Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it safe to cycle home this evening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭fillup

topcat77 wrote: »
    If in doubt don't.
    If you haven't the experience don't

loads of windy cycling experience - regular jaunts out the Coast Rd to Howth see to that -

Looking out the window now it's still a bit of a hoor blowing up but i think i'll chance it

thanks for the input folks - it was nice to shoot the breeze so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

I'll brave it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 dunsie2013

Down in IFSC earlier, girl on Dublin bike caught a gust, into Luas rail, wipe out. She was shaken, but OK. I think we will all have to watch out for others on the road this evening.

This evening all the Lycra boys on the bottom bars need to pull the horns in a bit.
    The Dublin bike brigade with handbag in basket will be ever present danger!
    And anyone who has to travel down near Grand Canal Bridge, watch out, it is a wind tunnel. And I am sure we all know similar on our commute

If you are an "experienced" cyclist you might just give the mere "novices" a chance. It is not the Tour de France, it is a commute home on a windy day. Be sensible.

Novices (Defn.) - Actually allow more than 6mm clearance when passing another bike, have spent under €2,000 on a bike for commuting through potholes, and do not stick with slick tyres in the depths of winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭dragratchet

in my parents place looking at the tree's across the road and ive never seen them shake as violently as they are right now. you might be an ace at handling your bike in heavy winds but that doesnt matter if half a tree lands on your head. firmly in the turbo trainer camp tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

BRING IT ON.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Technically I have already organised myself a lift, but it starts to be tempting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

It's time to HTFU...

At the risk of jinxing myself, I will not bestow rule5 on anyone! (today)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I have a pretty short mostly sheltered commute but am supposed to cycle into town along the Liffey for class tonight...

To spice up my cocktail of minor danger, my stress that I sometimes feel after a traumatic event really gets escalated by the wind.

Luckily Wolfgang is a hero among bicycles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭cython

If your name is Geraint Thomas I'd definitely stay off the bike.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭H.E. Pennypacker

Just saw a cyclist getting blown onto a parked car during a bad gust. Its not great out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,034 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

In ballsbridge at the mo, supposed to cycle the 7k or so home in 40 mins, but it is rough as hell...may just get the bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Im gonna chance it . Most of my commute is with the wind

It's a westerly currently? I'm going up the Malahide road for about 2 miles, side on wind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

Right in heading out in it. Wish me luck. 20k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭topcat77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭tigerboon

The wind is strong enough but there are some severe gusts. Being driving for the last hour. Wouldn't get on a bike. It's bad enough in the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭brianomc

Just home. I did not enjoy that at all. Luckily i was heading west so had a headwind most the way. The odd crosswind was mental fighting one way and then the other to stay upright.
    Saw some mad moves by cyclists and cars alike. Onto the bus and the wimp list in the morning. Oh, and a pin came out a good way on my pedal so was barely clipped in on the right. Great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,420 ✭✭✭✭ted1

retalivity wrote: »
    In ballsbridge at the mo, supposed to cycle the 7k or so home in 40 mins, but it is rough as hell...may just get the bus

Cheers. I'm also in Ballsbridge. I was sitting on the fence but you just convinced me to get the DART.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

lt.%2Bdan%2Bmeme.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭davidoco

Just did Stephens green to heuston via Thomas st. Not pleasant. Nearly blown down twice. 2 " tires held me up. Rain in your face made it hard to see. I suggest give it a miss tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

It's vicious out and the wind is howling and swirling. Definitely avoid cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Just saw a cyclist getting blown onto a parked car during a bad gust. Its not great out there

Saw a guy on a hybrid blown sideways into a parked 4x4 on Grand Canal Street earlier. He recovered and then went on to cycle through a red light so I presume it was some sort of pre-karma thing.

Was on a Dublin bike earlier so had a weight advantage but will be venturing out shortly on the road bike to head home. It's a tail wind most of the way so hoping for a PB......

If it gets scary I'll call it a day but I'll suck it and see.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,468 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I would in all seriousness suggest anyone who can avoid it this evening, please do so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Agreed, if you have a reasonable alternative available to you, I'd go for it.
    Just got in myself after coming westward from Blackrock. That's definitely the worst wind I've cycled in at ground level, I've experienced similar up at Sally gap a couple of times. Worse near the coast but still pretty bad overall.

If you are going to cycle this is one of the few times that cycle tracks may make more sense. Very blustery - you'll get blown left right forward and backwards in the same ten second period n- and some idiots are still passing with inches to spare. A slow commute along a cycle track could be the superior choice in some cases.

That said trying to keep yourself upright when you're being blown sideways on slushy leaves is next to impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I drove up Templeville Road a few minutes ago and saw a cyclist get blown a good meter or more into the road. I was well behind her as I didn't want to pass until I had plenty of room. She almost took a tumble but got up and then wheeled her bike on the footpath which was the sensible thing to do.

If you really, really have to out in that storm, take it handy and stay safe.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Lesson St. to Stillorgan. No probs. Kept on the lower track past UCD as got a good gust which nearly threw me off on the main track. Kept close to the wall as I cycled along the footpath well er..... for a bit :)
    Footpath?

Some nice tailwinds knockin' about......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Was ok heading east on Griffith Ave and on the Clontarf coast. Cycled in the middle of the road and made sure to wobble about from time to time. Cars waited to overtake and left plenty of room when they did. Presumably 'cos "That feckin' cyclist will end up under my wheels and I'll never get home"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Plastik

D1 to Shankill was ok at 4pm but from Shankill on to Bray was all over the place. As others have mentioned, the wind this evening is everywhere - head, tail, side all in the space of seconds. You've no way of preempting what it's going to do. A lot of debris from trees in the cycle lanes, wheelie bin in the middle of the Rock Road, other various random objects in strange places.

Enjoyed it though. Something satisfying about cycling in that weather. Probably not for the faint hearted or nervy cyclist though and if you're that way inclined best to take another way home.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Almost got blown off the bike twice on the way back home today. Bikes are not meant to go sideways :eek: And I was on my boat anchor. I'm getting the bus back out...