Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Are Muslims responsible for parts of Dublin being 'No-Go Areas' too?
    http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-cherry-orchard-1802987-Nov2014/
    How can anyone take these videos seriously, from Sasha Israel, he sure sounds neutral anyway. The 'facts' with a one directional narrative slant.

Have you seen this one, it chronicles the 'truth' about black people. Lap it up -

NRK is norways national news channel,i take it very serious.

http://www.nrk.no/about/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Anyone coming into Ireland to live regardless of religion should have to sign an oath of allegiance to Ireland.
    You abide by our laws and rules or else you feck-off back to where you came from and your religion does not supersede our laws and rules.

I would have no problem with that - in fact I would go further and say that no religion should dictate our laws and that applies to all religions equally - and all residents equally - be they recent arrivals or born, bred and raised.

NRK is norways national news channel,i take it very serious.

http://www.nrk.no/about/

That's nice you believe in a Norwegian news channel.

Now - about the No-Go Zones in Dublin. Care to comment if these are related to the influence of any particular religion?

what news channel do you belive in?or is the truth to much to handle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

To answer you:

Both of these no-go zones are influenced by socio-economic factors, but in one, the police are attacked by angry youths (Dublin), in the other, ethnic natives are also attacked (Sweden) solely based on the colour of their skin.

Now, to continue the argument:

If we import 4-20,000 people (depending on how many come with the family reunion) who are poorly skilled, poorly educated, and likely with poor English skills... Do you think they won't form ghettoes, fall back on their ethno-religious backgrounds, and come into conflict with natives?

Paris has Algerians, London has Pakistanis, Berlin has Kurds/Turks, and Malmo has a mixed bag of ethnic tensions... Why should Dublin follow suit, when we already have things like this going on with poor people?

I could walk around Darndale without being attacked for being white, I don't think I could do that in Rosengard.

what news channel do you belive in?or is the truth to much to handle?

You seem reluctant to discuss why there are No-Go Areas in Dublin.

youll see the answer above,and you dd not answer me?what news channel do you believe in?

To answer you:

Both of these no-go zones are influenced by socio-economic factors, but in one, the police are attacked by angry youths (Dublin), in the other, ethnic natives are also attacked (Sweden) solely based on the colour of their skin.

Now, to continue the argument:

If we import 4-20,000 people (depending on how many come with the family reunion) who are poorly skilled, poorly educated, and likely with poor English skills... Do you think they won't form ghettoes, fall back on their ethno-religious backgrounds, and come into conflict with natives?

Paris has Algerians, London has Pakistanis, Berlin has Kurds/Turks, and Malmo has a mixed bag of ethnic tensions... Why should Dublin follow suit, when we already have things like this going on with poor people?

I could walk around Darndale without being attacked for being white, I don't think I could do that in Rosengard.

Strange - I lived in the East End of London for a decade and was never even spoken to harshly by Pakistanis never mind 'attacked for being white'.
    I do recall so-called 'Paki Bashing' being a serious issue as feral white people did like to cause trouble around Bethnal Green and Brick Lane. Pouring petrol through the letter boxes of Bengali families and setting the only mean of escape on fire was another 'white' activity.

Gee - I wonder if all white people were to blame for that?
    No - that would be a ridiculous statement. Imagine blaming a whole group of people for the actions of a few xenophobic, hatefilled, nut-jobs.

Anyway - I am sure Long Range Shooter is capable of speaking for himself.

youll see the answer above,and you dd not answer me?what news channel do you believe in?

Nope - All I see is you talking about Norwegian new channels but nary a word about Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

personally I have no problem with the number of muslims that are here now ~1% of the population. However even look at somewhere like Australia with less than 3% and it means angry protests by Muslims as they start asserting themselves. And if the population started heading towards Swedish levels they would become a drain on the welfare system and possibly the start of Anti semitic crimes or even the start of Christianophobic crimes or just a general lack of integration because of their culture which isnt good for anybody
    so very steady as she goes! there is nothing in for Ireland to see their numbers triple or more here. If we need people here from outside Europe, India and China arent running out of people anytime soon.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

All Religions of the time is impossible as we do not have the information. Many of the religions do not exist anymore or did not have 'Holy' book of instructions in the way that the Abrahamic Religions do.

There is a passage in the Talmud (Yebhamot 11b: “Sexual intercourse with a little girl is permitted if she is three years of age.” ) that is open to interpretation - Talmudic scholars say it is an allegory, others (mostly anti-Semites such as certain far right web sites) claim the passage is a licence to be a paedophile.

In a website run for and by Jewish victims of sexual abuse there is a discussion on the passage http://jewishsurvivors.blogspot.ie/2005/02/under-talmudic-law-sexual-use-of-girls.html

The Old Testament has a fair bit to say about raping virgins (e.g. Numbers 31:7-18) It's not against it but the rapist must marry their victim. The OT doesn't seem to specifically say anything about sex with children, but most girls were married off soon after they had their first period which can be as young as 9 - 'virgins' in a Biblical context means unmarried so the virgins the Israelites are being told to rape are unmarried girls who most likely are pre-pubescent.
    Did these passages translate into an endorsement at the time though for the relevant religions?
    To the extend that this kind of behaviour was seen as the norm, as per post #6021.

Strange - I lived in the East End of London for a decade and was never even spoken to harshly by Pakistanis never mind 'attacked for being white'.

I am talking about the formation of ghettoes, and there has been cases of "Sharia Patrols" in those regions. Nowhere near as severe as Rosengard, but still there nonetheless.
    I do recall so-called 'Paki Bashing' being a serious issue as feral white people did like to cause trouble around Bethnal Green and Brick Lane. Pouring petrol through the letter boxes of Bengali families and setting the only mean of escape on fire was another 'white' activity.

And those people should be punished, nobody is disputing that.
    Gee - I wonder if all white people were to blame for that?
    No - that would be a ridiculous statement. Imagine blaming a whole group of people for the actions of a few xenophobic, hatefilled, nut-jobs.

It's a false equivalence, there's not a huge amount of white people who support burning them out of their homes. You'd probably find one in every few thousand who might support such a radical move, and even fewer who would actually do it. Yet we have quite a few polls of Muslim groups with quite high support for extremism in the name of Islam.

Did these passages translate into an endorsement at the time though for the relevant religions?
    To the extend that this kind of behaviour was seen as the norm, as per post #6021.

Nope.
    Not discussing theology.

Question was asked about all religions around in the 7th century which is impossible to answer but The Talmud has a dodgy passage about sex with three year olds which is still controversial today and the subject of much discussion within the Jewish community so I am sure if you google it you will find people better able to discuss it with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Sweden (............)certain groups

Perhaps it isn't. malmo isn't Belfast anymore than Paris is however, so perhaps you might be better answering the original question.
    silverharp wrote:
    personally I have no problem with the number of muslims that are here now ~1% of the population. However even look at somewhere like Australia with less than 3% and it means angry protests by Muslims as they start asserting themselves. And if the population started heading towards Swedish levels they would become a drain on the welfare system and possibly the start of Anti semitic crimes or even the start of Christianophobic crimes or just a general lack of integration because of their culture which isnt good for anybody

No generalisations, assumptions or demonisation there, thank the jaysus.
    Yet we have quite a few polls of Muslim groups with quite high support for extremism in the name of Islam

So why isn't Paris like Belfast 1970-80 etc?

Nodin wrote: »

Did you miss the name of the thread, or what happened back in January?
    Do you keep forgetting that there was like 36 bombings in Malmo like last year?

Perhaps it isn't. malmo isn't Belfast anymore than Paris is however, so perhaps you might be better answering the original question.

maybe cause we live in 2015?seems like you are still back in that decade though?

what do you mean by generalisation, its an observation based on numbers. Here is an Australian piece on Islamic violence there. They are not tourists, I dont want to see this on my streets, its not worth it.

you post on the Atheist forum , dont you? how about having some of this in Dublin? I'm not really up for it myself, I like the quiet life

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

I am talking about the formation of ghettoes, and there has been cases of "Sharia Patrols" in those regions. Nowhere near as severe as Rosengard, but still there nonetheless.

And those people should be punished, nobody is disputing that.

It's a false equivalence, there's not a huge amount of white people who support burning them out of their homes. You'd probably find one in every few thousand who might support such a radical move, and even fewer who would actually do it. Yet we have quite a few polls of Muslim groups with quite high support for extremism in the name of Islam.

Britain First stage regular 'Christian Patrols' in the area - so much so that the Bishop of Stepney has spoken out against them. Does that mean the area is a No-go White Supremacist Area? Or that there are numpties on all sides?

What percentage do you reckon? 1%?
    Can you show me any polls of 'white' people being asked if they support White supremacists? I can't seem to find any.

Did you miss the name of the thread, or what happened back in January?
    Do you keep forgetting that there was like 36 bombings in Malmo like last year?

Not at all. It would also seem strange that this wasn't more widely reported so I looked into it. It would seem that rival criminal gangs are attacking each other. Thus it has absolutely nothing to do with "Islam" whatsoever.
    maybe cause we live in 2015?seems like you are still back in that decade though?

Again, a non-answer. Why is it you're unable to explain the hole in your own plot?

"But according to you earlier, they're out to attack people. Now they just recruit in "ghettoes" and they don't do anything? Is most of jihadi activity in France made up of social evenings and poker games? You've now said that they aren't under surveillance.......what's stopping them?" -

Theres five million muslims at least in France - why isn't it a warzone?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97802881&postcount=6023

Not at all. It would also seem strange that this wasn't more widely reported so I looked into it. It would seem that rival criminal gangs are attacking each other. Thus it has absolutely nothing to do with "Islam" whatsoever.

Of course, those gangs throwing petrol bombs at police and attacking ethnic Swedes who enter "their areas" definitely aren't motivated by ethno-religious tensions. :rolleyes:

silverharp wrote: »
    what do you mean by generalisation, its an observation based on numbers. Here is an Australian piece on Islamic violence there. They are not tourists, I dont want to see this on my streets, its not worth it.

No, it's saying that numbers of muslims will (without fail) result in certain outcomes. Those are two pieces of video taken from a large country over a period of years and prove absolutely nothing.

There are roughly 50,000 muslims in Ireland, most of them in Dublin. I'd say you're safe.

Again, a non-answer. Why is it you're unable to explain the hole in your own plot?

"But according to you earlier, they're out to attack people. Now they just recruit in "ghettoes" and they don't do anything? Is most of jihadi activity in France made up of social evenings and poker games? You've now said that they aren't under surveillance.......what's stopping them?" -

Theres five million muslims at least in France - why isn't it a warzone?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97802881&postcount=6023

you did watch the video i posted?there is your answer

Of course, those gangs throwing petrol bombs at police and attacking ethnic Swedes who enter "their areas" definitely aren't motivated by ethno-religious tensions. :rolleyes:

...depends on whether you count a shower of Serbian Orthodox gangsters and Bosnian-muslim gangsters killing each other a result of "ethno-religious tensions". I suppose it is at one level, but I have the mad idea they're primarily about criminal enterprise and the rest is after the fact.

Britain First stage regular 'Christian Patrols' in the area - so much so that the Bishop of Stepney has spoken out against them. Does that mean the area is a No-go White Supremacist Area? Or that there are numpties on all sides?

Wasn't the "Britain First" patrols in response to these Sharia patrols? They're absolutely nonsensical, but a reactionary movement is hardly the same as the instigating movement.

And yes, I would pretty much say Britian First are White Supremacists... Didn't they organize anti-Irish marches in Liverpool during Paddy's Day a few years ago?
    What percentage do you reckon? 1%?
    Can you show me any polls of 'white' people being asked if they support White supremacists? I can't seem to find any.

If whites aren't asked if they're supremacists, there's not that much of a problem with white extremists that would provoke such polls, correct?

you did watch the video i posted?there is your answer

You might as well put up a funny picture of a cat. In fact, I would have preferred it. Why can't you just type out your answer? It's your thesis, there is a gaping hole between it and reality, so just explain it.

I have the mad idea they're primarily about criminal enterprise and the rest is after the fact.

And you know what one of the largest contributors to crime is? Being poor! You know what happens with non-EU migrants in Sweden? Half of them are unemployed and get stuck in a poverty trap which results in them falling back on their ethnic roots, believing that the country would be better if they were more "accommodating" - all of this I've stated before.

You might as well put up a funny picture of a cat. In fact, I would have preferred it. Why can't you just type out your answer? It's your thesis, there is a gaping hole between it and reality, so just explain it.

yeah i know the truth is hard for you to swallow.
    watch the video again.
    thats everyday life in sweden for you.
    maybe you want the same in Ireland?

And you know what one of the largest contributors to crime is? Being poor! You know what happens with non-EU migrants in Sweden? Half of them are unemployed and get stuck in a poverty trap which results in them falling back on their ethnic roots, believing that the country would be better if they were more "accommodating" - all of this I've stated before.

Well I'm glad you've admitted its down to criminality. There may be light at the end of the tunnel. The part in bold sounds horrifically like the kind of nonsense fired at Afro-americans.

yeah i know the truth is hard for you to swallow.
    watch the video again.
    thats everyday life in sweden for you.
    maybe you want the same in Ireland?

I know you're trying to contribute, but really, you're just making the anti-migrant stance harder to argue...

No, it's saying that numbers of muslims will (without fail) result in certain outcomes. Those are two pieces of video taken from a large country over a period of years and prove absolutely nothing.

There are roughly 50,000 muslims in Ireland, most of them in Dublin. I'd say you're safe.

Its a risk I dont support. As far as the muslim population here is concerned, I said its fine now. We havnt seen 2nd generation yet but looking at countries that do, its not pretty and frankly isnt worth it which is why I would be against a drift up in the muslim population in the future