Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Neighbour tore his achillies 5 weeks ago, in cast since and told it's not healing right so must go for an op amd facing another 10 weeks out after it. He's lucky he has a good man working for him, and is a well organised himself and at least things are winding down. I top up silage for him on sundays and will be up for calving myself so can pop over to his next jan feb as I'll be checking my own at night anyway. But his predicament and yer stories here have got me thinking of having a contingency plan in place if nothing else
    Agree with free, part of adding numbers here is to help pay for part time help.at least in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Thanx lads, any tips greatly appreciated. Believe me it's a scary predicament to be in to find that a sore back for the last few wks has to led to a situation where I couldn't walk or put any weight on my legs this morning, v scary. GP coming here in the morning and hopefully onwards and upwards from there.
    Totally agree with Freedom, hope to milk an extra 30 cows here nxt yr, and plan to have a near full time man with me.
    Better cross tomo's hurdle first though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭BG2.0

Thanx lads, any tips greatly appreciated. Believe me it's a scary predicament to be in to find that a sore back for the last few wks has to led to a situation where I couldn't walk or put any weight on my legs this morning, v scary. GP coming here in the morning and hopefully onwards and upwards from there.
    Totally agree with Freedom, hope to milk an extra 30 cows here nxt yr, and plan to have a near full time man with me.

Yoga esq exercise or regular swimming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Hopefully you'll be up and motoring again soon. When u are on the mend stretching daily and using a foam roller may help. A good sports physio may be worth a visit to get a few tips from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭tanko

I've a similar lower back problem to you, it involves a damaged disc pressing on a nerve.
    I reckon your doctor will reccomend that you do various back strengthening and stretching exercises to build up your back and increase flexibility in it.
    A visit to a good physio might be no harm also.

tanko wrote: »
    I've a similar lower back problem to you, it involves a damaged disc pressing on a nerve.
    I reckon your doctor will reccomend that you do various back strengthening and stretching exercises to build up your back and increase flexibility in it.
    A visit to a good physio might be no harm also.
    Any point in getting a scan to identify the problem? Or should a GP be able to diagnose without it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Have just spent the last 48 hrs on the flat of my back with pretty severe lower back pain, can't walk or even crawl at this stage. First time in my life an ailment has stopped me from getting out to the yard. Have taken Valium, difene and solpadel, all high strengths drugs from the doc, but not much relief yet.
    luckily have good lads with me who can help out and it's prob the best time to be laid low as cows are just housed, and on OAD.
    But a timely reminder to any farmer pushing the numbers game on a one man system, we're not invincible.

If you could find a good chiropractor, they'll get you upright quicker than anyone, but there's some right cowboys around.
    Doctors don't seem to help me and I've always had back trouble, but the chiropractor gets me mobile in about 24hrs.
    I call it 6wks physio in 10 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Any point in getting a scan to identify the problem? Or should a GP be able to diagnose without it?

Fcuk that. Let the GP come out but before he goes insist that he is refer you for a MRI. Your health is everything and your business depends on you being 100% match fit.
    Somethings gone wrong with your back. GP will give you a good opinion on what's up. Find out exactly what it is. If the same thing happens in Spring you could be in deep sh1t. You have a chance now to sort out any issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭tanko

I've had back trouble on and off for twenty years, only got the scan done last year. The problem with the disc is nowhere near serious enough for surgery to be an option. I just have to look after my back as best I can.
    You could get the scan done for your own peace of mind. Ask your doc if a scan would help. Do you remember how you hurt it this time, were you doing something out of your normal routine?

rangler1 wrote: »
    If you could find a good chiropractor, they'll get you upright quicker than anyone, but there's some right cowboys around.
    Doctors don't seem to help me and I've always had back trouble, but the chiropractor gets me mobile in about 24hrs.
    I call it 6wks physio in 10 minutes

Have been attending an osteopath regularly most of the yr, and generally get relief there, but with him on friday and he could recommend was rest with the state, but by saturday I couldn't walk, feel like I need to take it more seriously now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I've had back trouble on and off for twenty years, only got the scan done last year. The problem with the disc is nowhere near serious enough for surgery to be an option. I just have to look after my back as best I can.
    You could get the scan done for your own peace of mind. Ask your doc if a scan would help. Do you remember how you hurt it this time, were you doing something out of your normal routine?
    my mother got the disc grinded down in the sports clinic in santry last year. Means its not htting the nerve anymore

Fcuk that. Let the GP come out but before he goes insist that he is refer you for a MRI. Your health is everything and your business depends on you being 100% match fit.
    Somethings gone wrong with your back. GP will give you a good opinion on what's up. Find out exactly what it is. If the same thing happens in Spring you could be in deep sh1t. You have a chance now to sort out any issues

Totally agree, I'm lucky(in a fcuked up kinda way!) that's it's happening now and it's a good time of yr to get it right.

This might be a strange place to be getting medical advice, but I feel a lot of farmers have been through what I'm going through now, probably from physical wear and tear.
    I genuinely appreciate all the replies, at least I know I'm not alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Dare i say but is hard work just catching up with you .Back trouble is rarely cured but you will learn to live with it ,there are often days when i can barely put a leg under me after waking up ,all alone here and all i do is put a roasting heat pack up to my back ,swallow a few neurfen and hobble along until i have cows done and take the rest of the day easy.This might happen me once or twice a year and it happens if i push my workload too much .From reading your post i know you push your self to the limit but maybe this a reminder to ease up a small bit .I can tell you there are plenty of local top farmers only a shadow of themselves from 10 years ago due to ill health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

This might be a strange place to be getting medical advice, but I feel a lot of farmers have been through what I'm going through now, probably from physical wear and tear.
    I genuinely appreciate all the replies, at least I know I'm not alone!

You can get an mri straight away with euromedic. Vhi covers it. Would recommend it for 120 or whatever it cost. If it's not a disc then it can be treated easily enough with anti inflammatory drugs like diaphen and acupuncture. Would also recommended hot pads and Google some glute stretches. Lower back is usually glute tightness.

My advice get mri and treat it as a muscle injury untill you get results. So hot pad,anti inflammatory and stretches. Get a Cricket ball and roll out your glutes on it too. Oh and get some acupuncture!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

blackdog1 wrote: »
    You can get an mri straight away with euromedic. Vhi covers it. Would recommend it for 120 or whatever it cost. If it's not a disc then it can be treated easily enough with anti inflammatory drugs like diaphen and acupuncture. Would also recommended hot pads and Google some glute stretches. Lower back is usually glute tightness.

My advice get mri and treat it as a muscle injury untill you get results. So hot pad,anti inflammatory and stretches. Get a Cricket ball and roll out your glutes on it too. Oh and get some acupuncture!!

With Euromedic I had to pay, (referral was from GP, I think free if consultant refers), Whitfield did it through VHI, and there's Auteven aswell. 40 mins job done.

blackdog1 wrote: »

Sound advice Blackdog, thanking u!

cute geoge wrote: »
    Dare i say but is hard work just catching up with you .Back trouble is rarely cured but you will learn to live with it ,there are often days when i can barely put a leg under me after waking up ,all alone here and all i do is put a roasting heat pack up to my back ,swallow a few neurfen and hobble along until i have cows done and take the rest of the day easy.This might happen me once or twice a year and it happens if i push my workload too much .From reading your post i know you push your self to the limit but maybe this a reminder to ease up a small bit .I can tell you there are plenty of local top farmers only a shadow of themselves from 10 years ago due to ill health
    There's a lot of truth in that post, some of the v good farmers I know are wrecked, but the real top guys also have a good lifestyle,time to start working a bit smarter!

With Euromedic I had to pay, (referral was from GP, I think free if consultant refers), Whitfield did it through VHI, and there's Auteven aswell. 40 mins job done.

I'm with aviva, I presume I have similar cover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Separate bedrooms :-).broke ribs 2 years ago so understand the situation.on a related but different note, iv noticed lately that alot of young farmers are gone seriously unfit.had to walk with a few lately and noticed they are panting at the end of any distance of a walk whereas one of the places im renting the owner 64 helps move cattle and fencing when they are there and he can beat the pants off me.its one thing to say about all the work people are doing but actually nowadays fellas are doing feck all physical work and those fecking quads should be crushed.had a buddy in with me this evening and he was talking about his weight and said he was thinking of getting a exercise bike , my suggestion was to walk out into the yard but walk past the quad.i m 46 at moment and definatly feeling my age but exercise and keeping the weight down is a big help in avoiding injuries but the only problem is from what I see guyseem to go way over the top once they start with marathons and triathlons or couple of hunderd miles on a bike for the weekend.

I'm with aviva, I presume I have similar cover
    my parents are with aviva, I dont know what they had to pay for but my mother said the pain was that bad it didnt matter what it cost to fix it, she was using heat pads and could only ease the pain by staying on the flat of her back in bed. Hope you get sorted soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

keep going wrote: »
    but the only problem is from what I see guyseem to go way over the top once they start with marathons and triathlons or couple of hunderd miles on a bike for the weekend.

I could be described as this haha, running at least 6days a week at the min ha, although the marathons etc are a step too far yet ha. I'm very heavily involved with the local club and enjoy the social side of it, without that I'd go utterly crazy just farming. The best way of avoiding going over the top in your above example is to join a club, where you'll get loads of advice on how long is appropriate, and avoiding over training etc.

But on your original point, if even farmers these days can't keep fit then God help the general population ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Timmaay wrote: »
    I could be described as this haha, running at least 6days a week at the min ha, although the marathons etc are a step too far yet ha. I'm very heavily involved with the local club and enjoy the social side of it, without that I'd go utterly crazy just farming. The best way of avoiding going over the top in your above example is to join a club, where you'll get loads of advice on how long is appropriate, and avoiding over training etc.

But on your original point, if even farmers these days can't keep fit then God help the general population ha.

Always found the bike a great way to maintain my sanity when my loans were costing 20% interest.......not near as hard on the joints either as the heavy pounding of running on the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,443 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I have a bad back too. I was in severe pain about 2 years ago and physio said it was lower disc wear.. She gave me exercises to do and it got rid of it. I am fine now as long as I don't lift anything. Not easy to avoid on a farm, but I try as much as I can. I get a second person to help me lift the heavy things now.

Even on the w'end I had a meal trough that needed to be brought across a wet field. Lifted it a bit on my own and just left it till I got help. Even at that, the following day, I had some pain in the lower back.

Timmaay wrote: »

a good few farmers are of the mindset if it cant be done from the cab of a tractor why do it. Opening gates with the loader etc. We sowed grass seed a few weeks ago, there had been dung spread on it before hand and I went up and picked about a dozen tyres off the field. After it was sown-2 runs of power harrow, sown with barrow and rolled- there was a tyre there that had been driven over 4 times rather than get out of the cab to pick it up.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I used to do some weights during the winter, always helped for the springtime. Excess weight around the belly causes a lot of back problems. See a lot of dairy men getting bigger, quads, farm labourers etc. Not a healthy existence in tractors all day for contractors either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I used to do some weights during the winter, always helped for the springtime. Excess weight around the belly causes a lot of back problems. See a lot of dairy men getting bigger, quads, farm labourers etc. Not a healthy existence in tractors all day for contractors either..

Would be of a big build and carrying too much weight, retired prop forward with same diet :(

Get health check every year with stress test included. Nurse's comment last time was "you're either fitter or thicker than you look" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Would be of a big build and carrying too much weight, retired prop forward with same diet :(

Get health check every year with stress test included. Nurse's comment last time was "you're either fitter or thicker than you look" :)

Youll go to f##k now with the bale shear.whats a stress test, is it borrowings xnumbervof childernxby wife maintenance levell x number of inspections in the year divided by milk price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

keep going wrote: »
    Youll go to f##k now with the bale shear.whats a stress test

I can see the headlines now:

"96 stone man cut out of loader cab"

"Neighbours said he hadn't left the loader since he got the pro-dig bale shear, in the early days he used to have pizza and curry delivered and pick it up from the farm gate with the bucket attachment, but as he went downhill even that stopped.....

We think he started eating his own bales"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

Just wondering when will the Dairy support payments be issued? I see they have started to pay out in the UK and the North as from today?.Thanks