Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it safe to cycle home this evening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

I got no choice tonight....ginna be good fun....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Its supposed to be dry but very very windy from 7pm onwards.If it aint raining I'll be out for a 90 minute training spin.Dont see a problem to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Status Orange I'd generally give it go. Status Red I'd give it a miss.

Play it by ear. Better to get home 15 minutes late than not at all - so that might mean changing your route to take you through quieter/more sheltered residential streets or whatever. And just generally don't be stupid about it - if you're getting pummelled, turn around, go back to work, lock up your bike and take an alternative home.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Everyone - cut out the abuse. This is your first and final warning

Put your headphones on. You be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

think i'll be dismounting going over the East Link this evening so - Thanks lads!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

I would use the granny cog to cycle against the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

fillup wrote: »
    think i'll be dismounting going over the East Link this evening so - Thanks lads!
    Not sure of your route, but assuming you're going south to north, that whole road up to the bridge will be a bit of a nightmare to cycle on in this weather. I would suggest going through Ringsend and the turning up Thorncastle Street. At the end of that street you can walk through the gap in the wall onto the East Link. It won't be a huge diversion, but it'll be way more sheltered.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Used to think nothing about braving the wind. Think on a couple of occasions I commuted when the gusts were being recorded at over 90 km/h. I have (and had) the advantage of a bit more ballast than most, but there's no way I'd risk it nowadays

I would use the granny cog to cycle against the wind.

Singlespeed for the commute so no easier gear options i'm afraid!

TBH it's not the extra effort that prompted me to start this thread - it's the steering in the gusts that's the issue

seamus wrote: »
    Not sure of your route, but assuming you're going south to north, that whole road up to the bridge will be a bit of a nightmare to cycle on in this weather. I would suggest going through Ringsend and the turning up Thorncastle Street. At the end of that street you can walk through the gap in the wall onto the East Link. It won't be a huge diversion, but it'll be way more sheltered.

That Ringsend route up to the hole-in-wall is part of my home commute alright Seamus. Thanks for the advice

it's the steering in the gusts that's the issue
    There are a couple of bridges over the M1 around Swords that really catch it when the wind is strong. There's a definite funnelling effect, although it tends to be reasonably predictable in those scenarios. I do find though that you really can get a bit of a blast through gateways and other gaps in hedges if the wind is in the "wrong" direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

There are 77mph gusts promised for Dublin. That is an extreme speed. If you are on a light bike there is a very good chance of getting a few KOM's
    FYP

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Beasty wrote: »
    Used to think nothing about braving the wind. Think on a couple of occasions I commuted when the gusts were being recorded at over 90 km/h. I have (and had) the advantage of a bit more ballast than most, but there's no way I'd risk it nowadays

I'd be the same. Been out in some windy conditions when I didnt know any better.

Beasty wrote: »
    I do find though that you really can get a bit of a blast through gateways and other gaps in hedges if the wind is in the "wrong" direction

yeah i've encountered a few nasty blasts coming up East Wall over the years from the side streets. Deffo ones to watch if you don't want to end up being pushed into traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

"Members of the public are advised to remain indoors where possible during the storm"

So is it safe to brave the gusts in Dublin this evening?

It may be silly in light of the warning to go out unless it is absolutely necessary.

Gusts and side winds on the bike are no joke especially in traffic. But the higher risks of flying debris taking you off the bike can't be predicted. Lot of hazards and if there is rain involved.....

Can you get a bus home instead?

Literally as I wrote that, traffic cones went sliding up the road in front of me causing cars to jam on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭tigerboon

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/wind-warnings-in-place-as-country-braced-for-storm-barney-1.2433190

Orange Alert this afternoon with some councils advising:

"Members of the public are advised to remain indoors where possible during the storm"

So is it safe to brave the gusts in Dublin this evening?

It's called Barney FFS!!! .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Taxuser1

Slightly off topic but has anyone compiled a readily available list of strava sections for use tonight ?

pm me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Wexford is missing the worst of the wind I think. I have had to terminate a commute because of strong winds before - if you don't feel safe, why bother. Certainly not worth impressing people online if you don't feel you can ride safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭rubberdungeon

From the Wicklow Weather Facebook Account:

UPDATE #4 STORM BARNEY 1330HRS)

AREA: MUNSTER, STH CONNACHT, LEINSTER.

RISK: ***SEVERE***

TIMELINE: THIS AFTERNOON AND EVENING.

This is our final updated advisory for Storm Barney. We will however post updates for nowcasts, travel disruption etc.
    Potentially violent storm force gusting to hurricane force for a short period of time along the County Clare coastline this afternoon. Do not travel unless its absolutely necessary in West Munster.

Further afield and anywhere in a line south of Meath to Mayo expect winds to reach (125kmh) damaging storm force gusting to violent storm force by the afternoon and tonight in particular Dublin, Wicklow. Leinster sea areas 130kmh+
    Expect power outages in Leinster, Munster and travel disruption to commuters and air travel.

Be aware of fallen tree's and damage to buildings. Avoid secondary rural road networks if at all possible even in inland area.

***Do not use motorbikes, pedal bikes**** and high sided vehicles this evening and tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

23k commute home ahead of me on my single speed heading south into a south westerly. Will be in the drops!

Thanks for the feedback guys – and yes AKW I can get the bus but this evenings of all evenings wouldn’t suit due to busy schedule

I’ll make a call at 16:00

Stay Safe out there Folks!

AKW wrote: »
    Literally as I wrote that, traffic cones went sliding up the road in front of me causing cars to jam on.

i hope you weren't driving/cycling and posting at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

just came from there its a slightly higher than normal gust

i hope you weren't driving/cycling and posting at the same time!

Standing in a shop looking out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

There are 77mph gusts promised for Dublin.

Oh and actually, according to the Beaufort scale any wind over 73mph is hurricane force.
    From the Wicklow Weather Facebook Account:

Potentially violent storm force gusting to hurricane force for a short period of time along the County Clare coastline this afternoon.

<pedant mode>
    For info, the Beaufort scale refers only to sustained mean wind speeds and not to gusts. It is therefore incorrect to use the term 'gusting to hurricane force'.
    </pedant mode>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭topcat77

If in doubt don't.
    If you haven't the experience don't

Or

Start cycling and if you don't feel comfortable you can walk with it.

I'm in Galway and will be cycling home tonight but I've my heavy all weather bike, plenty of experience and a cycle path the majority of the way and only 5k to cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

I'm going to leave a bit early (before the traffic really starts) and take it handy - I may modify my route if it's really bad although I don't have that many options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭The Ging and I

Been there - don't that ! :D

topcat77 wrote: »
    If in doubt don't.
    If you haven't the experience don't

loads of windy cycling experience - regular jaunts out the Coast Rd to Howth see to that -

Looking out the window now it's still a bit of a hoor blowing up but i think i'll chance it

thanks for the input folks - it was nice to shoot the breeze so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

I'll brave it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 dunsie2013

Down in IFSC earlier, girl on Dublin bike caught a gust, into Luas rail, wipe out. She was shaken, but OK. I think we will all have to watch out for others on the road this evening.

This evening all the Lycra boys on the bottom bars need to pull the horns in a bit.
    The Dublin bike brigade with handbag in basket will be ever present danger!
    And anyone who has to travel down near Grand Canal Bridge, watch out, it is a wind tunnel. And I am sure we all know similar on our commute

If you are an "experienced" cyclist you might just give the mere "novices" a chance. It is not the Tour de France, it is a commute home on a windy day. Be sensible.

Novices (Defn.) - Actually allow more than 6mm clearance when passing another bike, have spent under €2,000 on a bike for commuting through potholes, and do not stick with slick tyres in the depths of winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭dragratchet

in my parents place looking at the tree's across the road and ive never seen them shake as violently as they are right now. you might be an ace at handling your bike in heavy winds but that doesnt matter if half a tree lands on your head. firmly in the turbo trainer camp tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

BRING IT ON.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Technically I have already organised myself a lift, but it starts to be tempting :D

It's time to HTFU...

At the risk of jinxing myself, I will not bestow rule5 on anyone! (today)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I have a pretty short mostly sheltered commute but am supposed to cycle into town along the Liffey for class tonight...

To spice up my cocktail of minor danger, my stress that I sometimes feel after a traumatic event really gets escalated by the wind.

Luckily Wolfgang is a hero among bicycles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

If your name is Geraint Thomas I'd definitely stay off the bike.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭H.E. Pennypacker

Just saw a cyclist getting blown onto a parked car during a bad gust. Its not great out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

In ballsbridge at the mo, supposed to cycle the 7k or so home in 40 mins, but it is rough as hell...may just get the bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Im gonna chance it . Most of my commute is with the wind

It's a westerly currently? I'm going up the Malahide road for about 2 miles, side on wind?

Right in heading out in it. Wish me luck. 20k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭topcat77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭tigerboon

The wind is strong enough but there are some severe gusts. Being driving for the last hour. Wouldn't get on a bike. It's bad enough in the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭brianomc

Just home. I did not enjoy that at all. Luckily i was heading west so had a headwind most the way. The odd crosswind was mental fighting one way and then the other to stay upright.
    Saw some mad moves by cyclists and cars alike. Onto the bus and the wimp list in the morning. Oh, and a pin came out a good way on my pedal so was barely clipped in on the right. Great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭ted1

retalivity wrote: »
    In ballsbridge at the mo, supposed to cycle the 7k or so home in 40 mins, but it is rough as hell...may just get the bus

Cheers. I'm also in Ballsbridge. I was sitting on the fence but you just convinced me to get the DART.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

lt.%2Bdan%2Bmeme.jpg