Austrian ISIS 'poster girl' reportedly beaten to death after trying to escape Syria

• 25-11-2015 04:38PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

JT26 wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/teenage-austrian-poster-girl-for-the-islamic-state-killed-by-group-for-trying-to-escape-34232636.html

What a sad,horrifying story.another young life wasted due to extremist religious indoctrination.
    Sad part is more disaffected youth will probably continue to follow her example and go there

Seen that this morning and the girl that went with her was killed fighting in syria apparently both may have been pregnant .

Such a waste

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Join extremists, kill for them, decide it's not for you, they kill you... Given their track record I'd say she knew the risks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

This will please plenty of posters here. Loads of people were gleeful at the prospect of yer wan being unable to successfully defect from IS without being killed. Some weird "enemy of my enemy"type thinking involved when both the enemy and friend is IS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

From the article:

"They were also shown wearing full Islamic veils and pointing towards heaven."

So, pointing at the sky or...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

Probably already got her 72 virgins when Daesh first got a hold of her.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Two Isis fighters killed as far as I'm concerned, don't care where they came from or who they are. At the end of the day, they decided to go fight for a group who are barbaric by nature. No ****s given today.

Teenagers generally aren't renowned for their critical thinking ability or their comprehension of the consequences of their actions, and this is what recruiters for the likes of Daesh and other cults rely on - blinkered idealism.

She paid the highest price for her actions, and I'm sure there are plenty here who'll be delighted about that, but when I hear of people being beaten to death the only thing I feel is sickened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

kettlehead wrote: »
    Probably already got her 72 virgins when Daesh first got a hold of her.
    ****ing hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Live by the sword...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

It was over for them as soon as they got there.

The real tragedy is how that ended up happening in the first place, wtf were they thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

anyone who would justify or condone the beating to death of a woman, specially someone who may be pregnant is as far as i'm concerned, one of the dregs of society

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Well what a shock.....

Candie wrote: »
    Teenagers generally aren't renowned for their critical thinking ability or their comprehension of the consequences of their actions, and this is what recruiters for the likes of Daesh and other cults rely on - blinkered idealism.

She paid the highest price for her actions, and I'm sure there are plenty here who'll be delighted about that, but when I hear of people being beaten to death the only thing I feel is sickened.

There's a difference between a teenage idiot and someone who joins an organisation with the intent to kill billions of people. She knew full well what Isis' goals are and she agreed with them. She deserves no sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭opiniated

smash wrote: »
    Join extremists, kill for them, decide it's not for you, they kill you... Given their track record I'd say she knew the risks.

Ah, c'mon. They were 16 and 17 year old kids.
    The jerk who recruited them probably made all sorts of promises. It's sad that they believed him/her, and when they discovered the truth, they couldn't get out.

Do you not have even a tiny bit of sympathy for their families?
    It was over for them as soon as they got there.

The real tragedy is how that ended up happening in the first place, wtf were they thinking.

That's just it. They weren't thinking, they were being fed a load of lies, and they fell for them.

Do you honestly think that any girl reared in the West would willingly switch to a society where the freedom they are accustomed to is so severely curtailed, if they had actually stopped to think about it?

opiniated wrote: »
    Ah, c'mon. They were 16 and 17 year old kids.
    The jerk who recruited them probably made all sorts of promises. It's sad that they believed him/her, and when they discovered the truth, they couldn't get out.

Do you not have even a tiny bit of sympathy for their families?

That's just it. They weren't thinking, they were being fed a load of lies, and they fell for them.

Do you honestly think that any girl reared in the West would willingly switch to a society where the freedom they are accustomed to is so severely curtailed, if they had actually stopped to think about it?

Yes and they did did they not.... Just like them white women in the UK wearing the ninja costumes supporting this group... New converts and alike are very eager to please to show how down with the religion and all that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

She joined 2 years ago, probably not knowing what they were going to get up to. Most people in the west seem to only have heard of then recently, going by news articles and internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

JT26 wrote: »
    What a sad,horrifying story.another young life wasted due to extremist religious indoctrination.

Valuable life lesson. Don't join terrorist groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Amazing what brainwashing can do to those women who willfully join and reduce themselves to little better than livestock.

I think it's very hard to understand the effects of brainwashing, unless you've been brainwashed and then got out, as this kid tried to before she was beaten to death along with her unborn child.

Unless you believe that hundreds of thousands of young men joined ISIS because they just want to have a go of a bit of beheading, rape, torture, immolation and dismemberment because that's just how they are inherently. Which I don't. I believe that these groups act as cults and that the people who get sucked in have been exposed to usually prolonged pitching and propaganda and come to believe that the idealised ends will justify the means.

People are entitled to be happy about a pregnant 17 year old being beaten to death if they want, but I think you're taking a very simplistic view if you think she thought this could ever happen to her.

I'm sure if most of the young men involved managed to get some distance and were taken out of the circle of propaganda and indoctrination, they would rethink the value of burning people alive too.

Candie wrote: »
    I think it's very hard to understand the effects of brainwashing, unless you've been brainwashed and then got out, as this kid tried to before she was beaten to death along with her unborn child.

Unless you believe that hundreds of thousands of young men joined ISIS because they just want to have a go of a bit of beheading, rape, torture, immolation and dismemberment because that's just how they are inherently. Which I don't. I believe that these groups act as cults and that the people who get sucked in have been exposed to usually prolonged pitching and propaganda and come to believe that the idealised ends will justify the means.

People are entitled to be happy about a pregnant 17 year old being beaten to death if they want, but I think you're taking a very simplistic view if you think she thought this could ever happen to her.

I'm sure if most of the young men involved managed to get some distance and were taken out of the circle of propaganda and indoctrination, they would rethink the value of burning people alive too.

No one is happy, We are just not surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Yeah. Man, if I were 15 and some hot guy told me I'd be treated like a queen and have adventures in the desert, I'd probably be outta here like a hot snot. I'm a bit thick like that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

psinno wrote: »
    Valuable life lesson. Don't join terrorist groups.

Its not even just don't join terrorist groups, I get the idea of an angry indoctrinated young person joining say Hezbollah, Hamas, the Muslim Brotherhood, hell even Al Quida, but the idea of joining a group that revels in butchering your co-religionists is different as they don't even excuse their actions as being for the "greater good" or a "necessary evil".
    Still sad though particularly as she was trying to leave, I guess we're conditioned to care more about women (and to be controversial if your strongly pro-choice being pregnant shouldn't make a. difference to how you view a victim)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭opiniated

Yes and they did did they not.... Just like them white women in the UK wearing the ninja costumes supporting this group... New converts and alike are very eager to please to show how down with the religion and all that they are.

I have no idea what these girls were told to persuade them to join Daesh.

I'm pretty sure they weren't told that they would become second class citizens, have their husbands chosen for them, be obliged to murder innocent people, and get beaten to death if they changed their minds.

On the other hand, mature "western" women, who could reasonably be expected to think critically before they act, have no such excuse.
    I can't for the life of me imagine why they would even consider joining Daesh, or any of its affiliates.

opiniated wrote: »
    I have no idea what these girls were told to persuade them to join Daesh.

I'm pretty sure they weren't told that they would become second class citizens, have their husbands chosen for them, be obliged to murder innocent people, and get beaten to death if they changed their minds.

On the other hand, mature "western" women, who could reasonably be expected to think critically before they act, have no such excuse.
    I can't for the life of me imagine why they would even consider joining Daesh, or any of its affiliates.

Me neither, There is plenty of information out there to get a handle on how they will be treated on a religious end of things. Depending on how Religious obviously no idea why a Free western woman would want to become a 2nd class person in a best case scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

20 years ago before the internet there might have been a case for saying they did not know what they were getting into but now with so much information available and every teenager owning a laptop it just doesn't add up that they had no idea what ISIS was about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

There's a lot of defending the girls age here. While I accept that she was brainwashed young, 17yr olds can join the US marines and people aren't up in arms over that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Zero empathy for the two of them I'm afraid or for anyone male or female joining ISIS.

15/16 year olds are bordering on adulthood and far from being naïve children, they had a fair idea of what they were getting into.

I expect a similar fate for the 3 girls who left the UK. Anyone who rejects western civilisation to live in medieval squalor can't be the full shilling.

What ISIS Really Wants
    The Islamic State is no mere collection of psychopaths. It is a religious group with carefully considered beliefs, among them that it is a key agent of the coming apocalypse. Here’s what that means for its strategy—and for how to stop it.

Www theatlantic com/magazine/archive/2015/03/what-isis-really-wants/384980/

It is easy for us to label ISIS as a cult as we do not understand the rationale behind their actions. But they are not a cult. Far from it. The link above is worth reading if you can get it working.

As for feeling sorry for this girl due to her age, she was with Daesh for quite some time. What do you think she was up to throughout that time? There are pictures of her having plenty of craic with the Ak. She wasn't over there making daisy chains and baking the lads cookies whilst they popped out for a spot of pillaging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

When i clicked into the article I expected to see a second/third generation girl of ME/Persian/Pakistani descent. Was very surprised to see a European girl with a surname of Kesinovic.
    Now it might seem strange to some but I've a certain understanding (not condoning) why the Germans rowed in behind the Nazi. There they were at their lowest ebb, beaten and humiliated and then this guy came onto the scene and said and I'm paraphrasing 'Hey you guys are better than this, your the freakin' master race, you're superior. Follow me and we can be master racey and stay in our home country'.
    What I have no understanding is why a young fairly well to do girl would leave home to a strange foreign land where her gender would consign her to second class citizenship her whole life. The indiginity of having to cover up outside and live in squalor away from European decadence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

smash wrote: »
    There's a lot of defending the girls age here. While I accept that she was brainwashed young, 17yr olds can join the US marines and people aren't up in arms over that.

You don't see many US Marine recruitment films showing them having to scrape a toddler's guts off a pavement either, in fairness.