they have near 2k cars altogether. They're biggest problem according to them is all the trade ins piling up. If they aren't advertised, they won't sell. Believe it or not, they had 2 2003 passats down the back, which were taken in as trade in's in 2006 that they never sold. Just been sitting up this past 10 years! What a loss they would have made on the likes of them! Be great to get your hands on one of them , despite belts being perished, seizing issues etc. He wanted 3.5k for them.

Ya, next summer probably though. I'd love a mk3 titanium, but to get one that I'd be happy with, It'd cost a lot more then a mk2.5. I'm still open to other makes yet though.

I suppose the thing is the focus in that spec probably represents the best value for money in the segment especially when bought in the uk where titanium and 2.0tdci is more readily available. A 140 Highline golf mk6 would be a lot more expensive and not necessarily that better speced. Same with an Audi A3, i30/ Ceed are very meh to me. Not really sure what else there is. Well a 2.0cdti Sri Astra would be nice also.

Friend was in Al Hayes' in Portumna today buying a car. Took them 20 minutes to move other cars to get the car out! The son reckons they have near 2k cars altogether. They're biggest problem according to them is all the trade ins piling up. If they aren't advertised, they won't sell. Believe it or not, they had 2 2003 passats down the back, which were taken in as trade in's in 2006 that they never sold. Just been sitting up this past 10 years! What a loss they would have made on the likes of them! Be great to get your hands on one of them , despite belts being perished, seizing issues etc. He wanted 3.5k for them.

Ye it's a rediculous business model have an auction and clear 3/4 of the cars. So much of what he has are insane high mileage trade in that are rough which he is looking for top dollar for. They would rather see the likes of them passage sit there though then have sold them of at a competitive price in 2006 it's unreal.

Ya I was looking at the astra, but they were never a car that I really paid much notice too. Even when specced up in elite or sri, they don't really show much difference.

I like the mk6 golf, but the pricing is off the wall for what they are.

Ya I was looking at the astra, but they were never a car that I really paid much notice too. Even when specced up in elite or sri, they don't really show much difference.

I like the mk6 golf, but the pricing is off the wall for what they are.

Even decent mk5 golfs are still making strong money plenty of 08 making 8-9k and they are not Highline 140bhp models either. I think they are a serious car particularly the mk5 they are very well put together and there is just something about them you don't get in other cars in the segment and I could never put my finger on it. At the same time the more I think about it the harder put I'd be to go back to them. I don't really have any interest in spending money on cars lately for the first time ever. I'm sure it will pass though :)

The Journal.ie had this video up this morning of a motorist who had a near miss. Other car didn't stop at the junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

He must be the most overpriced dealer out there. Loughrea is full of his stock at this point.

bear1 wrote:
    He must be the most overpriced dealer out there. Loughrea is full of his stock at this point.

Oh ya, I know. 8.7k for a 2008 passat highline with 150kmiles (1.9). Madness if you ask me!

Is that what your friend bought? Have to hand it to al though, he still manages to sell them even at those mad prices.

bear1 wrote:
    Is that what your friend bought? Have to hand it to al though, he still manages to sell them even at those mad prices.

Yar, well a friend of a friend bought it. My friend went with him as he knows a fair bit about cars. He wanted 9,000 for it and the lad buying it is a yes man and crap at haggling so would have happily have paid that. My friend managed to bring him down to 8,700 with a fresh timing belt.

Even if it was spotless and highline spec that is still strong money considering the mileage. I mean it can't even be that nice of an experience to buy a car there, the place just full to the brim with cars and salesmen trying to sell as many as they can I've never been there but can't see you getting much one to one time with a salesman maybe I'm wrong though.

It baffles me how they are still in business. If they are buying the new cars from VW at the same prices as other dealers (had heard some unconfirmed stories years ago ref the relationship with VW Ireland and rebates), and are a legitimate business and are tax compliant etc, how can they afford to stockpile cars and auction them off much later, while at the same time beating trade in prices nationwide

Ive heard they are owned and run by nama now and al hayes is really only fronting it. But that could be completely wrong and tbh if nama had it they would of auctioned of 90% of the cars at this stage there is no way they would leave it run like this so it mustn't be true. There is no logical reason for keeping that much stock when you cant keep turning it over.

They've been stockpiling cars for as long back as I remember. It's not a new thing.

They appear to be opening a new garage in Ennis selling Skoda, where Bill Cullen had Renault.

I've heard nothing but bad stories about them.
    Years ago one lad went in there to look at a bora I believe. He was stood there waiting for a worker to come and engage him about the potential sale.
    He was fobbed off everytime he would go to ask if any had time.
    Ended up walking out of the place and never went back.