Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

coolemon wrote: »
    Whatever happened to dealing with things peacefully?

Lashing out in violence is never acceptable.

remember that when the criminal murdering, raping, robbing or just plain assaulting your wife or kids despite your calm and measured arguement that violence is wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

hots wrote: »
    Such a scummy thing to do (to anyone).

Would you except anything else from that crowd.

STB. wrote: »
    He should have said stand back, stand back. I have told you to stand back. Do not have me use force.

Its pretty standard training.

Also you do not extend an asp above your shoulder and strike with your full weight.

Stop talking, just stop. I have read you state how you use a baton a few times now and your wrong.

You can extend the baton by flicking it over your shoulder or down to the ground depending on circumstances.

IF and I repeat IF no audible warning has already been given you SHOULD give one.

You aim for soft tissue areas, legs and arms where and when possible

Where and when the situation arises you may use your baton without audible warning

you may use your baton to quell breaches of the peace or disperse and unruly crowd.

You may, believe it or not hit people with the bottom of the baton without extending it and punch people while holding the baton if need be.

You always swing with your full weight, the situation has reached a level where you feel force is needed, not tickles.

You DO hit more than one time if need be, Namely the aggressive person falls down or backup. Again it depends on circumstances

thats Garda training as approved by ASP. Maybe other police forces do it their own way but I know the ASP approved method is the most common one.

I dont believe the Garda will be charged and I suspect that actually the man who by his own admission only has a bump (Strange only getting a bump despite supposedly being hit 2 on the head full force by a baton) will not co-operate with GSOC because remember, they dont recognise the state or its Acts.

Besides all that, look at social media, dont tell me this was peaceful and dont tell me it was only a biut of shoving, the idiots have let their true colours be shown quite clearly and anyone that wants to attack a persons home with his family inside it is not a 'protestor'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,161 ✭✭✭relax carry on

I'm so tired of these groups. They seem to have lost the ability to conduct peaceful protests which include obeying the laws of the state they are apart of and following the instructions of Gardaí. If they have a problem with the way their protest was policed or if an incident occurred which needs investigation then there are official channels and processes to follow.

They really only seem to exist to provoke the Gardai or whatever body they have decided is their enemy for that particular protest. What did these groups do before the rise of social media and why do we pay any attention to them now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

The guards name and address is doing the rounds on social media.

Bad form on the address. Nobody can assault a sick old person like that and expect to remain unnamed though.

darced wrote: »

I'd say given the evidence the loss of job is a given. He'd be doing well to avoid prison given the seriousness of the assault.

Evidence that its assault or that the man is sick?

Didnt know being sick absolved you of the law, must remember to rob a bank next time I have a cold. Not a man flu though, wouldnt risk going outdoors with that!

If I rob the bank with just a piece of paper claiming something sinister and dont have a weapon, not physically violent nor do I actually speak. Can the Gardai actually do anything to me? Just curious, ya know seeing as they must uise less force than they are threatened with apparantly.

Mr.S wrote: »
    Says it all about the "protestors" tbh. Disgraceful.

And you have the evidence one of the protesters gave out the Gardaí's name and address then I suppose or is it just unsubstantiated boll ox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Superhorse wrote: »
    Bad form on the address. Nobody can assault a sick old person like that and expect to remain unnamed though.

Would ya stop with the emotive crap. You have an argument, you make it look farcical using language like that.

I'd say given the evidence the loss of job is a given. He'd be doing well to avoid prison given the seriousness of the assault.

He has a bump, a bump on the head that we are assuming was caused by the Garda.

Seriousness of the assault, would ya cop on I got worse from my father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

It may have been a bit hectic but surely the police have been trained to keep calm and orderly in such situations. That was completely shocking!!!

Both hitting the elderly man and knocking down and trying to remove a Parkinson's sufferers walking stick. It is disgusting!!!!

It is said the garda in question was later caught saying he thought it was an Irish water protest??? But how does the topic of the protest effect how he behaves. It was an absolute disgrace!!!!!

esforum wrote: »
    Evidence that its assault or that the man is sick?

Didnt know being sick absolved you of the law, must remember to rob a bank next time I have a cold. Not a man flu though, wouldnt risk going outdoors with that!

If I rob the bank with just a piece of paper claiming something sinister and dont have a weapon, not physically violent nor do I actually speak. Can the Gardai actually do anything to me? Just curious, ya know seeing as they must uise less force than they are threatened with apparantly.

Evidence of assault. Look at the video

Evidence of man being sick. I have heard on the 5pm news he had Parkinson's, last I heard that's a sickness.

Then you had an abusive childhood. Neither of them is right!!!!

We can't slap children these days but it's ok to "bump" as you say other humans on the head????

That behaviour was not called for.

Sorry to hear that. My dad never whacked me over the head with a metal bar though. Bump on the head can be serious especially for someone who is already suffering because of a terminal illness. My thoughts are with the man.

What exactly was so serious about the "assault" though?

I'd understand if he was bleeding and taken to hospital but....

It wad assalt!!! That's what's so serious. The man was assalted by another who is seen to be "in power".

Okay so you don't believe being attacked by someone twice your size with a metal bar isn't a serious assault? Remind me never to run into in a dark alley. Violence of any sort disgusts me but outright assault like that offends me.

Okay so you don't believe being attacked by someone twice your size with a metal bar isn't a serious assault? Remind me never to run into you in a dark alley. Violence of any sort disgusts me but outright assault like that offends me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Evidence of man being sick. I have heard on the 5pm news he had Parkinson's, last I heard that's a sickness.

he shouldn't have been out in a protest and trying to take a gardas notebook then should he ?

bit like i shouldn't be flying aircraft - be grand most of the time like but you don't want to hear

"if anyone has any jellybabies you'd better hand them over now or we all end up stuck in the side of the mountain
    - thank you for flying with us "

gctest50 wrote: »
    he shouldn't have been out in a protest

taking the gardas notebook?? I hadn't seen that. No that was wrong.

But just cause he has Parkinson's does that mean he "shouldn't" attend protest for something he believes in??? Ppl with illnesses or disability are just entitled to protest as everyone else.

Saying that he shouldn't be there cause he has Parkinson's is discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Strange getting no coverage on mat copper. They're all over the unnamed ff td in the paper though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

Laughed out loud when I seen that eegit asking the guard to quote the section. Exact fella who was in Waterford a couple of months ago inciting hassle when none of the locals were. I've seen him pop up in other various videos around the country, I wonder what is his line of work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

trixychic wrote: »
    taking the gardas notebook?? I hadn't seen that. No that was wrong.

But just cause he has Parkinson's does that mean he "shouldn't" attend protest for something he believes in??? Ppl with illnesses or disability are just entitled to protest as everyone else.

Saying that he shouldn't be there cause he has Parkinson's is discrimination.

Indeed theres one poster on this thread who only a few months ago was rabidly defending his cause,shouting down others who had a different opinion,a case of you're entitled to your opinion....just as long as its the same as mine,it got so bad I was actually cringing with embarrassment for him one night......sometimes I wonder about folk.....short memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

http://www.joe.ie/news/video-garda-produces-baton-and-strikes-elderly-man-at-nama-protest-in-gorey/519357

This shows a garda extending his baton and hitting a man in the neck with some amount of force. The man is clearly seen with his hands by his sides.

Im not a garda hater, far from it, but this at least looks disgraceful. Im sure there is a full story, but on the face of it it is textbook assualt with a weapon.

So post is asking

What do you make of the video?

Will there be ramifications?

What could possibly happen to the guard if he is found to be offside here?

Will it be swept under the carpet?

What do you make of the video?

It shows that Gardai are badly trained here in Ireland ........ this Garda buckled under immense pressure as he was never trained to deal with a situation like this ......... he had no idea how to read the crowd and/or situation so resorted to thuggish actions resulting in a tense situation escalating into a near riot.
    If he had proper training he may have been able to diffuse the situation and keep law & order in place.

Will there be ramifications?

No.

What could possibly happen to the guard if he is found to be offside here?

Nothing .......... he won't be found at fault anyway.

Will it be swept under the carpet?

Of course it will be, that's "normal" procedure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

he shouldn't have been out in a protest and trying to take a gardas notebook then should he ?

bit like i shouldn't be flying aircraft - be grand most of the time like but you don't want to hear

"if anyone has any jellybabies you'd better hand them over now or we all end up stuck in the side of the mountain
    - thank you for flying with us "

Sorry, but that's bullcrap. People have a right to protest and if it wasn't for people protesting at various things though history life for the average guy would be a hell of a lot worse.

As for what was going on at this specific protest well that's another matter. You don't put your hand on a cop, ever for any reason and expect to get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

There is another angle here, you can see them all pulling out of him (skip to 10 minutes in)

The baton was definitely an over-reaction but jesus christ the protesters are infuriating, they go out of their way to try and wind the Garda up

Looks to me that the Guard got pushed off balance and then used his baton.fair reaction IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Jayop wrote: »
    Sorry, but that's bullcrap. People have a right to protest and...........

and and and

try highlighting the whole line

Originally Posted by gctest50

Looks to me that the Guard got pushed off balance and then used his baton.fair reaction IMO.

So next time a Gardaí pushes me "off balance" it would be a fair reaction to hit him over the head with a metal bar? Must remember that defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭Paulzx

. I've seen him pop up in other various videos around the country, I wonder what is his line of work?

Probably on a days leave:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

and and and

try highlighting the whole line

and and and..... Didn't I go on to address the rest of your post.