Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you call this? Regional wordings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Tis a four prong pike down my neck of the woods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Can't believe only 13% of people call it a pike, I'm never called it anything else in my life but a pike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

It's a pitch fork and always was.

Are you from America ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

It's what you do with it that counts:

"He thinks if he could have another chance
    To teach him how to build a load of hay—’

I know, that’s Silas’ one accomplishment.
    He bundles every forkful in its place,
    And tags and numbers it for future reference,
    So he can find and easily dislodge it
    In the unloading. Silas does that well.
    He takes it out in bunches like big birds’ nests.
    You never see him standing on the hay
    He’s trying to lift, straining to lift himself.’

‘He thinks if he could teach him that, he’d be
    Some good perhaps to someone in the world."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Can't believe only 13% of people call it a pike, I'm never called it anything else in my life but a pike!

Probably goes back to 1798.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Carrigogunnell

Fork here in Limerick and use a 2 prong fork to pike hay so I'm told as I'm only a young fella that hardship was before my day. Wat where the 3 other votes for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

We'll give Patrick Kavanagh the last say;

I have lived in important places, times
    When great events were decided, who owned
    That half a rood of rock, a no-man's land
    Surrounded by our pitchfork-armed claims.
    I heard the Duffys shouting "Damn your soul!"
    And old McCabe stripped to the waist, seen
    Step the plot defying blue cast-steel -
    "Here is the march along these iron stones."
    That was the year of the Munich bother. Which
    Was more important? I inclined
    To lose my faith in Ballyrush and Gortin
    Till Homer's ghost came whispering to my mind.
    He said: I made the Iliad from such
    A local row. Gods make their own importance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Carrigogunnell

Couldn't have said it better myself ðŸ˜

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

You giving us our sermon early this morning patsy? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Call it what you want I call it hardship. The old man still loves a three prong fork and wheelbarrow. Everywhere is accessible by a tractor but I think it makes him feel busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,709 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

so do ye say spronging in the silage or forking in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

whelan2 wrote: »

Piking in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭tanko

Graping in.

Pegging in :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

It's a Sprong
    With two spikes it's a fork/pitch fork

To call it anything else is plain wrong.

Ye think fork, graipe or pike is right,
    I tell you all those names are sh*te,
    The real name is sprong,
    Anything else is wrong,
    And if you don't like it I challenge you to fight.

(Well worn from a right handed me) Pitchfork..............Graipe!

NjmYTkVl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Fork!
    You don't call the fork you eat dinner with a grape, so why call the fork a sprong/grape/pike.

A pike is a long spear of a yoke that was used back in 1916.
    A grape is a fruit
    Don't know what the lad was thinking when he came up with the bloody them sprong for a fork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Sprong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭White Clover

Fork!
    You don't call the fork you eat dinner with a grape, so why call the fork a sprong/grape/pike.

A pike is a long spear of a yoke that was used back in 1916.
    A grape is a fruit
    Don't know what the lad was thinking when he came up with the bloody them sprong for a fork

I'd say they had modernised the weaponry a bit by 1916 GG!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭zetecescort

you pike stuff with a pike just like you hurl with a hurley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

It's a Sprong
    With two spikes it's a fork/pitch fork

To call it anything else is plain wrong.

finally a man speaking sense!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

You fork in silage with a sprong
    And you pike hay with a pitch fork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭monkeynuz

That is a long handled muck fork, two prongs is a pitch fork.

I prefer short handled muck forks for most things though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fanmanad

2 prongs is a pitch fork and 4 prongs is a grape in donegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

What do I call this - I call it a complete travesty!

It's a pike... All the rest Of ye are wrong! ;)

I suspect the voting was rigged by certain members of the newly formed Real IFA who are pushing their own 'grape' agenda...

:):):)

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

grape is leading fork by a dirty nose

sprong makin' a push for second place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Panch18 wrote: »
    You fork in silage with a sprong
    And you pike hay with a pitch fork

Wrong again you fork hay or pitch bales with a two prong fork

You fork or Sprong silage with a Sprong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

3 tines 4 inches apart - Hay fork.

Tines rounder and narrower than a manure fork.. this was the pitch fork used as a weapon as it penetrated skin as easily as hay.

Manure fork heavier with tines 3 inches apart, usually 4 sometimes more. Tines heavier and rigid to penetrate manure pack and lever it up.

Fodder fork 4 tines 4 inches apart and tines twice as long as the manure fork.

Bundle fork is two pronged hay fork with 60 inch handle for pitching bundles. This is because two tines release the bundle easier to pitch it up to the wagon.

Four tines five inches apart with the outside tines flared out is a clover fork for lifting clover from the windrow.

A true silage fork had 10 or more tines close together and a D handle

* I'm indebted to gene lodgson for clarifying these important distinctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,656 ✭✭✭✭Base price

What do ye call this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Beet fork,