Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Shootings in Paris - MOD NOTE UPDATED - READ OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭thedumbone

Billy86 wrote: »
    Jesus did not 'find' Christianity, so that is a poor comparison. You can look to God though, who killed huge numbers of people in the Old Testament, for a better comparison.

yep, im glad it happened, at least we survived for X years longer, and im proud of crusades and im not christian

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

That one guy having a random refugee passport on him seems very convenient indeed

Definitely. There is trend of identification documents turning up in scenes like this. Drivers licences being found in the Charlie Hebdo case and the amazing find of hijacker's passport in the 911 rubble (:rolleyes:)

There is so much back-channelling from all sides in this it is impossible to know what is really going on. No refugees going to Europe anymore seems to be the overriding consensus on this thread. People are afraid and it is justifiable in fairness. So where to send the refugees then? Hmmm, well Russia are the ones invited into Syria to bomb the place so i wouldnt be surprised to see Putin come under pressure to solve the refugee problem. And maybe that is the point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Any chance of AH theologians taking their discussions to a new thread?

This one is cluttered up and hard to read.

You can't discuss IS without the theology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Isaiah

I don't care to debate you on yours any any other franchise of utter bullshit to be honest.

It's apparent that you have a highly developed brand of it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,613 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Isaiah wrote: »
    Incorrect. God in the old testament is the same for Christians and Jews. It is highly edited and changed beyond recognition in Islam.

No. The three Abrahamic religions have the same God as in the Old Testament. The Torah for Jews, the Al Taurat for Muslims.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Wall Street Journal reporting that at least 1 bomber at the Stade De France had a match ticket and tried to enter the stadium, but was stopped by security. One could only imagine how much worse things would've been if they'd blown themselves up inside the stadium.

http://www.wsj.com/articles/attacker-tried-to-enter-paris-stadium-but-was-turned-away-1447520571

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Reading this thread reminds me of being the designated driver on a night out listening to a crowd of drunks discussing religion and everyone has a theory of how to sort the problems of the world.

"...enn ahl tell ye somthin' else about the muslimists....

MS1962 wrote: »
    The Pastor believes in Jesus Christ. Perhaps you don't believe in the Christian Faith, but everyone acknowledges that the Lord was a good man, Who loved His enemies and prayed for them, and wanted no action taken against them by His followers. Islam's founder had his enemies massacred. I think there is a difference there, no?

Ah shush, lets keep as many fairy stories as we can out of this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It's apparent that you have a highly developed brand of it yourself.

Be like Jesus and forgive me and love me.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    No. The three Abrahamic religions have the same God as in the Old Testament. The Torah for Jews, the Al Taurat for Muslims.

The Muslims have changed the text . the Jews and Christians have not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

thedumbone wrote: »
    yep, im glad it happened, at least we survived for X years longer, and im proud of crusades and im not christian

You need to up your game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭thedumbone

That's just a stupid false dilemma. Cancer or rabies?

The world will better place when we learn to ignore people like McConnell and his counterparts across the world who believe their brand of bullshit is the only true one.

congrats,you won award for ****post of the day

lets ignore McConnell and take more refugess, who's with me?!

#LetsColourTheEuropeTogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 MS1962

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Ah shush, lets keep as many fairy stories as we can out of this mess.

It's not fairy stories - both men are acknowledged as having lived on this earth, and both founded religions. It's precisely your kind of liberal head-burying-in-the-sand that has us in this mess. The cool liberals were so glad to cast off the yoke of Christianity which built Europe and were delighted to welcome in the exotic Islam to fill the void, and didn't bother to read the guidebook as to what it was all about. These same people tell us repeatedly that Islam is peaceful even as the evidence on the street would suggest otherwise. Please, enough of your foolish nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Any chance of taking the Jesus vs Muhammad talk to the religion forum lads?

Be like Jesus and forgive me and love me.

There is nothing to forgive. You have not wronged me.

MS1962 wrote: »
    It's not fairy stories - both men are acknowledged as having lived on this earth, and both founded religions. It's precisely your kind of liberal head-burying-in-the-sand that has us in this mess. The cool liberals were so glad to cast off the yoke of Christianity which built Europe and were delighted to welcome in the exotic Islam to fill the void, and didn't bother to read the guidebook as to what it was all about. These same people tell us repeatedly that Islam is peaceful even as the evidence on the street would suggest otherwise. Please, enough of your foolish nonsense.

Jesus did not perform miracles. He did not "die to save humanity" nor did rise from the dead. There is no God, compadre. Ergo, fairy stories. You're the only fool in this exchange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

There could be some genuinely interesting discourse if we could open a thread in the Islam forum to read the opinions of our nation's Muslim population, yet as that thread is run as a dictatorship by one moderator who has made it quite clear his is a forum for Muslims only, unfortunately I can't see it happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

What is needed is a Churchillian speech from Hollande...along the lines of we will never be defeated.

This might be a Pearl Harbour moment for France, where the entire nation is roused and turns its sights on ISIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭robdonn

The Muslims have changed the text . the Jews and Christians have not.

You're kidding, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

Lights On wrote: »
    Any chance of taking the Jesus vs Muhammad talk to the religion forum lads?

Jesus was a Capricorn. According to the great Kris Kristofferson. Don't know about Mohammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It may seem silly to discuss the intricate absurdities of theologies which are themselves absurd but the point being made is that there is a very big question mark over the long term effects of having a warlord as the main protagonist in your particular creation myth and how that lends itself to the justification of atrocities today.
    It all comes back to my earlier point of religion being given too much respect. The older I get the more I see religion as a serious obstacle to human freedom, reason and prosperity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

What is needed is a Churchillian speech from Hollande...along the lines of we will never be defeated.

This might be a Pearl Harbour moment for France, where the entire nation is roused and turns its sights on ISIS.

A lot of countries should have been in there a long time ago when they started beheading people....cut the snake off at the head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

Can anyone find any reports confirming whether some of these terrorists were actually serian refugees? I'm unsure if the sources I'm reading are correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

There is nothing to forgive. You have not wronged me.

Okay then go to Paris, like a good Christian, get a megaphone, and tell the people there to love and forgive the murderers.

See how you get on in one of the most atheistic countries in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Reading this thread reminds me of being the designated driver on a night out listening to a crowd of drunks discussing religion and everyone has a theory of how to sort the problems of the world.

"...enn ahl tell ye somthin' else about the muslimists....

Enlighten us with your superior thoughts, o wise & sober one.

The older I get the more I see religion as a serious obstacle to human freedom, reason and prosperity.

Totally agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 MS1962

Oh no! The brainless tropes have been wheeled out. Europe is a relatively great place precisely because it's liberal and progressive and not because of people like Pastor McConnell.

You're not here because you care about the victims of last night's horror -you're here because you've got a hard-on for Christianity and a hate of 'false gods'.

What century are you posting from?

Europe is reaping what it has sown. My heart goes out to the poor people who have been massacred, but, now follow me if you can, my point is that Europe's liberal elites have sold out their people by casting off the cultural heritage of Christian Europe and have been welcoming into Europe Islam, with open arms, as part of this failed multi-cultural project. And yes, it has failed, as the blood of the murdered French on the streets cries out.
    For the second time in 2015, now much more violently, due to the betrayal of France and Europe by their own elites, due to decades of neglect by these same elites, the ancient enemy, the always aggressive and diabolical and bloodthirsty Islam, introduced in the very arteries of the ancient lands of Christendom, exploded in the streets of Paris.

France is under a state of urgency. Its borders are shut down. The body count is still not finished.

Pray for France. At the end of this century it will be either Catholic or Muslim, there is no third option; but whatever the end result, the process will be painful and awful. God help the Eldest Daughter!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

222233 wrote: »
    Can anyone find any reports confirming whether some of these terrorists were actually serian refugees? I'm unsure if the sources I'm reading are correct?

Too early to fully confirm. All that's confirmed right now is that the passport of a Syrian refugee was found at the scene.

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Jesus did not perform miracles. He did not "die to save humanity" nor did rise from the dead. There is no God, compadre. Ergo, fairy stories. You're the only fool in this exchange

A large number of people will disagree with you. Here's the difference. As a Christian I have no problem with your atheism. I respect you and your right to tell me I believe in fairytales and whatnot.

However Muslims are instructed to force you, and me to submit to their Idiology through force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭dogcat

Albania Minister Receives Emailed Terror Threat

Albanian Interior Minister Saimir Tahiri on Saturday said he had received a threatening message via his personal email about a terrorist attack in Albania.

The short message writes that Albania will be the next country to be attacked by Islamic State in revenge for Albania's involvement in the war on terror.

"Now is your turn. The holy war has started against all those who are involved in the war against the Islamic State. You are going to shake and kneel in front of Allah. Allahu Akhbar," the email reportedly said.

The name of the group who sent the email is "Brigadat e Kuqe" or The Red Brigade.

Police sources told BIRN that they were investigating the message sent to Tahiri.

Following Friday's terrorist attacks in Paris, Albanian police said they had tightened security measures and urged citizens to report anything suspicious that they might see.