Giving up binge drinking for good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I could never drink in the manner described in the OP. A few pints has always been my limit, if I'm in the humour for it. I have to say, I really enjoy it when I do but never could understand how people enjoyed drinking to the point where the next day ends up being hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Earthhorse wrote: »
    I could never drink in the manner described in the OP. A few pints has always been my limit, if I'm in the humour for it. I have to say, I really enjoy it when I do but never could understand how people enjoyed drinking to the point where the next day ends up being hell.
    Tbh, it's because you eventually get to a point where you just throw caution to the wind. Lack of self control aspect I guess. Although I find I now have that self control to stop even if quite drunk, because the hangovers are that bad, so there is some agency in it.

But drink, 'tis very moreish too!

I kinda get that but I don't get how people do it in the first place. Once or twice, okay, you learn your lesson. Maybe they just have shorter memories or more bravado than I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

The best way of giving up drinking is to pour it onto a plate and eat it with a spoon :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Crazy talk in here, had 20 drinks last night, wrote off today.

Roll on next Friday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

mdwexford wrote: »
    Crazy talk in here, had 20 drinks last night, wrote off today.

Roll on next Friday.

Pfft 25 last night myself and ran a marathon today, currently horsing back pints of porter again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Earthhorse wrote: »
    I kinda get that but I don't get how people do it in the first place. Once or twice, okay, you learn your lesson. Maybe they just have shorter memories or more bravado than I do.

Because its fun to do sometimes, a bit the buzz and a bit wildness is good in life even if you lose the next Saturday.

I've lost days to hangovers, just never that badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

I honestly think I get the worst hangovers in the world, 5 years ago I used to be grand the next day :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Stew? What kind of hangover food is that?

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Stew? What kind of hangover food is that?

Comfort food! The best kind!

Ironically it was a beef and Guinness stew, at least that's one less can of Guinness in the fridge though, right? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Ironically it was a beef and Guinness stew, at least that's one less can of Guinness in the fridge though, right? :D

One of my favs.

Interesting that it got dissed on the Food and Recipes forum the other day.

Some nouveau cuisine header saying Guiness wasn't good in a stew :rolleyes:

Gave it the binges earlier this year. Had cut down on the nights out in recent years to just one, but that was always a wild night and Sat or Sun would be spent in the horrors. So maintained the defence that sure one night out wasn't alcoholism and it wasn't...but it was uncontrolled.

Still drink, so far from preachy about alcohol, but go out maybe once a month and it's home for 11, or might have a few cans at home. Look back now and shudder at some of the stuff, was always the last man to leave the pub or club, the clown running around for a party at 3am. I do regret the mornings waking up in some house after a party with my wife at home worried out of her mind that something had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

I know how you feel. I'm rarely out for a night of drinking these days, and the last few times I was I was definitely feeling shíte the next day. I am someone who would get hangovers fairly badly when I did though.

My girlfriend doesn't drink, so when I'm out now I'd usually only have 2 or 3. I don't want to be pissed while she's sober. It's good though, I definitely feel a lot better drinking less and obviously it saves some money too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

i love binge drinking.
    I prefer decadent nights out over a few pints in the local any day.

kinda only once a month these days but I do love them.

hangovers can be avoided/ lessened by being hydrated , staying fed and not mixing silly drinks.
    never ceases to amaze me the people who drink pints all night and then start on wine back at a house party. that has disaster all over it.

I seem in be in a minority here though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Seven pints of beef stew last night and I'm wrecked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

I went on a "mad one" yesterday but started at 3 and was home by 12.30 and I feel grand today. Maybe the trick is to get home earlier? I enjoy the odd binge; it used to be weekly up 'till a few years ago and now it's once a month, though I have a few drinks every weekend. I'd a really good time yesterday even if I've a foggy head today. Sometimes with pleasure comes pain. As someone said, I need to say "**** it" now and then and go mad - it's a nice feeling to let go when your life is so routined from Monday to Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I went on a "mad one" yesterday but started at 3 and was home by 12.30 and I feel grand today. Maybe the trick is to get home earlier? I enjoy the odd binge; it used to be weekly up 'till a few years ago and now it's once a month, though I have a few drinks every weekend. I'd a really good time yesterday even if I've a foggy head today. Sometimes with pleasure comes pain. As someone said, I need to say "**** it" now and then and go mad - it's a nice feeling to let go when your life is so routined from Monday to Friday.

Your arse must feel like the exhaust on the back of the bat mobile today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Apparently getting home earlyish does help indeed. More than one person has said that to me.

I'd love to do that letting go but the hangovers are just too appalling now and I don't even mix drinks. I did the letting go thing for many years though, so I can't complain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Years from I've had a hangover. My head used to pound after a few pints so I decided to quit altogether. After about 2 years I started back drinking the odd non alcoholic drink and the very odd bottle of cider. Nowadays I usually buy 3 bottles of craft beer on a Friday. 1 on a Friday night and 2 on a Saturday night. No more feeling like death on a Sunday, no more blinding headaches, no more churning guts. Sunday is a family day for us...kids, herself and myself usually get up to something, or head for a walk. The sort of thing that used to be impossible years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

Azalea wrote: »
    Apparently getting home earlyish does help indeed. More than one person has said that to me.

I'd love to do that letting go but the hangovers are just too appalling now and I don't even mix drinks. I did the letting go thing for many years though, so I can't complain!

My hangovers are usually awful - full-on existential crisis, self-loathing fest along with the physical stuff. Went out Friday too and we came home before 12 and I felt A1. Slept in 'till midday both days. Head out earlier and come home earlier - hard to do, though when you're having fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

I still drink the odd time but nothing like I once did. I'd prefer to be up at 630 on a Sunday morning and go for a nice 20km run. I get far more enjoyment from that strangely enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

6781 wrote: »
    I still drink the odd time but nothing like I once did. I'd prefer to be up at 630 on a Sunday morning and go for a nice 20km run. I get far more enjoyment from that strangely enough.

I don't mean to offend you .......... but are you replacing one addictive practice with another? I mean 20Ks on a morning off?

http://www.active.com/articles/know-the-signs-of-unhealthy-exercise-addiction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Binge drinking is regarded as 5 standard drinks,bollix. I was up at 7,rolled a spliff,filled up the hip flask with a splash of whiskey and took my trusty hound out.Sipped the flask dry and smoked my spliff.Its now 3.35,I'm kicking back now, watching the arsenal match(im not a fan,i have a gambling interest on the game)Im on can no.7 and I'm not drunk at all.I might feel a bit groggy after dinner,I'll remedy that however by rolling up a bank note and eh you know yerself...I'll then resume drinking for the evening. I won't feel too bad in the morning,I maybe a little snappy,but when I get my nicotine fix,and my little doggie runs into the room to greet me I'm back to my usual, upbeat self.The adorable little c*nt melts me black heart.

I'm not sure why, but this might be the greatest post I've ever read on boards..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

I don't mean to offend you .......... but are you replacing one addictive practice with another? I mean 20Ks on a morning off?

http://www.active.com/articles/know-the-signs-of-unhealthy-exercise-addiction
    Not offended at all. It is an addiction but a healthy one. I haven't gone down the ultra route yet. I was never addicted to drink. I could take it or leave it. I mainly used it as a way to socialise and pull girls. I now socialise other ways and am married.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

I just stopped a few months ago and I'm 35, should have done way earlier. What did it for me was not just the physical hangover but I suddenly started to get the fear, really bad along with depression the next day, usually couldn't get back to sleep after the initial waking, if I did I would have horrible nightmares. That and being unemployed for the last year, meaning I couldn't afford it and it made me feel even more pathetic.

Feel much better, lost weight, and my psoriasis is much better now too. Unfortunately moderation never worked for me, if I get the taste of beer I am usually on it for the night so I don't have even a sip. It's hard until I remember all the benefits of not drinking and remember all the times alcohol made me act like an eejit or a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I'm finally done with going out on the piss.

I spent most of this year training hard for an event, and as a result I hadn't "gone drinking" in ages.

Last Saturday I went to a funeral and had four pints and was pretty drunk, but then a couple of friends came back and we sat up drinking and falling til 3 or 4 in the morning. I was dying all day the following day. I barely got out of bed. Complete waste of a day. I wasn't knocking shots out of it or anything like that, just beer over an extended period.

Last night I went out for a few after work, ended up in a nightclub I haven't been in in about 10 years. Kip. Now I'm wrecked again today, it's the afternoon and the dog hasn't been walked yet, I haven't eaten anything, and I look like sh*t.

So I'm done. I love wine and Guinness and beer so I'll still have them when I want to but I won't be getting pissed any time soon. I have just as much craic when I don't drink, I save a fortune, I can drive myself home and I'm up by 8am for a run or whatever feeling great.

I know we all say "I'm never drinking again" when in the middle of a bad hangover, but have you ever made a decision not to get drunk again? Do you think the hangovers are worth it for the nights out you've had? Or are you one of those absolute bastards who can still wake up at 8 and go for a run after you've been on the razz the night before?!!

If anyone wants to bring me a bowl of stew and a pint of milk I'll PM you my address :D
    Beer is for whimps try whiskey but only sip it after a while you will drink half a bottle in a few hours. When you get used to it hangovers will be a thing of the past, they are for me anyway :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Beer is for whimps try whiskey but only sip it after a while you will drink half a bottle in a few hours. When you get used to it hangovers will be a thing of the past, they are for me anyway :)

Love whiskey :)

Neat, or hot if I've the sniffles!

I'd be similar to 6781. Haven't run that far in a few weeks mind you, but I'll be back at it soon enough. I get a serious high from running/fitness. And no hangover!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Ever since I got engaged binge drinking is a thing of the past.

Clampdown wrote: »
    I just stopped a few months ago and I'm 35, should have done way earlier... Unfortunately moderation never worked for me, if I get the taste of beer I am usually on it for the night so I don't have even a sip. It's hard until I remember all the benefits of not drinking and remember all the times alcohol made me act like an eejit or a prick.

I hear ya...apart from the act the prick thing, I was in my element on drink, would be the type out dancing, buying drink for all and sundry, chatting away to people I don't particularly like etc.

Didn't knock it till I hit 40. And like you thought I couldn't do moderation, it was either not drink at all or go off the rails. Used to sneer at the guys in the off licence clutching their 4 cans and think I would hate to have my "fun" measured out so pathetically. Circumstances...and wife...forced me to re-evaluate, and started the controlled drinking...and it's so much better. To the point where one close friend, former drinking buddy, has said they would love to do what I did. Trying to tell them they can, but don't think they have the pressure to change that I had...not sure Id have done it myself if it was entirely up to me.