If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015 - Mod Note Post 7373

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

we are probably only 3 players away from having a fantastic team. we dominate possession most games but just lack that spark final 3rd.

imagine lining up with

Martial

Bale
    Rooney
    Robben

Would be class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

bangkok wrote: »
    we are probably only 3 players away from having a fantastic team. we dominate possession most games but just lack that spark final 3rd.

imagine lining up with

Martial

Bale
    Rooney
    Robben

Would be class

Was a nice post until i seen rooneys name on current form he wouldn't help that lineup at all but if he regained form it would be class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

1300 tickets for the Bournemouth away game :(, going to be our smallest away support (apart maybe from Blackpool) in the league in years.

Ye know something that small a support will make a huge noise..
    and fair play to Bournemouth not rushing to expand capacity and indebt themselves
    are you heading over Homer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

brinty wrote: »
    Ye know something that small a support will make a huge noise..
    and fair play to Bournemouth not rushing to expand capacity and indebt themselves
    are you heading over Homer?

no, not going to that one as i am travelling to Asia.

got a ticket for Leciester away though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Cheers kid, i'll give it a shot ;)

Make sure you install Res too it makes browsing reddit so much easier.

no, not going to that one as i am travelling to Asia.

got a ticket for Leciester away though.

Don't take the blue pills.... ;)

jayo26 wrote: »
    Was a nice post until i seen rooneys name on current form he wouldn't help that lineup at all but if he regained form it would be class.

he was excellent v France the other night so hopefully he comes back reinvigorated

Don't you just know he'll need to get on a run where he'll score 7 goals in 5 (against mostly crap opposition) games and we all say that he's brilliant to then not score for 6 months...
    IMHO for me he's never become the player he should've. And before everyone starts another Rooney this that and the other... please don't it'll take up pages more of the similar stuff we've heard for years

this Robben thing is gathering pace, but im not sure i see anybody reliable pushing it yet...

anybody worth believing saying its on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Wheres future guy ??

this Robben thing is gathering pace, but im not sure i see anybody reliable pushing it yet...

If de telegraff (dutch paper) says its on, we're a long way there...
    English media aren't close enough anymore to be reliable and they're generally using foreign sources re United stories..

Wheres future guy ??

I don't think he likes Robben so is holding his powder dry on it...

But hey someone put up the FG bat sign ;)

If de telegraff (dutch paper) says its on, we're a long way there...

have they been saying anything? it looks like BILD thats driving it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Here you go

https://www.reddit.com/r/soccer
    https://www.reddit.com/r/reddevils

Just create an account and off you go, each page will have the hottest or trending topics listed in order, clicking on the title will send you to the article or video so click on comments below the title for the actual thread discussion and I find its best to sort the comments sort by "top" (the most upvoted comments) as they are causing the most discussion. Thats the great thing about Reddit, posts can be upvoted and downvoted and its people from all over the world talking. Don't worry about the insults either, its the norm over there and usually in jest.

Yeah I had a word with the mods here to and nothing happened. A few posters seem to think they have the run of the place in here and i see new posters getting scolded for the slightest difference of opinion. I've seen posters who are obviously young come in here (you can tell by what they're posting they're young) and get roasted by some "senior adult poster" with no regard for making them feel welcome or taking into account a bit of immaturity. Its really an offensive and negative place.

I know a few lads in work who used to use boards a lot for the soccer and the UTD thread in particular has a bad name. Its a place where your attacked by fellow UTD fans rather actually there being a sense of community and yeah like you said its seems to be welcomed by the powers that be here and what they want the thread to be about. Good job mods.

Honest question, why are you still posting here if you find it so offensive?

On any discussion forum you will have positive and negative people. I'm relatively new to this forum compared to most, I'd rather the diverse viewpoints on this than the overly positive way that reddit is run, if you have a difference of opinion on reddit your comment is downvoted and then hidden if the score goes below the threshold, so only the positive comments are really shown.. it's more a leave a nice comment or else rather than place to have a proper discussion. And I've been a long time member of reddit and contributor to both r/soccer and r/reddevils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I know a few lads in work who used to use boards a lot for the soccer and the UTD thread in particular has a bad name. Its a place where your attacked by fellow UTD fans rather actually there being a sense of community and yeah like you said its seems to be welcomed by the powers that be here and what they want the thread to be about. Good job mods.

Together we can all change that

860808316e9abb48f103ee1ac1d0aa70.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

have they been saying anything? it looks like BILD thats driving it.

Nothing on their website about it, might be on the gossip part which I didn't check really, if it is it would be just referencing the Bild article

Sports witness sum it up here

http://sportwitness.ning.com/forum/topics/robben-agrees-move-to-man-united-we-take-a-look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

astradave wrote: »
    Honest question, why are you still posting here if you find it so offensive?

On any discussion forum you will have positive and negative people. I'm relatively new to this forum compared to most, I'd rather the diverse viewpoints on this than the overly positive way that reddit is run, if you have a difference of opinion on reddit your comment is downvoted and then hidden if the score goes below the threshold, so only the positive comments are really shown.. it's more a leave a nice comment or else rather than place to have a proper discussion. And I've been a long time member of reddit and contributor to both r/soccer and r/reddevils.

Because I have every right to post here. I didn't say I find it personally offensive but boring and pointless arguments make it a tough read with no real worth gained from it. The odd link, joke and discussion still breaks out but I have been popping in less and less.

Reddit is not a place for only positive comments, usually overly negative offensive stuff gets down-voted but daily there is plenty of differring opinions and constructive arguments there. Saying only positives are talked about is a complete misrepresentation altogether.

i see new posters getting scolded for the slightest difference of opinion. .

while we dont want to get into a debate about re-regs and that stuff as i know the mods dont allow that, i think its safe to say that very few "new" posters are actually new in reality.

or ill put it to you another way, the majority of lads who get into trouble and get attacked/get banned have nobody else to blame but themselves. this thread has a bad name in the respect that we appear to have the same 5 or 6 lads constantly causing trouble and it ruins the debate for long term posters of which there are many excellent ones on here.

we may not get on all the time, but at least theres a good core group with different views and by and large the debate rarely gets personal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Reddit is better than boards anyway. You aren't hand held like a child and there is loads and loads of nsfw sub Reddits becuase heaven forbid you post a nipple on boards or any illicit sexuality.
    A thread in a private forum was shut down because of that.
    And you can mention streaming on reddit and downloading old games.

I prefer to post on boards but prefer the content of reddit. You learn so much more on reddit even with regards soccer, a lot more European stuff, rather than the general gubbermint is the worsest and can't pay won't pay on here.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Lads, with the greatest of respect, you're more than welcome to head off to Reddit if ye like. If you want to discuss moderation, how this site is run or the likes, open a feedback thread over in the feedback forum.

But we're way, way off topic at this stage, and one or two posters are dancing the line with regards backseat moderation.

I understand during the international breaks, there's not much to talk about, which is why things like the marrage discussion yesterday (which at least involved a United player at its core) was left alone. But now, it's just a few users looking to get shots in at the moderation team and the site in general, and thats not going to be tolerated in this thread.

Please, get back on topic. And as usual, do not respond to this post directly; PM me if you want to discuss this further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭liamk

I blame Rooney!

liamk wrote: »
    I blame Rooney!

I blame the marriage :pac:

I blame the boogie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The Neymar family is in trouble to the tune of a potential €10.5 million tax bill, that they hadn't been expecting, and Barclona are not doing a great job in making the problem disappear, they can see how Messi's father could be going to jail over his €4 million tax problem.

In Spain it is claimed that four teams have contacted Neymar's father about his son: United, PSG, Chelsea and City, as Neymar's father said there are some outstanding serious issues that are not resolved, in regards to a new contract.

I know some think Barcelona will sort the problem, but they didn't for Messi, and it is hard to see how they can for Neymar's family.

RobertKK wrote: »
    The Neymar family is in trouble to the tune of a potential €10.5 million tax bill, that they hadn't been expecting, and Barclona are not doing a great job in making the problem disappear, they can see how Messi's father could be going to jail over his €4 million tax problem.

In Spain it is claimed that four teams have contacted Neymar's father about his son: United, PSG, Chelsea and City, as Neymar's father said there are some outstanding serious issues that are not resolved, in regards to a new contract.

I know some think Barcelona will sort the problem, but they didn't for Messi, and it is hard to see how they can for Neymar's family.

they gave Neymars father €40m when he signed. Im sure the Neymar family will be ok.

Also they will use the links of us, PSG etc to engineer a massive pay rise for him as well

Barcelona will try to make this one go away as they were the cause of the tax bill by trying to cover it up at the time. Messi's tax problems where his own doing (his father).. it will look extremely bad on Barca if they are dragged into the centre of this one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Neymar's farther sounds like an awfully cute hoor.

Pro. F wrote: »
    Neymar's farther sounds like an awfully cute hoor.

Are you saying his father is a langer.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

they gave Neymars father €40m when he signed. Im sure the Neymar family will be ok.

Also they will use the links of us, PSG etc to engineer a massive pay rise for him as well

Oh they will be alright, but it is clear how motivating money is to that family, lucky Neymar has the talent to back it up. As you mention, there was some strange goings on in his transfer to Barcelona, some claims put it as the most expensive transfer in history.

I think if they get a deal that Barcelona won't or can't match, the money could motivate a move, not necessarily to us but he could leave.
    Of course the safe bet is Neymar stays with a solution found to the current problems.

Oh they will be alright, but it is clear how motivating money is to that family, lucky Neymar has the talent to back it up. As you mention, there was some strange goings on in his transfer to Barcelona, some claims put it as the most expensive transfer in history.

I think if they get a deal that Barcelona won't or can't match, the money could motivate a move, not necessarily to us but he could leave.
    Of course the safe bet is Neymar stays with a solution found to the current problems.

I think you've made a good point there RobertKK, money seems a huge factor to them

I think as Bangkok said they got €35-40m on the deal, and the all in fee was well in excess of €100m all in with some reports of close to 130m being touted. I don't have a source of that that's just my recall of what was said when this all kicked off.

He'll never be on Messi/ Ronaldo money whilst at Barca and Messi is still there so maybe a move to PSG/Citeh would be on where he'll be the superstar mega earner. They both have players they might offload this summer on big money Zlatan/ Yaya who could free up wage bill for a Neymar move.

Whilst hes a talented boy and can deliver he strikes me as a mercenary who's all about brand Neymar and not the team. Ronaldo was like that but he's always delivered..

I think our eyes are still on Ronaldo homecoming/Bale/ Mueller as the big signing of summer 2016.