Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

200hrs community service for 1/5 of a gram of Pot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

What's actually stupid, is getting caught with drugs.

What's stupid about the sentence? It's 200 hours community service, not a custodial sentence, she was back with her child an hour later, and is unlikely to want to appear in the dock again.

What's stupid is punishment fitting the crime. And this punishment doesn't fit this "crime". In fact this "crime" isn't a fucking crime at all. All it is is a goddamn election issue enforced by nervous Tobacco, Vintners and Pharma industries.

Try thinking for yourself instead of parrotting cliches like "hey, the law is the law" or such drivel.

If she does an hour of the community service every evening after her regular job then she be 10 months clearing this sentence. It's a travesty of a sentence for a bit of weed.
    And please don't give me the "at least it's not prison" bullcrap. You could just as easily say (if she was given prison) "well at least it's not 100 lashes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

What a load of medieval, reactionary bollocks.

Relax. Its' only 200hrs community service. Hardly the death penalty. So There's no need to get your dreadlocks in a twist over something like that.

If the punishment actually was execution then I'd probably agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Delighted for her. We need a few more judges like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

What's medieval about punishing some-one for breaking the law?

You can apply the exact same rationale to Saudis stoning their own citizens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Bit of a non-story here OP.

Yet how many times have you come onto the thread pontificating? At least stoners waste their time through being stoned. Stop frittering away the small time you have left ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

If we take a small trip back in time when acts of homosexuality were illegal , would you be spouting the same thing if a gay man or woman was convicted of their "crime"?

This era of drug laws will be looked back on in the future the same way we look back on other ridiculous laws such as the one above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,248 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I know people can argue it's alot of community hours for such a small amount but hey, i'd rather take 200 hours of community service than 30 days in Mount Joy. Which also would have been seen as too much by others.

So if this is an 'over the top' sentence then so be it. It could of been a different and worse over the top sentence.

How do you get caught with tiny amount of drugs?

Why would the police be making such a complete search?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

How do you get caught with tiny amount of drugs?

Im sure a lot of people dont realise that the amount would essentially be a few crumbs in your pocket.

Unless she was waving it about in the copper's face, im not sure how she was caught either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

And yet judges let thugs with multiple convictions walk free everyday and then they wonder why people are losing respect for the Gardaí and the justice system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Im sure a lot of people dont realise that the amount would essentially be a few crumbs in your pocket.

Unless she was waving it about in the copper's face, im not sure how she was caught either.

Quite possibly managing to get rid of larger quantity before they searched her/house? So they went for anything they could find.

I used to smoke cannabis and some of my friends did it daily. It wasn't in this country but the law wasn't much different. The guards left you alone as long they didn't suspect you are dealing or you were not acting up. In fact I know nobody here or elsewhere that was arrested for possession of a joint.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

1/5th of a GRAM? Jesus H christ, thats not even a joint.

See, this is why decriminalization NEEDS to be introduced here. Putting a stop to ridiculous 'crimes' like this. The real crime is conceded by the AGS and court system. Major flaws.

Perfect example if I have ever seen one!

Yakult wrote: »
    1/5th of a GRAM? Jesus H christ, thats not even a joint.

See, this is why decriminalization NEEDS to be introduced here. Putting a stop to ridiculous 'crimes' like this. The real crime is conceded by the AGS and court system. Major flaws.

Perfect example if I have ever seen one!
    Yes because a spec of it flew into her handbag and she was unfairly targeted. I actually don't care if marihuana is legal or not but seriously some here are acting like marihuana smokers would be the most prosecuted group in the state. It's a bit of drug that makes you dumber with constant use not civil rights issue.

meeeeh wrote: »
    It's a bit of drug that makes you dumber with constant use not civil rights issue.

The Mexicans would disagree with you.

https://www.newscientist.com/article/dn28476-smoking-weed-is-now-a-human-right-in-mexico/

Right. Keep fighting the good fight, it's up there with the abortion and gay marriage.

Its not my personal argument for legalisation BUT If you take the emotional value out of the equation and look at it from a purely legal perspective, it is up there. It infringes on peoples right to make their own choices regarding something that does no damage to others.

If you take the emotional value out of the equation and look at it from a purely legal perspective, it is. It infringes on peoples right to make their own choices regarding something that does no damage to others.

Right drug abuse and addiction do no damage to others. Good to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

I thought it was legal, to have under 80 euros worth in a persons pocket?, class C for years now.. am I wrong ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,765 ✭✭✭circadian

Right drug abuse and addiction do no damage to others. Good to know.

should we ban booze and smokes/vapes too then?

circadian wrote: »
    should we ban booze and smokes/vapes too then?

Smoking is actually going into that direction and alcohol would probably be illegal if it wasn't so socially acceptable and widespread. I don't necessarily agree but that is not the point. I just disagreed that drug abuse and addiction don't affect others. They do. Keep up people, some basic understanding is missing there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Rezident

Seems a bit backwards now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I'd expect this in Saudi Arabia but Nass you got to be kidding me..

Ignorance/Melodrama much? In Saudi Arabia she'd have been raped by the police, and then beheaded for doing illegal drugs. That's not an exaggeration, either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,101 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

There's nothing medieval about a judge considering the defendant's circumstances when deciding on sentencing, especially for a victimless crime like this.

No, there isn't anything medieval about that, but that's not what I was referring to. I was referring to that posters idea of an attempt to justify thieving. Secondly, as you mention it, I don't agree there is any such thing as a 'victimless crime'. Someone, somewhere, always pays for other people who are inconsiderate. In this case, if the woman had been given a custodial sentence, her child would have been the victim of her crime. If she had thieved from a shop to sell goods to feed her child, she still would have just as likely been convicted of committing a criminal offence. Her reason for doing so wouldn't be a factor in determining sentencing, but the fact that she was embarrassed and showed remorse for her crime, could be considered mitigating factors.

Matters of legality aside, there is nothing inherently wrong or irresponsible with recreational drug taking. The vast majority of people take mind altering substances on a daily basis, whether it be caffeine, nicotine, alcohol, cannabis etc. Are you suggesting that parents who have the odd drink are also not taking responsibility for their children?

It would take a hell of a lot more context before I'd offer any opinion on a person's parenting abilities, but if they choose to break the law in the full knowledge of the possible consequences without considering the consequences for their children, then that is, by any definition, not taking responsibility for their children's welfare. If the law has to make them take responsibility for their actions, then that's a lesson that both they, and their children, will learn.

What's stupid is punishment fitting the crime. And this punishment doesn't fit this "crime". In fact this "crime" isn't a fucking crime at all. All it is is a goddamn election issue enforced by nervous Tobacco, Vintners and Pharma industries.

Try thinking for yourself instead of parrotting cliches like "hey, the law is the law" or such drivel.

If she does an hour of the community service every evening after her regular job then she be 10 months clearing this sentence. It's a travesty of a sentence for a bit of weed.
    And please don't give me the "at least it's not prison" bullcrap. You could just as easily say (if she was given prison) "well at least it's not 100 lashes"

This whole post is nothing but parrotted clichés.

"This crime isn't a crime at all"

Really? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,566 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Mena wrote: »
    Don't do the crime comes to mind. Don't like it, get the law changed.
    it doesn't come to mind at all. if you don't like it, break this particular law. its only pot. waste of time money and resources.
    Can't handle the time, don't do the crime....simple as that imo.

rubbish. its only pot. reactionary bollox
    If you break the law you must accept the consequences, she has only herself to blame.
    you mustn't if its pot. its the law to blame for wasting time on this nonsense.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Secondly, as you mention it, I don't agree there is any such thing as a 'victimless crime'.

What about inter-racial marriage in the US prior to 1967 (Loving v. Virginia). Homosexual relations in Ireland prior to 1993? Buying condoms pre 1980? Although illegal at the time any sane individual would agree that the above were victimless 'crimes'. Do you agree?
    Someone, somewhere, always pays for other people who are inconsiderate. In this case, if the woman had been given a custodial sentence, her child would have been the victim of her crime.

Eh no. Her child would have been the victim of an idiotic and failed war on drugs.

Taking aside the legal aspects of drug use for a moment - do you think this woman should be punished for smoking cannabis?
    If she had thieved from a shop to sell goods to feed her child, she still would have just as likely been convicted of committing a criminal offence. Her reason for doing so wouldn't be a factor in determining sentencing

It would be a factor. A judge is unlikely to hand down a harsher sentence to someone stealing food to feed their family than they would to someone who was stealing purely for economic gain.

We are truly fúcked as a society if we send someone to jail for stealing food just to feed their kids. How does it benefit society to throw these unfortunate people into the prison system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

FYP there horse.

This thread isn't about decriminalising cannabis or any of the rest of that nonsense, it's about a woman who was convicted of breaking the law as it stands now.

All too often in After Hours there's a general outcry when Judges hand down what appears to be all too lenient sentencing, and people crying that the law in this country is a joke, and women get more lenient sentences than men for the same crimes and all the rest of it and the law is still a joke.

Here's a case where a woman is sentenced to 200 hours community service for breaking the law, and people are crying that the law is still a joke?

Some people will find anything to bitch about. Seriously, this isn't Saudi Arabia or Thailand or wherever else. She goofed, she got punished, she'll get over it and carry on with her life and in a few weeks it'll all be forgotten about.

Bit of a non-story here OP.

Exactly and t'is a great sentence, She won't have time to be taking drugs while she carrys out here community service. Shameful the grip drugs have in our society, When i read these posts supporting drug use i worry for my childrens future.

toptom wrote: »
    Exactly and t'is a great sentence, She won't have time to be taking drugs while she carrys out here community service. Shameful the grip drugs have in our society, When i read these posts supporting drug use i worry for my childrens future.

Even more shameful is how the establishment has brain washed multiple generations into lumping cannabis use in with heroin use because it doesnt fit in with pharma's agenda.

'drugs' my hole, you could be prescribed something by your doctor that will do you infinitely more damage than cannabis could ever manage.

@toptom if you've ever drank a single drop of alcohol in your life, you are a roaring hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

The punishment in my opinion was a bit harsh, but in saying this cannabis is illegal here so they are going to do you for it either way until the day it becomes legal. It's definitely stupid to give a person a criminal record over something as natural as a herb in tiny amounts, but once something is illegal they will do you for it regardless. It's usually €20 in the poor-box and that's it. It is a waste of time and money and the courts time though.

What about inter-racial marriage in the US prior to 1967 (Loving v. Virginia). Homosexual relations in Ireland prior to 1993? Buying condoms pre 1980? Although illegal at the time any sane individual would agree that the above were victimless 'crimes'. Do you agree?

No I don't agree, because I don't think there is any such thing as a victimless crime. If something is a crime, there will always be someone, somewhere, who pays for the commission of that crime.

Eh no. Her child would have been the victim of an idiotic and failed war on drugs.

Taking aside the legal aspects of drug use for a moment - do you think this woman should be punished for smoking cannabis?

No I don't think she should be punished for smoking cannabis, and she wasn't. She was punished for breaking the law as it currently stands. If possession of cannabis were legal, she could toke to her little hearts content, and I wouldn't give a shyte!

It would be a factor. A judge is unlikely to hand down a harsher sentence to someone stealing food to feed their family than they would to someone who was stealing purely for economic gain.

We are truly fúcked as a society if we send someone to jail for stealing food just to feed their kids. How does it benefit society to throw these unfortunate people into the prison system?

We're even more fcuked as a society if we everyone disregards the possible consequences of their actions because they don't consider the consequences for other people in society. The woman in this case wasn't thrown into the prison system, she was given community service, y'know, serving the community, doing something that benefits society.