Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

DareGod wrote: »
    I haven't been here in a while. I just came looking for the thread now, and I had to click through 15 whole pages of threads to find it! It's thread number 300 in the list, that's how long it's been since it was last updated!

Apologies to anyone who saw that there was a new reply and was expecting a new creepy story, but I have to bump it back up so that newer members get a chance to post in it, and previous members remember it's here!

Just go down to where it says post reply and beside it there's a follow box. Click on that and then whenever there's a new post it will alert you and you'll be able to find the thread easily through followed threads/forums in your account control panel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Not really creepy or unnerving but a bit odd so thought it'd fit into this thread.
    I had a dream last night where I was riding a big dark horse in a race and it won, I couldn't remember the full name of it but the second word was 'Hell'
    Follow a bit of racing so today for the craic I looked through all the races and horses today and found one called 'Blue Hell'. Threw a tenner on it at 6-1 and thought nothing more of it- I normally bet everything each way so was odd for me to just do a straight bet.

Anyway, the fecker won! It's surely just coincidence but there were 44 races on today between UK & Ire, just found it very strange to search for and pick a winner based on a dreamed name. Now if only I can dream of the lotto numbers...:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

I once dreamed that 44 (British lottery at the time)would come in the lottery and it did, now if only I could have dreamed the other 5 numbers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Talking of dreams. I was in bed the other night with the baby and my husband was out. I kept waking up absolutely roasting hot which is unusual for me and having nightmares about trying to get the baby out the upstairs window without hurting him, during a house fire. Really broken and crappy sleep.

Because I was feeling so hot I decided at about 2am to go into the spare room and open the window for some air. As I went in I heard the iron click.

Before going out my husband had been ironing and left it on, on the floor and closed the room door when he left. I hadn't been in the room and had no reason to be in it had I not been too hot and having nightmares. I turned it off, went back to bed and slept comfortably for the rest of the night.

Years ago I was living in this house. A ton of freaky stuff happened there -

- I was on the phone to my then-girlfriend, in my room by myself, with nobody else in the house. We were chatting away and she stopped me mid-sentence to ask who was there with me. I told her nobody, to which she told me that she heard the sound of a woman laughing on my end, very close to the phone. I didn't hear any such thing.

- Once we were in bed together watching a movie. The sound was coming out of these small speakers I had, sitting on top of the TV. Next thing you know, one of the speakers falls to the ground. The room was carpeted and we both heard it get dragged along the ground a few inches.

- There was one night that I was in the house by myself. My window was open and I was about to fall asleep - the door to my bedroom blasts open, not just slowly, but extremely violently, and I hear what sounds like a really loud shout/grunt in the hall. I jump up and stand there, listening, trying to see if maybe my housemate came home and his opening the door created a draught with my open window, but nope, nobody. I take a few seconds to rest my beating heart and climb back into bed. I can feel.. a presence.. walking across the room and around my side of the bed and it feels like there's hands on my face, forcing me to look at them ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

Kovu wrote: »
    Not really creepy or unnerving but a bit odd so thought it'd fit into this thread.
    I had a dream last night where I was riding a big dark horse in a race and it won, I couldn't remember the full name of it but the second word was 'Hell'
    Follow a bit of racing so today for the craic I looked through all the races and horses today and found one called 'Blue Hell'. Threw a tenner on it at 6-1 and thought nothing more of it- I normally bet everything each way so was odd for me to just do a straight bet.

Anyway, the fecker won! It's surely just coincidence but there were 44 races on today between UK & Ire, just found it very strange to search for and pick a winner based on a dreamed name. Now if only I can dream of the lotto numbers...:pac:

That reminds me of a few years ago. I was dreaming on the Friday night about a winning horse with Hello in the title:D. The next day I went through the paper looking for a horse called Hello. There was one called Hello Bud. Its a few years ago but I'm sure that was the name. Anyway, I put 2.50 each way on it and went off looking at apartments to rent. And be the holy feck and beyond. Didn't I check the results that evening and it feckin' won. It turned out to be the Welsh Grand National I had bet on and I didn't even realise:D:D:D. Well done Kovu:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Whispered wrote: »
    Talking of dreams. I was in bed the other night with the baby and my husband was out. I kept waking up absolutely roasting hot which is unusual for me and having nightmares about trying to get the baby out the upstairs window without hurting him, during a house fire. Really broken and crappy sleep.

Because I was feeling so hot I decided at about 2am to go into the spare room and open the window for some air. As I went in I heard the iron click.

Before going out my husband had been ironing and left it on, on the floor and closed the room door when he left. I hadn't been in the room and had no reason to be in it had I not been too hot and having nightmares. I turned it off, went back to bed and slept comfortably for the rest of the night.

Now go out immediately and replace that iron. A decent one will switch itself off when left unattended and, well, you've just gotten your warning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Wow this thread really came back to life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Now go out immediately and replace that iron. A decent one will switch itself off when left unattended and, well, you've just gotten your warning!

It was switching itself off when heated and then when cool it turned back on again. I think it's supposed to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

This happened to a friend;
    When she was younger she used to do alot of singing in choirs. The local priest told her family that she was very good and he would like to take her to help her and bring her to competitions.
    Her mother told him that she didn't want her taking it that seriously and neglecting her schoolwork. He was pretty insistent but her mother wouldn't give in.
    Most people will have guessed the ending by now.
    The same priest is now a convicted sex offender.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Whispered wrote: »
    It was switching itself off when heated and then when cool it turned back on again. I think it's supposed to do that.

That's correct and normal practice, but what that poster meant is that some irons will switch off completely if no movement is detected for say 10 minutes. They are great if you have a bit of ocd when it comes to rushing out of the house, then turning back at some point due to the fear of having left the iron plugged in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

This happened to a friend;
    When she was younger she used to do alot of singing in choirs. The local priest told her family that she was very good and he would like to take her to help her and bring her to competitions.
    Her mother told him that she didn't want her taking it that seriously and neglecting her schoolwork. He was pretty insistent but her mother wouldn't give in.
    Most people will have guessed the ending by now.
    The same priest is now a convicted sex offender.
    I would say that the mothers protection radar may have been at work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I was just thinking about having some cheese, and was sure I didn't have any. It's been weeks since I bought any cheese. I went to make a cuppa, and when I opened the fridge to get the milk .... I SAW SOME CHEESE!!!!!
    I deffo didn't buy it. How the fcuk did it get there?!? Aliens? Cheese fairy? Poltergouda?

Wait till I tell herself about this in the morning. She'll never believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,638 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Playing in the woods in Kennedy Park once when we were about 10, maybe 11, me and 8 of my cousins and the game is hide and seek, was my turn to find everyone and the wood was so quiet, I was searching and found a couple of my younger cousins quick enough. Had to go a little deeper then when I heard the voice of my older cousin, we will call her Lisa, calling my name, kind of softly, but with urgency saying she had slipped, something about the stream which I assumed meant she needed help and she had slipped by the stream or into it

Anyway, I was about to follow the direction of her voice when I caught her hiding ducked down behind a tree, basically in the opposite direction of where I had heard her call me no more then 30 seconds before. I gave her that puzzled look obviously cause she asked me what was wrong. I asked her had she called me or was it a game or something and she had no idea what I was talking about. To this day she swears it wasn't some joke the others played and that she heard nothing.

I began to think I imagined it, but I am sure I didn't. I have no idea who or what was calling me that day but from reading stories like this I can safely say I am very happy I didn't get the opportunity to follow the voice!

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

blinding wrote: »
    I would say that the mothers protection radar may have been at work there.

I would like to agree but unfortunately it was luck, many other parents saw no danger in their children spending time alone with a trusted locally respected figure. Hence, he's now a convicted child molester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,864 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

endacl wrote: »
    I was just thinking about having some cheese, and was sure I didn't have any. It's been weeks since I bought any cheese. I went to make a cuppa, and when I opened the fridge to get the milk .... I SAW SOME CHEESE!!!!!
    I deffo didn't buy it. How the fcuk did it get there?!? Aliens? Cheese fairy? Poltergouda?

Wait till I tell herself about this in the morning. She'll never believe it.

Well, did herself buy the cheese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Herself is probably creepiest phenomenon on this wee island, always popping up in houses moving things around etc. The amount of terrifying stories I've heard about Herself would fill a library. There's lads haunted their entire lives by Herself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Was recently talking about this so thought I'd share, it's not anything supernatural but it's creepy non the less.

March 2014, the Night before st Patrick's day, I was out on the town with my best friend. Was fairly drunk but was aware of my surroundings and had my wits about me. Had this driver bring us home about 2 months prior and he was the only taxi driver I had a number for in that town (wasn't living there very long)

So, it was mayhem, no taxis to be got on the street, so I rang this number and he said he could pick me up in about ten mins. Now the town has one long Main Street that's a one way street. He told me that he'd wait for me off down a side street just off the Main Street. That was fine, didn't think much of it, assumed he didn't want to go down town with lots of people looking for a taxi.

So, me and her went to meet him. He seemed a bit surprised there was two of us, but it was okay. We both got into the back and he dropped her home first.
    Just coming out of her estate, he stopped the car and asked me to get into the front. I said no thanks, happy out with my chips in the back. He drove on back towards the main road, stopped again, and told me to get into the front. Against my better judgement, I did. Thought it was weird, but did anyway. He had his hands all over my legs, grabbing my knee, grabbing my thigh. I was having none of it, told him to stop.

So, he drove on to bring me home. I lived about 3 miles outside of town. As I wasn't overly familiar with the town, I only knew the one (main way) to get home. Which was turn left at the roundabout and drive down the town, turning right.

So imagine my surprise when he drove straight on through the roundabout, out of town completely, on the way towards the motorway. I was freaking out at that stage, but he was laughing telling me not to worry.
    Just before getting to the roundabout for the motorway, he turned off down this back road, not much more than a lane. (Later found out it was just another way to get onto my road) there's no houses, no lights, nothing. He parks up on the side of the road, and again with the hands, he's talking about where he's from, where his son is, how awful his sons mother is, etc. Hands roaming all over. Asking me to give him a kiss.

Now, I hadn't a notion at all where I was. I lived with 5 boys, was the only girl, and they all looked out for me. So, I text the one I was closest to. "Where are you, I need you to come and get me"
    Taxi driver is asking who I'm texting and I tell him, straight out that my housemate was on his way to get me. He stopped being inappropriate, started the car and started driving again. Was pretty much completely silent until we got to my house, and he drove past it, pulled up the other side of the road, and asked me for a kiss goodbye.

I was never out of a car as fast in my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

Was recently talking about this so thought I'd share, it's not anything supernatural but it's creepy non the less.

March 2014, the Night before st Patrick's day, I was out on the town with my best friend. Was fairly drunk but was aware of my surroundings and had my wits about me. Had this driver bring us home about 2 months prior and he was the only taxi driver I had a number for in that town (wasn't living there very long)

So, it was mayhem, no taxis to be got on the street, so I rang this number and he said he could pick me up in about ten mins. Now the town has one long Main Street that's a one way street. He told me that he'd wait for me off down a side street just off the Main Street. That was fine, didn't think much of it, assumed he didn't want to go down town with lots of people looking for a taxi.

So, me and her went to meet him. He seemed a bit surprised there was two of us, but it was okay. We both got into the back and he dropped her home first.
    Just coming out of her estate, he stopped the car and asked me to get into the front. I said no thanks, happy out with my chips in the back. He drove on back towards the main road, stopped again, and told me to get into the front. Against my better judgement, I did. Thought it was weird, but did anyway. He had his hands all over my legs, grabbing my knee, grabbing my thigh. I was having none of it, told him to stop.

So, he drove on to bring me home. I lived about 3 miles outside of town. As I wasn't overly familiar with the town, I only knew the one (main way) to get home. Which was turn left at the roundabout and drive down the town, turning right.

So imagine my surprise when he drove straight on through the roundabout, out of town completely, on the way towards the motorway. I was freaking out at that stage, but he was laughing telling me not to worry.
    Just before getting to the roundabout for the motorway, he turned off down this back road, not much more than a lane. (Later found out it was just another way to get onto my road) there's no houses, no lights, nothing. He parks up on the side of the road, and again with the hands, he's talking about where he's from, where his son is, how awful his sons mother is, etc. Hands roaming all over. Asking me to give him a kiss.

Now, I hadn't a notion at all where I was. I lived with 5 boys, was the only girl, and they all looked out for me. So, I text the one I was closest to. "Where are you, I need you to come and get me"
    Taxi driver is asking who I'm texting and I tell him, straight out that my housemate was on his way to get me. He stopped being inappropriate, started the car and started driving again. Was pretty much completely silent until we got to my house, and he drove past it, pulled up the other side of the road, and asked me for a kiss goodbye.

Jesus, that's not on at all. If it was me I'd have reported him to the Carriage Office. If this happened to my daughter I couldn't be held responsible for what I'd do. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,771 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Is he a properly registered taxi, or just some guy who gave you a lift home. If it's the latter he probably thought his luck was in and was chancing his arm as he thought that was your intention. If it's a taxi driver then report him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

She did. :(
    Bambi wrote: »
    Herself is probably creepiest phenomenon on this wee island, always popping up in houses moving things around etc. The amount of terrifying stories I've heard about Herself would fill a library. There's lads haunted their entire lives by Herself
    There's no escape. I was warned. But, no. I knew better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Jesus that post matches the thread title but I was expecting something completely different.

You really need to report him to the guards, he sounds like a complete creep and that incident could have ended so much worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

Did u pay him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

- I was on the phone to my then-girlfriend, in my room by myself, with nobody else in the house. We were chatting away and she stopped me mid-sentence to ask who was there with me. I told her nobody, to which she told me that she heard the sound of a woman laughing on my end, very close to the phone. I didn't hear any such thing.

There's many the woman that would *not* accept "must be a ghost" as an explanation in that scenario :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

pookie82 wrote: »
    There's many the woman that would *not* accept "must be a ghost" as an explanation in that scenario :D:D

If it was me, I'd end up as the ghost. I can tell you that much for certain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

................ March 2014, the Night before st Patrick's day, I was out on the town with my best friend. Was fairly drunk but was aware of my surroundings and had my wits about me. Had this driver bring us home about 2 months prior and he was the only taxi driver I had a number for in that town (wasn't living there very long)..............

This is coming between me and resting easy. Please, please come back and say that you reported him to the police and that if you haven't already that you will now.

pookie82 wrote: »

Thankfully she as there when a lot of the creepy stuff happened, so she knew I was telling the truth, otherwise I would have been in trouble. :pac:

Told this story over in the paranormal forum, so might as well rehash it here -- seems appropriate:

A few years ago I was staying in San Diego visiting family. One day decided to pop into the Old Town there and happened upon this old house that had been turned into a museum. Thought it looked interesting, paid the $5 fee and went in. Anyway, got some weird vibes about the place, but couldn't understand why.

Walked into this room, that was like a small dining room with a table and chairs around it, with a chair in the corner. As I entered, I could see (but not see.. it was weird, like trying to look at something just at the edge of my vision on the peripheral .. but right in front of me) this little old lady sat on that chair. Not moving, not looking at anyone, just sat there. The chair was empty all the time, of course.

Weird, I thought, and moved on.

Went up the stairs and into this converted master bedroom, that had been turned into a theatre. There were staff members in period clothing there so got chatting to one of them. From them I found out that it is the Whaley House, which is seemingly among the most haunted properties in America.

As we were chatting, I could see someone walk in.. but they weren't there.. again.. like looking at someone on your periphery, but right in front of you, but I could tell they were all dressed in white. I could just get this weird oppressive vibe, like they didn't want me there at all, so I got up and left, walking downstairs.

Downstairs I discovered a book downstairs, that detailed loads of photos that people had taken of various orbs and other stuff you'd always see on those paranormal shows.

At the back I saw family photos of the Whaley family and realized that the woman I saw in the dining room was the grandmother and the woman I saw upstairs was the mother.

Obviously there'll be someone that will cry bullsh*t, but it really made me shiver when I saw those family photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Hope you reported him.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭redbel05

My Mums experience rather than my own, but quite unnerving for me too as I was only 7 or 8 at the time.

My mums life was possibly saved by a necklace she was wearing, when she was in a car accident on her way home from a wake.

The necklace was given to her by the lady whose wake it was....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

redbel05 wrote: »
    My Mums experience rather than my own, but quite unnerving for me too as I was only 7 or 8 at the time.

My mums life was possibly saved by a necklace she was wearing, when she was in a car accident on her way home from a wake.

The necklace was given to her by the lady whose wake it was....

How did a necklace save her life?