Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why should a man offer a seat to a woman on train/bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

La Fenetre wrote: »
    Apparently its only ok to offer someone a seat now, after you've confirmed their personal health.

Sorry, who said this? Do you just invent **** for the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Apparently if a man does though, he sexist and patronising. To tell you the truth I only hold open doors for other men now, and I'd only offer my seat to another man, because I can't be bothered listing to the femininazi crap from certain people when anyone dares to do any random act of kindness for stranger, who just happens to be female.

That made me laugh. You poor, abused crayture.

I don't know if this thread restores or destroys my faith in humanity. I'm all conflicted. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Candie wrote: »
    I don't know if this thread restores or destroys my faith in humanity. I'm all conflicted. :(

Oh Candie, if I offer you a seat on my lap, does that destroy or restore your faith in humanity? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,461 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Naos wrote: »
    Poster stated that women are better communicators than men (one part of their statement) and you said you cannot believe that attitude exists. The only reason I can imagine you state you cannot believe that attitude exists is because you disagree with it.

Yes but then you moved the goalposts.

The post I replied to said
    Sure there are exceptions, but in general I think you'll find that women are "in general" better communicators better teachers and more tolerant of kids than men.
    whereas YOU said
    So are you saying that men and women, in general, communicate their feelings equally?
    2 completely different statements. As I said read the posts again and more carefully.
    If you actually believe that it's "no wonder" "fathers get such a bad deal in this country", then surely you must already be aware that attitudes like that "still exist"?

Fair point. I will rephrase then that I despair that attitudes like this still exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Apparently if a man does though, he sexist and patronising. To tell you the truth I only hold open doors for other men now, and I'd only offer my seat to another man, because I can't be bothered listing to the femininazi crap from certain people when anyone dares to do any random act of kindness for stranger, who just happens to be female.

OK, are you not worried that men will find your act of holding the door open or offering a seat patronising as well. Like some men could think you're implying they are weaker than you and you're muscle-shaming them (or whatever the current buzzword is). To be honest you'd be better off just ignoring everyone just in case you pick the wrong person who interprets the offer the wrong way.

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Oh Candie, if I offer you a seat on my lap, does that destroy or restore your faith in humanity? :D

Faith restored! I don't take up much room either! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

bee06 wrote: »
    OK, are you not worried that men will find your act of holding the door open or offering a seat patronising as well. Like some men could think you're implying they are weaker than you and you're muscle-shaming them (or whatever the current buzzword is). To be honest you'd be better off just ignoring everyone just in case you pick the wrong person who interprets the offer the wrong way.

I don't like letting heavy doors swing back on anyone's face as I pass through them. Funny, I've never had any negative reaction from a man ever, so that's what I go by.

Candie wrote: »
    Faith restored! I don't take up much room either! :)

Would that be sitting your Candie ass down??*

*Dwayne The Rock Johnson**

**sorry couldn't resist

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Would that be sitting your Candie ass down??*

*Dwayne The Rock Johnson**

**sorry couldn't resist

I had to look that up!
    Every day is a schoolday here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

It's nice to be nice and all that.....but I have to say it does annoy me when I hold the door open for someone and they don't thank me.

Was in the bank the other day (the one that has those stupid double doors that only open one at a time after the first door closes and the button is pressed) and held it open as 3 older men walked in to the bank. Not one acknowledged my existence or thanked me for holding it. It was like I wasn't there!

So I wondered were they just (1)Rude & Unmannerly (2)Completely unaware of anything going on around them and thought that the door automatically stayed open with out any human interference. Thoughts?

I don't think anyone cares what the status of your faith is.

I wish I was as cool and badass as you. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,115 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It's nice to be nice and all that.....but I have to say it does annoy me when I hold the door open for someone and they don't thank me.

Was in the bank the other day (the one that has those stupid double doors that only open one at a time after the first door closes and the button is pressed) and held it open as 3 older men walked in to the bank. Not one acknowledged my existence or thanked me for holding it. It was like I wasn't there!

So I wondered were they just (1)Rude & Unmannerly (2)Completely unaware of anything going on around them and thought that the door automatically stayed open with out any human interference. Thoughts?

I'm going to go with rude and unmannerly on that one, caused by the fact that they were completely unaware of anyone or anything else going on around them.

I'd always hold the door open for someone, but it's a pain in the arse sometimes when they're a bit of a distance away and they just amble up, that's when I'm thinking "Jesus meet me half-way will ya!" :pac:

Then they say thank you and I'm like "Well now I just feel like an arse!" :pac:

Ahh it's annoying sometimes, but I tend not to let it get to me, I'm not being forced to be polite or mannerly by anyone, it's just something I do because I wouldn't feel right if I didn't at least consider the other person or people. Most people are polite and pleasant, and for those that aren't, well, I just think you're always going to get the odd one :o

It's the height of rudeness. I encounter it from both men and women, by the way. I was having a bad day a few weeks ago and shouted at the man, "Do I look like your personal door woman? Do I? :mad:". Probably came off as slightly "unhinged" (door hinge - geddit? Hinge? Door? Hinge on a door? Yuk yuk yuk yuk yuk...) but it was good to vent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I'm going to go with rude and unmannerly on that one, caused by the fact that they were completely unaware of anyone or anything else going on around them.

I'd always hold the door open for someone, but it's a pain in the arse sometimes when they're a bit of a distance away and they just amble up, that's when I'm thinking "Jesus meet me half-way will ya!" :pac:

Then they say thank you and I'm like "Well now I just feel like an arse!" :pac:

Ahh it's annoying sometimes, but I tend not to let it get to me, I'm not being forced to be polite or mannerly by anyone, it's just something I do because I wouldn't feel right if I didn't at least consider the other person or people. Most people are polite and pleasant, and for those that aren't, well, I just think you're always going to get the odd one :o

I sometimes consider barking "You're Welcome" as they pass by without thanking me. But I don't want to be that di*k so I just go on my way. I guess we can only control ourselves and no one else's behavior.

That is what I do. I don't mind being a dick

I guess we can only control ourselves and no one else's behavior.

That's how I go about things like this. It's annoying when people are rude but I don't have to become one of them.

It's the height of rudeness. I encounter it from both men and women, by the way. I was having a bad day a few weeks ago and shouted at the man, "Do I look like your personal door woman? Do I? :mad:". Probably came off as slightly "unhinged" (door hinge - geddit? Hinge? Door? Hinge on a door? Yuk yuk yuk yuk yuk...) but it was good to vent.

Why did you hold the door for them ? Apparently it's sexist and patronising if you do so for the opposite sex.

You're just trolling now. I never used either of those words on this thread.

I didn't say you did . . . so who's trolling now ?

So what the hell are you on about?

Why did you hold the door for them ?

Right, I'll bite: I opened the door for them because it's good manners and I'm not going to let a door slam in someone's face. Pretty obvious.

Answer my question first and I'll answer yours.

I just did, and I asked first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

This was barked at me once.

I had been awake for weeks with a new born, on Vicodin, post Caesarian and kidney failure, with no relief parenting completely alone, and pushing a pram with one hand and carrying groceries with another.

I was in a haze, weak and the building could have been on fire and I wouldn't have noticed.

He was offended, but frankly I didn't really give a **** at that point. Had no energy to care.

I just did, and I asked first

I don't agree that it's patronising or sexist for a man to offer a woman a seat. Next!

That's not what I asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Basic respect. If both man & woman go to leave at the same time, someone has to stop to allow the other to move out.
    Men are generally bigger so it'd most likely seem like they are being physically domineering if they are not the ones to stop.
    Why the need to generalise, in a situation where people are directly dealing with other people and you can see their size.
    Why not just say you yield to smaller people so as not to give the impression of domineering over people.
    Letting ladies out of a lift first just some back to outdated notions of chivalry.
    Because for thousands and thousands of years that was the role women played in society.
    You're not backing up your claim, just providing more opinions.
    Why does he? Bring a baby around to a group of men & women ranging all ages.
    The women of the group are a lot more likely to coo and ah over the baby than the guys, more likely to want to hold the baby etc.
    You're just trying to be outraged.
    Because he's making a factual claim.
    And your above comment doesn't prove that women are "better communicators, better teachers and more tolerant of kids than men".
    zeffabelli wrote: »
    The reason for this us the same for not wearing a brown leather belt with black shoes, for showing up for dates with your hair combed and your shirt ironed, answering emails promptly, thank you notes, returning phone calls, showing you care.

Respect. You transmit what you expect.

Hanging on to the remnants of dignity here.
    And why do you only apply this to women in this situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

One day at the train station the train dropped us off on the far platform. I got off and there was an old man with a large hold all bag. He didn't look incapable, he was just old. He walked towards the bridge, and I offered to take the bag to the other side of the bridge. He gave me the bag, and was delighted I offered. His daughter was waiting for him inside the train station, and I gave her the bag.

He wasn't insulted, or annoyed that a 5'3 girl considered herself stronger than an adult male. Point is, don't be a dick. If you see someone that you think might need a little help, ask. At worst, they'll bite your head off, and if they do, so what? At least you tried and it says more about them.

Honestly the more I see of the world the more it seems to be every man for himself
    But people would surely be out for themselves if they insisted on a seat being given up for them rather than refusing it?
    What do you think of the mantra on here that it's patronising and sexist to dare offer your seat to someone else ?
    Apart from Katydid, throw out the other posts saying that - cheers.
    zeffabelli wrote: »
    This thread has exposed a level of ****ed up warped thinking even beyond the contempt of egalitarianism.

Now it has turned into the hierarchising of pain as it relates to public transport.
    The ****ed up warped thinking is the above post, not people who are in pain being more of a priority to be given a seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

If that's what you read, then re read.

There is very clearly a pain/virtue contest going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I generally say "you're welcome" very loudly after the ignoramuses who don't acknoweldge. As a woman myself, it's embarassing to say that it's generally mostly other women. Men are generally more polite. And if a man holds a door open for me I always look them in the eye, smile, and say thank you.